Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

The Impact of Experiencing and Witnessing Family Violence during Childhood: Child and Adult Behavioural Outcomes

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Introduction

In recent years, researchers in the area of family violence have provided alarming statistics on the incidence of both wife battering and child abuse. Within the general population, the most accurate estimate regarding the extent of battering in Canada is found in the Violence Against Women survey (Statistics Canada, 1993). In this survey, conducted with a random sample of over 12,000 women nation-wide, the proportion of ever-married women disclosing physical abuse by a male partner was 29%. Fifteen percent of those currently in a marital relationship reported violence. Within an offender population, the prevalence of violence against female partners is at least as high as in the larger community. In the first national study of family violence perpetrated by federal offenders, Robinson & Taylor (1994) found references to physical abuse of a female partner in 29% of offender files. However, it must be noted that most of the recorded incidents had resulted in official charges. Because wife assault cases seldom come to the attention of the criminal justice system -the probability of detection has been estimated at 6.5% (Dutton, 1987) - it seems reasonable to assume that the true rate of domestic violence among offenders is in fact higher than the review of files indicates. Research conducted with the female partners of offenders confirms that domestic violence is often perpetrated by men who have no record of such behaviour in their files (Dutton & Hart, 1992b).

Children are thought to be present during 68% (Leighton, 1989) to 80% (Sinclair, 1985) of wife assault incidents. As high as these percentages are, they may still underestimate the proportion of children who witness marital violence since information regarding observation by children is frequently collected from mothers. When children themselves are questioned, they often divulge that they are aware of more abuse than their mothers believed them to be (Rosenberg & Rossman, 1990). A study of school children residing in London, Ontario revealed that 23% have witnessed the assault of their mothers by a male partner (Jaffe, 1990; cited in Myers Avis, 1992).

As for the number of children who are direct victims of physical abuse by parents, there are no national statistics available in Canada. According to American research, between 5% (Parke & Collmer, 1975) and 14% of children in the general population are victims of child abuse (Straus, Gelles & Steinmetz, 1980). Robinson & Taylor's (1994) file review study of federal offenders revealed that quite a substantial proportion (34.6%) had been physically abused in childhood. The rate of child abuse perpetrated by this sample of offenders was 3.1%, but as mentioned in the context of partner abuse, the majority of family violence incidents in the offenders' files were those that resulted in official charges. One suspects that there may have been many more unreported incidents of child abuse perpetrated by these men. The secrecy surrounding child abuse and the dependency of children on the abusers means that information gathered from official sources (e.g., police and hospital records) greatly underestimates the extent of child abuse (Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics, 1994).

The phenomena of wife battering and child abuse appear to be correlated although the estimates of overlap are variable. According to Jaffe, Wolfe & Wilson (1990), in one-third of families where there is marital violence there is also child abuse occurring. Walker (1984) reports that over 50% of batterers also physically abuse their children. Bowker, Arbitell & McFerron (1988) found that batterers also abused their children in 70% of families and that the more severe and frequent the wife abuse was, the more severe the child abuse that occurred. The association between marital violence and child abuse is more often attributable to a batterers directing aggression toward his children than to a battered woman's displacing anger at her partner onto her children. A recent review of the literature indicates that when wife assault occurs in a family, children are at greater risk for abuse from the batterer than they are from the battered woman (Saunders, 1994). Wolfe (1987) agrees that although much research on child abuse focuses on female perpetrators, men are more likely to physically abuse children than are women.

Given the substantial proportion of children who are witnesses to marital violence and/or direct victims of physical abuse by their parents, it is important to ascertain the impact that such experiences might have on these individuals. Recently, reliance on anecdotal evidence regarding the consequences of family violence has given way to empirical research on the question. Studies of children in battered women's shelters that consisted of informal descriptions provided by shelter workers have been replaced by quasi-experimental designs comparing witness and/or victimized children with controls on standardized instruments. Much of the research conducted demonstrates that children who see or experience violence in their families are at risk for adjustment difficulties in emotional, psychological and cognitive domains (Goodman & Rosenberg, 1987; Jaffe, Wolfe & Wilson, 1990). For example, the child witness to marital violence may experience sleep disturbance, poor impulse control, poor academic performance, difficulty in concentrating (Hurley & Jaffe, 1990), low self-esteem, lack of self-confidence, insecurity, fear and vulnerability resulting in anxiety (Hughes, 1986) and internalizing symptoms such as depression, withdrawal, passivity, and feelings of hopelessness (Jaffe, Wolfe & Wilson, 1990). Individual responses can vary considerably, there is no one "typical reaction" to family violence (Jaffe, Wolfe & Wilson, 1990; Kashani, Daniel, Dandoy & Holcomb, 1992). Some of the problems described, e.g. depression, anxiety, can still be present in adolescence and adulthood (Carlson, 1990; Forsstrom- Cohen & Rosenbaum, 1985).

