Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Pet Facilitated Therapy in Correctional Institutions

THERAPEUTIC ASPECTS OF PET IN AN INSTITUTIONAL SETTING

B. Interviews - Lexington Correctional Center

This medium security institution has a population of 800; currently there are approximately 20 inmates involved in the program with a growing waiting list. The Friends for Folks program is extremely popular at Lexington and even those who are not involved are very excited about it. This program train dogs to assist the elderly and the disabled. Once trained, the dogs are passed on to senior citizens and nursing homes. The inmates have trained some of the dogs to assist those in a wheelchair to pick up dropped items while other dogs assist the hearing impaired to alert the owner when the telephone or doorbell rings. Overall, the presence of the animals has generated more communication among the inmates and generally relaxed the mood of the institution.

The co-ordinator of Friends For Folks, Sergeant Jack Cottrell and three inmates participating in the program were interviewed for this project and provided an invaluable contribution. The inmates were very open and enthusiastic throughout the interview. Please see Appendix II for a list of questions posed during this interview.

James

James is presently serving two life sentences and has been in this program for 6 years. He decided to participate because he had "nothing to do" and now feels that he is not wasting his time. His request to participate was granted one year after of submitting his application. Since beginning this program, he has acquired dog grooming and health skills from the classes he has attended. He also learned more grooming and training skills from reading on his own and he shares his knowledge with others. His success in the program has encouraged him to complete his GED and take writing courses at the college level. In short, his success in the program and subsequent increase in his self-confidence has given him the push he needed to pursue other goals.

The program has also affected him emotionally. With his dog, he finds he is able to express his feelings more often and not feel others would see that as a sign of weakness. Prior to his involvement in this program, James felt he had nothing to lose. Since good behaviour is a prerequisite for participation in the program, there is a tangible difference in the way he deals with his anger. Now when he gets frustrated, he calms down to think and rationalize his thoughts because the wrong actions can cost him his ability to participate in the program. The greatest change James can see in himself since he started this program is his ability to communicate. Before, he preferred to be by himself but now with the help of his dog, he feels more at ease when socializing with other inmates.

Stephen

Stephen is James’ cellmate. He is presently serving a commuted life sentence. He explained how profoundly the program has affected him. He now realizes that there is more to life than just himself, that there are others to consider. He used to be heavily involved with drugs and truly believes that if it weren’t for the dogs, he would be dead now. He also has a reason to stay clean; if he were ever found with drugs during his involvement in the program, he would be dismissed. He believes his problem solving skills and his interactions with staff have improved through his dealing with dogs. He also agreed with James that animals provide a safe outlet for releasing emotions in a healthy way and his outlook on life is more positive - now he has a reason to live. Prior to the program, drugs and alcohol dominated his life. Through the program, he has learned to be responsible for himself and others. Although he cannot change his past and the life he took, he is now training dogs to help others; trying to contribute to society as much as he can. . Inmates receive a certificate of completion after the program; however, it is not equivalent to that of a licensed groomer. Stephen also believes that caring and training for other animals such as horses and birds can foster the same therapeutic and vocational benefits as working with dogs.

Stephen explained that during the training sessions, the dogs are not rewarded with treats but with love and affection. He states that now his dog is his first priority and he has become better tempered as a result of working with it. Stephen echoed the common feeling that it is extremely difficult to part with the animals he has trained. However, he noted that it helps when the owners keep in touch through occasional correspondence

Darryl

Darryl is serving a 250-year sentence. He feels the experience he has received from the program benefits himself and others. He describes the process of training dogs as "soothing". Prior to making the decision to participate, Darryl explained that he was upset and angry all the time because of the loneliness he felt and anger towards himself about his mistakes. As a result of the program, he feels he has been able to constructively release the negative emotions that he had built up inside. Darryl couldn’t emphasize enough the dramatic impact this program has had on him. He explained that now he looks forward to waking up in the morning and living. He states that the program has taught him about respect: to treat others, including dogs, the way you want to be treated. He even has become more communicative with staff.

Darryl mentioned that the particular unit he is in has an "upper class" status because of their involvement in the program. Only 20 inmates out of the 160 inmates in his unit are directly involved but the impact of the program affects everyone in the unit. Each inmate wants to see the dog, pet him, play with him or walk him. He explained his dogs have assisted him in breaking the race barrier when he communicates with the other inmates and now his friends are from various cultures. He was enthusiastic in discussing possible work with other types of animals, particularly farm animals. He stated that the animals are "as close as you can get to freedom".

