Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Recommendations Of The Coroner's Inquest Into The Death Of Robert Gentles

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

65. The public accountability of each Citizen Advisory Committee (CAC) should be strengthened. To achieve this it is recommended that the Regional Deputy Commissioner, at the beginning of each year, take steps to ensure that each CAC in the Region is at optimum levels of strength and performance. Each committee shall be comprised of at least three persons and no more than seven who are reasonably representative of a cross-section of the community. Newspaper advertisements should be used as necessary to recruit new members. A selection committee made up of the head of the institution, the local union president and chair of the local CAC shall select new members. The participation of the correctional officers is considered essential in the success of the committee's mandate.

CSC'S RESPONSE:

Each CAC's Annual Report together with input from the Warden/Parole Director, the annual regional CAC report, the annual regional CAC executive meetings, and the record of the monthly meetings between the CAC and the Warden/District Director are already provided to the Regional Deputy Commissioner. This material provides them with the information necessary to annually assess the effectiveness of the CACs in their region.

The current minimum membership requirement for each Citizen Advisory Committee has been established at five members (which exceeds the recommendation). However, the Commissioner will send a memorandum to each Regional Deputy Commissioner by the fall of 1999, outlining the requirement for the annual review and reinforcing the current minimum membership requirement.

A Recruitment Guide for Citizen Advisory Committees, to be completed by the fall of 1999, will include recommendations about the use of newspaper advertisements.

The recommendation to create a selection committee for the appointment of new members including the Warden, the Chair of the Citizen Advisory Committee and the President of the Local Union shall be included in a revision to CD 023 'Citizen Advisory Committees'. The revised CD must be reviewed and approved by EXCOM, but can be completed by the end of calendar year 1999. However, allowance must be made for the appointment process to continue in the event that one or more of the participants is unavailable.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recommandations issues de l'enquête du coroner sur la mort de Robert Gentles

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

65. Que la responsabilité publique des comités consultatifs de citoyens soit accrue. Pour ce faire, que le sous-commissaire régional prenne les mesures nécessaires au début de chaque année pour faire en sorte que tous les CCC de la région opèrent de façon optimale. Que les comités soient composés d'au moins trois personnes et d'au plus sept et qu'ils constituent un échantillon représentatif de la collectivité. Que l'on ait recours au besoin à des annonces dans les journaux pour recruter de nouveaux membres. Qu'un comité de sélection, composé du responsable de l'établissement, du président du syndicat local et du président du CCC local choisisse les nouveaux membres. La participation des agents de correction est jugée essentielle à la réalisation du mandat des comités.

RÉPONSE DU SCC

Le sous-commissaire régional reçoit déjà le rapport annuel de chaque Comité consultatif de citoyens (CCC), ainsi que les données fournies par le directeur d'établissement et le directeur des libérations conditionnelles, le rapport annuel régional des CCC, le compte rendu annuel des réunions de l'exécutif des CCC régionaux ainsi que le compte rendu des réunions mensuelles entre le CCC et le directeur d'établissement ou de district. Ces documents fournissent au sous-commissaire régional l'information nécessaire pour évaluer une fois par année l'efficacité des CCC dans sa région.

Le nombre minimal de membres pour chaque comité consultatif de citoyens est actuellement établi à cinq (ce qui est supérieur à la recommandation). Cependant, le commissaire enverra d'ici l'automne 1999 à chaque sous-commissaire régional une note de service exposant l'exigence relative à l'examen annuel et réitérant l'exigence actuelle relative à l'effectif minimum.

Un guide de recrutement pour les comités consultatifs de citoyens, dont l'achèvement est prévu d'ici l'automne 1999, comprendra des recommandations sur le recours aux annonces dans les journaux.

La recommandation visant la création d'un comité de sélection pour la nomination de nouveaux membres, notamment le directeur d'établissement, le président du comité consultatif de citoyens et le président du syndicat local, sera intégrée à la version modifiée de la DC no 023 sur les comités consultatifs de citoyens. La DC modifiée devra être étudiée et approuvée par le Comité de direction, mais pourra être terminée avant la fin de l'année civile 1999. Il faut toutefois prévoir la poursuite du processus de nomination, au cas où au moins un des participants ne serait pas disponible.