Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

FEDERALLY SENTENCED ABORIGINAL WOMEN IN MAXIMUM SECURITY: WHAT HAPPENED TO THE PROMISES OF "CREATING CHOICES"?

2. Background

The following background information section identifies the current legislation and policy framework of CSC as it directly impacts on incarcerated Aboriginal women.

Corrections and Conditional Release Act

The Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA) states in Section 4(h): "that correctional policies, programs and practices respect gender, ethnic, cultural and linguistic differences and be responsive to the special needs of women and aboriginal peoples...". Sections 79 to 84 explicitly discuss the needs of Aboriginal prisoners, including: programs, agreements, advisory committees, spiritual leaders and Elders, parole plans and other aspects that are designed to address the distinct needs of the Aboriginal prisoner. In addition, Section 74 states that "The Service shall provide inmates with the opportunity to contribute to decisions of the Service affecting the inmate population as a whole, or affecting a group within the inmate population…".

Commissioner's Directives

CSC's Commissioner's Directives #702 states the following in regards to policy objectives, spiritual practices and Aboriginal Liaison Services for Aboriginal offender programs:

Policy Objectives

1. To ensure that Aboriginal Offenders are provided with an equitable opportunity to practice their culture and traditions without discrimination and with an opportunity to implement traditional Aboriginal healing practices.

2. To recognize and respect that Aboriginal cultures and traditional practices contribute to the holistic healing of the Aboriginal Offender and his or her eventual reintegration into society.

3. To recognize that Aboriginal Offenders have the collective and individual right to maintain and develop their distinct identities and characteristics including the right to identify themselves as Aboriginal.

4. To ensure and recognize that Aboriginal Offenders have the right to practice and revitalize their cultural traditions and customs including the preservation, protection and access to cultural sites, ceremonial objects and traditional medicines.

5. To ensure that the needs of all Aboriginal Offenders are identified and that programs and services are developed and maintained to meet those needs.

Spiritual Practices

27. The institutional head, following consultation with Aboriginal inmates, Elders and communities, shall make arrangements for one or more Elders to provide spiritual leadership, including teaching, counselling and the conduct of traditional ceremonies, to Aboriginal inmates.

Aboriginal Liaison Services

28. The institutional head, following consultation with Aboriginal offenders, Elders and communities, shall make arrangements for one or more liaison personnel to assist in providing leadership, teaching, cultural awareness, counselling and general service to Aboriginal offenders.

CSC's Objectives

CSC's Strategic Objective 2.3 states: "to provide programs to assist offenders in meeting their individual needs, in order to enhance their potential for reintegration as law-abiding citizens". Linked is CSC's 1998/99 Corporate Objectives, which states: "significantly increase the number of aboriginal offenders safely and successfully reintegrated".

Creating Choices: The Report of the Task Force on Federally Sentenced Women

Creating Choices was adopted by the government in 1990 and was the basis for the development of the women offender program. Creating Choices recognized that a comprehensive approach to the unique program needs of federally sentenced women is required. Creating Choices lists the following "Principles for Change" which have guided the implementation of the regional women's facilities and the Okimaw Ohci Healing Lodge:

  • Principle #1: Empowerment
  • Principle #2: Meaningful and Responsible Choices
  • Principle #3: Respect and Dignity
  • Principle #4: Supportive Environment
  • Principle #5: Shared Responsibility (among levels of government, service
agencies, volunteer organizations, businesses and community for the development of support systems and the continuity of service).

This comprehensive approach needs to include federally sentenced Aboriginal women (FSAW), as the research data shows that they have been neglected. FSAW are not dealt with in a manner that is empowering to them. Their contact with staff has been one of feeling powerless. They have not been provided with meaningful and responsible choices, as they have had to repeat the same programs and take some programs that they believe were not necessary. They indicate that their institutional environments have not been supportive. Many FSAW asked "What happened to the promises of Creating Choices?".

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

LES DÉTENUES AUTOCHTONES À SÉCURITÉ MAXIMALE PURGEANT UNE PEINE FÉDÉRALE - QUE SONT DEVENUES LES PROMESSES DE « LA CRÉATION DE CHOIX »?

CONTEXTE

Voici les dispositions législatives et les politiques du SCC qui concernent directement les détenues autochtones.

Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition

L’alinéa 4h) de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (LSCMLC) prévoit, comme principe guidant le SCC dans l’exécution de son mandat, que « ses directives d’orientation générale, programmes et méthodes respectent les différences ethniques, culturelles et linguistiques, ainsi qu’entre les sexes, et tiennent compte des besoins propres aux femmes, aux autochtones [...] ». Les articles 79 à 84 portent explicitement sur les besoins des détenus autochtones, entre autres sur les programmes, les accords, les comités consultatifs, les chefs spirituels et aînés, les plans de libération conditionnelle, et d’autres aspects qui concernent les besoins particuliers des délinquants autochtones. En outre, l’article 74 prévoit que « Le Service doit permettre aux détenus de participer à ses décisions concernant tout ou partie de la population carcérale [...] ».

Directive du Commissaire

La Directive du Commissaire no 702 énonce ce qui suit au sujet des objectifs de la politique, des pratiques spirituelles et des services de liaison auprès des Autochtones :

Objectifs de la politique

1. Veiller à ce que les délinquants autochtones aient les mêmes chances que les autres de vivre selon leur culture et leurs traditions, sans être victimes de discrimination, et à ce qu’ils puissent appliquer les méthodes de guérison traditionnelles des Autochtones.

2. Reconnaître que les pratiques culturelles et traditionnelles des Autochtones contribuent à la guérison holistique des délinquants autochtones et, éventuellement, à leur réinsertion sociale.

3. Reconnaître que les délinquants autochtones ont le droit, collectivement et individuellement, de préserver et d’affermir leur identité distincte et leurs particularités, notamment de se réclamer de la communauté autochtone.

4. Reconnaître et assurer aux délinquants autochtones le droit de respecter leurs traditions et leurs coutumes culturelles et de leur donner un nouveau souffle, notamment de préserver et de protéger leurs sites culturels, leurs objets de cérémonie et leurs remèdes traditionnels ainsi que d’y avoir accès.

5. Déterminer les besoins des délinquants autochtones et leur offrir des programmes et des services répondant à ces besoins.

Pratiques spirituelles

27. Après avoir consulté les détenus, les aînés et les collectivités autochtones, le directeur de l’établissement doit prendre les mesures nécessaires afin de permettre à un ou plusieurs aînés de diriger des activités spirituelles, notamment des services d’enseignement et de counseling, ou encore la célébration de cérémonies traditionnelles pour les délinquants autochtones.

Services de liaison auprès des autochtones

28. Après avoir consulté les détenus, les aînés et les collectivités autochtones, le directeur de l’établissement doit prendre les mesures nécessaires afin de permettre à un ou plusieurs agents de liaison d’aider à diriger des activités, notamment des services d’enseignement, de sensibilisation culturelle et de counseling ainsi que des services généraux, pour les délinquants autochtones.

 

Objectifs du SCC

Selon l’objectif stratégique 2.3 du SCC, l’organisme doit « fournir aux délinquants des programmes qui les aident à répondre à leurs besoins individuels en vue d’accroître leur potentiel de réinsertion en tant que citoyens respectueux des lois ». En outre, un des objectifs corporatifs du SCC pour 1998-1999 prévoit qu’il faut « accroître de façon appréciable le nombre de délinquants autochtones qui réintègrent la société avec succès et en toute sécurité ».

La création de choix : Rapport du Groupe d’étude sur les femmes purgeant une peine fédérale

Le rapport La création de choix a été adopté par le gouvernement en 1990 et a constitué le fondement de l’élaboration du programme des femmes purgeant une peine fédérale. Le Groupe d’étude y reconnaissait qu’il fallait adopter une approche globale pour répondre aux besoins des délinquantes en matière de programmes. Il énumérait aussi des principes qui ont guidé la conception du modèle de gestion des établissements régionaux pour femmes et du pavillon de ressourcement Okimaw Ohci :

  • Premier principe : pouvoir de contrôler sa vie
  • Deuxième principe : des choix valables et responsables
  • Troisième principe : respect et dignité
  • Quatrième principe : environnement de soutien
  • Cinquième principe : responsabilité partagée (entre les niveaux de gouvernement, les organismes de services, les organismes bénévoles, le monde des affaires et les membres de la collectivité, pour l’élaboration de systèmes de soutien et la continuité des services)

Cette approche globale doit s’appliquer aussi aux femmes autochtones purgeant une peine fédérale (FAPPF). Cependant, les données de notre recherche montrent que ces femmes ont été négligées. Le traitement qu’on leur a accordé ne les a pas aidées à prendre leur vie en main. Dans leurs contacts avec le personnel, elles se sentent impuissantes. On ne leur a pas permis de faire des choix valables et responsables, puisqu’elles ont dû suivre les mêmes programmes plusieurs fois et participer à des programmes qu’elles ne jugeaient pas nécessaires. Elles ont souligné que le milieu carcéral n’a pas été un environnement de soutien pour elles. Beaucoup des femmes que nous avons interrogées se demandaient ce qu’étaient devenues les promesses de La création de choix.