Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Recommendations Of The Coroner's Inquest Into The Death Of Robert Gentles

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

31. It is recommended that CSC evaluate psychological screening as a component of its officer recruitment process.

CSC'S RESPONSE:

The exploration of the use of psychological testing for correctional officer recruitment began in early 1998. A consulting firm was contracted to complete a study on the applicability of psychological testing for the recruitment of Correctional Officers. An overview of the report and subsequent recommendations were submitted to the Executive Committee for consideration at the May 14, 1999 meeting. The Executive Committee approved all three recommendations that included deferring a decision on psychological testing for correctional officer recruitment.

The three recommendations regarding psychological testing that were approved by the Executive Committee include:

CSC has embarked on a values-centered approach to identify those candidates who will be the Service's best performers. This approach recognizes that when an employee, or a future employee, has a value system that is inherently or intrinsically in direct conflict with the values of the organization, there will be performance problems.

The CSC Mission has many references to the qualities of employees that are essential to ensure that we continue to address the challenging and sometimes difficult work in our organization. These are the underlying values that people contribute to our organization. These are the qualities that are needed in our future employees. The value assessment has been introduced for the recruitment and selection of Correctional Officer I, II and Correctional Supervisor, and will be implemented for Parole Officer, Program Officer, Coordinator, Case Management and the Area Director positions in September 1, 1999.

The assessment will be based on the Executive Committee endorsement of five value areas:

  • (1) Respect;
  • (2) Desire to learn and change;
  • (3) Integrity;
  • (4) Results orientation; and
  • (5) Teamwork.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recommandations issues de l'enquête du coroner sur la mort de Robert Gentles

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

31. Que le SCC envisage la possibilité d'ajouter une évaluation psychologique au processus de recrutement des agents.

RÉPONSE DU SCC

Au début de 1998, on a commencé à examiner le recours à des tests psychologiques pour le recrutement des agents de correction. On a chargé une entreprise d'experts-conseils d'effectuer une étude sur l'applicabilité des tests psychologiques pour le recrutement des agents de correction. Un aperçu du rapport et les recommandations ont été soumis à l'examen du Comité de direction lors de la réunion du 14 mai 1999. Le Comité de direction a approuvé les trois recommandations, notamment le report d'une décision sur les tests psychologiques pour le recrutement des agents de correction.

Voici les trois recommandations approuvées par le Comité de direction au sujet des tests psychologiques :

Le SCC a adopté une approche axée sur les valeurs pour repérer les candidats qui seront les meilleurs atouts pour le Service. Selon cette approche, lorsque le système de valeurs d'un employé ou d'un futur employé entre fondamentalement ou intrinsèquement en conflit direct avec les valeurs de l'organisation, il y aura des problèmes de rendement.

L'énoncé de Mission du SCC mentionne souvent les qualités des employés qui sont essentielles pour que nous puissions continuer d'accomplir le travail stimulant et parfois difficile de notre organisation. Il s'agit des valeurs inhérentes que les employés apportent à notre organisation. Ce sont les qualités que nous recherchons chez nos futurs employés. L'évaluation des valeurs a été adoptée pour le recrutement et la sélection des agents de correction I, II et du surveillant correctionnel, et elle sera mise en ouvre le 1er septembre 1999 pour les postes d'agent de libération conditionnelle, d'agent de programme, de coordonnateur de la gestion des cas et de directeur régional.

L'évaluation sera fondée sur l'appui par le Comité de direction de cinq valeurs  :

  • le respect;
  • le désir d'apprendre et de changer;
  • l'intégrité;
  • l'orientation vers les résultats; et
  • le travail d'équipe.