Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

FEDERALLY SENTENCED ABORIGINAL WOMEN IN MAXIMUM SECURITY: WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PROMISES OF "CREATING CHOICES"?

NOTA BENE

During the period when Ms. Morin conducted her interviews (December 1997 through February 1998) the population of women classified as maximum security fluctuated between about 40 and 50 of whom about 40-47% were of Aboriginal descent. Within one year, by January 1999, this number dropped below 30 and has remained so since that time. In the summer of 1999, the number of women classified as maximum security dropped to 25 of whom 6 (24%) were Aboriginal.

Of the 17 women interviewed by Ms. Morin, only eight (8) women are currently incarcerated: two (2) are classified as maximum security and six (6) are classified as medium security.

It should also be noted that prior to the time of these interviews, the Correctional Service was experiencing difficulty obtaining the services of Elders available to work on a consistent basis with this population. This has since been rectified.

The companion study by Donna McDonagh, Ph.D.of non-Aboriginal women classified as maximum security (Not Letting the Time do You) indicates that program/treatment motivation and participation is a serious issue. Programs and services are available on a continuous basis to maximum security women, both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal; however, actual participation fluctuates widely. Nevertheless, the Service remains concerned about the issues raised by Ms. Morin and will address them during the implementation phase of the Intensive Intervention Strategy.

Women Offender Sector
Correctional Service of Canada
September 1999

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

LES DÉTENUES AUTOCHTONES À SÉCURITÉ MAXIMALE PURGEANT UNE PEINE FÉDÉRALE - QUE SONT DEVENUES LES PROMESSES DE « LA CRÉATION DE CHOIX »?

NOTA BENE

Durant la période au cours de laquelle Mme Morin a mené ses entrevues, soit de décembre 1997 à février 1998, la population des délinquantes classées au niveau de sécurité maximale a varié entre 40 et 50 femmes dont un pourcentage de 40 à 47 % étaient de descendance autochtone. L'année suivante (soit en janvier 1999), le nombre de ces délinquantes avait chuté à moins de 30 et il est demeuré stable depuis.

Des 17 femmes ayant eu une entrevue avec Mme Morin, seules huit (8) sont toujours incarcérées : deux (2) sont classées au niveau de sécurité maximale et six (6) au niveau de sécurité moyenne.

Il convient de noter qu'avant la tenue des entrevues, le Service correctionnel du Canada avait de la difficulté à obtenir les services d'Aînés désireux de travailler de façon continue auprès de ces délinquantes. Cette situation s'est depuis résolue.

L'étude parallèle de Mme Donna McDonagh, Ph.D., qui porte sur les délinquantes non autochtones classées au niveau de sécurité maximale et est intitulée « Not Letting the Time do You », indique que la motivation et la participation aux programmes et aux traitements constitue un problème grave. Bien que les programmes et les services soient offerts de façon continue aux délinquantes autochtones et non autochtones ayant une cote de sécurité maximale, le niveau de participation varie considérablement. Les questions soulevées par Mme Morin continuent cependant à inquiéter le SCC. Celles-ci seront traitées pendant la mise en oeuvre de la Stratégie d'intervention intensive.

Le Secteur pour les délinquantes
Service correctionnel du Canada
Septembre 1999