Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

INFECTIOUS DISEASE SURVEILLANCE
in Canadian Federal Penitentiaries 2005-2006

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Previous page | ToC | Next page

 

Part II: Results

Chapter 7: Tuberculosis Screening among Staff

Participation in TB Assessment

Participation in tuberculosis assessment for CSC staff, which includes every CSC employed individual, from 1998 – 2006 is shown in Table 7.1. Among staff, the participation rate was 12.4% in 2005 and 17.9% in 2006.

 

Table 7.1: Participation in TB Assessment, Staff, 1998-2006
  1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

Staff 4,319 (38.6%) 3,986 (28.2%) 3,327 (20.6%) 3,299 (19.8%) 2,969 (17.2%) 3,278 (19.6%) 2,376 (14.0%) 1,995 (12.4%) 2,939 (17.9%)

 

Initial Assessment - Staff

The results of the initial assessment for staff for 2005 – 2006 by region are shown in Figure 7.1 and Appendix F, Table F.1. Overall, the proportion that tested positive for tuberculosis infection on initial assessment was 8.2% in 2005 and 5.7% in 2006. The proportion of invalid assessments (see Methods section) reached a high of 34.9% in 2003, but declined to 25.9% in 2005 and 17.8% in 2006. The proportion of assessments where the TST was refused was 0.2% in 2005 and 0.3% in 2006, and has been below 1.0% since 2001.

 

Figure 7.1: Initial TB Assessment Results, Staff, 1998-2006 Figure 7.1: Initial TB Assessment Results, Staff, 1998-2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

 

Appendix F, Table F.1 shows that the regions with the highest proportions of staff who were positive on initial assessment in 2005 were Quebec (22.5%) and Prairies (13.2%). In 2006 the regions with the highest proportion positive were Quebec (19.2%) and Atlantic (6.9%). Pacific Region had the lowest proportions of positive results in both 2005 (0.0%) and 2006 (2.9%). Regionally, the proportion of tests that were invalid was highest in Pacific in 2005 (72.2%) and 2006 (37.5%). The overall proportion of assessments that were refused was 0.0% for 2005-2006 for Atlantic, Ontario, Prairies, and Pacific; Quebec reported one refusal in 2005 (1.7%) and none in 2006.

BCG Vaccination Status - Staff

The proportion of staff reporting a history of BCG vaccination on initial assessment, by region and origin, is shown in Appendix F, Table F.2. The overall proportion of staff reporting a BCG history was 8.4% in 2005 and 8.0% in 2006. Apart from the origin unknown category, the highest proportion with BCG was observed among the Foreign-born for 2005 (11.1%) and 2006 (22.2%). BCG vaccination was least common among Canadian-born non-Aboriginal staff in 2005 (6.4%) and 2006 (6.9%).

 

Table 7.2: BCG Vaccination and Age at Vaccination at Initial Assessment, Staff, 1998-2006
Category Number Number (%) BCG History Number (%) with Age at Vaccination Mean (Median) Age at Vaccination

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010
1 – Other includes: blank/missing, refused, invalid, contraindicated.

Origin
Canadian 4,788 838 (17.5%) 700 (83.5%) 10.4 (8)
Aboriginal 492  59 (12.0%)  32 (54.2%) 11.5 (9)
Foreign-born 374  65 (17.4%)  40 (61.5%) 13.9 (9)
Unknown 1,434 206 (14.4%) 140 (68.0%) 12.2 (9)
TST Status
Positive 372 168 (45.2%) 137 (81.5%) 9.8 (9)
Negative 4,141 646 (15.6%) 530 (82.0%) 10.5 (8)
Other1 2,574 354 (13.8%) 245 (69.2%) 12.3 (9)
TOTALS 7,088 1,168 (16.5%) 912 (78.1%) 10.9 (9)

 

Regionally, Quebec had the highest overall proportion of staff with a BCG history (33.9% in 2005 and 24.1% in 2006). Prairie Regions had the lowest proportions of staff reporting a history of BCG (1.6% in 2005 and 3.1% in 2006).

