Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

The 2002 Mental Health Strategy For Women Offenders

Jane Laishes
Mental Health, Health Services
2002

RTF

ADDITIONAL ELEMENTS ESSENTIAL TO THE DELIVERY OF MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES FOR WOMEN OFFENDERS

The following elements have been categorized under three main headings: physical environment, professional service delivery, and characteristics of interventions. Although the majority of these elements are the same as those articulated in the 1997 Strategy given their continued relevance, many elements have been expanded upon and three new elements have been included: mental health interdisciplinary team, supervision of mental health service providers, and involvement of other professionals.

Physical Environment

Structure and Environment: The facilities for women offenders have been designed for independent living with a communal living space in each house including, a kitchen, dining area, bathrooms, a utility/ laundry room, and access to the grounds. Cooking, cleaning, and other household duties are shared activities. Programs take place in the main buildings. The general institutional environment should be consistent, supportive, and constructive. Women offenders need to understand the expectations placed on them, which can increase feelings of personal well-being. Consistent structure and environment are central to the success of treatment programming endeavors. Further, the administration and staff must seek to provide a therapeutic, educational, and generally predictable environment throughout the facility. Facilities should be designed to accommodate the needs of both physically disabled and aging offenders. Facilities should also be designed to incorporate other factors known to promote well-being such as natural light, fresh air, and exercise, as well as spiritual spaces.

Professional Services Delivery

Mental Health Interdisciplinary Team: Consistent with the requirements of CD 850, Mental Health Services (Appendix H) each institution must have a mental health interdisciplinary team that meets on a regular basis and is comprised of a psychologist, nurse, parole officer, and ad hoc members as appropriate, to function as a coordinating body to those inmates in need of mental health services. An interdisciplinary team approach has been adopted as it is based on individual evaluation, planning, and program implementation. The team is composed of individual members from different disciplines, and non-professionals that meet to plan and coordinate a wide range of services. Teamwork is characterized by shared purpose and creativity in problem solving, with the end result being greater than the sum of individual discipline's treatment approaches. Most importantly, interdisciplinary planning is focused on the goals of the offender and services are tailored to fit the individual's vocational and quality of life goals, cutting across disciplines.

Coordination of Mental Health Service Providers: All mental health service providers, such as behavioural counsellors, nurses, primary workers, ancillary therapists, including those on contract, must be involved in ongoing consultation, to share relevant offender information, conduct appropriate assessments, undertake treatment planning, monitor progress, and ensure continuity of care. Coordination and consultation are also important to ensure that mental health service providers, as well as other institutional staff, are not isolated which can lead to staff burn-out. The coordination of non-mental health service providers should occur via the mental health interdisciplinary team.

Supervision of Mental Health Service Providers: All mental health providers should be in receipt of clinical supervision. In particular, psychologists should be in receipt of supervision as per The Standards of Supervision (in draft) and in accordance with CD 840, Psychological Services (Appendix I).

Integration/Information Sharing: Management must ensure that the model of mental health delivery integrate all related activities that are part of the continuum of mental health care. Management must also ensure that the psychologist play a role in decisions with respect to those programs that address such issues as sexual abuse and substance abuse even though these programs may not fall under the rubric of mental health per se. Further, mental health services must be integrated into each woman's correctional plan and the primary worker/ parole officer must play a role in the coordination and delivery of each woman's mental health treatment plan. The sharing of mental health information with the woman's entire case management team, within the limits of confidentiality, is essential to ensure effective support and monitoring of her progress. Additional information regarding information sharing can be found in CD 840, Psychological Services (Appendix I).

Elder Services: For Aboriginal women offenders, Elders should be an integral part of the mental health interdisciplinary team. Easy access to the services of Elders should be available, with provision for necessary ceremonies and teachings. Mental health programs for Aboriginal women should be developed and delivered by Aboriginal organizations or individuals with demonstrated awareness of their concerns and needs while incarcerated.

Involvement of Other Professionals: The involvement of other professionals such as social workers, occupational and recreational therapists, and chaplains should be considered, where appropriate, in the delivery of mental health programs and services.

Staff Training/Education: It is critical to ensure that staff are given ongoing training and education in the mental health problems faced by incarcerated women, in order that they acquire the necessary knowledge and skills to effectively work with this population. This awareness will increase staff confidence as well as help to create an atmosphere of understanding and acceptance for those with mental health problems.

