Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

INFECTIOUS DISEASE SURVEILLANCE
in Canadian Federal Penitentiaries 2005-2006

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Previous page | ToC | Next page

 

Executive Summary

Background

In the mid-1990’s, response to a suspected outbreak of tuberculosis in several federal facilities led to an ongoing collaboration between the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) (then Health Canada) and Correctional Service Canada (CSC), Health Services Sector (then Health Services Branch). In 2003, CSC and PHAC formalized this collaboration and signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) in order to enhance infectious disease prevention and control among inmates and staff in federal correctional facilities. This agreement includes the provision of epidemiological and data management services including surveillance, and since 2003 PHAC personnel have been providing expert technical and medical advice to CSC on a wide variety of infectious disease and public health issues.

Two separate technical surveillance systems were in place between 2005 and 2006 to capture surveillance data. The CSC Infectious Disease Surveillance System (IDSS) is an aggregate register of monthly serology screening tests and case reports of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis C (HCV), hepatitis A (HAV), hepatitis B (HBV), tuberculosis (TB), and sexually transmitted infections (STI). The Web-enabled Infectious Disease Surveillance System (Web-IDSS) is a normalized electronic database containing enhanced, line-listed data on tuberculosis (TB) and bloodborne and sexually transmitted infections (BBSTI). Tuberculosis screening for staff is conducted by the Public Health and Occupational Safety Program (PHOSP) of Health Canada and is stored and analyzed by PHAC.

This report presents the combined surveillance data for 2005 – 2006 on selected infectious diseases for CSC. This builds on previously published surveillance results for 2000-2001 (CSC, 2003) and 2002-2004 (CSC, 2008), and on previously published reports on tuberculosis for 1998 (CSC, 2001) and 1999-2001 (CSC, 2005).

This is the first report in which Web-IDSS data are presented. The information from the enhanced screening include previous testing and results, risk-history information, tests requested and laboratory results, and the ability to link multiple tests for an individual across time. However, as 2005-2006 represent ramp-up and implementation phases, these data are used to supplement and enhance the findings from the aggregate surveillance system. Therefore, the IDSS data are still considered the “gold standard” with respect to providing best-estimate data for testing and prevalence estimates.

Results

More than half of new admissions  to a CSC correctional facility accepted a screening blood test for HIV in 2005 and 2006. In each of these years, 7 new admissions were newly diagnosed for HIV, or 2.9 and 2.6 newly diagnosed HIV cases per 1,000 tests respectively. The vast majority of HIV infections among inmates were known on admission; for example, in 2006, 155 of 162 (96%) HIV cases were known to be positive on admission. The year-end point-prevalence estimate for HIV infection was 1.67% in 2005 (N=204) and 1.64% in 2006 (N=218). Women had higher rates of HIV infection compared to men; in 2006 the year-end HIV prevalence rates for women was 4.49% compared to 1.54% for men. The number of known HIV positive inmates released to the community was 175 in 2005 and 193 in 2006. Enhanced surveillance data from 2005 and 2006 indicate that among inmates who had a baseline negative HIV test and a follow-up test while incarcerated, no new HIV infections were detected.

About half of all new admissions accepted a screening blood test for HCV in 2005 and 2006. Of these, there were 178 newly diagnosed HCV infections in 2005 and 193 in 2006. This translates to a diagnostic yield of 75.2 newly diagnosed HCV infections per 1,000 tests in 2005 and 76.9 in 2006. The vast majority of HCV infections among inmates were known on admission; for example, in 2006, 1,165 of 1,358 (86%) HCV cases were known to be positive on admission. The point-prevalence estimate for HCV infection was 29.3% in 2005 (N=3,581) and 27.6% in 2006 (N=3,661). Women had higher rates of HCV infection compared to men; in 2006 the year-end HCV prevalence rate for women was 36.0% compared to 27.3% for men. The number of known HCV positive inmates released to the community was 2,065 in 2005 and 2,183 in 2006. Enhanced surveillance data from 2005-2006 indicate that of the inmates who tested negative on admission and had a repeat HCV test, an estimated 31 per 1,000 per year subsequently test positive during incarceration. However, attribution of infection to risk inside CSC is limited due to the lack of information on risk outside CSC, such as time spent in the community on parole.

