Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Recommendations Of The Coroner's Inquest Into The Death Of Robert Gentles

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

61. It is recommended that any agreement with the applicable union concerning the appropriateness of discipline or the conduct of investigations should be in writing and should be permanently preserved by both parties.

CSC'S RESPONSE:

The requirement to conduct an investigation should be identified by management and clear terms of reference should be made available to the Investigative Team. The employee who is the subject of the investigation should be made aware of the allegations and that an investigation into his/her conduct will be conducted.

In terms of whether the reports of investigation should be kept permanently, relevant legislation dictate the appropriateness and duration for which records can be kept, such as Privacy and Access to Information; collective agreements etc.

It should be noted that CSC's revised policy on Investigations (Commissioner's Directive #040) was promulgated in December 1998. Prior to the promulgation, the Union of Solicitor General Employees was consulted on the proposed amendments. Such consultation with the USGE will continue for any future policies or amendments which impact on CSC's investigative process. CSC will ensure that a record of the consultations is kept.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recommandations issues de l'enquête du coroner sur la mort de Robert Gentles

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

61. Que soit mise par écrit et conservée par les deux parties toute entente conclue avec le syndicat concerné au sujet de la pertinence des mesures disciplinaires ou de la conduite d'une enquête.

RÉPONSE DU SCC

L'obligation de faire enquête devrait être déterminée par la direction, et un mandat clair devrait être mis à la disposition de l'équipe chargée de l'enquête. L'employé qui fait l'objet de l'enquête doit être informé des allégations et de la tenue d'une enquête sur sa conduite.

Pour ce qui est de conserver en permanence les rapports d'enquête, les mesures législatives pertinentes, comme la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et les conventions collectives, dictent la pertinence et la durée de la conservation des dossiers.

Il faut souligner que la politique modifiée du SCC sur les enquêtes (directive du commissaire no 040) a été promulguée en décembre 1998. Le Syndicat des employés du Solliciteur général avait préalablement été consulté au sujet des modifications proposées. Les consultations avec le SESG se poursuivront pour toutes les futures politiques ou modifications qui influent sur le processus d'enquête du SCC. Le SCC s'assurera qu'un compte rendu des consultations est tenu.