Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Recommendations Of The Coroner's Inquest Into The Death Of Robert Gentles

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

23. It is recommended that, for the safety of correctional officers and inmates, all correctional officers receive training in cell extractions of non-compliant inmates.

CSC'S RESPONSE:

The study currently being conducted by the Security Division on the Use of Force Standards in both law enforcement and correctional settings will examine the existing training in cell extraction and ascertain the scope of additional training required.

CSC is currently developing a training module to include specific instruction in cell extraction.. This training will include cell extraction procedures and control techniques within the parameters established by law and the Use of Force Management Model and related policies and procedures (refer also to response to recommendation #3).

Included in the training are situational exercises dealing with non-compliant inmates. Examples include an offender exhibiting behaviour consistent with someone being under the influence of an intoxicant; an offender who becomes physically or verbally resistant during the application of handcuffs; an offender who threatens to contaminate an officer with his blood; and an offender who is threatening staff with a knife.

While training in cell extraction procedures and control techniques is important CSC also recognizes the need for officers performing cell extractions to have excellent communication and negotiation skills which can, in many cases, avoid the need for forcible removal of the inmate.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recommandations issues de l'enquête du coroner sur la mort de Robert Gentles

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

23. Que tous les agents de correction suivent une formation sur l'extraction de cellule des détenus récalcitrants afin d'assurer leur propre sécurité et celle des détenus.

RÉPONSE DU SCC

L'étude actuellement effectuée par la Division de la sécurité sur les normes de recours à la force dans le contexte de l'exécution de la loi et en milieu correctionnel examinera la formation actuelle sur l'extraction de cellule et établira la portée de la formation supplémentaire requise.

Le SCC élabore actuellement un module de formation où il inclura des instructions précises sur l'extraction de cellule. Cette formation portera notamment sur les procédures d'extraction de cellule, les techniques de contrôle dans les paramètres établis par la loi et le Modèle de gestion du recours à la force, ainsi que les politiques et procédures connexes (se reporter également à la réponse à la recommandation no 3).

La formation comporte des exercices de mise en situation mettant en jeu des détenus récalcitrants, p. ex., un délinquant dont le comportement est celui d'une personne sous l'influence d'une substance intoxicante, un délinquant qui devient résistant physiquement ou verbalement durant l'application des menottes, un délinquant qui menace de contaminer un agent avec son sang et un délinquant qui menace le personnel avec un couteau.

Si la formation sur les procédures d'extraction de cellule et les techniques de maîtrise est importante, le SCC reconnaît également que les agents procédant à des extractions de cellule doivent posséder d'excellentes capacités de communication et de négociation qui peuvent bien souvent éviter d'avoir recours à l'extraction forcée d'un détenu.