Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Recommendations Of The Coroner's Inquest Into The Death Of Robert Gentles

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

4. A fully qualified nurse, doctor, or paramedic be present during all IERT and non-IERT cell extractions for non-compliant inmates. The attending Health Care professional must be adequately equipped to handle possible medical emergencies and must perform a health check of the inmate immediately following the restraint, and prior to removal.

CSC'S RESPONSE:

CSC's policy requires that all inmates be examined by Health Care Professionals in any situation where force has been used. This requirement is contained in Commissioner's Directive #605 "Use of Force" and requires that any inmate who has been subject to force be "examined as soon as possible by health care personnel and provided with treatment as required." Compliance with this is achieved through the requirement of the Health Care Officer to sign the Use of Force form indicating that such examination and treatment has, in fact, been provided. These reports are forwarded to the institutional head.

Having Health Care Professionals physically present during the actual extraction is viewed as impractical from both a safety and resourcing perspective. Procedures do, however, exist both to minimize the likelihood of, and to react to, any medical emergencies. Included are the following:

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recommandations issues de l'enquête du coroner sur la mort de Robert Gentles

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

4. Qu'un membre du personnel infirmier, un médecin ou un technicien médical d'urgence assiste à toute extraction de cellule d'un détenu récalcitrant effectuée par une EPIU ou une autre équipe. Que le professionnel de la santé traitant ait le matériel nécessaire pour pallier une urgence médicale et qu'il effectue un examen médical sur la personne du détenu immédiatement après l'application du matériel de contrainte et avant son retrait.

RÉPONSE DU SCC

En vertu de la politique du SCC, tous les détenus doivent être examinés par des professionnels de la santé dans toute situation où il y a eu recours à la force. Dans la directive du commissaire no 605, intitulée « Le recours à la force », tous les détenus pour lesquels on a eu recours à la force « doivent être dès que possible examinés et traités selon les besoins par le personnel des Services de santé ». On s'assure du respect de cette exigence en obligeant l'agent des services de santé à signer le formulaire de recours à la force pour indiquer que l'examen et le traitement ont été effectués. Ces rapports sont transmis au responsable de l'établissement.

La présence physique de professionnels de la santé durant l'extraction de cellule proprement dite n'est pas jugée pratique sur le plan de la sécurité et des ressources. Il existe cependant des procédures pour réduire au minimum les probabilités d'urgences médicales et pour réagir aux urgences, notamment :