Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Pet Facilitated Therapy in Correctional Institutions

Appendix I
An Overview Of PFT Programs In Correctional Institutions

CANADA

BRITISH COLUMBIA PRISON PROGRAMS INVOLVING ANIMALS

Maple Ridge, British Columbia

The Alouette River Correctional Centre in Maple Ridge has an extensive aquaculture program utilizing offender labour. The Allco Hatchery is a salmonoid restoration project for the Alouette River system in partnership with Federal and Provincial fisheries agencies. The Stave Lake Correctional Centre in Maple Ridge has a net pen rearing site which is the sole supplier of rainbow trout for many small lakes. This prison also has an animal shelter which cares for and releases wildlife such as eagles, owls, and deer.

The Burnaby Correctional Centre for Women (BCCW) has a canine program that operates as a small revenue generating business that focuses on grooming and kennelling for the public.

CALGARY WILDLIFE REHABILITATION SOCIETY

Calgary, Alberta

Since 1994 this society has worked with two prisons in the United States, involving inmates in wildlife rehabilitation. The inmates provide long-term care for injured wildlife received by Calgary veterinarians from the general public. They also help with a quarterly newsletter and keep wildlife case records, thus learning marketable business skills.

NOVA INSTITUTION FOR WOMEN

Truro, Nova Scotia

Pawsitive Directions is a canine-handler training program to introduce women inmates to the basics of dog husbandry and training. Upon successful completion of the initial phase of the program, the inmates will be qualified to train homeless animals, obtained from the SPCA and other sources, for eventual placement in family homes. In the second year of operation, Pawsitive Directions will initiate a program to train assistance-dogs for use by physically disabled and hearing disabled residents in Nova Scotia (Logan, 1996).

 

UNITED STATES

PRISON-PET-PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM (PPPP)

WASHINGTON STATE CORRECTIONS CENTER FOR WOMEN (WCCW)

Gig Harbor, Washington

This program began in the early 1980s and provides custom training dogs to people with disabilities. PPPP also offers community college instruction for prisons in grooming, canine husbandry and behaviour, and obedience training for dogs from the humane society shelter, thus improving chances for satisfactory adoption of the dogs. One of the most exciting developments is that a few of the prison-trained dogs can detect the onset of seizures in people even before they become manifest.

PEOPLE-ANIMALS-LOVE (PAL)

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

Lorton, Virginia

PAL was founded in 1982 and offers placement of animals (cats, birds, fish and rabbits) and has established a club where animal needs are discussed and animal care instruction is given. A vocational course in animal health technology has been developed with assistance from the personnel of the National Institutes of Health and the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. Upon release, many graduates of this course have found jobs in laboratory animal facilities.

COLORADO WILD HORSE INMATE PROGRAM

FOUR MILE CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

Canon City, Colorado

This program began in 1986 at the Fremont Correctional Facility. In cooperation with the Bureau of Land Management and the American Humane Association, it offered rehabilitation program through which inmates were taught horsemanship, animal husbandry, ferrier and veterinary technician skills. An average of 25 inmates are enrolled in an Equine Management course designed to prepare them for employment upon their release. (Until 1995 they could receive college credit for the course.) The facility is the largest in the world for training wild horses, and by 1996 had trained over 2700 inmates and about 4000 horses. The program also offers training of privately owned horses than have been deemed untrainable by other training operations.

CENTRAL NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

PET VISITATION PROGRAM

Los Lunas, New Mexico

Docents from the zoo and volunteers from the humane society and Wonderful World of Pets made weekly visits to the correctional facility with an assortment of zoo and other animals. Instruction was given regarding the history, needs and personalities of the animals.

LEADER DOG PROJECT

HURON VALLEY WOMEN’S CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

Ypsilanti, Michigan

This program was established in 1988 to provide disability service agencies with a source of dogs that were socialized and given basic training by the women inmates. After one year at the facility, dogs are sent to the Rochester Leader Dog School for final training. Selected inmates learn training and grooming skills as well as learning of the needs and accomplishments of people with disabilities. Dogs are taken throughout the prison so that as many inmates as possible have contact with them. This helps in the dogs’ socialization and also benefits inmates.