Sergeant Cottrell

Sergeant Cottrell also shared his views of the Friends For Folks program. Prior to his involvement with this program, he worked with police dogs, training them to assist in searches for body evidence and narcotics at crime scenes. Although he has long worked with animals, he was cynical about the usefulness of animal programs for inmates. He has since changed his mind after witnessing the tremendous benefits it has on inmates, staff, community and the animals, as the ones that are brought into the programs are unwanted and would likely have been euthanized. They now have brighter futures as assistance dogs to certain people (i.e. senior citizens, physically handicapped, hearing impaired) in the community. He has noticed that inmates are better tempered and have been getting along better with the staff.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

La zoothérapie dans les établissements correctionnels

LES ASPECTS THÉRAPEUTIQUES DE LA ZOOTHÉRAPIE DANS UN ÉTABLISSEMENT

B. Interviews - Lexington Correctional Center

Cet établissement à sécurité moyenne compte 800 détenus. Une vingtaine participent actuellement au programme, pour lequel il y a une liste d'attente sans cesse croissante. Le programme The Friends for Folks est extrêmement populaire à cet établissement et même les personnes qui n'y participent pas sont très enthousiasmées par celui-ci. Le but du programme est de dresser des chiens qui assureront une assistance aux personnes âgées et aux personnes handicapées. Les chiens dressés sont ensuite confiés à des personnes âgées et des foyers de soins infirmiers. Les détenus ont dressé certains chiens à ramasser des articles que peuvent avoir laissé tomber des personnes en fauteuil roulant et d'autres, à alerter les malentendants à la sonnerie du téléphone ou de la porte. La présence des animaux a d'une manière générale suscité une plus grande communication parmi les détenus et contribué à détendre l'atmosphère dans l'établissement.

Nous avons interviewé pour ce projet le coordonnateur du programme Friends For Folks, le sergent Jack Cottrell, et trois détenus qui participent au programme; ces personnes ont toutes fait une contribution précieuse. Les détenus se sont montrés très ouverts et enthousiastes pendant l'interview. L'annexe II renferme une liste des questions qui leur ont été posées.

James

James, qui purge deux peines à perpétuité, participe au programme depuis six ans. Il a décidé de participer parce qu'il n'avait « rien à faire », et il a maintenant l'impression de ne pas perdre son temps. Il lui a fallu attendre un an avant que sa demande ne soit acceptée. Les cours donnés dans le cadre du programme lui ont permis d'acquérir les techniques de toilettage de chiens et des connaissances en santé canine. Il a même approfondi ses connaissances du toilettage et du dressage des chiens grâce à ses propres lectures, et il communique ses connaissances aux autres. Son succès dans ce programme l'a incité à achever sa formation générale et à suivre des cours par correspondance au niveau collégial. Bref, son succès dans ce programme et l'accroissement de sa confiance en soi l'ont incité à viser d'autres buts.

Le programme a également eu des répercussions sur le plan affectif. Avec son chien, James a l'impression de pouvoir exprimer ses sentiments plus souvent sans craindre que les autres y voient un signe de faiblesse. Avant sa participation au programme, il avait l'impression de n'avoir rien à perdre. Étant donné qu'une bonne conduite est une condition préalable à la participation au programme, on a constaté une différence tangible dans la façon dont il maîtrise sa colère. Maintenant, lorsqu'il est frustré, il se calme pour réfléchir et mettre de l'ordre dans ses pensées étant donné qu'une mauvaise réaction pourrait compromettre sa participation au programme. Le changement le plus important que James a constaté en lui-même depuis qu'il a commencé le programme est sa capacité de communiquer. Auparavant, il préférait être seul, mais maintenant, avec l'aide de son chien, il se sent plus à l'aise dans ses rapports avec les autres détenus.

