Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Recommendations Of The Coroner's Inquest Into The Death Of Robert Gentles

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

26. Recognizing the potential negative impact on correctional officers working in an institutional setting, CSC must continue to train new recruits and existing staff in accordance with the values expressed in the Mission of the Correctional Service of Canada.

CSC'S RESPONSE:

CSC's Mission, its guiding principles and fundamental values form a strong component of all National Learning Programs. The values expressed in the Mission are fully integrated and reinforced throughout all courses. In addition, the screening of potential Correctional and Parole officer staff is based on a Values Assessment and now forms an integral part of our recruitment and promotional process for these occupational groups.

For new Correctional Officer candidates, the Correctional Training Program (CTP 2000) is founded on the Mission and Values of the Correctional Service of Canada and utilizes a problem-solving and continuous learning model. This problem-solving approach is called CAPRA and the initials of "CAPRA" are defined as Clients (direct and indirect), Acquiring and Analyzing information, Partnership, Response and Assessment. Employees learn to continually adapt, redefine, seek information, assess, respond and reassess. This methodology emphasizes the core values of the CSC and encourages staff to become effective problem solvers and continuous learners in a variety of situations.

CTP 2000 is a relatively new program and will be evaluated and validated in 2000/2001. The CAPRA problem-solving and continuous learning model now forms part of all newly developed National Learning Programs.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recommandations issues de l'enquête du coroner sur la mort de Robert Gentles

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

26. Que, conscient des répercussions négatives potentielles du travail en établissement sur les agents de correction, le SCC continue de former les nouveaux employés et le personnel existant conformément aux valeurs énoncées dans la Mission du SCC.

RÉPONSE DU SCC

La Mission du SCC, ses principes directeurs et ses valeurs fondamentales forment une forte composante de tous les programmes d'apprentissage nationaux. Les valeurs exprimées dans l'énoncé de Mission sont entièrement intégrées et renforcées dans tous les cours. De plus, la sélection préliminaire des candidats aux postes d'agent de correction et d'agent de libération conditionnelle est fondée sur l'évaluation des valeurs et forme maintenant une partie intégrante de notre processus de recrutement et de promotion pour ces groupes professionnels.

Pour les nouveaux candidats aux postes d'agent de correction, le Programme de formation correctionnelle (PFC 2000) est fondé sur la Mission et les Valeurs du Service correctionnel du Canada et utilise un modèle de résolution de problèmes et d'apprentissage continu. Cette approche de résolution de problèmes porte le nom de CAPRA, qui signifie Clients (directs et indirects), Acquisition et Analyse d'informations, Partenariat, Réponse et évaluation. Les employés apprennent à constamment s'adapter, redéfinir, chercher de l'information, évaluer, répondre et réévaluer. Cette méthodologie insiste sur les valeurs fondamentales du SCC et encourage les employés à résoudre des problèmes et apprendre de façon continue dans diverses situations.

PFC 2000 est un programme relativement nouveau qui sera évalué et validé en 2000/2001. Le modèle CAPRA de résolution de problèmes et d'apprentissage continu fait maintenant partie de tous les programmes nationaux d'apprentissage nouvellement élaborés.