Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Women Offender Programs and Issues

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Ten-Year Status Report on Women’s Corrections
1996-2006

PDF

Administrative Segregation

The findings in the Arbour Report indicated that CSC did not fully understand nor comply with existing CSC policy and/or the law in dealing with the women offenders in segregation during the incidents at Prison for Women in 1994. The Report also concluded that segregation was used in a punitive fashion because although many of the interventions were said to be based on "security", it was reasonable to suggest that few were needed to ensure security and, in fact, may have escalated some of the situations.

In its 2004 report, the Canadian Human Rights Commission, focused on follow-up from the Arbour Report and the recommendations of the Task Force on Administrative Segregation (1997), namely, the impact of segregation on women, the length of time a few women were spending in segregation and the use of segregation for Aboriginal and/or visible minority women, who spent longer time in segregation than non-Aboriginal women.

Administrative segregation is the most restrictive measure described in the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA) (1992). There are two types: involuntary segregation and voluntary segregation.

To ensure that inmates who must be kept from associating with other inmates for a limited period of time are segregated in a safe and humane fashion, subject to the least restraint necessary, in accordance with a fair and reasonable decision-making process, and are returned to the general inmate population, in the institution, or in another institution, at the earliest appropriate time.

Involuntary segregation: the institutional head may confine an inmate in involuntary administrative segregation if the institutional head believes on reasonable grounds that: the inmate has acted, has attempted to act or intends to act in a manner that jeopardizes the security of the institution or the safety of an individual, and that his or her continued presence in the general inmate population would jeopardize the security of the institution or the safety of any person; the continued presence of the inmate in the general inmate population would interfere with the investigation of a criminal or serious disciplinary offence; the inmate would be in danger in the general inmate population and the inmate does not request segregation.

Voluntary segregation: The institutional head may order that an inmate be confined in administrative segregation if he/she believes on reasonable grounds that the inmate would be in danger in the general inmate population and the inmate requests segregation.

In law, segregation is considered a status, not a location. That being said, institutions have specific areas called segregation units given that placing all offenders on segregation status in one area, ensures their daily activities and/or restrictions are managed more effectively. Often staff are assigned to this unit for a period of time so that they become very familiar with the offenders in this unit. The women in segregation are often in crisis and at risk of self-harm, therefore, staff assigned to this unit must demonstrate strong interpersonal skills to de-escalate situations.

Offenders in segregation are permitted to have their personal effects with them and participate in programs; however, these activities may be limited at times depending on the reasons for the segregation placement. For example, the Warden may have to restrict access to certain personal effects if an offender is at risk of using an item in a dangerous manner. For offenders who endanger others, there is also a need for temporary isolation from, or protection for, other inmates and staff.

The segregation capacity in a women’s institution is 3-4 cells. The cell utilities (sink, toilet with a privacy screen) are stainless steel, the doors have food slots and the furniture is secured to the floor. There is also a small exercise yard.

Administrative segregation is not a measure that is used lightly. There are legislative reasons and very clear processes for admission to, and discharge from, segregation, regular reviews of the inmate's status as well as very strict accountability mechanisms. All this ensures that an inmate's legal and human rights are respected. For example: inmates are informed of their right to legal counsel and they must be given reasonable opportunity to retain and instruct counsel without delay (within 24 hours); staff use logs to ensure all rights and privileges are respected; it is mandatory for staff to document various aspects of the placement; formal reviews of the status are done are done at 1 day, 5 days, 30 days and 60 days and then Regional Headquarters reviews individual cases of inmates who are in segregation longer than 60 days. Additional monitoring is also done through national audits and Management Control Frameworks, which are tools for institutional management to assess compliance. Both Regional Headquarters and National Headquarters have managers assigned to monitor and advise on segregation issues. Extensive training on law and policy commenced in early 1997 and is ongoing.

Management Protocol

Segregation tends to have a significant impact on women offenders. Generally speaking, women are linked to each other through relationships and the isolation of segregation, combined with the crisis or stress the woman is experiencing, can take its toll, particularly for those who spend long periods in segregation. For the most part, women who are placed in segregation, spend no more than a few days there.