Despite the serious nature of the above-noted correlates of abuse, the issue that has likely received the most research attention is the link between violence in the family of origin and later aggressive behaviour by the witness/victim. Even in childhood, those who were abused by parents often display more aggressive behaviour than comparison groups (Dodge, Bates & Pettit, 1990; Truscott, 1992). Children who witness physical violence between their parents but are not themselves physically abused may also be more apt to be aggressive (Fantuzzo & Lindquist, 1989). As with internalizing behaviours, it may be possible to trace aggressive outcomes into adulthood. Some studies have uncovered an increased likelihood of arrests for violent crime among family violence victims (Widom, 1989a; Widom, 1991). McCord (1983) found that parental conflict and violence in an individual's history were predictive of serious crimes against the person (e.g., assault, kidnapping, sexual assault and murder) committed in adulthood. Investigators have also explored the issue of domestic violence in the witness/observer's own adult family.

The idea that "violence begets violence" has a great deal of intuitive appeal. Yet a recent review of the empirical support for this hypothesis has revealed numerous methodological shortcomings in the research (Widom, 1989b). These methodological problems may have led investigators to overestimate the extent to which violent behaviour is exhibited by former abuse victims/witnesses. For example, the results of a child abuse study by Hunter and Kilstrom (1979) illustrate how two common procedures in the cycle of violence research, i.e. use of a retrospective design and a focus on clinical or agency-identified samples, tip the balance in favour of finding that victims become victimisers. A sample of 255 families with a premature or ill new-born was recruited at the time of birth from a new-born intensive care unit. Within a year, 10 families had been reported to social service agencies for abusing their children. During an interview conducted at study intake, nine of these abusive parents (90%) revealed that they had themselves been abused by their parents. But if one considers all the parents in the sample who reported having been victimized in childhood (n=49), the nine who were later reported for child abuse represent only 18% of the subsample. Clearly, a much higher rate of intergenerational transmission for child abuse would have been inferred if only the parents reported for abuse were questioned about their family of origin than if the (actual) prospective study of "high risk" families were conducted.

Widom's (1989b) survey of the literature on the cycle of violence identified several additional methodological problems that characterized research in the area:

  • criteria for abuse and neglect across studies were inconsistent, sometimes including unsubstantiated cases;
  • many investigations relied on retrospective or second-hand information which may be questionable with respect to accuracy;
  • most studies could not speak to the issue of prediction because they utilized a retrospective design;
  • convenience or opportunity samples were often used;
  • correlational designs precluded determinations of causality;
  • abused and neglected individuals were not always differentiated;
  • many studies failed to include appropriate comparison groups or to consider statistical base rates for violent behaviour;
  • delinquency studies often described more generalized delinquent behaviours instead of concentrating on violent criminal behaviour;
  • few studies assessed the long-term consequences of abuse and/or neglect into adulthood.

After outlining these limitations, Widom still concluded that violence in the family of origin increased an individual's risk for becoming violent in adulthood. However, she cautioned that "it cannot be said that the pathway is straight or certain." (Widom, 1989b; p. 24). For example, she estimated that 30% of child abuse victims would go on to abuse their own children; a figure that is smaller than some might expect. Widom's estimate is consistent with numbers provided by other family violence researchers (Kaufman & Zigler, 1987; Oliver, 1993). It should be noted that emphasis on the rate being lower than expected is not intended to downplay the importance of the problem of family violence in any way. Rather, the intention is to underscore the fact that violent behaviour by victims and/or witnesses is not a foregone conclusion; the presence of violence in the family of origin does not mean that one is destined to become an abusive partner or parent.

