Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Pet Facilitated Therapy in Correctional Institutions

IMPLEMENTING PFT

L. Ethics

People who participate in animal assistance programs are usually aware of issues surrounding animal rights, and many either support animal protection activities or consider themselves to be sensitive to these issues (Iannuzzi and Rowan, n.d.). In some PFT programs, animals may be taken out of their natural environment. For example, wild animals may be lacking adequate care in the wilderness. Humans take them out of their natural environment and put them into cages believing they have improved the animals’ lives. Caretakers sometimes forget that the animals may in fact be feeling uncomfortable in their new environment. As a result, some animals may die in their new environment and it puzzles the caretakers.

Arkow (1993) outlined the following ethical concerns for animals:

  • Potential for abuse: animals, particularly in a high-security institution, may be abused
  • Potential for fatigue: no standards are set regarding how long an animal should visit, or how many visits per day or week are recommended. However, it is widely recognized that residential animals must have respite and cannot be expected to be constantly "on duty." Nursing homes, in particular, maintain a higher ambient temperature which can add to the stress experienced by furry animals.
  • Coping with stress: each species, breed, and individual animal will have varying abilities to cope with the stresses required of interactions. These abilities must be considered.
  • Use of wild animals: several programs in particular (swimming with dolphins, simian helpers for quadriplegics) have been attacked for humane concerns in utilizing animals which may not be ideally acclimated to human interactions.
  • It is not common to think of animals as fatigued or stressed. This may be because their symptoms are not as obvious, especially to those who may not be familiar with animals. Inmates need to be taught what the signs are for a tired or stressed animal and how to effectively respond to the situation. The welfare of animals engaged in PFT programs is a crucial concern and should be given primary consideration when developing/implementing the program.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

La zoothérapie dans les établissements correctionnels

MISE EN OEUVRE D'UN PROGRAMME DE ZOOTHÉRAPIE

L. Éthique

Les personnes qui participent à des programmes d'aide aux animaux sont généralement conscientes des questions entourant les droits des animaux et un grand nombre d'entre elles appuient les activités de protection des animaux ou se considèrent comme sensibilisées à ces questions (Iannuzzi et Rowan, s.d.). Dans certains programmes de zoothérapie, on retire les animaux de leur environnement naturel. Il se peut par exemple que des animaux sauvages n'aient pas les soins requis dans la nature. Les êtres humains les retireront de leur environnement naturel pour les mettre dans des cages, croyant ainsi améliorer leurs conditions d'existence. Mais ils oublient parfois que ceux-ci peuvent en fait ne pas être à l'aise dans leur nouvel environnement. Leurs responsables s'étonneront qu'ils meurent dans ces conditions.

Arkow (1993) fait état des préoccupations éthiques suivantes en ce qui concerne les animaux :

  • Risque de mauvais traitements : Les animaux, surtout dans un établissement à sécurité élevée, risquent d'être maltraités.
  • Risque de fatigue : Cela se produit s'il n'y a pas de normes quant à la durée d'une visite avec un animal ou au nombre des visites par jour ou semaine qui sont recommandées. On sait toutefois que les animaux ont besoin de repos et qu'ils ne peuvent pas toujours être « de service ». Dans les foyers de soins infirmiers, par exemple, la température ambiante est assez élevée, ce qui peut ajouter au stress que connaissent les animaux à fourrure.
  • Adaptation au stress : Chaque espèce, race et animal aura sa façon de s'adapter au stress associé aux interactions. Il faut en tenir compte.
  • Utilisation d'animaux sauvages : On a critiqué plusieurs programmes (p. ex., de baignade avec des dauphins, d'utilisation de simiens pour les paraplégiques) du fait qu'il s'agit d'animaux qui ne sont pas idéalement acclimatés aux interactions avec l'humain.
  • On s'imagine rarement que les animaux peuvent être fatigués ou stressés, sans doute parce que leurs symptômes ne sont pas évidents, surtout pour les personnes qui ne connaissent pas bien les animaux. Il faut apprendre aux détenus à reconnaître les signes de fatigue ou de stress chez un animal et à intervenir dans ce cas. Le bien-être des animaux utilisés pour des programmes de zoothérapie revêt une importance cruciale et il faut y attacher une importance primordiale au moment d'élaborer ou de mettre en oeuvre ces programmes.