Regular support and feedback to staff is essential when working in an often stressful and demanding environment. Of particular importance is the need for ongoing training regarding the maintenance of appropriate and professional boundaries between staff and inmates. Staff training should also include education on Aboriginal medicine, teachings, and ceremonies that may possibly include participating in Aboriginal ceremonies.

Characteristics of Interventions

Role of the Psychologist: The CCRA, Section 87, states that the Service is to take into consideration an offender's state of health and health care needs in all decisions affecting the offender. Given this requirement and the degree of mental health concerns in the women offender population, the psychologist must, where appropriate, play a key role in the management of individual cases to aid in individualized case planning, treatment planning, behavioural management, program delivery, and in striving toward the creation of a treatment supportive milieu. Given that psychologists are involved in the identification of each woman's needs, they must also play a role in assigning women to appropriate programs, whether these are mental health or other programs that would support mental wellness in a holistic context. However, the parole officer will be the individual case coordinator for all women including those who require mental health services.

Offender Involvement: Offenders should be involved in program development and delivery to the greatest extent possible. Offenders should also be involved in the consultation phase of newly developed mental health programs. As well, there may be groups that offenders could reasonably and effectively be trained to facilitate which could positively affect their self-esteem.

Critical Mass: Group size needs to be considered in the delivery of mental health programs and services. Although most programs are designed for 8 to 12 participants, given the small number of women offenders in each facility, some mental health programs may have fewer participants. However, wherever possible, groups should be run with a minimum of three participants.

Capability: Interventions should be culturally appropriate and geared to women's literacy levels. They should also be able to address the needs of low-functioning, chronically ill, or aging women, with the possibility of groups specifically targetting the needs of these offenders.

Crisis Resolution: Creative approaches to crisis resolution or intervention should be sought. These could include not only the involvement of the mental health interdisciplinary team but also peer support visits with other inmates, and possibly visits with family or community members during critical periods when the women may require a great deal of support. For Aboriginal women offenders, the inclusion of Elders is critical.

Transfers: Transfers in and out of mental health treatment environments must be managed in such a way that the potential adaptation difficulties for the woman being transferred are responded to and minimized. Transitional care plans, including bridging and other supports are essential to the successful management of transfers.

Creative Approaches: Creative approaches should be explored wherever possible including relaxation techniques, conflict resolution, body work (i.e. acupuncture, therapeutic massage, etc.), wilderness programs, story writing, journalling, drama, art therapy, pet therapy, meditation, yoga, role plays, peer counselling, and mentorship programs.

For Aboriginal women and others who are interested in Aboriginal culture and medicine, activities including sweats, fasts, cedar baths, drumming/dancing, and ceremonies should be made available.

Linkages: The role of other activities and interests such as physical exercise, hobbies, intellectual and spiritual activities, and contact with family and friends should be encouraged for their significant contribution to women's overall mental well-being. Contact with family and friends can play a crucial role in helping women make the transition back into the community. As well, programs for women should be designed to support their relationships with their children, where appropriate.

Employment: The development of useful employment skills and positive work attitudes for those with mental health problems who are incarcerated is extremely important. Employment skills are known to enhance self-esteem and successful reintegration. Without employment skills women are likely to be released into continuing poverty, thus potentially increasing their risk for recidivism.

Support/Reference Materials: The development of a reference section in the inmate library comprised of books related to mental health should be created. Educational videos on a variety of topics including mental disorders, substance abuse, parenting skills, and stress management should be included.

Diversity: Effort should be made to increase the diversity of the mental health staff to reflect the diversity of the prison population. This would include recruiting staff of different ethnicities, sexual orientations, ages, and languages.

Bridging: Bridging services between institutions, and between institutions and the community, are vital to decreasing recidivism and the gaps in service provision to women offenders. In addition, regular facilities must be able to support and build on the changes made in specialized treatment programs. Bridging services should be developed to support the gains made in treatment especially since many of those with mental health problems are revoked not as a result of new charges, but because of mental health issues (Bonta et al., 1998) e.g., non-compliance with psychotropic medications resulting in a deterioration of overall functioning.

Continuity of care could be provided through developing linkages to community resources before women leave the institution, or through ambulatory care services and supportive counselling in the community that focuses on relapse prevention issues. These services would assist in the women's transition to the community.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Stratégie en matière de santé mentale pour les délinquants

Jane Laishes
Santé mentale, Services de santé
2002

RTF

AUTRES ÉLÉMENTS ESSENTIELS À LA PRESTATION DES SERVICES DE SANTÉ MENTALE POUR LES DÉLINQUANTES

Les éléments suivants ont été classés sous trois catégories principales : milieu physique, prestation de services professionnels et caractéristiques des interventions. Même si la plupart de ces éléments sont les mêmes que ceux énoncés dans la Stratégie de 1997, puisqu'ils sont toujours pertinents, bon nombre d'entre eux ont été étoffés, et trois nouveaux éléments ont été ajoutés : équipe interdisciplinaire de prestation de soins de santé mentale, supervision du travail des fournisseurs de soins de santé mentale et participation d'autres professionnels.