Enhanced surveillance data indicate that 32% of new admissions were screened for HAV and 39% screened for HBV. Serological immunity among new admissions was 29.9% for HAV and 39.4% for HBV. For general population inmates, 48.2% tested for HAV (serological immunity = 41.2%) and 54.4% tested for HBV (serological immunity = 43.3%). Invoice data on vaccine purchases indicate that enough vaccine was purchased to vaccinate almost two-thirds of new admissions against HAV and/or HBV. From the IDSS, there were no acute HAV cases reported in 2005 and only one case was reported in 2006. From a high of 43 cases diagnosed in 2001, there were 6 acute HBV cases reported in 2005 and 9 in 2006.

The number of syphilis cases in CSC was zero in 2000 and in 2001, compared to 10 in 2004, 6 in 2005 and 16 in 2006, corresponding to a rate of 49 (2005) and 120 (2006) cases per 100,000. Similar increases in overall reported rates were observed for other STIs. The number of chlamydia cases increased from 21 in 2000 to 92 in 2005 (rate of 753 per 100,000) and 95 in 2006 (715 per 100,000). Gonorrhea cases were 11 in 2000 and 2005 (90 per 100,000) and 20 in 2006 (151 per 100,000).

The number of incident active tuberculosis cases reported in CSC varied between 0 - 7 between 1998 and 2006 with 7 cases in 2005 and 3 cases in 2006. This represents active TB rates of 41.1 and 16.3 cases per 100,000, respectively. The rate of latent tuberculosis infection (LTBI) among inmates was 15.8% in 2005 and 16.6% in 2006. Overall, LTBI rates by origin were consistent with reported population-specific rates for sub-populations in Canada (Yuan, 2007). The estimated TST conversion rates among inmates for 2005 – 2006 were 0.90% and 0.89% respectively. This suggests ongoing transmission of TB between inmates (and staff) and the potential for further transmission should converters develop active disease. Continued vigilance to TB screening and surveillance, including tuberculin skin test (TST) screening, source case investigations, contact tracing, and prophylactic treatment of latent TB infection is required.

The validity of the TB surveillance data among staff is influenced by two factors; i) the logistical difficulty in conducting the TB screening tests; and ii) the low TB screening participation rate among staff. The observed LTBI rate, which is slightly higher than the Canadian average, suggest that working in the corrections environment may place staff at higher risk of contracting tuberculosis infection. The estimated TST conversion rates among staff for 2005 – 2006 were 0.82% and 0.66% respectively.

Future Directions

Surveillance data continue to be analyzed. Preliminary data are approved and are used as they are available. Publication of surveillance data makes these data “official”. Following this report, a report for 2007-2008 will be prepared and released. Comprehensive surveillance data with a good baseline and trend measures will assist in evaluating public health program development and harm reduction interventions. CSC is committed to working with other pan-Canadian stakeholders in improving the public health among all Canadians.

 

Previous page | ToC | Next page

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

SURVEILLANCE DES MALADIES INFECTIEUSES DANS LES PÉNITENCIERS FÉDÉRAUX CANADIENS
2005-2006

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante

 

Sommaire

Contexte

Au milieu des années 1990, la réponse à une éclosion soupçonnée de tuberculose dans plusieurs établissements fédéraux a conduit à une collaboration suivie entre l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) (alors Santé Canada) et le Secteur des services de santé (alors Direction des services de santé) du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC). En 2003, le SCC et l’ASPC ont officialisé cette collaboration en signant un protocole d’entente afin de renforcer la prévention et le contrôle des maladies infectieuses parmi les détenus et les employés des établissements correctionnels fédéraux. Cette entente prévoit la prestation de services épidémiologiques et de gestion des données, y compris de surveillance, et depuis 2003, le personnel de l’ASPC fournit au SCC des conseils d’experts en matière technique et médicale sur une vaste gamme de questions relatives aux maladies infectieuses et à la santé publique.

Deux systèmes de surveillance technique distincts étaient en place entre 2005 et 2006 pour recueillir des données de surveillance. Le Système de surveillance des maladies infectieuses (SSMI) du SCC est un registre général des tests sérologiques de dépistage et des déclarations de cas d’infection par le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH), d’hépatite C (VHC), d’hépatite A (VHA), d’hépatite B (VHB), de tuberculose et d’infections transmissibles sexuellement (ITS). L’application Web du Système de surveillance des maladies infectieuses (Web-SSMI) est une base de données électronique normalisée qui contient des données améliorées, présentées sous forme de liste sur la tuberculose et les infections transmissibles sexuellement et par le sang (ITSS). Le dépistage de la tuberculose chez les employés se fait dans le cadre du Programme de santé au travail et de sécurité du public (PSTSP) de Santé Canada et les données correspondantes sont conservées et analysées par l’ASPC.

