Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Substance Abuse Treatment Modalities: Literature Review

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Stress Management/Relaxation

Stress management/relaxation training is normally included as a component of multimodal treatment programs for four main purposes: (1) to help people reduce their overall level of physiological arousal; (2) to reduce their craving to drink; (3) to help them sleep more easily; and (4) to help them handle specific environmental factors which result in anxiety (Miller & Hester, 1980). It is believed that many people drink to reduce tension or psychological stress (Rohsenow et al., 1985) and even after treatment, stress is thought to be an antecedent of drinking and relapse ( e.g., Eliany & Rush, 1992).

A recent study (Brown et al., 1990) examined the relationship between stressful life events and drinking outcome among male alcoholics who had completed an alcohol treatment program. Approximately 40% of the pre-treatment stressors were found to be directly or indirectly related to alcohol use. Results showed that men who returned to drinking after treatment experienced more severe or highly threatening stress before their relapse than men who remained abstinent during the follow-up period. The researchers concluded that although less severe stress may not increase risk for relapse, acute severe stressors and highly threatening chronic difficulties appear to be associated with elevated relapse risk.

The current research indicates that stress emanates from a number of different sources in a variety of different ways. Not surprisingly, stress management training can be offered to clients through a number of different approaches. Miller and Hester (1986) reviewed stress management training techniques and found they included such approaches as relaxation training, biofeedback and systematic desensitization (i.e., focusing on environmental factors to reduce anxiety). Miller (1992) also identified aerobic training as a stress management approach. Other approaches have included meditation, muscle relaxation and transcendental meditation (Brochu & Forget, 1990; Rohsenow et al., 1985).

Controlled research has focused on stress management training in alcohol treatment programs only, and no studies to date have examined the impact of such training with drug abusers. Reviews of the alcoholism treatment literature have found that stress management has a positive impact on post-treatment functioning. Miller and Hester (1986) found support through a number of studies which reported improvements in such areas as employment, depression and relaxation after stress management training. A later review by Miller (1992) also found beneficial post treatment impacts from stress management techniques of aerobic exercise and biofeedback training.

Although the reviews did not delineate the actual impact on drinking, evidence exists to suggest that stress management training has a measurable impact on reducing drinking behaviour. Rohsenow et al. (1985) examined the effectiveness of stress management training (SMT) as a drinking reduction program for heavy social drinking college students. The SMT included muscle relaxation and meditation training, cognitive restructuring, and coping skills rehearsal during induced affect. The men in the SMT group showed a significant decrease in daily drinking rates at post treatment and at 2.5-month follow-up, but drinking returned to baseline levels by 5.5 months for the group as a whole. The researchers concluded that stress management training appears to reduce consumption over the short-term post treatment period.

In summary, the rationale for stress management training arises from findings which indicate that stress is related to drinking both before and after treatment. Although some evidence exists questioning the effectiveness of stress management training (e.g., Miller & Taylor, 1980), the majority of research findings have demonstrated positive treatment outcomes in life areas prone to stressful events. In addition, stress management training has been found to impact on drinking behaviour, albeit over a short-term period. Taken together, stress management training can be considered an effective addition to multimodal treatment programs for clients experiencing stressful life events related to substance use.

References for Stress Management/Relaxation:

Brochu, S., & Forget, C. (1990), Survey of literature on substance abuse intervention for inmates. (Unpublished report). Montreal: Universite de Montreal.

Brown, S. A., Vik, P. W., McQuaid, J. R., Patterson, T. L., Irwin, M. R., & Grant, I. (1990), “Severity of psychosocial stress and outcome of alcoholism treatment”, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, 99(4), 344-348.

Eliany, M., & Rush, B. (1992), The effectiveness of prevention and treatment programs for alcohol and other drug problems: A review of evaluation studies, (Unpublished report). Ottawa: Health and Welfare Canada.

Miller, W. R. (1992), “The effectiveness of treatment for substance abuse: Reasons for optimism”, Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment, 9, 93-102.

Miller, W. R., & Hester, R. K. (1980), “Treating the problem drinker: Modern approaches”, In W.R. Miller (Ed.), The addictive behaviours: Treatment of alcoholism, drug abuse, smoking, and obesity, Oxford: Pergamon Press.

Miller, W. R., & Hester, R. K. (1986), “The effectiveness of alcoholism treatment: What research reveals”, In W.R. Miller & N. Heather (Eds.), Treating addictive behaviours: Processes of change. New York: Plenum Press.

Miller, W. R., & Taylor, C. A. (1980), “Relative effectiveness of bibliotherapy, individual and group self-control training in the treatment of problem drinkers”, Addictive Behaviours, 5, 13-24.

Rohsenow, D. J., Smith, R. E., & Johnson, S. (1985), “Stress management training as a prevention program for heavy social drinkers: Cognitions, affect, drinking and individual differences”, Addictive Behaviours, 10, 45-54.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Revue de la littérature sur les techniques de traitement en toxicomanie

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Gestion du stress et relaxation

La formation sur la gestion du stress et la relaxation est généralement intégrée à des programmes de traitement multimodaux dans quatre buts : 1. aider les gens à abaisser leur niveau global d'excitation physiologique; 2. réduire leur désir de boire; 3. les aider à mieux dormir; 4. les aider à faire face à certaines situations qui engendrent de l'anxiété (Miller et Hester, 1980). On croit que bon nombre de personnes boivent pour réduire la tension ou le stress psychologique (Rohsenow et coll., 1985) et que, même après le traitement, le stress les amène à boire de nouveau (p. ex. Eliany et Rush, 1992).

