Performance Assurance

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

YEAR-END PAYMENTS AND RECEIPTS

Audit Report

PDF (116KB)

December 2001
378-1-156

Performance Assurance Sector
Correctional Service of Canada

 

1. Introduction

The review of year-end payments and receipts for fiscal years 1999-2000 and 2000-2001 was conducted during the last two weeks of June 2001 in the Québec and Ontario regions. The review was done at CSC Comptroller's request for the purpose of ensuring that CSC regions were following existing policies and procedures with respect to proper year-end cut-offs.

Treasury Board Policy 5-5 "Policy on payables at year-end" dated October 10, 1994 specifies that:" It is the policy of the Government of Canada to record liabilities to outside organizations and individuals incurred up to and including March 31st in each fiscal year and to charge them to existing appropriations or provide for them through a central provision for valuation". This same policy defines a liability as a ".financial obligation to outside organizations and individuals as a result of transactions and events occurring on or before March 31."

The review included transactions for both fiscal years processed by Leclerc, Montée Saint-François, Joyceville and Collins Bay Institutions as well as transactions recorded by regional offices for both regions.

2. Method and scope

The scope of work of this review was determined by the Audit & Program Accreditation Branch in consultation with CSC Comptroller's Office. This review was limited to sampling transactions from the sites listed above for the two fiscal years. For each fiscal year, the objectives of the review were:

  • To ensure that expenditures recorded in March did not include actual April transactions;
  • To ensure that PAYE recorded in March did not include actual April expenditures and;
  • To ensure that expenditures recorded in April did not include March transactions

The review methodology differed slightly from site to site because of the way record keeping and the work were both organized. For each one of the objectives above, we sampled a number of transactions.

3. Findings and recommendations

The audit team concludes that evidence shows that the process for year-end payments and receipts is in accordance with policies and procedures issued by Treasury Board Secretariat and CSC. We were able to evidence that most samples of PAYEs that we reviewed were indeed documented as being OLD YEAR transactions and were further paid in the new fiscal year. Furthermore, we could verify that our samples of payments in March or April of each year were for transactions that rightfully belonged to the years into which they were paid.

While doing our review, we were able to identify a certain number of situations and/or problems that we believe are not very conducive to achieving best practiceswhere we believe improvements could be made. We will discuss them briefly here. In general, the following observations and recommendations will apply to all sites visited. When something is specific to one site, we will mention it.

3.1 Documentary evidence needs to be strengthened.

3.1.1 System controls

We were looking for the IFMMS system receipt date to determine whether the goods and/or services were received in the old or the new fiscal year. This system date should be reliable since it is assigned automatically by the operating system calendar/clock. For goods/services received and recorded into the system prior to March 31, the process was working well based on our samplings. People were given until April 6 to enter transactions on goods and services received on or before March 31. It is with goods and services receipt transactions acknowledged after March 31 that the situation is not as clear.

There is a link in the system between the goods and/or services "receipt" transaction and the "purchase order" transaction. If goods (or services) received have not been purchased in the system by the issuance of a P.O., they cannot be system-received and a receipt number issued. This is a logical link and it helps strengthen controls over purchasing and the payment of goods. However, there was a system problemsituation at year-end that prevented people to dofrom doing system receipts transaction for old-year receipts recorded in the first 6 days of April. This resulted in disabling the receipt transaction as a means of controlling transactions received at least prior to April 6, if not prior to March 31. We have been assured by Finance that this problem will be resolved before next year-end.

We also suggest for next fiscal year-end that not only Finance ensures that the system receipt function is fully operational for recording old-year transactions during the grace period of April, but also that people would usebe induced in using it for both goods and services transactions. We should limit people's ability to by-passwork around that function.

3.1.2 Paper trail

In order to document the receipt date, managers are either using a date stamp or a piece of correspondence/e-mail issued by a fellow employee. For goods purchased there is normally delivery documentation (delivery slips, shipping memos, etc.) issued by either the carrier or the supplier. These should always be kept and become part of the documentation supporting the payment of invoices. Beside the benefit of establishing the delivery date, this external documentation demonstrates that goods have been delivered and helps support signing section 34.