BCG history and age at vaccination, by origin and TST status, on initial assessment for 7,088 CSC staff, from 1998-2006, are shown in Table 7.2. Overall, 16.5% of staff reported a history of BCG vaccination. Canadian-born Aboriginal staff reported a lower proportion of vaccination (12.0%) than Canadian-born non-Aboriginal (17.5%) or Foreign-born (17.4%) staff.

Age at vaccination was available for 78.1% of staff reporting a BCG history. Data availability varied by origin (Canadian-born non-Aboriginal [83.5%], Foreign-born [61.5%], and Canadian-born Aboriginal [54.2%]). The data indicate that among staff, mean age at vaccination was 13.9 yrs among Foreign–born, 11.5 yrs among Canadian-born Aboriginal and 10.4 yrs among Canadian-born non-Aboriginal staff. Mean age at BCG vaccination was lower among those with a positive (9.8 yrs) or negative (10.5 yrs) TST result compared to those with an ‘other’ test result (12.3 yrs). Among staff with a positive TST result on an initial assessment, 45.2% reported a history of BCG, compared to 15.6% of those with a negative TST.

Ongoing Negative Assessment - Staff

The results of the ongoing screening of staff with a previous negative TST for 1998-2006 are shown in Figure 7.2 (see also Appendix F, Table F.3). Overall, the proportion of staff testing positive on a follow-up TST was 1.6% in 2005 and 1.7% in 2006. The proportion of invalid records was 19.2% in 2005 and 11.1% in 2006. The proportion refusing a TST at follow-up assessment was 0.4% in 2005 and 0.1% in 2006.

 

Figure 7.2: Ongoing Negative TB Assessment Results, Staff, 1998-2006 Figure 7.2: Ongoing Negative TB Assessment Results, Staff, 1998-2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

 

Regionally, the highest proportion of positive TST results (Appendix F, Table F.3) was reported in Quebec for 2005-2006 (8.2% and 7.7% respectively). The highest proportions of invalid records were found in the Pacific Region in 2005 (53.0%) and 2006 (56.3%). In 2005, there were zero refusals in Ontario and Quebec, one refusal in both the Pacific Region (0.3%) and Prairie Region (0.7%), and Regions, and 4 refusals in Atlantic Region (0.9%). In 2006, there was one refusal in Prairie Region (0.1%). There were zero refusals in all other regions.

Tuberculin Skin Test (TST) Converters and
Conversion Rate - Staff

Analysis of the previous TST history for staff who tested positive on an ongoing negative assessment allows the estimation of the conversion rate. A converter is defined as a person with a previously documented negative TST result who now has a positive TST result. Table 7.3 shows, for 2000 – 2006, the number of staff with a newly positive TST, and of those, the number with a previous documented negative assessment (“true” converters). The fourth line in the table shows the number of staff with a previous valid result of those who had an assessment in that year (line 1), (i.e., the total number “at risk” of converting that year). Finally, dividing the number of new positives with a previous valid negative result, by the number of individuals “at risk” of conversion provides an estimated conversion rate for that year.

These data show that the estimated TST conversion rate among staff was 0.82% in 2005 and 0.66% in 2006.

Ongoing Positive Assessments - Staff

The number of assessments for staff known to have had a previous positive TST (and therefore assumed to be latently infected with tuberculosis) by year and region are shown in Table 7.4. The number of ongoing positive assessments reported to NHQ was 79 in 2005 and 107 in 2006.