Le présent rapport fait état des données de surveillance agrégées concernant certaines maladies infectieuses au SCC pour la période 2005-2006. Il vient s’ajouter aux résultats de surveillance déjà publiés pour 2000-2001 (SCC, 2003) et 2002-2004 (SCC, 2008), et aux rapports sur la tuberculose publiés pour 1998 (SCC, 2001) et 1999-2001 (SCC, 2005).

Il s’agit du premier rapport où sont présentées des données du Web-SSMI. L’information provenant du dépistage accru comprend les tests et les résultats antérieurs, des renseignements sur les antécédents en matière de risques, les analyses demandées et les résultats de laboratoire, et elle permet de relier de multiples tests auxquels une personne a été soumise dans le temps. Cependant, comme la période 2005-2006 correspond à des phases de mise en œuvre et d’accélération, ces données sont utilisées en complément des conclusions du système de surveillance global pour les renforcer. Par conséquent, les données du SSMI continuent d’être considérées comme l’« idéal » pour ce qui est de permettre la meilleure estimation quant au dépistage et aux taux de prévalence.

Résultats

En 2005 et 2006, plus de la moitié des délinquants nouvellement admis dans un établissement correctionnel du SCC ont accepté de se soumettre à un test sanguin de dépistage du VIH. Chacune de ces années, on a diagnostiqué parmi ces nouvelles admissions 7 nouveaux cas de VIH, soit 2,9 et 2,6 cas nouvellement diagnostiqués, respectivement, pour 1 000 tests pratiqués. Dans l’immense majorité des cas, les infections à VIH chez les détenus étaient connues à l’admission. Ainsi, en 2006, 155 des 162 (96 %) cas de VIH étaient connus comme étant séropositifs à leur admission. L’estimation de la prévalence instantanée en fin d’année pour l’infection à VIH était de 1,67 % en 2005 (N = 204) et de 1,64 % en 2006 (N = 218). Les taux d’infection à VIH étaient plus élevés chez les femmes que chez les hommes. Ainsi, en 2006, les taux de prévalence en fin d’année étaient de 4,49 % pour les femmes, contre 1,54 % pour les hommes. Le nombre de détenus séropositifs pour le VIH connus mis en liberté dans la collectivité était de 175 en 2005 et de 193 en 2006. Les données de la surveillance accrue de 2005 et 2006 montrent que parmi les détenus qui ont eu un test initial négatif pour le VIH et un test de suivi pendant leur incarcération, aucune nouvelle infection à VIH n’a été constatée.

En 2005 et 2006, environ la moitié des délinquants nouvellement admis ont accepté de se soumettre à un test sanguin de dépistage du VHC. Sur ce nombre, on a diagnostiqué 178 nouveaux cas d’infection au VHC en 2005 et 193 en 2006. Cela donne un rendement diagnostique de 75,2 infections à VHC nouvellement diagnostiquées pour 1 000 tests pratiqués en 2005 et 76,9 en 2006. Dans l’immense majorité des cas, les infections à VHC chez les détenus étaient connues à l’admission. Ainsi, en 2006, 1 165 des 1 358 (86 %) cas d’infection à VHC étaient connus comme étant séropositifs pour le VHC à leur admission. L’estimation de la prévalence instantanée pour l’infection à VHC était de 29,3 % en 2005 (N = 3 581) et de 27,6 % en 2006 (N = 3 661). Les taux d’infection par le VHC étaient plus élevés chez les délinquantes que chez les délinquants. Ainsi, en 2006, les taux de prévalence en fin d’année étaient de 36,0 % pour les femmes, contre 27,3 % pour les hommes. Le nombre de détenus séropositifs pour le VHC connus mis en liberté dans la collectivité était de 2 065 en 2005 et de 2 183 en 2006. Les données de la surveillance accrue de 2005 et 2006 montrent que parmi les détenus dont le test était séronégatif à l’admission et à qui l’on a fait un nouveau test de dépistage du VHC, environ 31 détenus sur 1 000 par an deviennent séropositifs durant leur incarcération. Toutefois, il est impossible de déterminer avec précision le risque d’infection découlant de l’incarcération des délinquants au sein du SCC en raison du manque d’information concernant le risque qu’ils courent hors du Service, par exemple dans le cadre d’une libération conditionnelle dans la collectivité.