3.2 Need to strengthen some procedures for year-end.

Our review of the year-end process identified a need to either write some new procedures or to improve upon existing ones. Here are some examples of what we found:

  • Goods are normally received by a store or a receiving unit that is different from the unit which ordered the goods. Services rendered are normally acknowledged by the same manager who is managing the contract and responsible for the budget. We would suggest, for services, that there be an independent validation mechanism.
  • CSC procedure on materiality required that managers accrue all liabilities with a dollar value in excess of $5,000.00. For transactions below that level, it was left to each manager (of Finance branch) to decide whether or not transactions would be accrued. As a result, we saw $4,900.00 transactions not being accrued while $35.00 transactions from another unit were being recorded as PAYEs.
  • There were instances where managers were left to themselves to make interpretations as to whether or not to accrue transactions, that could have been covered generically in a procedure. An example of this is what do we do when we know before year-end that we will have to pay a settlement in the new year but no formal documents or agreements have been signed/issued as at March 31.
  • There were several millions dollars worth of PWGSC invoices accrued at year-end for construction in progress. It may be worthwhile to review how we assess work in progress at year-end and how we document the files.

We believe that it would be beneficial to do a post-mortem of year-end procedures and processes and use lessons learned to bring improvements where needed. This review should involve people in the regions and address above items as well as any other problem that arose at year-end and after.

3.3 Good Management Practices

We have seen transactions that, although they were processed in all legality, were perhaps not following the basic rules of good management; purchases made late in the year, sometimes in large quantities, difficult timeframes between the date of purchase and the date of delivery, etc.

Another comment concerns the time it takes within the Service in general, to turn an invoice around and pay it. means should be found to shorten time to receive, approve and forward an invoice to Finance. This year, the short grace period allowed to enter invoices resulted in many more transactions than in previous years having to be set-up as PAYEs. This has created a heavy burden on Finance, which had to handle these invoices twice rather than only once for payment

3.4 Vendor files for paid invoices are kept by the budget managers in Ontario.

In the Ontario region, the budget managers keep accounts payable vendor files in their units. When asked why, Finance people referred to increased accountability by the budget manager to justify the move. Although there is no legal or other requirement for the files to be kept in Finance,, we can see some problems with this procedure.

It is hard to consult the whole file on one vendor when the invoices are not centralized. In the course of our audit on some occasions, it took a long time before we could access information.For example, in Collins Bay, we had to walk from Frontenac Institution where the Finance clustered Office is located to Collins Bay Institution where the managers were located.

We suggest that we review this process to see if it is still appropriate. Ontario region is the only one where suppliers files are disseminated to this extent.

4. Acknowledgements

Audit & Program Accreditation Branch wishes to acknowledge the excellent welcome and collaboration they received from people visited in the Institutions and in the regions. They were found to be professional, collaborative and pleasant to work with. Their help and dedication to their work has greatly reduced the complexity of this review.

Évaluation du rendement

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

PAIEMENTS ET RENTRÉES À LA FIN DE L'EXERCICE

Rapport de vérification

PDF (117 KB)

Décembre 2001
378-1-156

Secteur de l'évaluation du rendement
Service correctionnel du Canada

1. Introduction

L'examen des paiements et des rentrées de la fin des exercices 1999-2000 et 2000-2001 a eu lieu au cours des deux dernières semaines de juin 2001 dans les régions du Québec et de l'Ontario. On se conformait ainsi à la demande du contrôleur du SCC dont l'objectif était de s'assurer que les régions du SCC s'en tenaient aux politiques et aux méthodes en vigueur en ce qui a trait aux dates de l'arrêté des comptes à la fin de l'exercice.

La politique 5-5 du Conseil du Trésor « Politique sur les créditeurs à la fin de l'exercice » en date du 10 octobre 1994 précise ce qui suit : « Le gouvernement du Canada a pour politique de comptabiliser, pour chaque exercice, les dettes non réglées au 31 mars envers des tiers et de les débiter des crédits existants ou d'en tenir compte au moyen d'une provision centrale pour évaluation. » La même politique définit un élément de passif comme étant « [.] des dettes contractées envers des tiers à la suite d'opérations et de faits qui se sont produits au plus tard à la date de comptabilisation, c'est-à-dire le 31 mars ».

L'examen visait les transactions effectuées au cours des deux exercices par les établissements Leclerc, Montée Saint-François, Joyceville et Collins Bay, ainsi que les transactions enregistrées par les bureaux des deux régions.

2. Méthode et portée

C'est la Direction de la vérification et de l'accréditation des programmes, en collaboration avec le bureau du contrôleur, qui a fixé la portée de cet examen qui s'est limité à la vérification d'un échantillon des transactions effectuées par les établissements susmentionnés au cours des deux exercices. Pour chaque exercice, l'examen avait pour but de s'assurer que :

  • les dépenses inscrites en mars ne comprenaient pas les transactions effectuées en avril;
  • les CAFE (créditeurs à la fin de l'exercice) inscrits en mars ne comprenaient pas les dépenses effectuées en avril;
  • les dépenses inscrites en avril ne comprenaient pas les transactions effectuées en mars.

Nous avons procédé à l'échantillonnage d'un certain nombre de transactions relativement à chacun des objectifs ci-dessus.

3. Conclusions et recommandations

L'équipe de vérification a pu se rendre compte que la méthode utilisée pour les paiements et les rentrées à la fin de l'exercice est conforme aux politiques et aux règles du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et du SCC. Nous avons pu constater que la plupart des échantillons des CAFE examinés figuraient en fait en tant que transactions de L'EXERCICE PRÉCÉDENT et que les paiements avaient eu lieu au cours du nouvel exercice. Nous avons en outre pu constater que nos échantillons des paiements effectués en mars ou en avril de chaque exercice correspondaient à des transactions relevant à juste titre des exercices au cours desquels les fonds avaient été versés.

Au cours de notre examen, nous avons pu cerner un certain nombre de situations à l'égard desquelles nous croyons que des améliorations pourraient être apportées. Nous les analyserons brièvement. De façon générale, les remarques et les recommandations qui suivent s'appliquent à toutes les unités opérationnelles visitées. Lorsqu'une situation ne concerne qu'une seule unité, nous le précisons.

3.1 Nécessité de preuves documentaires plus étayées

3.1.1 Mécanismes de contrôle

Il s'agissait de déterminer, à partir de la date de réception dans le SIGFM, si les biens ou les services avaient été reçus durant l'exercice précédent ou durant celui en cours. On doit pouvoir se fier à cette date étant donné qu'elle est attribuée automatiquement par le calendrier ou l'horloge interne du système d'exploitation. Dans le cas des biens et des services reçus et inscrits dans le système avant le 31 mars, nos échantillonnages ont permis de constater que le processus était appliqué adéquatement. Les personnes intéressées avaient jusqu'au 6 avril pour inscrire les transactions de biens et services reçus au plus tard le 31 mars.

Il existe dans le système un lien entre les transactions visant les « réceptions » de biens et/ou de services et les transactions de « bons d'achat ». Lorsque des biens (ou des services) reçus ne figurent pas en tant qu'achats dans le système en vertu de l'émission d'un bon d'achat, ils ne peuvent y être inscrits comme ayant été reçus, et un numéro de réception ne peut être émis. C'est un lien logique qui renforce le contrôle de l'achat et du paiement des biens. Toutefois, en raison d'une situation survenue en fin d'exercice, les responsables n'ont pu inscrire dans le système les réceptions de l'ancien exercice enregistrées au cours des six premiers jours d'avril. Ainsi, il a été impossible de se servir du système comme moyen de contrôle des transactions reçues avant le 6 avril, ou du moins avant le 31 mars. Les Finances nous assurent que ce problème sera réglé avant la fin du prochain exercice.

Nous proposons aussi, en ce qui concerne le prochain exercice, que non seulement les Finances s'assurent que la fonction « réception » du système est entièrement opérationnelle pour l'inscription des transactions de l'exercice précédent effectuée durant le délai de grâce d'avril, mais aussi que les responsables l'utilisent pour les transactions visant tant les biens que les services. Il faudrait restreindre la capacité des responsables de contourner cette fonction.

3.1.2 Pièces justificatives

Pour attester de la date de réception, les gestionnaires utilisent un timbre-dateur ou conservent de la correspondance ou un message transmis par courriel par un collègue. Pour ce qui est des biens achetés, on obtient habituellement des documents de livraison (bons de livraison, bordereaux d'expédition, etc.) émis soit par le transporteur, soit par le fournisseur. Ils devraient toujours être conservés et faire partie des pièces justificatives du paiement des factures. En plus d'indiquer la date de livraison, ces documents prouvent que les biens ont été livrés et permettent l'autorisation par signature prévue à l'article 34.