The purpose of this report is to provide an update on the "cycle of violence" research published in the years since Widom's summary 1, with an eye toward determining whether the problems described in the earlier review are addressed in subsequent investigations. Although the present review is intended to be comprehensive, it does not purport to be exhaustive. Furthermore, it should be made clear that some researchers use the phrases "cycle of violence" and "intergenerational transmission of violence" to refer specifically to former victims/witnesses engaging in family-directed violence whereas others use those terms more broadly to encompass violent acts in general. Both forms of the cycle of violence hypothesis are of interest to the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) because both intrafamilial and extrafamilial violence may contravene the Canadian Criminal Code.

1 Selected studies published prior to or concurrent with Widom's review will also be examined.

The main focus of this review will be on studies pertaining to the extent of intergenerational transmission of child physical abuse and wife battering, although extrafamilial aggression will also be discussed. Of special interest is research exploring the issue of family violence among offenders, especially since abuse histories are said to be the norm in such populations -- one investigator claims that 90% of prison populations have a history of sexual, emotional and/or physical abuse (Miller, 1990). Others suggest that there are numerous background variables that are common to both criminality and family violence, making offenders an important group to study (Dutton & Hart, 1992b). For the purposes of this report, research on the violent sequelae associated with viewing and experiencing abuse will be described first for children and adolescents, setting the stage for a more detailed discussion of the aggressive behaviour displayed by adult witnesses and/or victims.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La violence familiale chez les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale: Étude fondée sur l'examen des dossiers

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Introduction

Depuis quelques années, les chercheurs qui étudient le phénomène de la violence familiale produisent des statistiques alarmantes sur le problème des femmes battues et des enfants maltraités. Pour l'ensemble de la population, l'estimation la plus exacte de l'envergure du phénomène au Canada nous vient de l'Enquête sur la violence faite aux femmes (Statistique Canada, 1993). D'après cette enquête, menée auprès d'un échantillon aléatoire de plus de 12000 femmes de toutes les régions du Canada, 29% des femmes ayant déjà été mariées ont déclaré avoir été victimes de violence physique de la part d'un conjoint. Parmi celles qui vivaient dans une relation conjugale au moment de l'enquête, 15% ont dit avoir été victimes de violence. Parmi les délinquants, le phénomène de la violence envers la conjointe est au moins aussi répandu que dans la société en général. Robinson et Taylor (1994), qui ont réalisé la première étude nationale sur les actes de violence familiale commis par les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale, ont trouvé une mention de violence physique envers la conjointe dans 29% des dossiers de délinquants examinés. Il convient toutefois de signaler que la plupart des incidents notés avaient abouti à une mise en accusation. Comme il est rare que le système de justice pénale ait connaissance des voies de fait contre l'épouse, la probabilité de détection a été estimée à 6,5% (Dutton, 1987), il semble raisonnable de supposer que le taux réel de violence familiale parmi les délinquants est en fait plus élevé que ne le laisse croire l'examen des dossiers. Les recherches effectuées auprès des conjointes des délinquants confirment la fréquence des actes de violence familiale chez les hommes dont le dossier ne renferme aucune mention de comportement de ce genre (Dutton et Hart, 1992b).

Les enfants seraient présents dans 68% (Leighton, 1989) à 80% (Sinclair, 1985) des incidents de voies de fait contre l'épouse. Aussi élevés qu'ils soient, ces pourcentages pourraient néanmoins représenter une sous-estimation de la proportion d'enfants qui sont témoins de violence conjugale, étant donné que l'information à ce sujet est souvent recueillie auprès des mères. Lorsqu'on les interroge directement, les enfants se révèlent souvent au courant de plus de violence que ne le pense leur mère (Rosenberg et Rossman, 1990). Une étude menée auprès d'élèves du primaire de London (Ontario) a révélé que 23% de ces derniers avaient été témoins de voies de fait subies par leur mère aux mains d'un conjoint (Jaffe, 1990; cité dans Myers Avis, 1992).