Les données de la surveillance accrue indiquent que 32 % des délinquants nouvellement admis ont été soumis à un dépistage du VHA et 39 %, du VHB. Ces tests se sont soldés par une immunité sérologique dans 29,9 % des cas pour le VHA et dans 39,4 % des cas pour le VHB. Par ailleurs, 48,2 % des détenus appartenant à la population carcérale générale se sont soumis à un test pour le VHA (immunité sérologique = 41,2 %) et 54,4 % à un test pour le VHB (immunité sérologique = 48,3 %). Il ressort des données des factures d’achat de vaccins que l’on a acheté suffisamment de doses pour vacciner près des deux tiers des délinquants nouvellement admis contre le VHA ou le VHB. D’après le SSMI, on n’a signalé aucun cas aigu d’infection par le VHA en 2005 et seulement un en 2006. Alors qu’on avait diagnostiqué 43 cas d’infection à VHB en 2001, on n’a signalé que 6 cas aigus  en 2005 et 9 en 2006.

Il n’y a eu aucun cas de syphilis au SCC en 2000 et 2001, par rapport à 10 en 2004, 6 en 2005 et 16 en 2006, soit un taux de 49 (2005) et 120 (2006) cas pour 100 000 détenus. Des augmentations similaires dans les taux de déclaration généraux ont été observées pour les autres ITS. Le nombre de cas de chlamydia a augmenté, passant de 21 en 2000 à 92 en 2005 (taux de 753 pour 100 000) et à 95 en 2006 (715 pour 100 000). Par ailleurs, on a dénombré 11 cas de gonorrhée en 2000 et en 2005 (90 pour 100 000) et 20 en 2006 (151 pour 100 000).

Le nombre de cas incidents de tuberculose active signalés au SCC variait de 0 à 7 entre 1998 et 2006, avec 7 cas en 2005 et 3 en 2006, ce qui donne des taux de tuberculose active de 41,1 et 16,3 cas pour 100 000, respectivement. Le taux d’infection tuberculeuse latente (ITL) chez les détenus était de 15,8 % en 2005 et de 16,6 % en 2006. Globalement, les taux d’ITL par origine correspondaient aux taux déclarés pour des sous-populations données au Canada (Yuan, 2007). Les taux de virage tuberculinique estimé chez les détenus étaient de 0,90 % en 2005 et de 0,89 % en 2006, ce qui donne à penser que la transmission de la tuberculose entre détenus (et employés) continue et qu’elle risque de continuer si les personnes qui ont eu un virage tuberculinique développent la forme active de la maladie. Une vigilance constante s’impose en ce qui concerne le dépistage et la surveillance de la tuberculose, y compris le dépistage par test cutané à la tuberculine, les enquêtes sur les cas sources, la recherche des contacts et le traitement prophylactique de l’infection tuberculeuse latente.

La validité des données de surveillance de la tuberculose chez les employés est influencée par deux facteurs : i) la difficulté logistique que présente l’administration des tests de dépistage de la tuberculose; et ii) le faible taux de participation du personnel à ces tests000le travail en milieu correctionnel expose les employés à un risque plus grand de contracter une infection tuberculeuse. Les taux de virage tuberculinique chez les employés étaient de 0,82 % en 2005 et de 0,66 % en 2006.

Orientations futures

L’analyse des données de surveillance se poursuit. Les données préliminaires sont approuvées et utilisées lorsqu’elles sont disponibles. Leur publication rend les données de surveillance « officielles ». À la suite du présent rapport, un autre rapport sera préparé et diffusé pour les années 2007 et 2008. Des données de surveillance agrégées, assorties de bonnes données de référence et de mesures des tendances, aideront à évaluer l’élaboration des programmes de santé publique et les interventions de réduction des méfaits. Le SCC entend travailler en collaboration avec d’autres intervenants pancanadiens pour améliorer la santé de tous les Canadiens.

 

Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante