Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Substance Abuse Treatment Modalities: Literature Review

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Employment Training

The purpose of employment training for substance abusers, either as a single program or as a component of a multi-faceted program, is to develop or enhance the skills necessary to secure and maintain employment upon treatment completion. The rationale for offering occupational upgrading derives from studies which have documented that individuals who present serious drug and alcohol problems also experience difficulties in securing and maintaining employment (Capone et al., 1986; Malla, 1988; Schmidt, 1992). Malla (1988) examined the outcome of refusers and acceptors of treatment for alcoholism and found that although the two groups showed equal amounts of change on employment measures, a higher percentage of the refusers reported drinking at work. Capone et al. (1986) examined retention and outcome in a narcotic antagonist treatment program and showed that patients who dropped out of the program early were found to have less stable employment records compared to those who remained longer. Moreover, the later group also appeared more successful at termination, evidencing better vocational stability.

Schmidt (1992) divided a sample of 406 clients entering public mental health services into two groupings based on scores on the Addiction Severity Index (ASI): problem drinkers and nonproblem drinkers. In a number of demographic comparisons, it was found that problem drinkers were significantly less likely to have full-time employment and were significantly more likely to claim welfare entitlements as their source of income. In addition, a significantly higher proportion of the problem drinkers entered treatment for the purpose of requesting assistance to enhance their employability.

The previous studies have highlighted that individuals who present serious drug and alcohol problems also experience employment problems. This situation is particularly relevant for offenders where, in addition to substance abuse difficulties, the impact of incarceration also plays an integral role in post-release employability. For example, over 20 years ago, some researchers (e.g., Miller, 1972; Taggart, 1972) had concluded that one of the greatest obstacles for the former offender seeking employment is that he cannot provide the skills and qualities the marketplace demands. A recent study by Motiuk and Porporino (1989) confirmed these conclusions by identifying, from a sample of 221 federal offenders, that the majority (123 offenders) presented employment skills as a need to be developed prior to release.

Although poor employment skills are common among drug and alcohol abusers, offenders and non-offenders alike, there are only a few studies that have investigated post-substance-abuse-treatment employability. In a review of substance abuse treatment effectiveness, McLellan et al. (1982) concluded that alcohol and drug abuse treatments can produce significant, pervasive and substantial positive changes, not only in the target problems of drug and alcohol use, but also in important ancillary problems of employment and criminal behaviour. Kosten et al. (1987) examined treatment outcome in opiate addicts over a 2.5 year follow-up. The analyses focused on identifying the relationship of drug abstinence to other outcome indicators of family, social, psychological, medical, employment and legal functioning. Results showed that for participants who remained abstinent over the follow-up period, a significant lessening of problems were identified in all of the outcome indicators, including employment.

Hoffman and Miller (1993) compared pre-treatment characteristics and post-treatment functioning of 9199 inpatients and 1042 outpatients from the Comprehensive Assessment and Treatment Outcome Research (CATOR) evaluation service. Pre-treatment comparisons showed that inpatients (who evidenced higher drug and alcohol severity levels) were more likely to report vocational problems such as being late and missing work altogether. Inpatients were also more than twice as likely as outpatients to report working under the influence almost every day, and more also report being impaired at work at least once a week. Post-treatment employment showed improvement in a number of areas. Results showed reductions in difficulties with a boss or supervisor, number of mistakes made at work, being absent or late, on-the-job injury, and problems encountered in completing work.

There appears to be only one study that has evaluated post-treatment employment for substance-abusing offenders. Funderburk et al. (1993) evaluated a treatment program for violent criminal offenders with alcohol abuse problems. A major component of program was to mobilize community resources to improve the job finding skills of the offenders. A one year follow-up showed an overall significant improvement in life adjustment and employment compared to intake levels. Specifically, more than twice as many had improved their employment situation than had deteriorated.

Although not specific to substance abusers, there is evidence to suggest that securing employment is a determinant of post-release success for offenders. Myers (1984) examined a sample of male inmates released from prison who had low financial resources, were repeat property offenders, had no known history of drug and alcohol abuse, and had not been on work release for more than three months. Results showed that after a one year follow-up, better wages and employment significantly reduced individual recidivism rates. The author concluded that improved employment opportunities allowed the sample of repeat property offenders to avoid engaging in future criminality.

