Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Ten-Year Status Report on Women’s Corrections
1996-2006

PDF

Aboriginal Women Offenders

The opening of Okimaw Ohci Healing Lodge (OOHL) in 1995 was a major milestone towards meeting the healing and reintegration needs of Aboriginal women offenders. OOHL is located on the Nekaneet Reserve in Saskatchewan and the chosen name means “Thunder Hills”. OOHL’s focus on traditional healing practices in a culturally relevant environment marked a complete shift in correctional approaches for Aboriginal women offenders. The offender population of OOHL includes women classified at the minimum and medium-security level.

Healing for Aboriginal women means the opportunity, through Aboriginal teachings, programs, spirituality and culture, to recover from histories of abuse, regain a sense of self-worth, gain skills and rebuild families. Through healing, Aboriginal women are able to change or release negative behaviours such as addictions and criminal behaviour. Delving deep into issues allows for an intensive healing experience, which improves their ability to re-establish themselves in their community.

A Healing Lodge in the Prairie Region was envisioned in Creating Choices which proposed that the features and design of the facility be developed by CSC in close partnership with Aboriginal people. The Operational Plan and facility design that evolved focused on the importance of nature in Aboriginal culture, the need for privacy in healing, community interaction and Aboriginal specific intervention strategies.

In the years leading up to the opening of OOHL, a vast amount of work had been accomplished under the leadership of a Planning Circle which was comprised of representatives from CSC, Elders and other members of the Aboriginal community. The Planning Circle initiated the development of a comprehensive plan for staff selection, training and program development for the Healing Lodge. The staff selection process emphasized the recruitment of Aboriginal employees and working with Aboriginal communities.

In the other women’s institutions, access to Aboriginal forms of healing are facilitated through Elders and Aboriginal Liaison Officers. Staff encourage and support these efforts, recognizing how difficult this personal journey can be for the women. The Regional Psychiatric Centre (Prairies) offers weekly Aboriginal programming to all women in its care.

The Arbour Report acknowledged the opening of the Healing Lodge for Aboriginal women as “…probably one of the most progressive steps ever taken by the Correctional Service.” A recommendation put forth in the Report proposed building on this innovation by making the Healing Lodge accessible to all Aboriginal women regardless of their security classification. Subsequently, the report of the Canadian Human Rights Commission (CHRC) made a similar recommendation that CSC base admission to the Healing Lodge on individual assessment rather than having a blanket policy of not allowing maximum security women at the Healing Lodge. In conjunction with this, the CHRC recommended that CSC “reassess the classification of all Aboriginal women currently classified as maximum security using a gender-responsive reclassification tool.” CSC did not accept the recommendations pertaining to the accommodation of maximum security women at the Healing Lodge for reasons detailed in Action Plan Updates for the Arbour and CHRC reports (Annex A, recommendation 7 (a) and Annex D, recommendation 2(c)).

Other issues raised in the Arbour Report, and the reports of the Auditor General, Public Accounts Committee and CHRC address access to Elders, Section 81 and 84 Agreements and culturally sensitive staff training.

CSC’s responsiveness to Aboriginal women offenders has evolved to encompass a holistic framework for healing. Ten years ago, there were very few programs or services to meet the unique needs of Aboriginal women offenders. Today, a national Aboriginal strategy for women is in place which establishes a continuum of culturally-specific services and community healing programs to rehabilitate and reintegrate these women into their families and communities.

The active involvement of Aboriginal communities in the correctional process is essential if we are to successfully reintegrate Aboriginal offenders. Sections 81 and 84 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act give Canada’s Aboriginal communities the opportunity to become more involved in the care, custody and release of all Aboriginal offenders. CSC is currently working with Aboriginal communities so that they are involved in planning the conditional release of Aboriginal offenders. Restoring harmonious relationships among offenders, victims and communities is a cornerstone to Aboriginal correctional policy.

The number of incarcerated Aboriginal women offenders has increased over the past decade, with Aboriginal women currently representing 31% of the total women offender incarcerated population. The profile of Aboriginal women sentenced to federal custody has not significantly changed over the past decade. These women have multi-facetted needs, including pervasive substance abuse, and have physical and/or sexual abuse histories.

Aboriginal women’s disproportionate representation in the justice system is a reflection of long-standing systemic issues that go well beyond the capacity of CSC alone to remedy. Although CSC cannot directly affect the overall rate of incarceration of Aboriginal peoples, it plays a fundamental role in potentially reducing re-incarceration rates. It does so by partnering with other jurisdictions, departments, agencies and diverse Aboriginal groups and communities to develop integrated and targeted approaches which respect different Aboriginal cultures and focus on healing and safe reintegration initiatives.

While considerable work has been undertaken, there remains much work ahead of us to meet the needs of Aboriginal women offenders. CSC will continue to place a high priority on enhancing its capacities to provide effective interventions for Aboriginal women offenders.