FRIENDS FOR FOLKS

LEXINGTON ASSESSMENT AND RECEPTION CENTER

Lexington, Oklahoma

This program began in July 1990 and allows long-term inmates to train animals from local shelters as companions for single elderly people or as service dogs for people with disabilities. Prisoners are rotated through the program so as many as possible are involved. In the new High Intensity Training program (HIT), dog owners can have their pets trained in 30 days for a donation of $50.00

PET-GROOMING PROGRAM

PITCHESS DETENTION CENTER

Castaic, California

In this program, inmates learn to groom dogs and cats from a country animal shelter, improving the animal’s chances of being adopted. For a fee of $10, inmates also groom pets belonging to jail employees; these fees cover the costs involved in grooming the shelter animals. As of August 1996, an inmate’s sentence is reduced by about five days for every 20 days worked in the grooming unit. On completion of 120 hours work, each participating inmate receives an adult education certificate. Several former students have obtained jobs in the pet industry.

PROJECT POOCH

MACLAREN SCHOOL, OREGON YOUTH AUTHORITY

Woodburn, Oregon

Project POOCH (Positive Opportunities - Obvious Change with Hounds) began in 1993 at this juvenile correctional facility for males. Juvenile offenders adopt dogs from two local humane societies and give the dogs obedience training with the help of their classroom teacher, who is also a dog trainer. The dogs are then adopted by families in the community. This program is an approved vocational program. All the students who have participated have decreased their number of office referrals, and show improved self-esteem, patience, responsibility, and vocational skills. Project POOCH II, now being developed, will add dog grooming, kennel management, and veterinary technician training for long-term residents.

SCOTLAND

COMMUNITY SERVICES AQUATIC CLUB

SAUGHTON PRISON

Edinburgh, Scotland

Long-term prisoners began working in 1978 in cooperation with Stirling University Marine Biology Department rearing fish, chiefly for Third World countries. Through this program, breeding stocks were improved and thousands of fish were sent to developing countries to increase food supplies. Prawn production were developed, and some prisoners also developed an aviary. The edible fish breeding program has been terminated, but prisoners still breed tropical fish, which they exchange for food and equipment. Some raise budgies and cockatiels in their cells. Surplus birds are given to hospitals or to elderly people and children in need.

AUSTRALIA

PETS AS THERAPY PROGRAM (PAT)

ADELAIDE WOMEN’S PRISON

Northfield, South Australia

This program began in 1988 to help people who have disabilities or are otherwise disadvantaged. Selected inmates are involved in supervised training of the PAT dogs in special tasks, including socialization of the dogs at nearby nursing homes and special education schools. By 1996, over 200 inmate-trained dogs had been placed with individuals and families, including victims of crime, socially isolated individuals, children with cerebral palsy, and people with intellectual disabilities, paraplegia or quadriplegia. A controlled study (Walsh and Merten, 1994) showed increase self-esteem and decreased levels of depression among participating inmates.

GUIDE DOG PROGRAM

BEECHWORTH TRAINING PRISON

Beechworth, Victoria

This program began in 1974 and was probably the first of its kind in Australia. Puppies are placed in the care of selected low security prisoners who are responsible for the dog’s kennel hygiene, grooming, feeding and exercise. Special permission has been given for the handlers to take the dogs into the shopping area of Beechworth, to expose them to street and traffic conditions, shops and crowds.

ENGLAND

THE GARTH PRISON PET PROGRAM

Lancashire, England

This program began in 1992 and over 70 inmates had birds in their cells. Additionally, the prisoners had built two aviaries and were breeding birds for distribution to elderly and disadvantaged people in the community. Fish tanks with tropical fish were set up in the gymnasium and visiting areas. Inmates were involved in their care and breeding. Pets care classes were held in the evenings in conjunction with the education department. Environmental issues and wildlife knowledge were included. The most distinctive feature of the Garth initiative is the coordinated approach to the pet program, involving several departments in the prison.

