Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Human Rights In Community Corrections

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

CHAPTER 2: THE LEGAL FRAMEWORK

To maintain continuity with its earlier mandate, the Working Group reviewed Canada's international and domestic human rights obligations and their bearing on CSC's program of community corrections and on the human rights of offenders, employees, victims and other parties involved.

As pointed out in our original report, Canada's human rights obligations are broadly distributed over many international instruments and domestic legislative and constitutional texts.1 On this basis it was our general conclusion that:

  1. all the human rights principles and obligations that Canada has subscribed to since the Universal Declaration on Human Rights was adopted 50 years ago apply equally to the treatment of offenders, staff and others, whether it be in an institutional or a community setting;
  2. the only major international document which deals specifically with matters related to community corrections is the United Nations Standard Minimum Rules for Non-custodial Measures, usually known as the Tokyo Rules;2
  3. the essential rights of offenders are adequately reflected in those sections of the CCRA that describe the purpose and principles of the federal correctional system;
  4. although the human rights of CSC employees, including those working in community corrections, are covered under various pieces of federal legislation, it would be helpful if a revised CCRA were to make it clear that staff rights have as much priority as those of offenders; and
  5. such rights as are granted to victims under the CCRA may be insufficient to reflect their interests, and the manner in which they may be invoked is at present less than clear.

An additional non-binding international instrument directly addresses the rights and entitlements of victims: the Declaration of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime and Abuse of Power. Canada played a key role in sponsoring the Declaration, which was adopted by United Nations General Assembly in November 1985, and later served as the basis for a federal-provincial-territorial statement in 1988.3 The full text of the Declaration may be found in Annex G. It states that victims are entitled to have access to mechanisms of justice, including prompt redress, and urges member countries to ensure that the concerns of victims can be heard at all appropriate stages of criminal proceedings.

The Correctional Law Review, which led to the enactment of the CCRA in 1992, considered the Declaration and proposed some recognition of victims' rights. More recently the Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights issued a report entitled Victims' Rights: A Voice, not a Veto, which recommends enhancing the role of victims in the parole system and improving victims' access to information about offenders, including information about their participation in programs of various kinds. As part of the present five-year review, the Sub-Committee on the Corrections and Conditional Release Act is likely to address these issues. The UN Declaration was also considered in the drafting of Bill C-79, which would amend the Criminal Code to include additional victim entitlements. The proposed preamble, for instance, resembles the wording of the Declaration, and some provisions of the Bill embody principles set out in that document.

The Rights of Offenders in the Community Corrections Setting

Without its being made completely explicit, it is clear that those human rights rules that are encompassed within the CCRA and CCRR are intended to apply to all categories and classes of federally sentenced persons, whether they be incarcerated or released under some form of parole or supervision. However, it is also clear that the practical implications of respecting those rules will necessarily differ according to the offender's situation. This applies not only to such matters as living conditions and health care provisions, but also to the disciplinary sanctions available and the procedural remedies that can, in practice, be invoked.

Besides laying out the purpose of parole and the duties, composition, etc. of the National Parole Board, Part II of the Act presents the various types and terms of release primarily from the standpoint of risk management, eligibility criteria and the operations of the Board. From the offender's perspective, the principal rights-related matters covered in Part II are opportunities for parole reviews, the right to receive fair notice, and the normal information and hearing requirements, which are set out in detail. Speaking generally, and given the preponderance of custodial rules in Part II, one is bound to say that the entitlements of offenders (e.g., to rehabilitative treatment, programming, and community support) receive relatively little attention in this part of the CCRA. The law as now written goes to great lengths to spell out the power over offenders which is exercised by the correctional authorities. This is no doubt to be expected. But since offenders must also rely on those authorities to deal with them justly and humanely, it is important that the extent and nature of their rights be as clear as possible, and that CSC' s compliance with those rights be appropriately measured and accounted for.

The human rights of specific interest to offenders might be summarized as follows.

· The retention of all normal rights that are not necessarily abridged by virtue of the offender's situation.

· A corresponding right to enjoy the least restrictive treatment possible, consistent with effective risk management and public safety.

· An explicit entitlement under the CCRA to an appropriate balance of custodial control and rehabilitative programming and assistance.

· Procedural fairness at all points in the process, including suspension and revocation, as well as the application of control measures, such as search and seizure, urinalysis, compulsory (e.g. psychiatric) treatment, etc., in a manner that conforms with reasonable human rights standards.

· Provision of satisfactory accommodation, living and other conditions, including financial allowances sufficient to enable offenders to live decently, visit family, look for work, and obtain ordinary medical or other services within the terms of their parole.

· Freedom from arbitrary special conditions of parole or sanctions which have no reasonable relation to an increased risk of reoffending.

· Freedom from all forms of discriminatory treatment related to race, ethnicity, sex, disability or any other ground prohibited by the Canadian Human Rights Act.

· Assurances that family, friends, employers, etc. will not be subjected to unnecessary intrusion or to harassment in pursuit of verification of offenders' activities in the community.