Key Accomplishments

  • OOHL offers services and programs that reflect Aboriginal culture in a space that incorporates the traditions and beliefs of Aboriginal peoples. As well, OOHL maintains strong links to the local community and women offenders often participate in temporary absences to attend events on the Nekaneet Reserve.
  • The Aboriginal Pathways Program has been established at Fraser Valley Institution and is planned for Edmonton Institution for Women. Pathways is a component of CSC’s strategy to build a continuum of Aboriginal specific services from intake to release, including a specialized Aboriginal orientation unit and healing units within existing correctional institutions.
  • CSC’s Security Reclassification Scale for Women was implemented in September 2005 and is valid and reliable for Aboriginal women offenders.
  • Cultural and gender-specific programs, Spirit of a Warrior and Circles of Change, are being delivered at regional women’s institutions.
  • The Women Offender Substance Abuse Program has been successfully implemented in all regional women’s institutions. Development of a substance abuse component within the Spirit of a Warrior Program has recently been initiated specifically for Aboriginal women offenders.
  • The role of Elders/Aboriginal liaison has been enhanced in the development of Correctional Plans and Criminal Profile Report.
  • Ten Aboriginal Community Development Officer positions have been staffed across the country to create links for both men and women offenders with Aboriginal communities, raise Aboriginal community interest in participating in the correctional process, and initiate Section 84 agreements.
  • An Aboriginal advisory committee has been established in the Pacific Region to explore Section 81 and 84 agreements for women offenders.
  • A Section 84 Conditional Release Planning Kit has been produced and widely distributed throughout CSC and communities to provide a comprehensive guide on this type of release option.
  • Each women’s institution has identified a staff "Champion" to serve as a promoter of OOHL.
  • While CSC did not accept the recommendations pertaining to the accommodation of maximum security women at the Healing Lodge, a Healing Readiness Commitment Process has been designed for these women who wish to work toward reducing their security classification and eventual transfer to OOHL.
  • The women’s unit at the Regional Psychiatric Centre (Prairies) has developed an intensive treatment service utilized predominantly by Aboriginal women offenders (particularly maximum security). The program incorporates two half-days of Aboriginal programming delivered by Elders and Aboriginal Liaison Officers.
  • Community residential accommodation for Aboriginal women has been established with Anderson Lodge in Vancouver.
  • CSC’s Aboriginal Initiatives Branch now reports directly to the Senior Deputy Commissioner to ensure senior-level leadership.

Challenges and Next Steps

CSC’s Aboriginal-specific programs, such as Pathways, are starting to result in increases in movement to lower security levels, fewer incidents and reduced re-offending among those who participate. However, there are gaps in our capacity to meet the needs of urban Aboriginal offenders and those from the North. To make an impact, we need to continue to build community capacity, through strategies such as those discussed above, and expand CSC’s understanding and application of Aboriginal approaches in corrections.

Aboriginal women offenders are also more likely to return to custody for a breach of a condition of community supervision. CSC will continue to work at narrowing the gap in the rate of revocations for Aboriginal offenders while they are under supervision in the community. Aboriginal issues continue to be a priority area for CSC.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Rapport sur les progrès réalisés depuis dix ans dans le domaine des services correctionnels pour femmes
1996-2006

PDF

Délinquantes autochtones

L’ouverture du Pavillon de ressourcement Okimaw Ohci (PROO) en 1995 était une étape principale en vue de répondre aux besoins des délinquantes autochtones en matière de guérison et de réinsertion sociale. Le PROO est situé dans la réserve de la bande Nekaneet en Saskatchewan, et le nom retenu signifie « :Thunder Hills ». L’orientation du PROO vers les pratiques de guérison traditionnelles dans un milieu approprié à la culture a marqué un changement de cap complet dans les approches correctionnelles à l’intention des délinquantes autochtones. Le PROO accueille des délinquantes dites à sécurité minimale et moyenne.

Les femmes autochtones parviennent à la guérison grâce aux enseignements, aux programmes, à la spiritualité et à la culture qui leur donnent les moyens de se remettre des mauvais traitements qu’elles ont subis, de reprendre confiance, d’acquérir des compétences et de reconstruire leur famille. Le processus de guérison permet aux femmes autochtones de changer ou de se libérer de comportements négatifs comme la toxicomanie ou le comportement criminel. En fouillant les questions en profondeur, le processus de guérison devient une expérience intensive, qui augmente la capacité des femmes à reprendre leur place dans la collectivité.

Le rapport La création de choix préconisait la mise en place d’un pavillon de ressourcement dans la région des Prairies; il proposait que le SCC, en partenariat étroit avec les Autochtones, en définisse les caractéristiques et le concept. Le plan opérationnel et la conception des installations qui ont vu le jour mettaient l’accent sur l’importance de la nature dans les cultures autochtones, le besoin de s’isoler qu’exige la guérison, l’interaction communautaire et les stratégies d’intervention propres aux Autochtones.