En ce qui concerne le nombre d'enfants qui sont directement victimes d'actes de violence physique commis par leurs parents, nous ne disposons pas au Canada de statistiques nationales. D'après les recherches menées aux états-Unis, de 5% (Parke et Collmer, 1975) à 14% des enfants, dans la population générale, sont victimes de mauvais traitements (Straus, Gelles et Steinmetz, 1980). En dépouillant des dossiers de délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale, Robinson et Taylor (1994) ont constaté qu'une proportion considérable (34,6%) de ces délinquants avaient été maltraités dans l'enfance. Le taux de violence envers les enfants était de 3,1% chez les délinquants faisant partie de cet échantillon mais, comme nous l'avons signalé relativement à la violence faite au conjoint, la plupart des incidents de violence familiale qui figurent dans les dossiers des délinquants sont ceux qui ont abouti à des mises en accusation. Il pourrait y avoir beaucoup d'autres incidents non signalés de mauvais traitements infligés par ces hommes à des enfants. Du fait du secret qui entoure le phénomène de la violence faite aux enfants et de l'état de dépendance dans lequel ces derniers se trouvent à l'égard des agresseurs, les renseignements recueillis auprès de sources officielles (par ex., dossiers de la police et des hôpitaux) conduisent à une sous- estimation marquée de l'étendue du problème des enfants maltraités (Centre canadien de la statistique juridique, 1994).

Il semble exister une corrélation entre le phénomène des femmes battues et celui des enfants maltraités, bien que l'ampleur du chevauchement entre ces deux types de violence soit diversement estimée. Selon Jaffe, Wolfe et Wilson (1990), dans le tiers des familles où il existe un problème de violence conjugale, les enfants sont aussi maltraités. Pour Walker (1984), plus de 50% des hommes qui agressent leur conjointe maltraitent aussi physiquement leurs enfants. Bowker, Arbitell et McFerron (1988) ont constaté que dans 70% des familles où le mari bat sa femme, il maltraite aussi ses enfants, et que la gravité des mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants est proportionnelle à la gravité et à la fréquence de la violence conjugale. à l'origine de l'association entre la violence conjugale et les mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants, il y a plus souvent un agresseur qui dirige son agression vers ses enfants qu'une femme battue transposant sur ses enfants la colère qu'elle éprouve à l'égard de son conjoint. Une analyse récente de la recherche dans ce domaine révèle que, dans les familles où la femme est battue, les enfants risquent davantage d'être maltraités par l'agresseur que par cette dernière (Saunders, 1994). Wolfe (1987) reconnaît que, bien qu'une bonne part de la recherche sur les mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants soit axée sur les femmes auteurs de violence, les hommes sont en fait plus susceptibles de maltraiter physiquement les enfants.

étant donné la proportion considérable d'enfants qui sont témoins de violence conjugale ou qui sont directement victimes d'actes de violence physique commis par leurs parents, il est important de déterminer l'incidence éventuelle de ces situations sur les victimes. Les témoignages sur les conséquences de la violence familiale, auxquels on attachait auparavant beaucoup d'importance, ont récemment cédé la place à des recherches empiriques sur la question. Les études d'enfants vivant dans des maisons d'hébergement pour femmes battues, qui consistaient en des descriptions informelles fournies par les travailleurs de ces maisons, ont été remplacées par des recherches quasi expérimentales permettant de comparer, à l'aide d'instruments normalisés, des enfants victimes ou témoins d'actes de violence à des groupes témoins. Un grand nombre des recherches qui ont été menées révèlent que les enfants qui voient ou qui subissent des actes de violence dans leur famille risquent d'avoir des problèmes d'adaptation sur les plans émotif, psychologique et cognitif (Goodman et Rosenberg, 1987; Jaffe, Wolfe et Wilson, 1990). Ainsi, l'enfant qui est témoin de violence conjugale peut souffrir de troubles du sommeil, avoir de la difficulté à maîtriser ses impulsions, fournir un piètre rendement scolaire, être incapable de se concentrer (Hurley et Jaffe, 1990), manquer d'estime de soi et de confiance en soi, avoir des sentiments d'insécurité, de crainte et de vulnérabilité causant de l'angoisse (Hughes, 1986) et présenter des symptômes d'intériorisation comme la dépression, le repli sur soi, la passivité et des sentiments de désespoir (Jaffe, Wolfe et Wilson, 1990). Les réactions individuelles peuvent varier considérablement parce qu'il n'y a pas de «réaction type» à la violence familiale (Jaffe, Wolfe et Wilson, 1990; Kashani, Daniel, Dandoy et Holcomb, 1992). Certains des problèmes décrits, comme la dépression et l'angoisse, peuvent persister jusqu'à l'adolescence et à l'âge adulte (Carlson, 1990; Forsstrom-Cohen et Rosenbaum, 1985).

