Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

The 2002 Mental Health Strategy For Women Offenders

Jane Laishes
Mental Health, Health Services
2002

RTF

NEED FOR A WOMEN SPECIFIC MENTAL HEALTH STRATEGY FOR WOMEN OFFENDERS

"Women in American society have life experiences that differ from men's in important ways. Many of these - sexual assault, domestic violence, poverty and discrimination - hurt women's mental and physical health" (American Psychological Association).

The findings of the 1989 Mental Health Survey (in Creating Choices, 1990) commissioned by CSC indicate that the types and incidence of mental health problems are different for men and women. Some mental health problems experienced by women offenders can be linked directly to past experiences of sexual abuse, physical abuse, and assault, as well as substance abuse and poverty.

Overall, women outnumber men in all major psychiatric diagnoses with the exception of anti-social personality disorder. Differences also exist in the behavioural manifestations of mental illness between men and women. Women suffer from approximately twice as much depression as men (federally incarcerated women are three times as likely to be moderately to severely depressed compared to incarcerated men). Men tend to be more physically and sexually threatening and assaultive while women are more self-abusive and tend to engage in more self-mutilating behaviours such as slashing (see Appendix D - Gender Differences with respect to Mental Health).

In addition, important mental health differences exist between incarcerated women and women in general. In a study comparing incarcerated women matched by age and ethnicity to those in the community, (Ross, 1988) incarcerated women had a significantly higher incidence of mental disorders including: schizophrenia, major depression, substance use disorders, psychosexual dysfunction, and antisocial personality disorder. A New Zealand study found that when compared to women living in the community, women offenders had a higher current prevalence of several types of disorders including schizophrenia, major depression, and post-traumatic stress (Brinded et al, 2001). In the United Kingdom, women offenders were also found to have a higher prevalence of schizophrenia and neuroses than non-incarcerated women (UK Department of Health, 1997). While less than male offenders, women offenders also had a high prevalence of personality disorders and alcohol/drug dependence. In addition, studies have shown that incarcerated women have a much higher incidence of a history of childhood sexual abuse and a history of severe physical abuse than women in the general population (see Appendix E - Mental Health Problems of Incarcerated Women Compared to Community Samples).

The above findings are consistent with the results of CSC prevalence studies of mental disorders in women offenders. The Creating Choices report includes the results of a survey of 170 of the 203 women serving federal sentences in 1989. The survey found that two thirds of the women had children and more than 70% had been single parents part or all of their children's lives; 80% had been abused, 68% reported physical abuse, and 54% reported sexual abuse; and 69% reported that substance abuse had played a major role in their offense or their offending history. Among incarcerated Aboriginal women 90% had been physically abused, and 61% reported sexual abuse (Shaw, 1990).

A 1989 study, which achieved a 58.5% response rate, assessed the prevalence of mental disorders in 76 inmates at the Prison for Women (Blanchette, 1989). Table 1 provides a summary of the proportion of inmates that met stringent criteria for DSM disorders.

Table 1: Prevalence of DSM Disorders, Stringent Criteria, Prison for Women, 1988.

Disorder Percentage (%)
Major depression 32.9%
Generalized anxiety disorder 19.7%
Psychosexual dysfunction 34.2%
Antisocial personality 36.8%
Alcohol use/ dependence 63.2%
Drug use/ dependence 50.0%

In 1992, the following findings were obtained from assessing the mental health needs of 75 women at the Burnaby Correctional Centre for Women (19% of the population was comprised of federal inmates):

  • 49% were found to have personality disorders;
  • 67% reported current substance abuse problems and 87% reported that substance abuse had been a problem at some point in their lives;
  • 36% reported childhood physical abuse, 47% reported childhood sexual abuse, 19% reported adult sexual abuse, and 69% reported adult partner physical abuse;
  • 29% reported engaging in self-destructive behaviours such as slashing;
  • 20% reported current depression, while 32% reported that depression had been a problem at some point in their lives; and
  • 24% reported that they experienced current problems with anxiety, while 29% reported that anxiety had been a problem at some point in their lives.

The authors reported that many of the inmates had multiple problems with many having suffered abuse and experienced violence as children and adults (Tien, 1993).

As a result of the research that has been done with women offenders, the Creating Choices report notes that there is a strong need for improved access to physical and mental health services. Three main reasons for providing mental health treatment within correctional facilities are to: (Metzner, 1997)

  • reduce the disabling effects of serious mental illness to maximize each inmate's ability to electively participate in correctional programs;
  • decrease the needless extremes of human suffering caused by mental illness; and
  • help keep the prison safe for staff, inmates, volunteers, and visitors.

The research noted above supports the need to provide appropriate mental health services oriented to the specific needs of women offenders. In light of the CCRA and resultant policy (see Appendix F and Appendix G), mental health services for women offenders must be developed and implemented in recognition of gender differences. These differences can be found in the etiology and classification of mental health problems, the prevalence of specific categories of mental disorders, and with regard for the context in which these problems developed.

Many women offenders are from marginalized backgrounds and situations that may include poverty, discrimination, abuse, and chemical dependency. Programs and services must be holistic insofar as they need to address the social context of women's lives and target those areas that have contributed to their criminal behaviour. Therefore, gender appropriate mental health services must respond to the experiences and related mental health needs of incarcerated women.

Effective correctional programs for all women offenders should also be based on a model of empowerment whereby women gain insight into their situation, identify their strengths, and are supported and challenged to take positive action to gain control of their lives. This process acknowledges and holds women offenders accountable for their actions while recognizing that actions occur within a social context (Kendall, 1993).

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour les délinquants

Jane Laishes
Santé mentale, Services de santé
2002

RTF

BESOIN D'UNE STRATÉGIE EN MATIÈRE DE SANTÉ MENTALE PROPRE AUX FEMMES POUR LES DÉLINQUANTES

« [TRADUCTION] Les femmes dans la société américaine vivent des expériences qui sont nettement différentes de celles des hommes. En effet, bon nombre de ces expériences, dont les agressions sexuelles, la violence familiale, la pauvreté et la discrimination, nuisent à leur santé mentale et physique. » (American Psychological Association)

Les résultats de l'enquête sur la santé mentale de 1989, menée à la demande du SCC (dans La création de choix, 1990), révèlent que les types de problèmes de santé mentale et les effets de ces derniers sont différents chez les hommes et les femmes, et que certaines difficultés éprouvées par les délinquantes sur ce plan peuvent être le corollaire direct d'expériences antérieures, p. ex. agressions sexuelles, mauvais traitements, voies de fait, toxicomanie et pauvreté.

Dans l'ensemble, les troubles psychiques graves, à l'exception de la personnalité antisociale, frappent plus souvent les femmes que les hommes. On constate également que la maladie mentale ne touche pas les femmes de la même façon que les hommes. Les cas de dépression sont environ deux fois plus fréquents chez les femmes que chez les hommes (les délinquantes sous responsabilité fédérale risquent trois fois plus de souffrir d'une dépression moyenne ou grave que les hommes incarcérés). Les hommes sont plus portés à afficher un comportement physique ou sexuel menaçant ou violent, tandis que les femmes ont davantage tendance à s'infliger des sévices et sont davantage enclines à l'automutilation, en se tailladant les poignets par exemple (voir Annexe D - Différences entre les sexes en matière de santé mentale).

En outre, il existe des différences notables au niveau de la santé mentale des délinquantes et de celle des femmes en général. Une étude (Ross, 1988) a comparé des femmes incarcérées à d'autres femmes libres dans la collectivité appartenant à la même catégorie d'âge et au même groupe ethnique. On a remarqué que les détenues avaient beaucoup plus tendance à souffrir de troubles mentaux, dont la schizophrénie, la dépression majeure, la toxicomanie, le trouble des fonctions psychosexuelles et la personnalité antisociale que les autres femmes. Une étude réalisée en Nouvelle-Zélande, dans laquelle on a comparé des délinquantes à des femmes vivant dans la collectivité, révélait que plusieurs types de troubles mentaux étaient plus importants chez les délinquantes, notamment la schizophrénie, la dépression majeure et le stress post-traumatique (Brinded et coll., 2001). Au Royaume-Uni, on a également constaté que les délinquantes souffraient davantage de schizophrénie et de névroses que les femmes non incarcérées (Department of Health du Royaume-Uni, 1997). Les troubles de la personnalité et la dépendance à l'alcool et aux drogues sont également très présents chez les délinquantes, mais moins que chez les délinquants. D'autres études ont en outre révélé que les femmes incarcérées avaient été plus souvent victimes d'agressions sexuelles dans leur enfance et de violence physique intense que ne l'avaient été les femmes dans la population générale (voir Annexe E - Comparaison des problèmes de santé mentale chez les femmes incarcérées et les femmes dans la collectivité).

Les conclusions mentionnées ci-dessus sont conformes aux résultats des études descriptives réalisées par le SCC concernant les troubles mentaux chez les délinquantes. Le rapport La création de choix fait état des résultats d'un sondage mené en 1989 auprès de 170 des 203 délinquantes purgeant une peine de ressort fédéral et dont il ressort ce qui suit : les deux tiers des délinquantes avaient des enfants et, dans plus de 70 % des cas, elles les avaient élevés seules pendant une partie de leur vie, sinon toute leur vie; 80 % avaient été victimes de mauvais traitements, 68 %, de violence physique et 54 %, d'abus sexuels; 69 % ont indiqué que la toxicomanie avait joué un rôle déterminant dans leur infraction ou leurs antécédents criminels; 90 % des femmes autochtones incarcérées avaient subi des sévices et 61 % avaient été agressées sexuellement (Shaw, 1990).