Milieu physique

Structure et environnement : Les établissements pour femmes ont été conçus de manière à assurer une certaine autonomie de vie à leurs résidentes, avec une aire commune, une cuisine, une salle à manger, des salles de bain et une buanderie et donnent accès sur l'extérieur. La préparation des repas, le ménage et les autres tâches ménagères sont des activités partagées. Les programmes sont offerts dans un pavillon central., L'environnement général doit être stable, favorable et constructif. Les délinquantes ont besoin de comprendre les attentes nourries à leur endroit, ce qui favorisera leur sentiment de bien-être. Une structure et un milieu stables favorisent aussi le succès des programmes de traitement. Dans cet esprit, la direction et le personnel doivent s'efforcer d'assurer des milieux thérapeutiques, éducatifs et généralement prévisibles dans l'ensemble de l'établissement.

La conception des installations doit également tenir compte des besoins des délinquantes handicapées et des délinquantes âgées, sans oublier les facteurs qui sont reconnus pour favoriser le bien-être, tels que l'éclairage naturel, l'apport d'air frais, l'exercice physique ainsi que la disponibilité d'aires réservées à la pratique spirituelle.

Prestation de services professionnels

Équipe interdisciplinaire de prestation de soins de santé mentale : Comme le prévoit la Directive du commissaire no 850 portant l'intitulé « Services de santé mentale » (annexe H), chaque établissement a sa propre équipe interdisciplinaire de santé mentale, qui se réunit régulièrement et qui est composée d'un psychologue, d'une infirmière, d'un agent de libération conditionnelle et de membres spéciaux compétents. L'équipe agit comme comité de coordination pour les détenus ayant besoin de services de santé mentale. Cette approche d'équipe interdisciplinaire a été retenue pour permettre une évaluation individuelle, ainsi que la planification et la mise en œuvre des programmes qui conviennent à chaque cas. L'équipe est composée de spécialistes provenant de diverses disciplines et d'intervenants non spécialisés qui se rencontrent pour planifier et coordonner un vaste éventail de services. Le travail d'équipe favorise la créativité des solutions aux problèmes, ce qui permet d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats que si les différents spécialistes intervenaient séparément. Mieux encore, la planification interdisciplinaire est axée sur les objectifs de chaque délinquante et permet d'adapter les services offerts en fonction des buts visés sur les plans professionnel et de la qualité de vie, avec la contribution de chaque discipline.

Coordination du travail des fournisseurs de services de santé mentale : Tous les fournisseurs de services de santé mentale, dont les conseillers en comportement, les infirmières, les intervenants de première ligne et les autres thérapeutes, y compris les entrepreneurs, doivent constamment se consulter pour échanger des renseignements pertinents sur les délinquantes, discuter de leurs évaluations, planifier le traitement et surveiller les progrès. La coordination et la consultation entre les fournisseurs de services de santé mentale et d'autres employés de l'établissement préviennent l'isolement, voire même l'épuisement professionnel du personnel.

L'équipe interdisciplinaire de prestation de soins de santé mentale doit coordonner le travail des autres fournisseurs de soins de santé (autres que ceux de santé mentale).

Supervision du travail des fournisseurs de soins de santé mentale : Tous les fournisseurs de soins de santé mentale devraient faire l'objet d'une supervision clinique. D'une façon plus précise, les psychologues doivent faire l'objet d'une surveillance conformément aux Normes régissant la supervision des psychologues (version provisoire) et à la DC 840 « Services de psychologie » (annexe I).

Intégration/communication des renseignements : La direction doit veiller à ce que le modèle de prestation de soins de santé mentale intègre toutes les activités du continuum des soins de santé mentale. Elle doit aussi s'assurer que le psychologue joue un rôle dans le processus de prise de décisions relatives aux programmes visant à traiter des problèmes associés à l'agression sexuelle, à la toxicomanie, même si ces problèmes ne tombent pas dans la catégorie de la santé mentale comme tels. Par ailleurs, les services de santé mentale doivent faire partie du plan correctionnel de chaque délinquante. Quant à l'agent de libération conditionnelle, il doit participer à la coordination et à l'exécution du plan de traitement de santé mentale de chaque délinquante. La communication confidentielle des renseignements sur la santé mentale d'une délinquante à tous les membres de l'équipe de gestion du cas est essentielle pour assurer le soutien nécessaire à la délinquante et un suivi efficace de l'évolution de son cas. La Directive du commissaire no 840 « Services de psychologie » (annexe I) présente de plus amples renseignements sur ce sujet.

