Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Report on Self-Injurious Behaviour in the Kingston Prison for Women

Introduction

This report is based on a study conducted to guide the development of a therapeutic programme for women who self-injure at the Kingston Prison for Women. A preliminary study (February, 1989) determined that my definition of both the spectrum of self-injurious behaviour and the dynamics involved match the experience of those who work with this behaviour within the prison system. The model I work from is based on the understanding that self-injurious behaviour is a coping strategy that manifests itself as a result of childhood abuse (usually sexual). When a child is sexually abused she most often reconciles the abuse through self-blame. Self-blame allows the victim to believe she has some control in a powerless situation; if she is responsible for the abuse, she can also stop it. The cumulative effect of the self-blame coupled with on-going sexual abuse is the further belief that bad things do and will happen. The belief in the inevitability of bad things happening, at particular moments, results in extreme anxiety. Self-injury is an attempt to control the extent and the timing of the anticipated pain which is seen as inevitable. Once pain is invoked (e.g., through slashing), the anxiety is immediately decreased. Thus, to the extent that self-injury results in a reduction of anxiety it is an adaptive and resourceful bahaviour (see figure 1 for a schematic representation of this process).

Through the February 1989 preliminary study on self-injurious behaviour, I identified injury response, injury reduction, and suicide identification as the major issues needing to be addressed. To examine these areas, the present study involved the following:

  • Prisoners were interviewed to acquire a thorough understanding of the experiential aspects of self-injurious behaviour within the prison context.

Figure 1. Self-Injurious Behaviour as a Coping Strategy

ABUSE

wpe1.jpg (1036 bytes)

The dynamics of childhood (sexual) abuse lead to self-blame by the victim as a method for believing she has some control in a powerless situation. This is largely a result of the ambivalent feelings the victim has toward the abuser (a significant other) in conjunction with the either overt or covert threats made by the abuser.

CONTINUED ABUSE

wpe2.jpg (1036 bytes)

The cumulative effect of on-going childhood (sexual) abuse and the resultant self-blame is the belief by the victim that bad things do and will happen to her.
wpe3.jpg (1617 bytes) wpe4.jpg (1636 bytes)
The belief in the inevitability of bad things happening results, at particular moments, in extreme anxiety sometimes experienced as deadness or numbness.

wpe6.jpg (1638 bytes)

The resulting self-injurious behaviour is an attempt to control the timing and extent of the anticipated pain which is seen as inevitable.
wpe5.jpg (1625 bytes)

wpe7.jpg (1032 bytes)

By invoking painful stimuli (e.g. slashing), the anxiety is immediately decreased.

wpe8.jpg (1032 bytes)

To the extent that self-injury results in a reduction of anxiety, it is an adaptive and resourceful behaviour

 

  • In total, 45 prisoners were interviewed. The results of one interview were not included due to a language barrier.
  • Security personnel (CX staff) were interviewed to assess front-line issues and concerns regarding self-injurious behaviour among prisoners. In total, 41 members of the security staff were interviewed. An additional three individuals were contacted but refused to be interviewed.
  • Relevant groups of individuals were interviewed to determine the best strategy for establishing a structure in which to implement recommended actions. These groups included staff from the psychology department, staff from health care services, and staff from the Regional Treatment Centre. Discussions with these individuals focused on programme implementation, programme delivery, and training requirements.

Interview questions were designed to gather information relevant to formulating policy in each of the three identified areas (i.e., injury response, injury reduction, and suicide identification).

The report is presented in six sections. The first section involves an examination of the extent of the problem of self-injurious behaviour in the Kingston Prison for Women. This discussion is based on responses from both prisoners and security personnel and includes data pertaining to outbreaks of self-injury in the prison. In the second section, the current response to self-injury is outlined followed by a presentation of reactions of prisoners and security personnel to this protocol. The third section of the report focuses on injury reduction. This begins with a presentation of data relating to the frequency of childhood sexual abuse among prisoners followed by an analysis of the factors identified as exacerbating self-injury. The fourth section focuses on suicide identification. The conclusions of the study are presented in the fifth section of the report, followed by the sixth and final section which outlines suggested direction for the remainder of the contract period.