 

Table 7.3: Newly Positive TST, Converters, and Conversion Rate, Staff, 2000-2006
  2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

Number of Ongoing Negative Assessments 2,131 2,326 1,806 2,539 1,611 1,514 2,181
Number Newly Positive on Ongoing Assessment 8 7 22 16 13 19 31
Number Newly Positive with a Previous Valid Negative Result 3 3 3 7 7 8 10
Total Number with a Valid Previous Result 1,329 1,412 1,054 1,532 1,012 980 1,506
Estimated Conversion Rate 0.23% 0.21% 0.28% 0.46% 0.69% 0.82% 0.66%

 

Table 7.4: Ongoing Positive TST by Region, Staff, 1998-2006
  1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

Atlantic 26 20 17 17 17 16 17 15 17
Quebec 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 0
Ontario 106 88 37 24 6 1 6 10 9
Prairies 203 170 173 84 117 82 94 32 64
Pacific 81 94 77 69 39 54 21 13 5
Unknown 3 0 3 3 12 16 15 7 12
Canada 419 373 307 197 191 169 154 79 107

 

Figure 7.3: Latent Tuberculosis Infection (LTBI) by Region, Staff, 1998-2006 Figure 7.3: Latent Tuberculosis Infection (LTBI) by Region, Staff, 1998-2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

 

Latent Tuberculosis Infection - Staff

The overall proportion of staff considered to be infected with Mycobacterium tuberculosis is calculated by adding the number of staff with a newly positive TST (either on their initial assessment, or on a follow up assessment) in a year with those already considered to have latent tuberculosis infection (LTBI) (includes ongoing positive assessments and those previous positive on initial assessment). The regional distributions of LTBI by age, origin, and gender for 2005 – 2006 are shown in Appendix F (Tables F.4, F.5, and F.6 respectively).

Figure 7.3 shows the estimated proportion of staff assumed to have LTBI by region for 1998 – 2006. The overall proportion of staff considered to have LTBI was 6.6% in both 2005 and 2006. The region with the highest proportion of staff having LTBI was Prairies in 2005 (15.9%) and Quebec in 2006 (11.1%). Ontario had the lowest proportions of staff with LTBI in 2005 (3.7%) and 2006 (3.6%).

LTBI by Age Category

The proportion of staff who are assumed to have LTBI increases with age (Appendix F, Table F.4). For example, in 2006, the proportion LTBI was 0.0%, 3.6%, 4.3%, 8.2%, 9.0% and 12.8% respectively for ages 17-19, 20-29, 30-39, 40-49, 50-59, and 60 plus years.

LTBI by Origin

Figure 7.4 shows the proportion of staff with LTBI by origin for 1998-2006. Canadian-born non-Aboriginals had a lower proportion LTBI than Foreign-born or Canadian-born Aboriginal staff in all years except 2001. The highest proportions of LTBI were consistently found among the Foreign-born (22.2% in 2005 and 16.1% in 2006). Among Aboriginals, the proportion having LTBI was 7.7% in 2005 and 9.2% in 2006. Analysis of Appendix F, Table F.5 reveals differences in proportions across regions.

LTBI by Gender

Figure 7.5 shows the proportion of LTBI by gender for staff 1998-2006. Among males, the proportion with LTBI was 6.9% in 2005 and 6.4% in 2006. Among females, the proportion having LTBI was 6.3% in 2005 and 6.5% in 2006. Inspection of Appendix F, Table F.6 indicates regional differences between LTBI rates among genders for staff.

 

Figure 7.4: Latent Tuberculosis Infection (LTBI) by Origin, Staff, 1998-2006 Figure 7.4: Latent Tuberculosis Infection (LTBI) by Origin, Staff, 1998-2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

 

Risk Factor and Symptoms Screening - Staff

The results of the staff checklist screening for TB symptoms and risk factors for 2005-2006 are shown in Appendix F, Tables F.7.i and F.7.ii. Symptom screening is a crucial part of the tuberculosis assessment to rule out active TB disease. Risk factors included in the screen are those that are risks for progression to active TB disease, and are not necessarily risk factors for acquiring tuberculosis infection.

Symptoms

Overall, the symptoms most frequently reported by staff in 2005 were productive cough (2.45%), fatigue (1.40%) and hoarseness (1.35%). Among staff with a negative TST, productive cough (2.46%) was the most common symptom, followed by chest pains (1.23%) and hoarseness (1.23%). Among staff with a positive TST, the most common symptoms were fatigue (4.58%), night sweats (3.82%) and hoarseness (3.05%).

The most frequently reported symptoms, overall, in 2006 were fatigue (1.97%), productive cough (1.93%) and night sweats (1.32%). This same rank order was observed among staff with a negative TST [fatigue (1.85%), productive cough (1.78%) and night sweats (1.23%)]. Staff with positive TSTs most frequently reported productive cough (4.15%), fatigue (3.63%), chest pains (3.11%) and hoarseness (3.11%).

Risk Factors

Overall, the risk factor most frequently reported by staff in 2005 was contact with an active TB case (2.85%). This was followed closely by diabetes (2.80%) and then by oral steroid use at 1.40%. Diabetes was the most common risk factor among TST-negative staff (2.78%), followed by contact with an active TB case (2.73%) and oral steroid use (1.28%). TST positive staff reported contact with an active TB case (4.58%), diabetes (3.05%) and oral steroid use (3.05%) most frequently.

The most frequently reported risk factor in 2006 overall was contact with an active TB case (7.66%), followed by diabetes (2.85%) and oral steroid use (1.46%). These risk factors were those most reported by staff with a negative TST: contact with an active TB case (7.72%), diabetes (2.94%), oral steroids (1.41%). For staff with a positive TST, the most frequently reported risk factors were contact with an active TB case (6.74%) and oral steroid use (2.07%).

 

Figure 7.5: Latent TB Infection by Gender, Staff, 1998 - 2006 Figure 7.5: Latent TB Infection by Gender, Staff, 1998 - 2006

Source: Web-IDSS Enhanced Surveillance Data, CSC 2010

 

 

Previous page | ToC | Next page

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

SURVEILLANCE DES MALADIES INFECTIEUSES DANS LES PÉNITENCIERS FÉDÉRAUX CANADIENS
2005-2006

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante

 

Partie II: Résultats

Chapitre 7 : Dépistage de la tuberculose chez les employés

Participation à l’évaluation de la tuberculose

Le tableau 7.1 montre la participation de tous les employés du SCC à l’évaluation de la tuberculose de 1998 à 2006. Le taux de participation des employés était de 12,4 % en 2005 et de 17,9 % en 2006.

 

Tableau 7.1 : Participation à l'évaluation de la tuberculose, employés, 1998-2006
  1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

Employés 4 319
(38,6 %)
3 986
(28,2 %)
3 327
(20,6 %)
3 299
(19,8 %)
2 969
(17,2 %)
3 278
(19,6 %)
2 376
(14,0 %)
1 995
(12,4 %)
2 939
(17,9 %)

 

Évaluation initiale - Employés

La figure 7.1 et le tableau F.1 de l’annexe F montrent les résultats de l’évaluation initiale des employés en 2005 et 2006 par région. Dans l’ensemble, la proportion d’employés qui ont eu un résultat positif au test de dépistage de la tuberculose lors de l’évaluation initiale était de 8,2 % en 2005 et de 5,7 % en 2006. La proportion de résultats non valides (voir la section Méthodes) a atteint un sommet de 34,9 % en 2003, mais elle est retombée à 25,9 % en 2005 et à 17,8 % en 2006. La proportion d’évaluations où le TCT a été refusé était de 0,2 % en 2005 et 0,3 % en 2006, et elle est inférieure à 1,0 % depuis 2001.