Malgré la gravité des corrélats susmentionnés de la violence, la question qui a sans doute attire le plus d'attention de la part des chercheurs est la relation entre la violence dans la famille d'origine et le comportement agressif futur de la personne qui a été victime ou témoin de cette violence. Même dans l'enfance, les enfants qui sont maltraités par leurs parents manifestent souvent un comportement plus agressif que les membres de groupes de référence (Dodge, Bates et Pettit, 1990; Truscott, 1992). Les enfants qui sont témoins de violence physique entre leurs parents sans eux-mêmes être physiquement maltraités seraient aussi plus susceptibles d'être agressifs (Fantuzzo et Lindquist, 1989). Pour l'agressivité comme pour les comportements d'intériorisation, les conséquences de la victimisation se retrouvent jusqu'à l'âge adulte. Certaines études ont révélé une probabilité accrue d'arrestation pour crime avec violence chez les personnes qui avaient été victimes de violence familiale (Widom, 1989a; Widom, 1991). McCord (1983) a constaté que la présence, dans les antécédents d'une personne, de conflits et de violence entre les parents permettait de prévoir la perpétration de crimes graves contre la personne (par ex., voies de fait, enlèvement, agression sexuelle et meurtre) à l'âge adulte. Les enquêteurs ont également exploré la question de la violence familiale dans la famille de l'adulte qui, durant son enfance, avait été témoin de violence familiale.

L'idée que la violence engendre la violence est à première vue très séduisante. Pourtant, une analyse récente des preuves empiriques à l'appui de cette hypothèse a révélé que les recherches présentaient de nombreuses lacunes sur le plan méthodologique (Widom, 1989b). Celles-ci ont amené les enquêteurs à surestimer la mesure dans laquelle les personnes qui ont été victimes ou témoins de violence manifestent elles-mêmes un comportement violent. Ainsi, les résultats d'une étude sur l'enfance maltraitée menée par Hunter et Kilstrom (1979) montrent comment deux approches couramment utilisées dans la recherche sur le cycle de la violence, c'est-à-dire le recours à une méthode rétrospective et la concentration sur des échantillons cliniques ou cernés par des organismes, poussent à conclure que les victimes deviennent elles-mêmes des agresseurs. On a constitué un échantillon de 255 familles où venait de naître un enfant prématuré ou malade à partir de la clientèle d'une unité de soins intensifs pour nouveau-nés. Dans l'espace d'un an, 10 familles avaient été signalées aux organismes de service social pour avoir maltraité leurs enfants. Au cours d'une entrevue menée à l'étape initiale de l'étude, neuf de ces parents violents (90%) ont dit avoir eux- mêmes été maltraités par leurs parents. Mais si l'on tient compte de tous les parents inclus dans l'échantillon qui ont déclaré avoir été victimes de mauvais traitements dans leur enfance (n=49), on constate que les neuf parents dont le comportement de violence a été signalé ne représentent que 18% du sous-échantillon. Manifestement, on aurait obtenu un taux beaucoup plus élevé de continuité transgénérationnelle de la violence envers les enfants si l'on avait interrogé uniquement les parents dont le comportement de violence avait été signalé au sujet de leur famille d'origine que si l'on avait effectué (comme on l'a fait) une étude prospective des familles «â risque élevé».