Policy recommendations are provided throughout the report. These recommendations were designed to reflect the spirit of the Mission Statement of the Correctional Service of Canada (February, 1989). Three core values outlined in the Mission Statement were particularly relevant, and directed the recommendations:

Core Value 1: We respect the dignity of individuals, the rights of all members of society, and the potential for human growth and development.

Core Value 2: We recognize that the offender has the potential to live as a law-abiding citizen.

Core Value 3: We believe that our strength and our major resource in achieving our objectives is our staff and that human relationships are the cornerstone of our endeavour (p. 4).

Wherever possible, I will identify the way in which the particular recommendation operationalizes the guiding principles or strategic objectives of the core values.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Rapport sur les cas d'automutilation à la Prison des femmes de Kingston

Introduction

    Le présent rapport s'appuie sur une étude visant à orienter l'élaboration d'un programme thérapeutique à l'intention des détenues de la Prison des femmes de Kingston qui s'infligent volontairement des blessures. Une étude préliminaire (février 1989) m'a permis de constater que ma définition de la gamme des comportements reliés à l'automutilation et de la dynamique en cause concorde avec ce que vivent les personnes mises en contact avec le phénomène dans le cadre de leur travail au sein du système carcéral. Le modèle dont je m'inspire s'appuie sur le critère selon lequel l'automutilation est une stratégie d'adaptation se manifestant suite aux mauvais traitements subis durant l'enfance (généralement d'ordre sexuel). L'enfant victime d'agressions sexuelles trouve le plus souvent la résignation dans un sentiment de culpabilité. En se culpabilisant, la victime peut s'imaginer exercer un certain contrôle sur une situation où elle n'a pas le pouvoir d'agir; elle se dit que puisqu'elle est responsable de ce qui lui arrive, alors elle peut aussi y mettre un terme. Les agressions sexuelles répétées auxquelles s'ajoute ce sentiment de culpabilité constant créent chez la victime une attitude fataliste. Le fait de croire que le malheur doit nécessairement se produire à des moments précis donne lieu à une forme extrême d'anxiété. S'infliger volontairement des blessures, c'est vouloir exercer un contrôle sur l'intensité de la douleur que l'on croit devoir inévitablement subir, et sur le moment où elle doit survenir. Dès que la douleur intervient (en se tailladant par exemple), l'anxiété diminue. Ainsi, dans la mesure où l'automutilation entraîne une diminution de l'anxiété, elle constitue un comportement adaptatif et imaginatif (voir la figure 1 où ce processus apparaît sous une forme schématique).

    Dans l'étude préliminaire de février 1989 portant sur l'automutilation, j'ai désigné l'intervention dans les cas d'automutilation, la réduction du nombre de cas d'automutilation et la détermination du comportement suicidaire, comme étant les principales questions devant être traitées. À cette fin, l'étude s'est ainsi déroulée :

  • On a interviewé des détenues afin de mieux comprendre les aspects expérientiels du phénomène de l'automutilation dans le contexte carcéral.

Figure 1. L'automutilation comme stratégie d'adaptation

MAUVAIS TRAITEMENTS

wpe9.jpg (1036 bytes)

La dynamique des mauvais traitements (d'ordre sexuel) subis durant l'enfance porte la victime à se culpabiliser, ce qui est un moyen de se convaincre qu'elle exerce un certain contrôle sur une situation où elle n'a pas le pouvoir d'agir. Cela découle en grande partie des sentiments ambivalents que la victime éprouve à l'endroit de l'agresseur (un personnage-clé), dont les menaces sont faites soit de façon manifeste, soit de façon voilée.

wpeA.jpg (1036 bytes)

MAUVAIS TRAITEMENTS RÉPÉTÉS

 

L'effet cumulatif des agressions (sexuelles) répétées durant l'enfance et le sentiment de culpabilité qui en résulte incitent la victime à croire que le malheur est inévitable.
wpeB.jpg (1614 bytes) wpeC.jpg (1635 bytes)
La conviction que le malheur est inévitable donne lieu, à des moments précis, à une extrême anxiété se manifestant parfois par de la torpeur ou de  l'engourdissement.