SOUTH AFRICA

COMPANION ANIMAL PROGRAMS

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONAL SERVICES

South Africa

PFT programs were introduced to South African prisons in the mid-1980s. In this system, pets are used as an incentive for good behaviour. Prisoners are divided into groups of A and B on the basis of good behaviour, which is reassessed every six months. Among other privileges, group A prisoners are allowed to keep pets. They are responsible for taking care of their animals, including buying food for them.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

La zoothérapie dans les établissements correctionnels

Annexe I :
Vue d'ensemble des programmes de zoothérapie

CANADA

PROGRAMMES CARCÉRAUX DE LA COLOMBIE-BRITANNIQUE UTILISANT DES ANIMAUX

Maple Ridge (Colombie-Britannique)

Le centre correctionnel d'Alouette River à Maple Ridge mène un vaste programme d'aquaculture dont la main-d'oeuvre est constituée de détenus. L'écloserie Allco est un projet de restauration des salmonidés pour la rivière Alouette mené en collaboration avec les organismes de pêche fédéral et provincial. Le centre correctionnel de Stave Lake à Maple Ridge a quant à lui un parc d'élevage en filet et est le seul fournisseur de truites arc-en-ciel pour de nombreux petits lacs. Il y a aussi à cette prison un abri pour animaux où l'on s'occupe d'animaux sauvages blessés comme des aigles, des hiboux et des cerfs qui, une fois rétablis, sont relâchés dans la nature.

Le centre correctionnel pour femmes de Burnaby mène un programme canin qui sert à générer des recettes et qui est axé sur le toilettage et la garde en chenil d'animaux pour le public.

CALGARY WILDLIFE REHABILITATION SOCIETY

Calgary (Alberta)

Depuis 1994, cette société travaille avec deux prisons des États-Unis pour faire participer des détenus à des projets de remise en état de la faune. Les détenus assurent des soins de longue durée aux animaux blessés que les vétérinaires de Calgary reçoivent du grand public. Ils aident également à produire le bulletin trimestriel et à tenir les dossiers sur la faune, ce qui leur permet d'acquérir des compétences commerciales monnayables.

ÉTABLISSEMENT POUR FEMMES NOVA

Truro (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Pawsitive Directions est un programme de formation de maîtres-chiens destiné à présenter aux délinquantes les bases de l'élevage et du dressage de chiens. À l'achèvement de la phase initiale du programme, les détenues seront qualifiées pour dresser des animaux sans foyer obtenus auprès de la SCPA et d'autres sources, en vue de leur placement auprès de familles. La deuxième année, on compte lancer un programme pour dresser des chiens de service pour des personnes handicapées et des malentendants de la Nouvelle-Écosse (Logan, 1996).

 

ÉTATS-UNIS

PRISON-PET-PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM (PPPP)

WASHINGTON STATE CORRECTIONS CENTER FOR WOMEN (WCCW)

Gig Harbor, Washington

Ce programme, lancé au début des années 1980, sert à mettre des chiens spécialement dressés à la disposition de personnes handicapées. Le PPPP permet aussi aux détenues de suivre des cours au niveau de collège communautaire sur le toilettage, l'élevage de chiens, le comportement canin et le dressage à l'obéissance des chiens qui viennent de la société de protection des animaux, pour ainsi améliorer les chances d'adoption des chiens. Un des aspects les plus intéressants du programme est que quelques chiens dressés à ce centre de détention peuvent déceler le début d'une crise d'épilepsie avant même qu'elle ne se manifeste.

PEOPLE-ANIMALS-LOVE (PAL)

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

Lorton, Virginie

Le programme PAL, fondé en 1982, sert à placer des animaux (chats, oiseaux, poissons et lapins) et a permis d'établir un club où l'on discute des besoins des animaux et où l'on donne des cours sur le soin des animaux. Un cours de technologue en santé des animaux a été créé avec l'aide du personnel du National Institute of Health et de la Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. Après leur mise en liberté, bon nombre de détenus qui ont suivi ce cours se sont trouvé des emplois dans des centres d'élevage d'animaux de laboratoire.