Dans son analyse des études sur le cycle de la violence, Widom (1989b) a cerné plusieurs autres problèmes méthodologiques qui caractérisent la recherche dans ce domaine:

  • le manque d'uniformité entre les études quant aux critères employés pour définir la violence et le délaissement, ce qui amène à inclure parfois des cas non fondés;
  • l'utilisation, dans un grand nombre d'enquêtes, de renseignements rétrospectifs ou obtenus par personnes interposées, dont l'exactitude peut être douteuse;
  • l'impossibilité pour les auteurs de la plupart des études de traiter des variables prédictives étant donné leur approche rétrospective;
  • l'utilisation fréquente d'échantillons de commodité ou d'opportunité
  • l'utilisation de méthodes corrélationnelles qui empêchent de
  • déterminer la causalité
  • la confusion entre les sujets maltraités et les sujets délaissés;
  • l'absence, dans beaucoup d'études, de groupes de référence
  • convenables ou de taux statistiques de base du comportement violent;
  • le fait que les études sur la délinquance ont souvent inclus des descriptions de comportements délinquants en général au heu d'être axées sur le comportement criminel violent;
  • la pénurie d'études sur les conséquences à long terme, à l'âge adulte, du mauvais traitement ou du délaissement.

Après avoir souligné toutes ces limitations, Widom a néanmoins conclu que la violence dans la famille d'origine augmentait le risque qu'une personne devienne violente à l'âge adulte. Mais elle a rappelé que le lien ne pouvait pas être considéré comme linéaire ou certain (Widom, 1989b, p. 24). Elle a par exemple estimé que 30% des personnes qui avaient été victimes de mauvais traitements dans l'enfance maltraiteraient elles-mêmes leurs propres enfants, soit une proportion plus faible que celle à laquelle on pourrait s'attendre. Son estimation concorde toutefois avec les chiffres produits par d'autres auteurs de recherches sur la violence familiale (Kaufman et Zigler, 1987; Oliver, 1993). Nous ne cherchons pas, en insistant sur le fait que le taux est plus bas que prévu, à minimiser l'importance du problème de la violence familiale. Nous voulons plutôt souligner le fait que l'adoption d'un comportement violent par les victimes ou témoins d'actes de violence n'est pas inévitable; la présence de violence dans la famille d'origine ne signifie pas qu'une personne est vouée à devenir un conjoint ou un parent agresseur.

Ce rapport a pour objet de faire le point sur les recherches relatives au «cycle de la violence» publiées depuis le résumé de Widom1, afin de déterminer si l'on a réglé, dans les enquêtes subséquentes, les problèmes décrits dans ce résumé. La présente analyse se veut complète, mais l'auteur ne prétend pas qu'elle est exhaustive. En outre, il faut bien préciser que certains chercheurs emploient les expressions «cycle de la violence» et «continuité transgénérationnelle de la violence» pour désigner spécifiquement le fait que d'anciens témoins ou victimes se livrent à des actes de violence envers leur famille tandis que d'autres donnent à ces expressions une acception plus large englobant les actes de violence en général. Les deux formes que prend l'hypothèse du cycle de la violence intéressent le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) parce que tant la violence intrafamiliale que la violence extrafamiliale peut tomber sous le coup du Code crimineldu Canada.

1Nous examinerons également certaines études publiées avant l'analyse de Widom ou en même temps que celle-ci.

Cette analyse portera principalement sur les études relatives au degré de continuité transgénérationnelle des phénomènes de l'enfance maltraitée et des femmes battues, mais nous discuterons également de l'agression extrafamiliale. Nous nous intéressons tout spécialement à la recherche sur la violence familiale parmi les délinquants, étant donné que des antécédents de violence semblent être la norme au sein de cette population; selon un enquêteur, 90% de la population carcérale aurait des antécédents d'exploitation sexuelle ou de violence psychologique ou physique (Miller, 1990). Selon d'autres auteurs, de nombreuses autres variables présentes dans les antécédents sont communes à la criminalité et à la violence familiale, d'où l'importance d'étudier la population des délinquants (Dutton et Hart, 1992b). Nous décrirons tout d'abord les recherches sur les conséquences qu'entraîne le fait d'avoir été témoin ou victime de violence pour les enfants et les adolescents, afin d'établir ainsi le contexte d'un examen plus approfondi du comportement d'agression manifesté par les adultes qui ont été victimes ou témoins d'actes de violence.