Au cours des années ayant mené à l’ouverture du PROO, on a effectué d’importants travaux sous la direction du Cercle de planification, composé notamment de représentants du SCC, d’Aînés et d’autres membres de la collectivité autochtone. Le Cercle de planification a amorcé l’élaboration d’un vaste plan de sélection du personnel, de formation et d’élaboration de programmes à l’intention du Pavillon de ressourcement. Le processus de sélection du personnel insistait sur le recrutement d’employés autochtones et le travail auprès des collectivités autochtones.

Dans les autres établissements pour femmes, les Aînés et les agents de liaison autochtones facilitent l’accès aux formes de ressourcement autochtones. Le personnel encourage et soutient ces initiatives, et reconnaît à quel point ce cheminement personnel peut être difficile pour les femmes. Le Centre psychiatrique régional des Prairies offre des programmes autochtones hebdomadaires à toutes les femmes qui y suivent un traitement.

Selon le rapport Arbour, l’ouverture du Pavillon de ressourcement pour les femmes autochtones « :constitue l'une des mesures les plus progressistes adoptées par le Service correctionnel ». On proposait également dans le rapport de poursuivre dans la voie de la nouveauté en rendant le Pavillon de ressourcement accessible à toutes les délinquantes autochtones, sans tenir compte de leur cote de sécurité. Par la suite, une recommandation similaire a été formulée dans le rapport de la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne (CCDP); on proposait au SCC d’évaluer au cas par cas les demandes d’admission au Pavillon de ressourcement au lieu d’adopter une politique générale interdisant l’accès aux délinquantes à sécurité maximale. La CCDP recommandait également au SCC de procéder à « :la réévaluation immédiate de la cote de sécurité de toutes les femmes autochtones à sécurité maximale, au moyen d'un outil de reclassement adapté aux femmes ». Le SCC a refusé de donner suite aux recommandations visant à autoriser les délinquantes à sécurité maximale à séjourner au Pavillon de ressourcement pour les raisons énoncées dans la mise à jour des plans d’action élaborés pour le rapport Arbour et le rapport de la CCDP [annexe A, recommandations 7a), et annexe D, recommandation 2c)].

Le rapport Arbour ainsi que les rapports de la vérificatrice générale, du Comité des comptes publics et de la CCDP soulevaient également des questions concernant l’accès aux Aînés, les accords conclus aux termes des articles 81 et 84 et la prestation de cours de formation adaptés aux différences culturelles à l’intention du personnel.

La réceptivité du SCC à l’égard des délinquantes autochtones a évolué pour englober une perspective holistique de guérison. Il y a dix ans, très peu de programmes ou de services répondaient aux besoins uniques des délinquantes autochtones. Aujourd’hui, une stratégie nationale concernant les Autochtones, à l’intention des femmes, établit une gamme de services et de programmes de guérison communautaires adaptés à la culture visant la réadaptation et la réintégration de ces femmes au sein de leur famille et de leur collectivité.

La participation active des collectivités autochtones au processus correctionnel s’avère essentielle à la réussite de la réinsertion sociale des délinquants autochtones. Les articles 81 et 84 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition procurent aux collectivités autochtones du Canada l’occasion d’intervenir davantage dans la prise en charge, la garde et la mise en liberté de tous les délinquants autochtones. Le SCC collabore actuellement avec les collectivités autochtones afin qu’elles participent à la planification de la libération conditionnelle des délinquants autochtones. Le rétablissement de relations harmonieuses entre les délinquants, les victimes et les collectivités est la pierre angulaire de la politique correctionnelle autochtone.

Le nombre de délinquantes autochtones incarcérées s’est accru au cours de la dernière décennie : elles représentent actuellement 31 % des délinquantes en détention. Le profil actuel des délinquantes autochtones condamnées à l’incarcération dans un pénitencier fédéral n’a pas beaucoup changé ces dix dernières années. Ces femmes ont des besoins multiples, y compris des antécédents profonds de toxicomanie et de violence physique ou sexuelle.

La représentation disproportionnée des délinquantes autochtones dans le système de justice reflète des questions systémiques de longue date qui transcendent la capacité du SCC d’y remédier seul. Le SCC ne peut pas influer directement sur le taux global d’incarcération des Autochtones, mais il joue un rôle fondamental pour ce qui est de réduire éventuellement les taux de réincarcération. À cette fin, il s’associe à d’autres administrations, ministères, organismes et divers groupes et collectivités autochtones afin de mettre au point des approches intégrées et ciblées, qui respectent les différentes cultures autochtones et mettent l’accent sur les initiatives de guérison et de réinsertion sociale en toute sécurité des délinquantes.