 

Figure 7.1 : Résultats de l’évaluation initiale de la tuberculose,
employés, 1998-2006

Figure 7.1 : Résultats de l’évaluation initiale de la tuberculose, employés, 1998-2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

 

Le tableau F.1 de l’annexe F montre qu’en 2005, c’est dans la région du Québec (22,5 %) et dans la région des Prairies (13,2 %) que la proportion de résultats positifs à l’évaluation initiale était la plus élevée. En 2006, c’est dans la région du Québec (19,2 %) et dans la région de l’Atlantique (6,9 %) qu’elle était le plus élevée. En 2005 et 2006, c’est dans la région du Pacifique que cette proportion, soit 0,0 % et 2,9 %, respectivement, était la plus faible. C’est dans la région des Prairies que la proportion de tests non valides était la plus élevée en 2005 (72,2 %) et 2006 (37,5 %). La proportion globale d’évaluations qui ont été refusées était de 0,0 % en 2005 et 2006 pour les régions de l’Atlantique, de l’Ontario, des Prairies et du Pacifique. Quant à la région du Québec, elle a fait état d’un refus en 2005 (1,7 %) et d’aucun en 2006.

Vaccination antérieure par le BCG – Employés

Le tableau F.2 de l’annexe F montre la proportion d’employés déclarant avoir des antécédents de vaccination par le BCG, par région et par origine. Cette proportion était globalement de 8,4 % en 2005 et de 8,0 % en 2006. En dehors de la catégorie de l’origine inconnue, c’est chez les employés nés à l’étranger que l’on observe la plus forte proportion d’antécédents de BCG en 2005 (11,1 %) et en 2006 (22,2 %). C’est chez les employés nés au Canada que la vaccination par le BCG est la moins courante en 2005 (6,4 %) et en 2006 (6,9 %).

À l’échelle régionale, c’est la région du Québec qui avait la plus forte proportion globale d’antécédents de vaccination par le BCG chez les employés (33,9 % en 2005 et 24,1 % en 2006) et la région des Prairies qui avait la plus faible (1,6 % en 2005 et 3,1 % en 2006.

Le tableau 7.2 présente les antécédents de vaccination par le BCG et l’âge au moment de la vaccination, par origine, ainsi que le résultat au TCT à l’évaluation initiale de 7 088 employés du SCC de 1998 à 2006. Globalement, 16,5 % des employés déclaraient avoir reçu le vaccin BCG. Les employés autochtones étaient moins nombreux à déclarer avoir été vaccinés (12,0 %) que les employés nés au Canada (17,5 %) et ceux nés à l’étranger (17,4 %).

L’âge au moment de la vaccination était connu pour 78,1 % des employés déclarant des antécédents de vaccination par le BCG. La disponibilité des données variait selon l’origine (nés au Canada [83,5 %], nés à l’étranger [61,5 %] et Autochtones [54,2 %]). Ces données montrent que, dans le personnel, l’âge moyen de la vaccination est de 13,9 ans pour les employés nés à l’étranger, de 11,5 ans chez les Autochtones et de 10,4 ans chez les non-Autochtones nés au Canada. L’âge moyen de la vaccination par le BCG chez ceux dont le TCT est positif (9,8 ans) ou négatif (10,5 ans) est inférieur à l’âge au moment de la vaccination chez ceux dont le résultat au TCT est « autre » (12,3 ans). Parmi les employés dont le TCT est positif à l’évaluation initiale, 45,2 % font état d’antécédents de vaccination par le BCG, contre 15,6 % parmi ceux dont le TCT est négatif. 

 

Tableau 7.2 : Vaccination par le BCG et âge au moment de la vaccination à l'évaluation initiale, employés, 1998-2006
Catégorie Nombre Nombre (%) d'antécédents de vaccination par le BCG Nombre (%) dont des renseignements sur l'âge au moment de la vaccination sont connus Âge moyen (médian), en années), au moment de la vaccination

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.
1-La catégorie "Autre" comprend les possibilités suivantes : résultat non fourni/manquant, refus, résultat invalide, test contre-indiqué.