3.2 Nécessité de renforcer certaines procédures pour la fin de l'exercice

Notre examen du processus de fin d'exercice a mis en lumière la nécessité d'élaborer certaines nouvelles procédures ou d'améliorer celles qui existent déjà. Voici quelques exemples de ce que nous avons pu constater :

  • Généralement, le magasin ou le service qui reçoit les biens n'est pas le même que celui qui les a commandés. Dans le cas des services rendus, la confirmation de la réception est habituellement assurée par le même gestionnaire qui administre le contrat et qui a la responsabilité du budget. Nous proposons que, dans le cas des services, un mécanisme indépendant de validation soit mis en place.
  • La procédure du SCC en ce qui concerne l'importance relative exige que les gestionnaires inscrivent tous les éléments de passif de plus de 5 000 $. Dans le cas des transactions dont la valeur est inférieure à ce seuil, il appartient à chaque gestionnaire (des Finances) de décider s'il faut ou non les inscrire. C'est ainsi que des transactions d'une valeur de 4 900 $ n'avaient pas été inscrites et que des transactions de 35 $ d'une autre unité opérationnelle l'avaient été en tant que CAFE.
  • Dans certains cas, des gestionnaires ont eu à décider par eux-mêmes s'il fallait ou non inscrire des transactions qui auraient pu être visées par une règle de conduite générale. Par exemple, que faut-il faire lorsque nous apprenons avant la fin de l'exercice que nous aurons à effectuer un règlement financier au cours du nouvel exercice et qu'aucun document ou accord officiel n'a été signé ou émis au 31 mars.
  • Des montants de factures de TPSGC totalisant plusieurs millions de dollars ont été inscrits à la fin de l'exercice relativement à des travaux de construction en cours. Il serait peut-être utile de revoir la façon dont nous évaluons les travaux en cours à la fin de l'exercice et surtout comment nous documentons les dossiers.

Il serait avantageux de procéder à une analyse critique des procédures de fin d'exercice et de s'inspirer des leçons tirées de l'expérience pour apporter les améliorations nécessaires. Cet examen devrait faire appel aux responsables dans les régions et aborder les questions mentionnées ci-dessus ainsi que tout autre problème survenu à la fin de l'exercice et par la suite.

3.3 De saines pratiques de gestion

Nous avons eu connaissance de transactions qui, même si elles étaient effectuées en toute légalité, ne répondaient peut-être pas aux règles fondamentales d'une saine gestion : des achats faits vers la fin de l'année, parfois volumineux, des délais d'exécution difficiles entre la date d'achat et celle de la livraison, etc.

Mentionnons aussi la question du temps qui s'écoule généralement au sein du Service entre le moment où la facture est reçue et celui où elle est payée. Il faudrait trouver des moyens pour accélérer la réception, l'autorisation et l'acheminement d'une facture aux Finances. Cette année, la courte période de grâce accordée pour l'inscription des factures a fait en sorte qu'il a fallu établir beaucoup plus de transactions que l'année précédente en tant que CAFE. Cette situation a imposé un surcroît de travail aux Finances qui ont dû traiter ces factures deux fois plutôt qu'une seule en vue du paiement.

3.4 En Ontario, les dossiers de factures payées des fournisseurs sont conservés par les gestionnaires de budget.

Dans la région de l'Ontario, les gestionnaires de budget conservent les dossiers des comptes créditeurs des fournisseurs dans leurs services. Interrogées à ce sujet, les personnes autorisées des Finances ont invoqué la responsabilisation accrue des gestionnaires de budget. Bien qu'il n'existe aucune exigence légale ou autre visant la conservation des dossiers aux Finances, cette façon de procéder nous semble susceptible de causer des problèmes.

Il est difficile de consulter tout le dossier d'un fournisseur lorsque les factures ne sont pas centralisées. Au cours de notre vérification, l'accès aux renseignements a parfois exigé beaucoup de temps. Par exemple, à Collins Bay, nous avons dû nous rendre à pied de l'établissement Frontenac, où les services des Finances sont regroupés, à l'établissement Collins Bay où se trouvaient les gestionnaires.

Nous proposons un examen de ce processus afin de déterminer s'il est toujours approprié. Il n'y a que dans la région de l'Ontario où les dossiers des fournisseurs sont ainsi dispersés.

4. Remerciements

La Direction de la vérification et de l'accréditation des programmes tient à souligner le chaleureux accueil et l'excellente collaboration du personnel des établissements et des régions. Ces personnes ont fait preuve de professionnalisme, d'un esprit de collaboration et d'une grande amabilité. Leur aide et leur dévouement ont grandement contribué à lui simplifier la tâche.