Le SCC a accompli des progrès considérables, mais il lui reste encore beaucoup de travail à faire pour répondre aux besoins des délinquantes autochtones. Il continuera à accorder une priorité élevée au renforcement de ses capacités afin d’offrir des interventions efficaces aux délinquantes autochtones.

Réalisations clés

  • Le PROO offre des services et des programmes qui reflètent la culture autochtone dans un espace qui intègre les traditions et les croyances des Autochtones. De plus, le PROO entretient des liens solides avec la collectivité locale, et les délinquantes ont souvent des permissions de sortir pour assister à des activités dans la réserve de Nekaneet.
  • La Stratégie des sentiers autochtones a été mise en œuvre à l’Établissement de la vallée du Fraser et l’on prévoit l’établir à l’Établissement d’Edmonton pour femmes. Ce programme fait partie de la stratégie du SCC visant à offrir un continuum de services propres aux Autochtones depuis leur admission jusqu’à leur libération et notamment à mettre en place une unité d’orientation spécialisée et des unités de guérison autochtones dans les établissements correctionnels existants.
  • L’Échelle de réévaluation du niveau de sécurité pour les délinquantes du SCC est mise en application depuis septembre 2005, et elle est valide et fiable pour les délinquantes autochtones.
  • Des programmes adaptés aux différences culturelles et aux différences entre les sexes, comme l’Esprit du guerrier et les Cercles de changement, sont offerts dans les établissements régionaux pour femmes.
  • Le Programme d’intervention pour délinquantes toxicomanes a été mis en œuvre avec succès dans tous les établissements régionaux pour femmes. On a amorcé l’élaboration d’un programme de traitement de la toxicomanie destiné expressément aux délinquantes autochtones, dans le cadre du programme l’Esprit du guerrier.
  • Les Aînés et les agents de liaison jouent désormais un rôle plus important dans l’élaboration des plans correctionnels et des rapports sur le profil criminel.
  • On a doté dix postes d’agent de développement auprès de la collectivité autochtone (ADACA) au pays afin de créer des liens entre les délinquants (hommes et femmes) et les collectivités autochtones, de susciter l'intérêt des collectivités autochtones à participer au processus correctionnel et d’amorcer des accords aux termes de l’article 84.
  • Dans la région du Pacifique, on a créé un comité consultatif autochtone chargé d’examiner les accords aux termes des articles 81 et 84 pour les délinquantes.
  • On a préparé une trousse de planification de la mise en liberté sous condition aux termes de l’article 84 qui a été distribuée à la grandeur du SCC et dans les collectivités à titre de guide complet sur ce type de mise en liberté.
  • Chaque établissement pour femmes a désigné un « :champion » du personnel chargé d’agir comme promoteur du PROO.
  • Même si le SCC a refusé de donner suite aux recommandations visant à autoriser les délinquantes à sécurité maximale à séjourner au Pavillon de ressourcement, un processus d’évaluation de la disposition à entreprendre un chemin de guérison a été élaboré pour les femmes qui désirent prendre les mesures requises pour réduire leur cote de sécurité et être transférées au PROO.
  • L’unité réservée aux femmes du Centre psychiatrique régional des Prairies a mis au point un service de traitement intensif utilisé principalement par les délinquantes autochtones (des délinquantes à sécurité maximale en majorité). Le programme comprend deux séances d’une demi-journée offertes par des Aînés et des agents de liaison autochtones.
  • On a établi un centre résidentiel communautaire à l’intention des femmes autochtones avec Anderson Lodge, à Vancouver.
  • À présent, la Direction des initiatives pour les Autochtones du SCC relève directement du sous-commissaire principal.

Défis et prochaines étapes

Certains programmes propres aux Autochtones offerts par le SCC, comme la Stratégie des sentiers autochtones, commencent à donner lieu au transfèrement d’un plus grand nombre de délinquantes à des niveaux de sécurité inférieurs, à la diminution du nombre d’incidents et à la réduction de la récidive chez les délinquantes ayant participé à ces programmes. Le SCC n’a toutefois pas encore la capacité requise pour répondre à tous les besoins des délinquantes autochtones vivant en milieu urbain ou dans les régions du Nord. Pour obtenir des résultats, il doit continuer à renforcer les capacités des collectivités, grâce à des stratégies comme celles décrites plus haut, et à favoriser la compréhension et l’application des approches autochtones au sein des services correctionnels.

Par ailleurs, les délinquantes autochtones sont plus susceptibles que les délinquantes non autochtones d’être réincarcérées pour manquement aux conditions de leur mise en liberté. Le SCC va continuer à s’efforcer de réduire l’écart entre le taux de révocation des délinquantes autochtones et celui des délinquantes non autochtones qui font l’objet d’une surveillance dans la collectivité. Les questions autochtones sont toujours un domaine prioritaire pour le SCC.