Une étude récente (Brown et coll., 1990) a porté sur le lien entre les événements stressants de la vie et la consommation d'alcool chez des alcooliques de sexe masculin ayant suivi un programme de traitement. Ses auteurs ont établi qu'environ 40 % des facteurs de stress présents avant le traitement étaient liés directement ou indirectement à la consommation d'alcool. Ils ont constaté que les hommes qui ont recommencé à boire après le traitement ont connu un stress plus grave ou plus inquiétant que ceux qui sont demeurés abstinents au cours de la période de suivi. Les chercheurs ont conclu qu'un stress de moindre gravité n'augmente pas nécessairement le risque de rechute mais qu'un stress très grave et des difficultés chroniques très inquiétantes semblent liés à un risque de rechute élevé.

La recherche actuelle montre que le stress provient de diverses sources et prend diverses formes. On ne sera pas étonné de constater qu'il y a diverses approches en gestion du stress. Miller et Hester (1986) se sont penchés sur la question et ont constaté que les méthodes comprenaient notamment la formation en relaxation, le biofeedback et la désensibilisation systématique (c.-à-d. se concentrer sur des facteurs environnementaux pour réduire l'anxiété). Miller (1992) a également inclus l'exercice aérobique dans les techniques de gestion du stress. La méditation, la détente musculaire et la méditation transcendantale (Brochu et Forget, 1990; Rohsenow et coll., 1995) figuraient aussi parmi les techniques employées.

La recherche contrôlée a porté uniquement sur la formation en gestion du stress intégrée aux programmes de traitement de l'alcoolisme et non sur l'incidence de cette formation sur les toxicomanes. Les recensions de la documentation sur le traitement de l'alcoolisme ont établi que la gestion du stress avait un effet positif sur le fonctionnement après le traitement. De l'avis de Miller et Hester (1986), un certain nombre d'études ont signalé que la formation en gestion du stress avait apporté des amE9‚liorations dans des domaines comme l'emploi, la dépression et la relaxation. Une recension plus récente de Miller (1992) a également établi que d'autres techniques comme l'exercice aérobique et le biofeedback avaient eu des effets positifs après le traitement.

Des données montrent que la formation sur la gestion du stress a une incidence mesurable sur la réduction de la consommation d'alcool même si les recensions n'ont pas permis de cerner précisément cette incidence. Rohsenow et coll. (1985) ont étudié le rôle de cette formation dans la réduction de la consommation d'alcool des étudiants de niveau collégial ayant une forte consommation sociale. La formation portait notamment sur la détente musculaire, la méditation, la restructuration cognitive et la répétition de réactions acceptables à des situations chargées d'émotion. On a observé que la consommation quotidienne des participants avait grandement baissé à l'issue du traitement et au moment du suivi effectué après 2,5 mois mais qu'elle était revenue au niveau de base après 5,5 mois pour l'ensemble du groupe. Les chercheurs ont conclu que la formation sur la gestion du stress semblait abaisser la consommation à court terme à l'issue du traitement.

Bref, la formation sur la gestion du stress a été introduite après qu'on eut découvert que le stress était lié à la consommation d'alcool avant et après le traitement. Même si certaines données remettent son efficacité en question (p. ex. Miller et Taylor, 1980), la majorité des recherches ont montré qu'elle donnait des résultats positifs dans certains domaines de la vie fertiles en événements stressants. On a également observé que la formation sur la gestion du stress avait une incidence sur la consommation d'alcool mais à court terme seulement. Dans l'ensemble, cette formation peut être considérée comme un élément utile des programmes de traitement multimodaux offerts aux clients aux prises avec des événements stressants liés à la toxicomanie.

Références pour gestion du stress et relaxation:

Brochu, S., & Forget, C. (1990), Aperçu de la littérature sur les interventions en toxicomanie pour les détenus. (rapport non-publié). Montréal: Université de Montreal.

Brown, S. A., Vik, P. W., McQuaid, J. R., Patterson, T. L., Irwin, M. R., & Grant, I. (1990), “Severity of psychosocial stress and outcome of alcoholism treatment”, Journal of Abnormal Psychology, 99(4), 344-348.

Eliany, M., & Rush, B. (1992), L'efficacité des programmes de prévention et de réhabilitation de l'alcoolisme et d'autres toxicomanies: sommaires des évaluations, Ottawa: Santé et Bien-être Canada.

Miller, W. R. (1992), “The effectiveness of treatment for substance abuse: Reasons for optimism”, Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment, 9, 93-102.

Miller, W. R., & Hester, R. K. (1980), “Treating the problem drinker: Modern approaches”, dans W.R. Miller (éd.), The addictive behaviours: Treatment of alcoholism, drug abuse, smoking, and obesity, Oxford: Pergamon Press.

Miller, W. R., & Hester, R. K. (1986), “The effectiveness of alcoholism treatment: What research reveals”, dans W.R. Miller & N. Heather (éds.), Treating addictive behaviours: Processes of change. New York: Plenum Press.

Miller, W. R., & Taylor, C. A. (1980), “Relative effectiveness of bibliotherapy, individual and group self-control training in the treatment of problem drinkers”, Addictive Behaviors, 5, 13-24.

Rohsenow, D. J., Smith, R. E., & Johnson, S. (1985), “Stress management training as a prevention program for heavy social drinkers: Cognitions, affect, drinking and individual differences”, Addictive Behaviors, 10, 45-54.