COLORADO WILD HORSE INMATE PROGRAM

FOUR MILE CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

Canon City, Colorado

Ce programme a commencé en 1986 au Fremont Correctional Facility. En collaboration avec le Bureau of Land Management et l'American Humane Association, il est devenu un programme de réadaptation offrant aux détenus une formation notamment en techniques équestres, en zootechnie et en techniques vétérinaires. En moyenne, 25 détenus sont inscrits à un cours de gestion équine destiné à les aider à occuper un emploi suivant leur mise en liberté. (Jusqu'en 1995, ils pouvaient obtenir un crédit collégial pour le cours.) Il s'agit du plus vaste établissement du monde de dressage de chevaux sauvages; entre 1986 et 1996, plus de 2 700 détenus avaient participé au programme, qui avait permis de dresser 4 000 chevaux. On offre, aussi dans le cadre du programme, de dresser des chevaux appartenant à des particuliers que d'autres centres de dressage ont été incapables de dresser.

CENTRAL NEW MEXICO CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

PET VISITATION PROGRAM

Los Lunas, Nouveau-Mexique

Des guides du zoo et des bénévoles de la société protectrice des animaux et de Wonderful World of Pets font des visites hebdomadaires à l'établissement correctionnel en compagnie d'animaux du zoo et d'autres animaux. Ils donnent des cours sur les origines, les besoins et la personnalité des animaux.

LEADER DOG PROJECT

HURON VALLEY WOMEN'S CORRECTIONAL FACILITY

Ypsilanti, Michigan

Ce programme a été établi en 1988 pour offrir aux organismes de service auprès des personnes handicapées une source de chiens socialisés et dressés par les détenues. Après un an à l'établissement, les chiens sont envoyés au Rochester Leader Dog School pour participer à une séance de dressage finale. Les détenues choisies apprennent les techniques du dressage et du toilettage, en plus de découvrir les besoins et les réalisations des personnes handicapées. Les chiens circulent partout dans la prison, ce qui permet au plus grand nombre possible de détenues d'avoir des contacts avec eux. Cela contribue à la socialisation des chiens et procure également des avantages aux détenues.

FRIENDS FOR FOLKS

LEXINGTON ASSESSMENT AND RECEPTION CENTER

Lexington, Oklahoma

Ce programme, commencé en juillet 1990, permet à des détenus purgeant une peine de longue durée de dresser des animaux provenant d'abris locaux pour qu'ils deviennent des compagnons de personnes âgées seules ou des chiens de service pour des personnes handicapées. On fait la rotation des prisonniers pour permettre au plus grand nombre possible de ces derniers de participer. Dans le programme de dressage de grande intensité, les propriétaires de chiens peuvent confier leur animal à l'établissement pour une période de dressage de 30 jours, en contrepartie d'un don de 50 $.

PET-GROOMING PROGRAM

PITCHESS DETENTION CENTER

Castaic, Californie

Dans ce programme, les détenus apprennent à toiletter des chiens et des chats d'un abri pour animal en milieu rural pour ainsi améliorer les chances des animaux d'être adoptés. Pour 10 $, les détenus peuvent également faire le toilettage d'animaux appartenant aux employés du pénitencier, cette somme permettant d'absorber les coûts de toilettage des animaux venant de l'abri. Depuis août 1996, la peine d'un détenu est réduite d'environ cinq jours pour chaque tranche de 20 jours qu'il travaille à l'unité de toilettage. Après 120 heures de travail, chaque détenu participant reçoit un certificat d'éducation des adultes. Plusieurs anciens participants ont obtenu un emploi dans l'industrie des animaux domestiques.

PROJECT POOCH

MACLAREN SCHOOL, OREGON YOUTH AUTHORITY

Woodburn, Oregon

Project POOCH (Positive Opportunities - Obvious Change with Hounds) a été lancé en 1993 à cet établissement correctionnel pour jeunes délinquants du sexe masculin. Ces derniers adoptent des chiens auprès de deux sociétés locales de protection des animaux et assurent le dressage à l'obéissance des chiens avec l'aide de leur instructeur, qui est aussi un dresseur de chiens. Ceux-ci sont ensuite adoptés par des familles de la collectivité. Il s'agit d'un programme de formation approuvé. Tous les participants ont vu le nombre de leurs renvois au bureau diminuer et ont aussi manifesté une amélioration de leur estime de soi, de leur patience, de leur sens des responsabilités et de leurs compétences professionnelles. Project POOCH II, en voie d'élaboration, comportera en outre des cours de toilettage de chiens, de gestion de chenils et de techniques vétérinaires à l'intention des résidents de longue durée.