Services offerts par les Aînés : Les Aînés doivent être intégrés à l'équipe interdisciplinaire de prestation de soins de santé mentale aux délinquantes autochtones. L'équipe doit faciliter l'accès aux services des Aînés, y compris à leurs cérémonies et à leurs enseignements. Les programmes de soins de santé mentale à l'intention des délinquantes autochtones devraient être élaborés et dispensés par des organismes autochtones ou par des personnes très bien sensibilisées aux préoccupations et aux besoins de ce segment de la population carcérale.

Participation d'autres professionnels : S'il y a lieu, il faut envisager la participation d'autres professionnels, notamment les travailleurs sociaux, les ergothérapeutes, les récréologues et les aumôniers à la prestation de programmes et de services de santé mentale.

Formation du personnel/Enseignement : Il est essentiel que les membres du personnel reçoivent une formation continue sur les problèmes de santé mentale que peuvent présenter les détenues, de manière à leur permettre d'acquérir les connaissances et compétences dont ils ont besoin pour intervenir efficacement auprès de cette clientèle. Une telle sensibilisation aura pour effet d'accroître la confiance du personnel et de favoriser la compréhension et l'acceptation des détenues ayant des problèmes de santé mentale.

Il importe d'assurer un soutien régulier aux membres du personnel, qui sont appelés à travailler dans un environnement souvent stressant et exigeant. Il est tout particulièrement important d'offrir à ces employés une formation continue concernant les limites professionnelles qu'il y a lieu de maintenir entre eux et les détenues. Par ailleurs, la formation donnée au personnel doit porter notamment sur la médecine, les enseignements et les cérémonies autochtones, dans l'éventualité où la participation à de telles cérémonies serait nécessaire.

Caractéristiques des interventions

Rôle du psychologue : Aux termes de l'article 87 de la LSCMLC, les décisions concernant un délinquant doivent tenir compte de son état de santé et des soins qu'il requiert. Considérant cette exigence et la prévalence des problèmes de santé mentale chez les délinquantes, le psychologue doit, le cas échéant, intervenir activement aux niveaux de la gestion des cas individuels, de la planification du traitement, de la gestion du comportement et de la mise en œuvre des programmes. Il doit également s'employer à créer un environnement favorable pour le traitement. De par leurs fonctions qui les amènent à reconnaître les besoins particuliers de chaque délinquante, les psychologues doivent aussi aiguiller les délinquantes vers les programmes qui sauront répondre à leurs besoins en matière de santé mentale, de manière à favoriser leur équilibre mental dans un contexte holistique. Toutefois, l'agent de libération conditionnelle sera le coordonnateur de cas pour l'ensemble des délinquantes, y compris celles ayant besoin de services de santé mentale.

Participation de la délinquante : Dans toute la mesure du possible, les délinquantes doivent participer à l'élaboration et à la prestation des programmes qui s'adressent à elles. Les délinquantes devraient également participer aux consultations concernant les nouveaux programmes de santé mentale. Par ailleurs, les délinquantes pourraient être formées pour agir en tant qu'animatrices auprès de certains groupes, ce qui pourrait accroître leur estime de soi.

Masse critique : La taille du groupe doit être prise en considération au moment d'offrir les programmes et les services de santé mentale. En effet, bien que la plupart des programmes soient destinés à un groupe de 8 à 12 personnes, certains programmes de santé mentale peuvent accueillir un nombre inférieur de participantes lorsque le nombre de délinquantes souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale n'est pas suffisant. Cependant, dans la mesure du possible, les groupes devraient être constitués d'un minimum de trois participantes.

Capacités : Les interventions doivent tenir compte de la culture des délinquantes et de leur niveau d'alphabétisation. Elles doivent pouvoir répondre aux besoins des délinquantes aux capacités intellectuelles limitées, des délinquantes atteintes d'une maladie chronique et des délinquantes âgées. Des groupes pourraient être constitués pour répondre spécifiquement aux besoins de ces délinquantes.

