Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Recommendations Of The Coroner's Inquest Into The Death Of Robert Gentles

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

7. It is recommended that as soon as an inmate is securely restrained that he be placed in a sitting position provided that it can be done without risk or injury to inmate or staff.

CSC'S RESPONSE:

CSC issued a Security Bulletin (99-05) in March 1999 dealing with the subject of "Positional Asphyxia and Excited Delirium." This bulletin provides instructions to staff for the care of restrained inmates and is designed to minimize the potential for in-custody injury or death. This bulletin was emphasized and reinforced at the National Use of Force Trainer's Conference held in Kingston, Ontario on September 14-16, 1999.

Included in this document is the requirement for officers to "get the inmate off his/her stomach and on to his/her side or seated upright", as soon as restraints are applied.

The procedures also provide additional instructions for staff to follow in cases where breathing difficulties or loss of consciousness occurs. These instructions include the requirement to transport the inmate to a medical facility equipped to cope with the potential complications of excited delirium or positional asphyxia.

In addition, the Correctional Training Program (CTP 2000), does include a module on Sudden In-Custody Death Syndrome (SICDS) whereby recruits who are already pre-qualified in First Aid and CPR learn more about the situations that may contribute to "excited delirium" and "positional asphyxia" which both form part of SICDS.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recommandations issues de l'enquête du coroner sur la mort de Robert Gentles

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

7. Que le détenu soit mis en position assise dès que le matériel de contrainte est appliqué dans la mesure où cela ne pose pas de risque de blessure pour le personnel.

RÉPONSE DU SCC

Le SCC a diffusé un bulletin de sécurité (99-05) en mars 1999 sur le délire agité et l'asphyxie positionnelle. Ce bulletin donne des instructions au personnel pour le soin des détenus sous contention et vise à réduire au minimum les risques de blessure ou de décès sous garde. On a mis en relief et renforcé ce bulletin à la conférence nationale des instructeurs chargés de la formation sur le recours à la force qui s'est déroulée à Kingston (Ontario) du 14 au 16 septembre 1999.

Ce document énonce l'obligation pour les agents de retourner le détenu sur le côté ou de le mettre en position assise dès que le matériel de contrainte est appliqué.

Les marches à suivre présentent aussi des instructions supplémentaires à l'intention du personnel en cas de difficulté respiratoire ou de perte de conscience. Ces instructions comprennent l'obligation de transporter le détenu dans un établissement médical équipé pour traiter les complications possibles de délire agité et d'asphyxie positionnelle.

De plus, le Programme de formation correctionnelle (PFC 2000) comprend un module sur le syndrome de la mort subite sous garde où les recrues qui ont déjà reçu une formation en premiers soins et en RCR en apprennent davantage sur les situations qui peuvent contribuer au « délire excité » et à l'« asphyxie positionnelle », lesquels interviennent dans le syndrome de la mort subite sous garde.