Une étude réalisée en 1989 dont le taux de participation était de 58,5 % a relevé des troubles mentaux chez 76 délinquantes de la Prison des femmes (Blanchette, 1989).

Le tableau 1 présente sommairement la proportion des délinquantes qui répondaient aux critères rigoureux du Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux (DSM).

Tableau 1 : Délinquantes de la Prison des femmes répondant aux critères rigoureux du DSM concernant les troubles mentaux, 1988.

Trouble Pourcentage
Dépression majeure 32,9 %
Trouble d'anxiété généralisée 19,7 %
Trouble des fonctions psychosexuelles 34,2 %
Personnalité antisociale 36,8 %
Consommation d'alcool/Alcoolisme 63,2 %
Consommation de drogues/Toxicomanie 50 %

En 1992, une évaluation des besoins en matière de santé mentale de 75 délinquantes purgeant leur peine au Centre correctionnel pour femmes de Burnaby (dont 19 p. 100 de la population est composée de détenues sous responsabilité fédérale) a révélé ce qui suit :

  • 49 % des délinquantes souffrent de troubles de la personnalité
  • 67 % sont des toxicomanes et 87 % l'ont été à une étape de leur vie
  • 36 % ont déclaré avoir subi des sévices et 47 % ont été agressées sexuellement dans leur enfance; 19 % ont été victimes d'agressions sexuelles et 69 % de violence conjugale à l'âge adulte
  • 29 % ont déclaré avoir des comportements autodestructeurs comme une tendance à se taillader les poignets
  • 20 % faisaient une dépression au moment où l'étude a été réalisée et 32 % en ont fait une à une étape de leur vie
  • 24 % ont déclaré avoir des troubles d'anxiété et 29 % en ont éprouvé à une étape de leur vie.

Les auteurs de l'étude ont signalé qu'un grand nombre des détenues souffraient de troubles multiples puisque quantité d'entre elles avaient subi des sévices et connu la violence pendant leur enfance et à l'âge adulte (Tien, 1993).

Fruit de la recherche effectuée auprès des délinquantes, le rapport La création de choix note qu'il existe un besoin pressant d'améliorer l'accès des délinquantes aux services de santé physique et mentale. Voici trois raisons principales liées à la prestation de traitements en matière de santé mentale dans les établissements correctionnels (Metzner, 1997) :

  • réduire les effets invalidants des maladies mentales graves pour optimiser la capacité de chaque détenue de participer de plein gré aux programmes correctionnels;
  • atténuer les extrêmes inutiles de la souffrance humaine causés par la maladie mentale;
  • contribuer au maintien d'un milieu carcéral sûr pour le personnel, les détenues, les bénévoles et les visiteurs.

L'enquête mentionnée ci-dessus confirme le besoin de fournir des services psychiatriques tenant compte des besoins particuliers des délinquantes. En vertu de la LSCMLC et des politiques qui en découlent (voir l'Annexe F), les services de santé mentale offerts aux délinquantes doivent tenir compte de la différence entre les sexes mises en évidence par l'étiologie et la classification des problèmes de santé mentale, par la prévalence chez les femmes de certaines catégories de troubles mentaux et par le contexte dans lequel ces problèmes de santé mentale ont commencé à se manifester.

Beaucoup de délinquantes sont issues de milieux marginalisés, souvent marqués par la pauvreté, la discrimination, les mauvais traitements et la toxicomanie. C'est d'ailleurs pour cette raison que les programmes et les services doivent être holistiques, en ce sens qu'ils doivent tenir compte du contexte social des femmes et cibler les facteurs à l'origine de leur comportement criminel. Les services de santé mentale spécifiques aux femmes doivent donc être adaptés aux expériences des délinquantes et aux besoins en santé mentale qui s'ensuivent.

Pour être efficaces, les programmes correctionnels destinés à l'ensemble des délinquantes devraient aussi se fonder sur un modèle d'apprentissage à l'autonomie, dans le cadre duquel les femmes sont sensibilisées à leur situation, découvrent leurs points forts et sont encouragées et aidées à reprendre leur vie en main. Ce processus reconnaît aux délinquantes le droit d'agir et les responsabilise pour leurs actions, tout en prenant en considération le contexte social dans lequel l'infraction a été commise (Kendall, 1993).