In a more general sense, it might also be argued that the concept of community corrections as a means of protecting society, by encouraging and facilitating resocialization, entails a responsibility for CSC to be at least as active in soliciting community support and assistance as it is in supervising parolee behavior. Although this may not be an offender's right by virtue of international or domestic law, there are at least two articles of the Tokyo Rules that underline the importance of this aspect of the correctional task.4 In any event, the notion of community corrections obviously loses much of its rationale when this is not the case. It is questionable whether the Act and Regulations at present sufficiently express the complementary nature of support and assistance.

1 See Reference Guides, Domestic and International Human Rights Obligations with Respect to Prisoners and CSC Employees for a compilation of the relevant texts.

2 The full text of the Tokyo Rules appears in Annex F.

3 Statement of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime.

4 Tokyo Rules: "10.4 Offenders should, when needed, be provided with psychological, social and material assistance and with opportunities to strengthen links with the community and facilitate their reintegration into society"; and, "17.1 Public participation should be encouraged as it is a major resource and one of the most important factors in improving ties between offenders undergoing non-custodial measures and the family and community. It should complement the efforts of the criminal justice administration."

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Les droits de la personne dans le milieu correctionnel communautaire

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

CHAPITRE 2 : CADRE LéGISLATIF

Pour assurer la continuité avec son mandat antérieur, le Groupe de travail a passé en revue les obligations internationales et nationales du Canada en matière de droits de la personne et leurs répercussions sur les services correctionnels communautaires du SCC et sur les droits fondamentaux des délinquants, des employés, des victimes et des autres parties intéressées.

Comme il est signalé dans notre rapport initial, les obligations du Canada à cet égard sont réparties dans de nombreux instruments internationaux et textes législatifs et constitutionnels nationaux1. Sur cette base, notre conclusion générale a été la suivante :

  1. tous les principes et obligations en matière de droits de la personne auxquels le Canada souscrit depuis que la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme a été adoptée, il y a 50 ans, s'appliquent également au traitement des délinquants, des membres du personnel et d'autres personnes, que ce soit dans les établissements ou dans la collectivité;
  2. le seul document d'importance international qui traite expressément des questions liées aux services correctionnels communautaires s'intitule Règles minima des Nations Unies pour l'élaboration de mesures non privatives de liberté, couramment appelées les « Règles de Tokyo »2;
  3. es droits fondamentaux des délinquants sont évoqués de façon satisfaisante dans les articles de la LSCMLC qui décrivent l'objet et les principes du système correctionnel fédéral;
  4. bien que les droits fondamentaux des employés du SCC, y compris ceux qui travaillent dans les services correctionnels communautaires, soient protégés par diverses mesures législatives fédérales, il serait utile de réviser la LSCMLC pour qu'elle énonce clairement que les droits des employés sont tout aussi prioritaires que ceux des délinquants;
  5. les droits consentis aux victimes aux termes de la LSCMLC peuvent ne pas suffire à tenir compte de leurs intérêts, et, pour l'instant, la façon dont ils peuvent être invoqués est loin d'être claire.

La Déclaration des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes de la criminalité et aux victimes d'abus de pouvoir est un autre texte international non exécutoire qui porte directement sur les droits des victimes. Le Canada a joué un rôle clé comme parrain de la Déclaration, que l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adoptée en novembre 1985 et qui, en 1988, a servi de fondement pour une déclaration fédérale-provinciale-territoriale3. Le lecteur trouvera le texte intégral de la Déclaration à l'annexe G. Il dit que les victimes ont le droit d'avoir accès à des mécanismes de justice, y compris l'accès à un système de redressement efficace, et exhorte les pays membres à faire en sorte que les préoccupations des victimes puissent se faire entendre à toutes les étapes appropriées des procédures pénales.

La révision du droit correctionnel qui a abouti à l'adoption de la LSCMLC, en 1992, a tenu compte de la Déclaration et proposé de reconnaître dans une certaine mesure les droits des victimes. Plus récemment, le Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne a publié un rapport intitulé Les droits des victimes - Participer sans entraver, qui recommande de donner un plus grand rôle aux victimes dans le régime de libération conditionnelle et d'améliorer pour les victimes l'accès à l'information sur les délinquants, notamment sur leur participation aux divers types de programmes. Dans le cadre de son étude quinquennale qui est en cours, le Sous-comité sur la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition abordera vraisemblablement ces questions. La Déclaration des Nations Unies a également été prise en considération au moment de la rédaction du projet de loi C-79, qui modifierait le Code criminel pour y ajouter de nouveaux droits pour les victimes. Ainsi, le préambule proposé ressemble au texte de la Déclaration, et certaines des dispositions du projet de loi incarnent les principes énoncés dans le document.

Les droits des délinquants dans le contexte correctionnel communautaire

Sans que les choses soient parfaitement explicites, il est clair que les règles en matière de droits de la personne qui se retrouvent dans la LSCMLC et le RSCMLC doivent s'appliquer à toutes les catégories et classes de délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale, qu'ils soient incarcérés ou qu'ils bénéficient d'une forme quelconque de mise en liberté sous condition ou qu'ils soient placés sous surveillance. Cependant, il est également clair que les conséquences pratiques du respect de ces règles varient forcément selon la situation du délinquant. Cela vaut non seulement pour des questions comme les dispositions sur les conditions de vie et les services de santé, mais aussi pour les sanctions disciplinaires possibles et les recours de procédure qu'il est possible, en pratique, d'invoquer.