Origine
Non Autochtone né au Canada 4 788 838 (17,5 %) 700 (83,5 %) 10,4 (8)
Autochtone né au Canada 492  59 (12,0 %)  32 (54,2 %) 11,5 (9)
Né à l'étranger 374  65 (17,4 %)  40 (61,5 %) 13,9 (9)
Inconnue 1 434 206 (14,4 %) 140 (68,0 %) 12,2 (9)
Statut relatif au TCT
Positif 372 168 (45,2 %) 137 (81,5 %) 9,8 (9)
Négatif 4 141 646 (15,6 %) 530 (82,0 %) 10,5 (8)
Autre1 2 574 354 (13,8 %) 245 (69,2 %) 12,3 (9)
TOTAL 7 088 1 168 (16,5 %) 912 (78,1 %) 10,9 (9)

 

Évaluation continue des cas négatifs – Employés

Les résultats du dépistage continu effectué chez les employés ayant eu auparavant un TCT négatif pour la période 1998-2006 sont présentés à la figure 7.2 (voir aussi l’annexe F, tableau F3.). Globalement, la proportion d’employés ayant un résultat positif à un TCT de suivi était de 1,6 % en 2005 et de 1,7 % en 2006. La proportion de résultats non valides était de 19,2 % en 2005 et de 11,1 % en 2006. La proportion d’employés refusant un TCT à l’évaluation de suivi était de 0,4 % en 2005 et de 0,1 % en 2006.

Le tableau F.3 de l’annexe F montre que c’est dans la région du Québec que la proportion de TCT positifs était la plus forte en 2005 et 2006 (8,2 % et 7,7 %, respectivement). C’est dans la région du Pacifique que la proportion de résultats non valides était la plus élevée en 2005 et 2006 (53,0 % et 56,3 %, respectivement). En 2005, il n’y a eu aucun refus dans les régions de l’Ontario et du Québec, un refus dans la région du Pacifique (0,3 %) et dans celle des Prairies (0,7 %), et quatre refus dans la région de l’Atlantique (0,9 %). En 2006, il y a eu un refus dans la région des Prairies (0,1 %). Il n’y a eu aucun refus dans toutes les autres régions. 

 

Figure 7.2 : Résultats négatifs à l’évaluation continue
de la tuberculose, employés, 1998-2006

Figure 7.2 : Résultats négatifs à l’évaluation continue de la tuberculose, employés, 1998-2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

 

Test cutané à la tuberculine (TCT) – virages tuberculiniques et taux de virage – Employés

L’analyse des antécédents de TCT chez les employés ayant un résultat positif à une évaluation continue des cas négatifs permet d’estimer le taux de virage. Un sujet pour qui un virage tuberculinique s’est produit est une personne ayant jusqu’à présent eu des résultats négatifs au TCT qui présente maintenant un résultat positif. Le tableau 7.3 montre, pour la période 2000-2006, le nombre d’employés ayant un résultat nouvellement positif au TCT et, parmi eux, le nombre de ceux pour qui on avait un résultat négatif antérieur documenté (« vrais » virages tuberculiniques). La quatrième ligne du tableau montre le nombre d’employés ayant un résultat valide antérieur parmi ceux qui ont eu une évaluation cette année-là (ligne 1), (c.-à-d. le nombre total d’employés « à risque » de subir un virage tuberculinique cette année-là). Enfin, en divisant le nombre de nouveaux résultats positifs pour des employés dont le résultat était auparavant négatif par le nombre d’employés « à risque » de virage, on obtient une estimation du taux de virage pour l’année en question.

D’après ces données, le taux de conversion du TCT chez les employés est estimé à 0,82 % en 2005 et à 0,66 % en 2006.