There is a very small group of women who may spend more time in segregation. These are women who have intentionally hurt others. Currently, there are four (4) women (less than 1% of the incarcerated population) who have spent a longer period of time in segregation because they have seriously assaulted staff or taken staff or inmates hostage. Their actions all resulted in outside criminal charges.

Given their small number, our preferred approach to manage the risks and needs is to use the Management Protocol. It is a detailed framework, based on legislation and CSC’s segregation and transfer policies, to keep staff, other inmates, the public and the inmate herself safe. Safe reintegration into the general population is the other element of the Protocol, but can be a very gradual process, which may have an impact on the woman because of the length of time she is in segregation. Women on the Protocol have their situation reviewed weekly and have regular and daily access to various staff (Primary Workers, Behavioural Counsellors, Team Leaders, Psychologists, Elders, etc.). As soon as is safely possible, they also have access to programming and eventually other inmates and regular activities.

Key Accomplishments

  • CSC established the joint Task Force on Administrative Segregation, involving both CSC and external partners. The report, Task Force Report on Administrative Segregation – Commitment to Legal Compliance, Fair Decisions and Effective Results was submitted in March 1997 (available on the CSC website: www.csc-scc.gc.ca). As a result, national segregation policies were reviewed and updated and accountabilities were added; a Segregation Handbook was developed; institutional Standing Orders were updated to ensure that roles and responsibilities of key institutional managers with respect to segregation were clear; the Offender Management System was revamped and made consistent with the segregation review process; a national audit framework and tool was developed and implemented for segregation and the elements of this tool are now in the Management Control Framework; a three-day training course was developed by Legal Services (CSC and the Law) which included aspects of segregation and was delivered to managers throughout CSC.
  • A national Population Management Committee has been established, the mandate of which is to take a strategic role on population management concerns, including more problematic segregation cases, and inter-regional transfer options.
  • A joint committee with CSC managers and the Union of Canadian Correctional Officers (UCCO-SACC-CSN) has been established to refine the Management Protocol used with women offenders, increase effectiveness to ensure staff and inmate safety and enhance reintegration possibilities.

Challenges and Next Steps

Creative alternatives to segregation, without having to transfer women to other regional institutions at a distance from their families and community support, are an ongoing challenge. As per CSC’s Action Plan on the CHRC report, a Segregation Advisory Committee (CSC and external members) is being implemented as a two-year pilot project at Edmonton Institution for Women starting in fiscal year 2005-06. At the end of the pilot, the results will be reviewed and evaluated for broader application of the project. For those women offenders who spend a longer period of time in segregation, CSC is committed to examining approaches that will increase opportunities for out-of-cell activities and interaction with others while maintaining the safety of all concerned.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes pour les délinquantes

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Rapport sur les progrès réalisés depuis dix ans dans le domaine des services correctionnels pour femmes
1996-2006

PDF

Isolement préventif

Les conclusions du rapport Arbour indiquaient que le SCC n’avait ni compris ni respecté totalement sa politique ou la loi dans le traitement des délinquantes en isolement pendant les incidents survenus à la Prison des femmes en 1994. Le rapport concluait également que l’isolement avait été utilisé comme châtiment car, même si de nombreuses interventions semblaient avoir été effectuées par souci de « :sécurité », il était raisonnable de croire que peu d’entre elles étaient vraiment nécessaires pour assurer la sécurité et qu’elles avaient, en fait, contribué à aggraver la situation.

Dans son rapport de 2004, la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne a mis l’accent sur les mesures prises à la suite du rapport Arbour et sur les recommandations du Groupe de travail sur l’isolement préventif (1997), notamment les conséquences de l’isolement sur les femmes, la longueur du séjour en isolement de quelques femmes et les périodes d’isolement plus longues pour les femmes autochtones ou appartenant à des minorités visibles que pour les femmes non autochtones.

L’isolement préventif est la mesure la plus restrictive décrite dans la LSCMLC (1992). Il y a deux types d’isolement : l’isolement non sollicité et l’isolement sollicité.

Veiller à ce que les détenus qui doivent être tenus à l’écart des autres détenus pour une période limitée soient isolés dans des conditions sûres et humanitaires, soient soumis au minimum de restrictions, suivant un processus décisionnel juste et raisonnable, et soient replacés le plus tôt possible dans la population carcérale générale, à l’établissement ou dans un autre établissement.