Résolution de crise : Il y aurait lieu de chercher de nouvelles approches d'intervention en situation de crise. Ces approches devraient prévoir non seulement le recours à l'équipe interdisciplinaire chargée des soins de santé mentale, mais également la participation d'autres détenues, de membres de la famille et de citoyens et de citoyennes bénévoles pendant les périodes critiques où un plus grand soutien peut s'avérer bénéfique. La participation des Aînés à ce processus devrait également être envisagée pour les délinquantes autochtones.

Transfèrements : Le transfèrement de délinquantes dans un centre pouvant leur dispenser des soins de santé mentale et leur réintégration à l'établissement doivent être gérés de manière à atténuer autant que possible les difficultés d'adaptation des délinquantes. Les plans de soins temporaires, y compris les soins de transition et autres formes de soutien, constituent des éléments essentiels de la gestion efficace des transfèrements.

Approches novatrices : Les nouvelles approches, y compris les techniques de relaxation, les techniques de résolution de conflits, les thérapeutiques corporelles (p. ex., l'acupuncture, la massothérapie, etc.), les activités dans la nature, l'écriture, la rédaction d'un journal personnel, les arts dramatiques, la thérapie par l'art, la zoothérapie, la méditation, le yoga, les jeux de rôle, le counselling par les pairs et les programmes de mentorat, devraient être explorées et mises à contribution aussi souvent que possible.

Les délinquantes autochtones ainsi que les autres délinquantes qui s'intéressent aux cultures autochtones devraient avoir accès aux pratiques de guérison traditionnelles telles que les sueries, les jeûnes, les bains à l'écorce de cèdre, le tambour, la danse, et autres cérémonies.

Création de liens : Il y aurait lieu d'encourager les délinquantes à pratiquer de nouvelles activités et à cultiver de nouveaux intérêts, notamment l'exercice physique, les passe-temps, les activités intellectuelles et spirituelles et les contacts avec la famille et les amis de manière à favoriser le bien-être mental des délinquantes. Les contacts avec des parents et amis peuvent aider énormément les délinquantes à réinsérer la collectivité. Les programmes pour les délinquantes devraient également chercher à favoriser lorsqu'il y a lieu les relations mère-enfant.

Emploi : On ne saurait trop insister sur l'importance pour les délinquantes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale d'acquérir des attitudes positives et des compétences qui leur seront éventuellement utiles sur le marché du travail. Ces compétences pourraient aider les délinquantes à maintenir une meilleure estime d'elles-mêmes et faciliter leur réinsertion sociale. Autrement, les délinquantes risquent fort de se retrouver dans une situation de pauvreté, ce qui ferait augmenter les risques de récidive.

Documents de référence et autres : La bibliothèque de l'établissement devrait se doter d'une section de référence à l'intention des délinquantes qui pourraient la consulter pour parfaire leurs connaissances en matière de santé mentale. La bibliothèque pourrait mettre à la disposition des délinquantes des vidéos éducatives sur différents sujets, dont les troubles mentaux, la toxicomanie, les compétences parentales et la maîtrise du stress.

Diversité : Des efforts devraient être déployés pour accroître la diversité au sein de l'équipe chargée d'offrir des services de santé mentale, afin qu'elle soit représentative de la population carcérale. Il faudrait notamment recruter du personnel d'origines ethniques, d'orientation sexuelle, de groupes d'âge et de langues d'expression variés.

Transition : Il est important de faciliter la transition des délinquantes qui doivent être transférées dans un autre établissement ou libérées à court terme afin de réduire leurs risques de récidive et d'assurer une certaine continuité des soins. De plus, les établissements réguliers doivent être en mesure de soutenir et de mettre à profit les changements réalisés par la délinquante dans le cadre des programmes de traitement spécialisés. Des services de transition devraient être élaborés pour appuyer les progrès obtenus en thérapie, d'autant plus qu'un grand nombre de délinquantes ayant des problèmes de santé mentale font l'objet d'une révocation de leur liberté non pas parce qu'elles récidivent, mais pour des raisons liées à leur santé mentale (Bonta et coll., 1998), p. ex. parce qu'elles ne prennent pas ou prennent mal les médicaments psychotropes qui leur sont prescrits, ce qui contribue à la détérioration de leur fonctionnement global.

On peut planifier la continuité des soins en établissant des liens avec des ressources communautaires avant que la délinquante ne quitte l'établissement ou en prévoyant des services ambulatoires de soins et de counselling de soutien offerts dans la collectivité et axés sur la prévention de la récidive. Ces services contribueraient à la réinsertion sociale des délinquantes.