In summary, it has been found that individuals who present serious drug and alcohol problems also experience employment difficulties. Employment training is offered to enhance the prospects of securing a job after treatment completion. Although the specific vocational techniques employed in treatment were not delineated, a number of studies have shown improvements in employability at post-treatment. Follow-ups of offenders, including substance and nonsubstance abusers, have shown that securing and maintaining employment after incarceration has a positive impact on recidivism rates. Given that the majority of offenders also evidence drug and alcohol problems, the need for employment training as a treatment component is especially relevant.

References for Employment Training:

Capone, T., Brahen, L., Condren, R., Kordal, N., Melchionda, R., & Peterson, M. (1986), “Retention and outcome in a narcotic antagonistic treatment program”, Journal of Clinical Psychology, 42(5), 825-833.

Funderburk, F. R., Mackenzie, A., DeHaven, G. P., Stefan, R., & Allen, R. P. (1993), “Evaluation of the multiple offender alcoholism project: Quasiexperimental evaluation strategy with a focus on individual change and quality of life”, Evaluation and Program Planning, 16, 181-191.

Hoffman, N. G., & Miller, N. S. (1993), “Perspectives of effective treatment for alcohol and drug disorders”, Recent Advances in Addictive Disorders, 16(1), 127-140.

Kosten, T. R., Rounsaville, B. J., & Kleber, H. D. (1987), “Multidimensionality and prediction of treatment outcome in opioid addicts: 2.5-year follow-up”, Comprehensive Psychiatry, 28(1), 3-13.

Malla, A. (1988), “An outcome study comparing refusers and acceptors of treatment for alcoholism”, Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, 33, 183-187.

Miller, M. (1972), “Vocational training in prisons: Some social policy implications”, Abstracts on Criminology and Penology, (July - December), 220.

McLellan, A. T. et al. (1982), “Is treatment for substance abuse effective”, Journal of the American Medical Association, 247, 1423-1427.

McLellan, A. T., Luborsky, L., O'Brien, C. P., Barr, H. L., & Evans, F. (1986), “Alcohol and drug abuse treatment in three different populations: Is there improvement and is it predictable?”, American Journal of Drug and Alcohol Abuse, 12 (1 & 2), 101-120.

Motiuk, L. L., & Porporino, F. J. (1989), Offender Risk/Needs Assessment: A Study of Conditional Releases, Research Report # 1, Research and Statistics Branch. Ottawa: CSC.

Myers, S. L. (1984), ‘Do better wages reduce crime?”, American Journal of Economics and Sociology, 43(2), 191-196.

Schmidt, L. (1992), “A profile of problem drinkers in public mental health services”, Hospital and Community Psychiatry, 43(3), 245-250.

Taggart, R. (1972), The Prison of Unemployment, Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Revue de la littérature sur les techniques de traitement en toxicomanie

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Références pour formation préparatoire à l'emploi:

Le but de la formation préparatoire à l'emploi à l'intention des toxicomanes, que celle-ci fasse l'objet d'un programme en soi ou s'inscrive dans le cadre d'un programme à plusieurs volets, est de développer ou d'améliorer les compétences nécessaires pour trouver et garder un emploi une fois le traitement terminé. Les motifs à l'appui de la prestation d'une formation préparatoire à l'emploi découlent d'études qui ont démontré que les personnes qui ont de graves problèmes de toxicomanies ont également de la difficulté à trouver et à garder un emploi (Capone et coll., 1986; Malla, 1988; Schmidt, 1992). Après avoir comparé les résultats à cet égard pour un groupe de personnes qui avaient accepté de participer à un programme de traitement de l'alcoolisme et pour un groupe de personnes qui avaient refusé de le faire, Malla (1980) a constaté que bien que les deux groupes eurent démontré des changements équivalents dans leur comportement au travail, un pourcentage plus élevéde ceux qui avaient refusé de participer au traitement ont dit qu'ils consommaient de l'alcool au travail. Capone et coll. (1986) ont examiné la question du maintien de l'emploi et les résultats d'un programme de traitement au moyen d'antagonistes des morphiniques et ont démontré que les patients qui abandonnaient le programme prématurément avaient des antécédents professionnels moins stables que ceux qui y participaient plus longtemps. De plus, ce dernier groupe obtenait apparemment de meilleurs résultats au terme du programme, ce qui témoigne d'une plus grande stabilité professionnelle.