 

Tableau 7.3 : TCT nouvellement positifs, virages tuberculiniques et taux de virage,
employés, 2000-2006
  2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

Nombre d'évaluations continues de cas négatifs 2 131 2 326 1 806 2 539 1 611 1 514 2 181
Nombre de résultats nouvellement positifs à l'évaluation continue 8 7 22 16 13 19 31
Nombre ayant un résultat négatif valide antérieur 3 3 3 7 7 8 10
Nombre total ayant un résultat valide antérieur 1 329 1 412 1 054 1 532 1 012 980 1 506
Taux de virage estimatif 0,23 % 0,21 % 0,28 % 0,46 % 0,69 % 0,82 % 0,66 %

 

Évaluation continue des cas positifs – Employés

Le tableau 7.4 montre le nombre d’évaluations chez les employés dont on sait qu’ils ont déjà eu un TCT positif (et partant, que l’on suppose atteints d’une infection tuberculeuse latente), par année et par région. Le nombre d’évaluations continues des cas positifs déclarées était de 79 en 2005 et de 107 en 2006.

 

Tableau 7.4 : Évaluations continues des cas positifs par région, employés, 1998-2006
  1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

Atlantique 26 20 17 17 17 16 17 15 17
Québec 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 0
Ontario 106 88 37 24 6 1 6 10 9
Prairies 203 170 173 84 117 82 94 32 64
Pacifique 81 94 77 69 39 54 21 13 5
Inconnu 3 0 3 3 12 16 15 7 12
Canada 419 373 307 197 191 169 154 79 107

 

Infection tuberculeuse latente – Employés

Pour calculer la proportion globale d’employés considérés comme étant infectés par Mycobacterium tuberculosis, on additionne le nombre d’employés ayant un résultat nouvellement positif au TCT (que ce soit à leur évaluation initiale ou à une évaluation de suivi) au cours d’une année et ceux dont on considère déjà qu’ils ont une infection tuberculeuse latente (ITL) (ce qui comprend les évaluations continues des cas positifs et ceux qui étaient déjà positifs à l’évaluation initiale). La distribution régionale des ITL par âge, origine et sexe pour les années 2005 et 2006 est présentée à l’annexe F (tableaux F.4, F.5, et F.6, respectivement).

La figure 7.3 montre l’estimation de la proportion d’employés dont on suppose qu’ils ont une ITL, par région, pour la période 1998-2006. Cette proportion était globalement de 6,6 % en 2005 et 2006. En 2005, c’est la région des Prairies qui avait la plus forte proportion d’employés atteints d’une ITL (15,9 %) et en 2006, c’était la région du Québec (11,1 %). La région de l’Ontario présentait les plus faibles proportions en 2005 (3,7 %) et 2006 (3,6 %).

 

Figure 7.3 : Infection tuberculeuse latente (ITL) par région, employés, 1998-2006
Figure 7.3 : Infection tuberculeuse latente (ITL) par région, employés, 1998-2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

 

ITL par groupe d’âge

La proportion d’employés que l’on suppose atteints d’une ITL augmente avec l’âge (annexe F, tableau F.4). Par exemple, en 2006, elle était de 0,0 %, 3,6 %, 4,3 %, 8,2 %, 9,0 %, et 12,8 %, respectivement, pour les groupes d’âge de 17 à 19 ans, 20 à 29 ans, 30 à 39 ans, 40 à 49 ans, 50 à 59 ans, et 60 ans et plus.

ITL par origine

La figure 7.4 montre la proportion d’employés présentant une ITL par origine pour la période 1998-2006. Tous les ans, sauf en 2001, cette proportion était plus faible chez les employés nés au Canada que chez les employés nés à l’étranger ou autochtones. C’est chez les employés nés à l’étranger que cette proportion était la plus forte (22,2 % en 2005 et 16,1 % en 2006) de façon constante. Parmi les employés autochtones, la proportion d’ITL était de 7,7 % en 2005 et 9,2 % en 2006. L’analyse du tableau F.5 de l’annexe F révèle des différences de proportions d’une région à l’autre.

 

Figure 7.4 : Infection tuberculeuse latente (ITL) par origine,
employés, 1998-2006

Figure 7.3 : Infection tuberculeuse latente (ITL) par région, employés, 1998-2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

 

ITL par sexe

La figure 7.5 montre la proportion d’ITL par sexe pour la période 1998-2006. Chez les hommes, cette proportion était de 6,9 % en 2005 et de 6,4 % en 2006. Chez les femmes, elle était de 6,3 % en 2005 et de 6,5 % en 2006. Il ressort du tableau F.6 de l’annexe F qu’il existe des différences régionales entre les taux d’ITL chez les hommes et les femmes.

 

Figure 7.5 : Infection tuberculeuse latente par sexe,
employés, 1998-2006

Figure 7.5 : Infection tuberculeuse latente par sexe, employés, 1998-2006

Source : Données de surveillance accrue du Web-SSMI, SCC 2010.

 

Dépistage des facteurs de risque et des symptômes – Employés

Les tableaux F7.i et F7.ii de l’annexe F montrent les résultats, pour les employés, de la liste de contrôle des facteurs de risque et des symptômes. Le dépistage des symptômes est essentiel dans l’évaluation de la tuberculose pour écarter la possibilité d’une tuberculose active. Les facteurs de risque inclus dans le processus de dépistage sont ceux qui entraînent des risques d’évolution vers la phase active de la maladie et il ne s’agit pas nécessairement des facteurs de risque de contracter une infection tuberculeuse.

Symptômes

Globalement, les symptômes les plus souvent mentionnés par les employés en 2005 étaient une toux productive (2,45 %), la fatigue (1,40 %) et un enrouement (1,35 %). Chez les employés dont le TCT était négatif, la toux productive (2,46 %) était le symptôme le plus courant, suivi par les douleurs thoraciques (1,23 %) et un enrouement (1,23 %). Chez les employés dont le TCT était positif, les symptômes les plus courants étaient la fatigue (4,58 %), des sueurs nocturnes (3,82 %) et un enrouement (3,05 %).

Globalement, les symptômes les plus souvent mentionnés en 2006 étaient la fatigue (1,97 %), une toux productive (1,93 %) et des sueurs nocturnes (1,32 %). On observe le même ordre dans les symptômes chez les employés dont le TCT est négatif (fatigue [1,85 %], toux productive [1,78 %] et sueurs nocturnes [1,23 %]). Les employés dont le TCT était positif mentionnaient le plus souvent une toux productive (4,15 %), une fatigue (3,63 %), des douleurs thoraciques (3,11 %) et un enrouement (3,11 %).

Facteurs de risque

Globalement, le facteur de risque le plus souvent mentionné en 2005 par les employés était un contact avec un cas de tuberculose active (2,85 %). Venaient juste après le diabète (2,80 %), puis l’usage de stéroïdes oraux (1,40 %). Chez ceux dont le TCT était négatif, le facteur de risque plus souvent mentionné était le diabète (2,78 %), suivi par un contact avec un cas de tuberculose active (2,73 %) et l’usage de stéroïdes oraux (1,28 %). Chez les employés dont le TCT était positif, les facteurs de risque les plus souvent mentionnés étaient un contact avec un cas de tuberculose active (4,58 %), le diabète (3,05 %) et l’usage de stéroïdes oraux (3,05 %).

Le facteur de risque le plus souvent mentionné en 2006 par les employés était un contact avec un cas de tuberculose active (7,66 %), suivi par le diabète (2,85 %) et l’usage de stéroïdes oraux (1,46 %). Les facteurs de risque suivants étaient les plus souvent mentionnés par les employés dont le TCT était négatif : contact avec un cas de tuberculose active (7,72 %), diabète (2,94 %) et usage de stéroïdes oraux (1,41 %). Quant aux employés dont le TCT était positif, les facteurs de risque les plus souvent mentionnés étaient le contact avec un cas de tuberculose active (6,74 %) et l’usage de stéroïdes oraux (2,07 %).

 

Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante