Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Pet Facilitated Therapy in Correctional Institutions

STAFF

The staff in various institutions commented that having animals around is a definite benefit to their working environment. A frequent response is the reduction in staff stress levels because of the presence of an animal. This has been noted in different ways in a variety of settings. (Carmack, 1989). For example:

The most common response was that the dog enabled them to feel more relaxed when they petted him or looked over and saw him sleeping. During stressful days when the activity level on the unit was particularly high, the dog would get into his bed and either curl up and go to sleep or look out at the activity, staying out of the way with a peaceful and non-stressed look, conveying a sense that things were under control. Looking over at him sitting there or sleeping, appearing totally unaware of the stress level, enabled staff to perceive an immediate reduction in their stress levels. At a later time when they could go over and actually sit and pet the dog, one could observe their gentle stroking and petting the dog while saying quietly to him things like, "Good dog, you’re a really good dog, you know. You just stay so calm and so you don’t get upset, good dog." (Carmack, 1989)

Various interdisciplinary staff stroke the dog during staff meetings. He would walk up next to a staff member’s chair and sit beside that person. The natural response was to reach down and begin stroking the dog’s ears, or behind his ears. Both the dog and staff member appeared relaxed, enjoying the touching interaction. An additional benefit resulted when staff would take him outside for a walk. By having a few minutes outside with the active, enthusiastic, and energetic dog, staff described feeling a renewed sense of energy, a renewed willingness to come back and work again, and a resulting decreased stress level. (Carmack, 1989)

The presence of AAT can be one means to increase staff morale by decreasing stress levels, increasing a sense of play and their sense of working as a team, and giving them a renewed sense of interest in their work and in their clients. (Carmack, 1989) Having PFT in closed institutions helps to increase staff morale and the overall environment. A review of the literature indicates it promotes an increase in work levels by decreasing stress. Although not all of the above examples pertain to correctional institutions, the effect is universal.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

La zoothérapie dans les établissements correctionnels

PERSONNEL

Les membres du personnel de divers établissements ont fait observer que la présence d'animaux constituait un avantage indéniable pour le milieu de travail et qu'elle réduisait notamment leur niveau de stress. On a pu l'observer dans de différentes manières et dans divers milieux (Carmack, 1989). Par exemple :

[Traduction] Les employés font souvent observer que la présence d'un chien a pour effet de les détendre lorsqu'ils flattent celui-ci ou qu'il le regarde dormir. Par un jour stressant, où le niveau d'activité dans l'unité est particulièrement élevé, le chien s'installe dans son lit pour dormir ou observer une activité avec un regard paisible dans les yeux, sans déranger personne, créant ainsi le sentiment que tout est bien en main. Il suffit pour les employés de voir le chien dormir ou regarder autour de lui, complètement indifférent au niveau de stress, pour ressentir eux-mêmes immédiatement une baisse de leur stress. Des employés vont ensuite s'asseoir à côté du chien pour le flatter et lui dire par exemple : « Bon chien, tu es un vrai bon chien. Tu restes si calme et tu ne t'énerves pas, bon chien. » (Carmack, 1989)

Durant les réunions du personnel, des employés de diverses disciplines flattent le chien. Celui-ci va s'asseoir à côté d'un employé qui, instinctivement, commence à lui flatter les oreilles ou la tête. Le chien et l'employé semblent détendus et apprécier ce contact. On peut constater un autre avantage lorsqu'un employé va faire une marche à l'extérieur avec le chien. Après quelques minutes à l'extérieur avec un chien actif, enthousiaste et énergique, les employés disent se sentir énergisés et prêts à reprendre leur travail, dans un état beaucoup moins stressé. (Carmack, 1989)

La zoothérapie peut contribuer à améliorer le moral du personnel en réduisant le niveau de stress, en augmentant le sens de jeu et de travail d'équipe et en renouvelant le degré d'intérêt dans le travail et la clientèle (Carmack, 1989) Dans un établissement de garde en milieu fermé, la zoothérapie contribue à améliorer le moral du personnel et l'atmosphère générale. Un examen des écrits sur le sujet semble indiquer qu'elle accroît la productivité en réduisant le niveau de stress. Bien que les exemples donnés ci-dessus ne portent pas tous sur des établissements correctionnels, l'effet de la zoothérapie est universel.