Schmidt (1992) a réparti en deux groupes un échantillon de 406 clients admis dans des services publics de santé mentale, en fonction des résultats obtenus par ces derniers sur l'ASI (échelle de gravité du problème de toxicomanie) : les buveurs qui ont des problèmes d'alcoolisme et ceux qui n'en ont pas. Un certain nombre de comparaisons démographiques ont révélé que les buveurs à problèmes étaient beaucoup moins susceptibles d'exercer un emploi à plein temps et beaucoup plus susceptibles de recevoir des prestations d'aide sociale comme source de revenus. De plus, un nombre beaucoup plus élevé des buveurs à problèmes ont suivi un traitement dans le but de demander de l'aide en vue d'améliorer leur employabilité.

Les études antérieures ont fait ressortir que les individus qui ont de graves de problèmes de toxicomanies ont également des problèmes d'ordre professionnel. Cette constatation est particulièrement pertinente dans le cas des délinquants qui, outre leurs problèmes de toxicomanies, doivent surmonter le handicap que constitue leur incarcération pour les employeurs éventuels. Par exemple, il y a plus de 20 ans, certains chercheurs (p. ex. Miller, 1972; Taggart, 1972) ont conclu que l'un des obstacles majeurs que doit surmonter l'ex-délinquant qui cherche un emploi est le fait qu'il n'a pas les compétences ni les qualités en demande sur le marché. Une étude récente de Motiuk et Porporino (1989) confirme ces conclusions, soulignant que, parmi un échantillon de 221 délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale, la majorité (123) devaient améliorer leurs compétences professionnelles avant leur mise en liberté.

Bien que le manque de compétences professionnelles soit courant chez les alcooliques et autre toxicomanes, délinquants ou non, seulement quelques études portent sur l'employabilité des personnes qui ont participé à un programme de traitement des toxicomanies. Dans une étude sur l'efficacité des programmes de traitement des toxicomanies, McLellan et coll. (1982) ont conclu que les programmes de traitement de l'alcoolisme et autres toxicomanies peuvent amener des changements positifs majeurs, profonds et substantiels, non seulement en ce qui concerne les problèmes d'alcoolisme et autres toxicomanies proprement dits, mais également certains problèmes auxiliaires importants reliés à l'emploi et au comportement criminel. Kosten et coll. (1987) ont examiné les résultats d'un programme de traitement de la dépendance opiacée tout au long d'une période de suivi de 2,5 ans. Les analyses visaient à établir le lien entre l'abstinence de drogue et d'autres indicateurs de résultats reliés au fonctionnement sur les plans familial, social, psychologique, médical, professionnel et légal. Les résultats ont démontré que dans le cas des participants qui sont restés abstinents durant la période de suivi, on a enregistré une diminution importante des problèmes pour tous les indicateurs de résultats, y compris l'emploi.

Hoffman et Miller (1993) ont comparé certaines données prétraitement et post-traitement sur le fonctionnement de 9 199 patients hospitalisés et de 1 042 patients en consultation externe é tudiés par le service d'évaluation Comprehensive Assessment and Treatment Outcome Research (CATOR). Les comparaisons prétraitement ont révélé que les patients hospitalisés (qui avaient des problèmes de toxicomanies plus graves) étaient plus susceptibles d'avoir des problèmes au travail, par exemple des retards, des absences. Les patients hospitalisés étaient également deux fois plus susceptibles que les patients en consultation externe de travailler sous l'effet des drogues presque tous les jours, et ils étaient également plus nombreux à travailler en état d'ébriété au moins une fois par semaine. Les données sur l'emploi après le traitement ont révélé des améliorations dans un certain nombre de domaines. Les résultats font état d'une amélioration en ce qui concerne les conflits avec un patron ou le surveillant, les erreurs commises au travail, les absences ou les retards, les accidents du travail et la difficulté d'exécuter le travail.

Il semble qu'une seule étude ait été effectuée en vue d'évaluer l'emploi post-traitement dans le cas des délinquants toxicomanes. Funderburk et coll. (1993) ont évalué un programme de traitement à l'intention des délinquants violents aux prises avec des problèmes d'alcoolisme. Un important volet du programme consistait à mobiliser les ressources communautaires pour améliorer la capacité des délinquants de trouver un emploi. Un suivi effectué après une année a révélé une amélioration majeure dans les domaines de l'adaptation à la vie et de l'emploi par rapport à la situation à l'admission. Plus précisément, ceux dont la situation au chapitre de l'emploi s'était améliorée étaient deux fois plus nombreux que ceux dont la situation à ce chapitre s'était détériorée.