Isolement non sollicité : le directeur de l’établissement peut ordonner l’isolement préventif d’un détenu s’il a des motifs raisonnables de croire : que le détenu a agi, a tenté d’agir ou a l’intention d’agir d’une manière compromettant la sécurité d’une personne ou de l’établissement et que son maintien parmi les autres détenus mettrait en danger la sécurité de l’établissement ou d’une personne; que le maintien du détenu dans la population carcérale générale nuirait au déroulement de l’enquête sur une infraction criminelle ou sur une infraction disciplinaire grave; que la sécurité du détenu qui ne demande pas à être placé en isolement serait menacée s’il restait dans la population carcérale générale.

Isolement sollicité : le directeur de l’établissement peut ordonner l’isolement préventif d’un détenu qui en fait la demande s’il a des motifs raisonnables de croire que le maintien du détenu au sein de la population carcérale générale mettrait en danger sa sécurité.

En droit, l’isolement est considéré comme un état, pas comme un lieu. Cela dit, les établissements sont dotés d'aires spécifiques appelées unités d’isolement, car le placement de tous les détenus en isolement préventif dans un secteur garantit la gestion plus efficace de leurs activités quotidiennes ou des restrictions qui leur sont imposées. Souvent, le personnel est affecté à cette unité pendant une certaine période de sorte qu’il finit par très bien connaître les délinquants de l’unité. Les délinquantes placées en isolement sont souvent en crise et risquent de se blesser, de sorte que le personnel affecté à l’unité doit faire preuve de solides compétences interpersonnelles pour désamorcer les situations.

Les détenus placés en isolement peuvent apporter leurs effets personnels et participer aux programmes; toutefois, ces activités peuvent être limitées, à l’occasion, en fonction des raisons du placement en isolement. Par exemple, le directeur de l’établissement peut devoir restreindre l’accès à certains effets personnels si un délinquant est susceptible d’utiliser un article de manière dangereuse. Dans le cas d'un détenu qui compromet la sécurité des autres personnes, il faut également l’isoler temporairement des autres détenus et du personnel pour assurer la protection de ces derniers.

Les établissements pour femmes ont des unités d’isolement de trois ou quatre places. Les commodités de la cellule (évier, toilette avec écran d’intimité) sont en acier inoxydable, les portes sont dotées de guichets pour la nourriture et les meubles sont fixés au plancher. Il y a également une petite cour d’exercice.

L’isolement préventif n’est pas une mesure utilisée à la légère. Il y a des raisons législatives et des processus très clairs concernant le placement en isolement et l’élargissement, des examens réguliers de l’état du détenu ainsi que des mécanismes de responsabilisation très rigoureux. On garantit ainsi le respect des droits légaux et des droits de la personne du détenu. Par exemple, le détenu est informé de son droit d’avoir recours à l’assistance d’un avocat et de lui donner des instructions, et il faut lui permettre, dans la mesure du possible, de le faire sans délai (dans les 24 heures); le personnel utilise un journal pour garantir le respect des droits et des privilèges; le personnel a l’obligation de documenter les divers aspects du placement; on procède à des examens officiels du cas le premier jour, puis cinq, trente et soixante jours plus tard; l’administration régionale examine les cas individuels des détenus qui sont maintenus en isolement plus de soixante jours. Il y a également une surveillance supplémentaire au moyen des vérifications nationales et de l’Outil de surveillance de la gestion (OSG), qui permet à la direction de l’établissement d’évaluer la conformité. L’administration régionale et l’administration centrale ont des gestionnaires affectés à la surveillance et à la prestation de conseils concernant les questions d’isolement. Au début de 1997, on a entrepris une formation poussée sur le droit et les politiques, et elle se poursuit.

Protocole de gestion

L’isolement a généralement des répercussions importantes sur les délinquantes. Dans l’ensemble, les femmes entretiennent des liens entre elles grâce aux relations, et l’isolement, combiné à la crise ou au stress que la femme vit, peut laisser des marques, particulièrement chez celles qui passent de longues périodes en isolement. Cependant, dans la plupart des cas, les délinquantes ne passent que quelques jours en isolement.

Un très petit groupe de femmes peuvent passer une longue période en isolement : les femmes qui ont intentionnellement blessé d’autres personnes. Actuellement, quatre femmes (moins de 1 % de la population carcérale) sont placées en isolement de longue durée, car elles ont commis des voies de fait graves contre le personnel ou pris en otage des employés ou des détenues. Leurs gestes ont tous entraîné des accusations extérieures au criminel.

Compte tenu du petit nombre de délinquantes en isolement de longue durée, le SCC privilégie le Protocole de gestion comme approche pour gérer leurs besoins et le risque qu’elles représentent. Il s’agit d’un cadre détaillé, fondé sur la loi et les politiques du SCC en matière de transfèrement et d’isolement pour assurer la protection des employés, des autres détenus, du public et de la détenue elle-même. Le retour sans risque dans la population générale est l’autre élément du Protocole, mais peut constituer un processus très graduel, qui peut avoir une incidence sur les femmes en raison de la période passée en isolement. En vertu du protocole, les femmes voient leur situation examinée chaque semaine; elles ont également accès régulièrement et quotidiennement à divers membres du personnel (intervenants de première ligne, conseillers en comportement, chefs d’équipe, psychologues, Aînés, etc.). Dès qu’il est possible de le faire en toute sécurité, on leur donne également accès à des programmes et, par la suite, à leurs codétenues et aux activités régulières.

Réalisations clés

  • Le Comité de direction du SCC a établi le Groupe de travail sur l'isolement préventif, auquel participent le SCC et des partenaires externes. Le rapport de ce groupe de travail, intitulé Isolement préventif : conformité à la loi, équité et efficacité, a été présenté au Comité de direction en mars 1997. (Le rapport est disponible sur le site Web du SCC : www.csc-scc.gc.ca). Ce rapport a amené le SCC à revoir et à mettre à jour ses politiques nationales en matière d’isolement et à ajouter des mécanismes de responsabilisation; il a élaboré un Guide de l’isolement, il a mis à jour les ordres permanents des établissements pour s’assurer que les rôles et les responsabilités des principaux gestionnaires d’établissement en ce qui a trait à l’isolement soient clairs; il a renouvelé le Système de gestion des délinquants et l’a rendu conforme au processus de réexamen des cas; il a conçu et mis en place un cadre national de vérification et un outil concernant l’isolement et les éléments de ces outils sont maintenant dans l’Outil de surveillance de la gestion; les Services juridiques ont élaboré un cours de formation de trois jours (Le SCC et la loi) qui traite des divers aspects de l’isolement et qui est offert aux gestionnaires dans l’ensemble du SCC.
  • Le SCC a formé un comité national de gestion de la population, dont le mandat est de jouer un rôle stratégique en ce qui a trait aux préoccupations relatives à la gestion de la population, y compris l’augmentation des cas d’isolement problématiques et les options de transfèrement interrégional.
  • Un comité conjoint, comprenant des gestionnaires du SCC et des représentants du Syndicat des agents correctionnels du Canada (SACC–CSN), a été établi dans le but de préciser le protocole de gestion utilisé pour les délinquantes, d’accroître l'efficacité afin de garantir la sécurité du personnel et des détenus et d’accroître les possibilités de réinsertion sociale.

Défis et prochaines étapes

Le SCC a toujours beaucoup de mal à trouver des solutions de rechange créatives à l’isolement, sans avoir à transférer les délinquantes dans d’autres établissements régionaux, loin de leur famille et de leur réseau de soutien communautaire. Conformément au plan d’action du SCC faisant suite au rapport de la CCDP, un comité consultatif sur l’isolement, formé de membres du SCC et de l’extérieur, a été créé; il a entrepris ses travaux au cours de l’exercice 2005-2006 dans le cadre d’un projet pilote mis en œuvre à l’Établissement d’Edmonton pour femmes. À la fin du projet pilote, les résultats seront évalués aux fins d’une mise en œuvre éventuelle du projet à plus grande échelle. Le SCC s’efforcera de trouver de nouvelles approches pour permettre aux femmes qui font de longs séjours en isolement d’avoir des activités à l’extérieur de leur cellule et de passer du temps avec les autres, tout en assurant la sécurité de tout le monde.