Stephen

Stephen est le compagnon de cellule de James. Il purge actuellement une peine à perpétuité commuée. Il a expliqué l'incidence profonde que le programme a eue sur lui. Il se rend maintenant compte qu'il n'est pas le centre de l'univers, qu'il doit tenir compte des autres. Auparavant, il consommait beaucoup de drogues et il est convaincu que, si ce n'était des chiens, il serait mort. Il a aussi une bonne raison de ne pas consommer de drogues : si jamais on en trouvait en sa possession, il serait exclu du programme. Selon lui, celui-ci lui a permis d'améliorer sa capacité de régler des problèmes et ses rapports avec le personnel. Il partageait aussi l'avis de James quant au fait que les animaux constituaient un moyen sûr d'exprimer ses émotions d'une manière saine, et il a maintenant une vue plus positive de la vie puisqu'il a une raison de vivre. Avant de participer au programme, sa vie gravitait autour des drogues et de l'alcool. Grâce au programme, il a appris à être responsable de lui-même et des autres. Il ne peut pas changer son passé et la vie qu'il a vécue, mais il dresse maintenant des chiens pour aider les autres; il essaie de contribuer du mieux qu'il peut à la société. À l'achèvement du programme, les détenus reçoivent un certificat qui ne constitue toutefois pas l'équivalent d'un certificat de toiletteur accrédité. Stephen croit également que le soin et le dressage d'autres animaux, comme des chevaux et des oiseaux, peuvent avoir les mêmes effets thérapeutiques et professionnels que le travail avec des chiens.

Stephen a expliqué que durant les séances de dressage, on récompense les chiens non pas avec des friandises mais plutôt avec des signes d'affection. Il affirme que son chien est maintenant sa grande priorité et qu'il est désormais d'humeur plus égale à cause de son travail avec son chien. Stephen a fait écho à l'opinion générale selon laquelle il est extrêmement difficile de se séparer des animaux après les avoir dressés. Il a toutefois ajouté qu'il était bon que les propriétaires gardent le contact en écrivant quelquefois des lettres.

Darryl

Darryl purge une peine de 250 ans. Il estime que l'expérience que lui a donnée le programme est dans son intérêt et dans celui des autres. D'après lui, le processus de dressage des chiens est « calmant ». Darryl a dit qu'avant de participer au programme, il était constamment bouleversé et contrarié à cause de la solitude qu'il ressentait et de la colère que suscitaient en lui ses erreurs passées. À son avis, le programme lui a permis d'exprimer de façon constructive les émotions négatives qu'il avait emmagasinées. Darryl ne pouvait trop insister sur l'incidence marquée que ce programme avait eue sur lui. Il a expliqué qu'il avait maintenant hâte de se réveiller le matin et de vivre. Le programme a été pour lui une leçon de respect, à savoir qu'il faut traiter les autres, y compris les chiens, de la manière dont on veut être traité. Il communique même davantage avec le personnel.

Darryl a ajouté que l'unité à laquelle il appartient est d'une « classe supérieure » à cause de sa participation au programme. Seulement 20 des 160 détenus qui en font partie participent directement au programme, mais celui-ci se répercute sur l'ensemble de l'unité. Tous les détenus veulent voir les chiens, les flatter ou jouer ou se promener avec eux. Darryl a ajouté que les chiens l'avaient aidé à surmonter l'obstacle de l'origine raciale dans ses communications avec les détenus et qu'il comptait maintenant des amis de différentes cultures. Il a parlé avec enthousiasme de la possibilité de travailler avec d'autres types d'animaux, notamment des animaux de ferme. Les animaux, a-t-il affirmé « sont l'état le plus proche de la liberté ».

Sergent Cottrell

Le sergent Cottrell a également fait part de ses vues sur le programme Friends For Folks. Avant sa participation au programme, il a dressé des chiens policiers à participer à des fouilles pour trouver des preuves et des narcotiques sur les lieux d'un crime. Malgré sa longue expérience des animaux, il avait des doutes quant à l'utilité de programmes de zoothérapie pour des détenus. Il a depuis changé d'idée après avoir constaté les avantages énormes que le programme procurait aux détenus, au personnel, à la collectivité et aux animaux, étant donné que les animaux employés pour le programme ne sont pas désirés et auraient probablement été mis à mort. Maintenant, ils peuvent jouer un rôle utile en tant que chiens de service auprès de certains membres de la collectivité (p. ex., personnes âgées, personnes handicapées, malentendants). Le sergent Cottrell a constaté que les détenus étaient d'humeur plus égale et s'entendaient mieux avec le personnel.