Bien que cette conclusion ne soit pas propre aux toxicomanes, certains éléments indiquent que le fait de trouver un emploi est un facteur déterminant du succès de la mise en liberté des délinquants. Myers (1984) a examiné un échantillon de détenus de sexe masculin mis en liberté et dont les ressources financières étaient limitées, qui avaient commis, à répétition, des infractions contre les biens, n'avaient pas d'antécédents connus d'alcoolisme ou d'autres toxicomanies et n'étaient pas employés dans le cadre d'un placement à l'extérieur depuis plus de trois mois. Les résultats ont démontré qu'au terme d'un suivi d'un an, le fait de recevoir une rémunération plus intéressante et d'avoir un emploi contribuait à réduire sensiblement les taux de récidive individuels. L'auteur a conclu que l'amélioration des possibilités d'emploi a mis un terme aux activités criminelles des délinquants qui commettaient à répétition des infractions contre les biens.

En résumé, il a été établi que les individus qui ont de graves problèmes d'alcoolisme et d'autres toxicomanies ont également des difficultés d'ordre professionnel. La formation préparatoire à l'emploi vise à améliorer les possibilités de trouver un emploi, une fois le traitement terminé. Bien que les méthodes particulières de formation préparatoire à l'emploi utilisées dans le cadre du traitement n'aient pas été décrites, un certain nombre d'études ont révélé des améliorations au chapitre de l'employabilité après le traitement. Un suivi effectué auprès de délinquants, toxicomanes et non toxicomanes, a démontré que le fait de trouver et de garder un emploi après l'incarcération a un effet positif sur les taux de récidive. Compte tenu du fait que la majorité des délinquants ont également des problèmes d'alcoolisme et d'autres toxicomanies, la nécessité de prévoir une formation préparatoire à l'emploi dans le cadre du traitement est particulièrement pertinente.

Références pour formation préparatoire à l'emploi:

Capone, T., Brahen, L., Condren, R., Kordal, N., Melchionda, R., & Peterson, M. (1986), “Retention and outcome in a narcotic antagonistic treatment program”, Journal of Clinical Psychology, 42(5), 825-833.

Funderburk, F. R., Mackenzie, A., DeHaven, G. P., Stefan, R., & Allen, R. P. (1993), “Evaluation of the multiple offender alcoholism project: Quasiexperimental evaluation strategy with a focus on individual change and quality of life”, Evaluation and Program Planning, 16, 181-191.

Hoffman, N. G., & Miller, N. S. (1993), “Perspectives of effective treatment for alcohol and drug disorders”, Recent Advances in Addictive Disorders, 16(1), 127-140.

Kosten, T. R., Rounsaville, B. J., & Kleber, H. D. (1987), “Multidimensionality and prediction of treatment outcome in opiod addicts: 2.5-year follow-up”, Comprehensive Psychiatry, 28(1), 3-13.

Malla, A. (1988), “An outcome study comparing refusers and acceptors of treatment for alcoholism”, Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, 33, 183-187.

Miller, M. (1972), “Vocational training in prisons: Some social policy implications”, Abstracts on Criminology and Penology, (July - December), 220.

McLellan, A. T. et al. (1982), “Is treatment for substance abuse effective”, Journal of the American Medical Association, 247, 1423-1427.

McLellan, A. T., Luborsky, L., O'Brien, C. P., Barr, H. L., & Evans, F. (1986), “Alcohol and drug abuse treatment in three different populations: Is there improvement and is it predictable?”, American Journal of Drug and Alcohol Abuse, 12 (1 & 2), 101-120.

Motiuk, L. L., & Porporino, F. J. (1989), Évaluation combinée des besoins et des risques chez les détenus: étude des mises en liberté sous condition, Rapport de recherche No Ottawa: SCC.

Myers, S. L. (1984), ‘Do better wages reduce crime?”, American Journal of Economics and Sociology, 43(2), 191-196.

Schmidt, L. (1992), “A profile of problem drinkers in public mental health services”, Hospital and Community Psychiatry, 43(3), 245-250.

Taggart, R. (1972), The Prison of Unemployment, Baltimore: John Hopkins University Press.