La partie II de la loi n'expose pas seulement l'objet de la libération conditionnelle et les fonctions, la composition, etc., de la Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles, mais présente aussi les divers types et conditions de mise en liberté dans l'optique de la gestion du risque, des critères d'admissibilité et des activités de la Commission. Du point de vue du délinquant, les principales questions liées aux droits abordées dans la partie II sont les possibilités d'examen des demandes de libération conditionnelle, le droit à un avis raisonnable et les exigences normales en matière d'information et d'audience, qui sont énoncées en détail. En termes généraux, et étant donné la prépondérance des règles sur la garde, dans la partie II, on est forcé de dire que les droits des délinquants (p. ex., à un traitement de réadaptation, à des programmes et à un soutien communautaire) reçoivent relativement peu d'attention dans cette partie de la LSCMLC. La loi telle qu'elle est rédigée précise avec force détails les pouvoirs que les autorités correctionnelles exercent à l'égard des délinquants. Cela est certes normal, mais, comme les délinquants doivent aussi compter sur ces autorités pour recevoir un traitement juste et humain, il est important que la portée et la nature de leurs droits soient aussi claires que possible et qu'on évalue dans quelle mesure le SCC respecte ces droits et qu'on en rende compte.

Les droits de la personne intéressant plus précisément les délinquants peuvent se résumer de la façon suivante :

· La conservation de tous les droits normaux qui ne sont pas forcément compromis par la condition de délinquant.

· Le droit correspondant au traitement le moins restrictif possible, dans le respect de la sécurité du public et d'une gestion efficace du risque.

· Le droit explicite, conformément à la LSCMLC, à un juste équilibre entre le contrôle et les programmes de réadaptation et l'aide à la réadaptation.

· L'équité procédurale à toutes les étapes du processus, ce qui comprend notamment la suspension et la révocation de la liberté, ainsi que l'application de mesures de contrôle comme les perquisitions et saisies, les analyses d'urine, les traitements obligatoires (psychiatriques, par exemple), etc., d'une manière conforme à des normes raisonnables en matière de droits de la personne.

· Le droit à un logement et à des conditions de vie et autres satisfaisants, y compris des allocations de subsistance satisfaisantes pour que les délinquants puissent vivre convenablement, rendre visite à leur famille, chercher du travail et obtenir les services médicaux et autres ordinaires pendant la durée de leur liberté conditionnelle.

· La liberté de ne pas être soumis à des conditions spéciales de libération conditionnelle ou à des sanctions qui n'ont aucun lien raisonnable avec l'augmentation du risque de récidive.

· La liberté de n'être soumis à aucun traitement discriminatoire fondé sur la race, l'origine ethnique, le sexe, les handicaps ou quelque autre motif de discrimination interdit par la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne.

· L'assurance que les membres de la famille, les amis, les employeurs, etc., ne seront pas soumis à des intrusions inutiles ou à du harcèlement pour la vérification des activités des délinquants dans la collectivité.

En un sens plus général, on peut aussi soutenir que les services correctionnels communautaires, comme moyen de protéger la société en encourageant et en facilitant la resocialisation, supposent que le SCC soit au moins aussi actif pour solliciter le soutien et l'aide de la collectivité qu'il peut l'être pour surveiller le comportement des libérés conditionnels. Il ne s'agit peut-être pas d'un droit pour les délinquants en vertu des lois internationales ou nationales, bien qu'au moins deux articles des Règles de Tokyo soulignent l'importance de cet aspect du travail correctionnel4. Quoi qu'il en soit, l'idée même de services correctionnels communautaires perd une grande partie de sa raison d'être lorsque ce n'est pas le cas. On peut se demander si la loi et le règlement expriment de façon satisfaisante la nature complémentaire du soutien et de l'aide.

1 Voir les guides de référence, Les obligations nationales et internationales du Canada en matière de droits de la personne vis-à-vis les détenus et les employés du SCC, pour prendre connaissance d'une compilation des textes pertinents.

2 Le texte intégral des Règles de Tokyo figure à l'annexe F.

3 énoncé des principes de justice fondamentaux pour les victimes d'actes criminels.

4 Règles de Tokyo : « 10.4 Les délinquants devraient, si besoin est, recevoir une assistance psychologique, sociale et matérielle, et des dispositions sont prises pour renforcer leurs liens avec la communauté et faciliter leur réinsertion dans la société », et « 17.1 La participation de la collectivité doit être encouragée car elle constitue une ressource capitale et l'un des moyens les plus importants de renforcer les liens entre les délinquants soumis à des mesures non privatives de liberté et leurs famille et communauté. Cette participation doit compléter les efforts des services chargés d'administrer la justice pénale. »