ÉCOSSE

COMMUNITY SERVICES AQUATIC CLUB

SAUGHTON PRISON

Édimbourg, Écosse

En 1978, les détenus purgeant une peine de longue durée ont commencé à travailler, en collaboration avec le Département de biologie marine de la Stirling University à l'élevage du poisson, principalement pour les pays du tiers monde. Ce programme a permis d'améliorer les stocks d'élevage et d'envoyer des milliers de poissons aux pays en développement pour augmenter leurs sources de nourriture. On a commencé à produire des crevettes, et certains détenus ont aussi créé une volière. Le programme d'élevage de poissons comestibles est maintenant terminé, mais les prisonniers continuent à faire l'élevage de poisson tropicaux qu'ils échangent pour de la nourriture et du matériel. Certains élèves des perruches et des calopsittes dans leur cellule. Les oiseaux excédentaires sont donnés à des hôpitaux ou à des personnes âgées et des enfants dans le besoin.

AUSTRALIE

PETS AS THERAPY PROGRAM (PAT)

ADELAIDE WOMEN'S PRISON

Northfield, Australie-Méridionale

Ce programme a été lancé en 1988 dans le but d'aider les personnes handicapées ou autrement défavorisées. Les détenues choisies s'occupent sous surveillance de dresser les chiens à remplir des tâches spéciales et notamment de socialiser des chiens à des foyers de soins infirmiers et des écoles d'instruction spéciale du voisinage. Entre 1988 et 1996, plus de 200 chiens dressés par des détenues avaient été placés auprès de particuliers et de familles, y compris de victimes de crimes, de personnes coupées de la société, d'enfants souffrant de paralysie cérébrale et de personnes ayant des déficiences intellectuelles ou souffrant de paraplégie ou de quadriplégie. Une étude avec groupe témoin (Walsh et Merten, 1994) a révélé une amélioration de l'estime de soi et une baisse du niveau de dépression parmi les détenues participantes.

GUIDE DOG PROGRAM

BEECHWORTH TRAINING PRISON

Beechworth, Victoria

Ce programme, lancé en 1974, a probablement été le premier en son genre en Australie. On confie des chiots à des détenus à faible niveau de sécurité qui sont chargés d'assurer la propreté des chenils, et de toiletter et nourrir les chiots ainsi que de leur faire faire de l'exercice. On a donné aux maîtres-chiens une permission spéciale pour amener les chiens dans le district des magasins de Beechworth pour leur faire connaître la rue, la circulation, les magasins et les foules.

ANGLETERRE

THE GARTH PRISON PET PROGRAM

Lancashire, Angleterre

Dans le cadre de ce programme, commencé en 1992, plus de 70 détenus ont gardé des oiseaux dans leur cellule. En outre, les détenus ont construit deux volières pour élever des oiseaux destinés à des personnes âgées et défavorisées de la collectivité. On a également installé des aquariums renfermant des poissons tropicaux dans le gymnase et les aires réservées aux visites. Les détenus se sont occupés des soins et de l'élevage. Des cours sur le soin des animaux domestiques ont été donnés en soirée, de concert avec le service d'éducation. On y traitait notamment de questions environnementales et de la faune. L'aspect qui démarquait cette initiative était la coordination, c'est-à-dire la participation de plusieurs services de l'établissement.

AFRIQUE DU SUD

COMPANION ANIMAL PROGRAMS

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONAL SERVICES

Afrique du Sud

Il existe des programmes de zoothérapie dans les prisons de l'Afrique du Sud depuis le milieu des années 1980. Dans ce système, les animaux domestiques sont utilisés pour récompenser une bonne conduite. Les détenus sont répartis entre deux groupes, A et B, selon leur conduite, et font l'objet d'une réévaluation tous les six mois. Entre autres privilèges, les détenus du groupe A sont autorisés à avoir des animaux domestiques, dont ils doivent prendre soin et pour lesquels ils doivent notamment acheter de la nourriture.