wpeE.jpg (1636 bytes)

S'infliger volontairement des blessures, c'est vouloir exercer un contrôle sur l'intensité et le moment de la douleur que l'on croit devoir inévitablement subir.

wpeD.jpg (1617 bytes)

wpeF.jpg (1032 bytes)

S'infliger volontairement des blessures, c'est vouloir exercer un contrôle sur l'intensité et le moment de la douleur que l'on croit devoir inévitablement subir.

wpeF.jpg (1032 bytes)

En faisant appel à la douleur (par ex. en se tailladant) l'anxiété s'atténue

wpe10.jpg (1032 bytes)

Dans la mesure où l'automutilation entraîne une diminution de l'anxiété, elle constitue un comportement adaptatif et imaginatif.

 

  • En tout, 45 détenues ont été interviewées. À cause de la barrière des langues, l'information tirée de l'une des entrevues n'a pas été incluse.
  • Le personnel chargé de la sécurité (agents de correction) a été interviewé afin d'évaluer les questions et les préoccupations ayant directement trait à l'automutilation chez les détenues. Au total, 41 membres du personnel de sécurité ont été interviewés. Trois autres personnes ont refusé de l'être.
  • Des interviews ont été menées auprès de groupes de personnes concernées en vue de déterminer la stratégie la plus efficace pour dresser un cadre de mise en œuvre des mesures recommandées. Dans ces groupes on retrouvait du personnel du service de psychologie, des services de santé et du Centre régional de traitement. Les discussions avec ces personnes ont porté sur la mise en œuvre et l'exécution du programme et sur les besoins de formation.

 

    Les questions posées au cours des entrevues visaient à recueillir de l'information ayant trait à l'élaboration de lignes de conduite pour chacun des trois secteurs désignés (soit l'intervention dans les cas d'automutilation, la réduction du nombre de cas d'automutilation et la détermination du comportement suicidaire).

    Le rapport comprend six parties. La première partie consiste en un examen de l'ampleur du problème de l'automutilation à la Prison des femmes de Kingston. L'examen de la question se fait à partir des réponses des détenues et du personnel de sécurité et renferme des données sur les hausses soudaines du nombre de cas d'automutilation dans l'établissement. Dans la deuxième partie on décrit la façon actuelle d'intervenir dans les cas d'automutilation, puis on fait état des réactions des détenues et du personnel de sécurité face à ce protocole. La troisième partie du rapport met l'accent sur la réduction du nombre de cas d'automutilation. D'abord on y présente des données sur la proportion du nombre de détenues ayant été victimes d'agressions sexuelles durant l'enfance, ensuite, on analyse les facteurs qui engendrent l'automutilation. La quatrième partie porte sur la détermination du comportement suicidaire. Les conclusions de l'étude figurent dans la cinquième partie du rapport qui se termine à la sixième partie où l'on suggère une orientation pour ce qui reste de la période contractuelle.

    Le rapport est parsemé de recommandations pratiques. Elles ont été conçues de manière à refléter l'esprit de l'énoncé de Mission du Service correctionnel du Canada (février 1989). Trois valeurs fondamentales particulièrement pertinentes de l'énoncé de Mission ont orienté les recommandations :

Valeur fondamentale 1 : Nous respectons la dignité des individus, les droits de tous les membres de la société et le potentiel de croissance personnelle et de développement des êtres humains.

Valeur fondamentale 2 : Nous reconnaissons que le délinquant a le potentiel de vivre en tant que citoyen respectueux des lois.

Valeur fondamentale 3 : Nous estimons que le personnel du Service constitue sa force et sa ressource principale dans la réalisation de ses objectifs, et nous croyons que la qualité des rapports humains est la pierre angulaire de sa Mission (p. 4).

    Chaque fois que c'est possible, je désigne la façon dont une recommandation donnée rend opérationnels les principes directeurs ou les objectifs stratégiques des valeurs fondamentales.