Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Human Rights In Community Corrections

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

CHAPTER 4: THE STRATEGIC MODEL

The Working Group will develop a strategic model for respecting human rights in community corrections.

The strategic model presented in our first report identified a number of components that we believe fundamental to a well-structured human rights regime in a correctional setting. After reviewing that model, we find those components hold good for community corrections as well as for the institutional situation.

Essentially, that framework is built around the proposition that any correctional authority must be able to demonstrate to the community that it is fully cognizant of and in compliance with the rule of law as it applies to human rights, and that it has operational systems in place that fully reflect its human rights obligations and provide complete and credible means for achieving, evaluating and accounting for its compliance in that regard. Within this framework, the model sets out three guiding principles:

1. that all parties (employees, offenders, victims and others) must have a clear and common understanding of the human rights in play;

2. that those rights should be firmly and explicitly grounded in the relevant domestic statutes as well as in any applicable international instruments; and

3. that all regulatory procedures for safeguarding and enforcing those rights must be efficient, open and transparent.

Once the relevant laws and regulations are in place and it is clear how they relate to legal obligations, the policy framework serves to contextualize them and make them specific to the work of a particular correctional system. To meet that goal, the formulation of policy must meet the following standards, as outlined in our first report:

1. policy should be issued only to the extent that a practical interpretation of the legal or regulatory rule is indispensable (need);

2. policy should be explicitly linked to its legal and regulatory basis (authority);

3. policy should identify as specifically as possible the rights at issue (specificity);

4. policy should be uniform and consistent for all correctional situations within the system (consistency);

5. as far as possible, policy should not be diluted or confused by locally adopted rules but should issue from a single authoritative source (single-source); and

6. policy should be expressed in the most straightforward and practical language possible (clarity).

Assuming that the policy rules themselves are specific, consistent and unambiguous, the next task is to make certain that they are adequately communicated and understood. The model therefore proposes three requirements for ensuring that legal and policy rules are effectively conveyed to all parties:

  1. regular, accessible and ongoing training for staff that explains both the legal basis and practical implications of those rules;
  2. succinct and readable manuals or other printed material to which regular reference can readily be made; and
  3. equivalent sources of information for non-readers.

Finally, the practical effectiveness of the model depends on the design and use of appropriate monitoring and evaluation mechanisms. These have two main purposes:

1. to provide systematic checks on the extent and quality of the organization's compliance with prescribed human rights safeguards; and

2. to ensure that employees, offenders or other parties have expeditious and credible remedies for any apparent lapses in respecting their rights.

To ensure that the present model fully reflects both the goals and the working context of community corrections, the general outline (as summarized in Annex C) has been modified in the following ways:

1. to reflect the entitlement of offenders in the community to an appropriate balance of supervision and assistance;

2. to ensure that the practical implications of that balance are clearly spelled out in related policies and procedures;

3. to specify that the implications of any rights or entitlements that come into play in community corrections must be a normal component of both initial and ongoing training for the employees concerned; and

4. to require that compliance with those same rights or entitlements is monitored and evaluated in ways that take account of the community corrections context and provide effective remedies.

The model again stresses the need for public scrutiny. This not only means that internal systems of monitoring and evaluation must meet reasonable standards of timeliness and effectiveness from the perspective of those whose rights are involved, it also requires that all aspects of the correctional system be subject to appropriate forms of external monitoring. The principle of independent oversight affords the various parties both a practical assurance that the correctional authority is in full compliance with the rule of law and an effective alternative recourse if they suspect that such is not the case. This is no less important in community corrections than in the institutional setting.

When it comes to monitoring compliance with human rights rules or providing remedies to those who believe that their rights have been violated, the premises and circumstances of community corrections also entail some differences of emphasis or approach. For instance, it seems questionable whether possible rights violations in the treatment of offenders in the community can be either captured or resolved by essentially the same monitoring and grievance mechanisms as are used for institutional inmates. Moreover, any public demonstration that a system of community corrections is meeting its human rights obligations should involve both internal and external evaluations and reviews that clearly target respect for and compliance with those specific sets of rights.

However the concept of community corrections is defined in practice, it necessarily brings more actively into play the rights-related concerns of victims and the community at large. There is, as noted earlier, increasing public pressure to ensure:

1. that the rights of victims within the criminal justice system are fully articulated and protected in law;

2. that their relation to the rights of others is made clear and explicit;

3. that the manner in which any such right may be invoked and enforced is spelled out in terms that are fully intelligible and actively communicated to all concerned; and

4. that the necessary internal and external mechanisms for monitoring and evaluating the effective use of those rights are established and applied.

Although the fundamental principles involved in setting out and enforcing victims' rights are essentially the same as those that inform the model as a whole, for greater clarity its application to community corrections is now made explicit by incorporating the four requirements set out above.

The entitlement of the general public to be both well informed about, and suitably involved in, all aspects of the correctional system, and community corrections in particular, is also incorporated into the expanded model. This has the additional advantage of linking the community corrections model to the Tokyo Rules.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Les droits de la personne dans le milieu correctionnel communautaire

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

CHAPITRE 4 : MODÈLE STRATÉGIQUE

Le Groupe de travail élaborera un modèle stratégique pour assurer le respect des droits de la personne dans le milieu correctionnel communautaire.

Le modèle stratégique proposé dans notre premier rapport comprenait un certain nombre de composantes qui nous semblaient fondamentales pour un régime bien structuré de respect des droits de la personne dans le milieu correctionnel. Après avoir examiné ce modèle, nous constatons que ses composantes sont tout aussi valables dans les services correctionnels communautaires que dans les établissements.

Essentiellement, ce cadre repose sur la proposition voulant que toute instance correctionnelle puisse montrer à la collectivité qu'elle connaît bien la règle de droit s'appliquant aux droits de la personne et qu'elle s'y conforme, et qu'elle dispose de systèmes opérationnels qui tiennent entièrement compte de ses obligations en matière de droits de la personne et offrent des moyens complets et crédibles pour assurer et évaluer la conformité à cet égard et en rendre compte. Dans ce cadre, le modèle prévoit trois principes directeurs :

1. que toutes les parties (employés, délinquants, victimes et autres) aient une compréhension claire et commune des droits de la personne qui sont en cause;

2. que ces droits soient fermement et explicitement ancrés dans les lois nationales pertinentes et dans tout instrument international qui s'applique;

3. que toutes les procédures réglementaires qui garantissent ces droits et en assurent le respect soient efficaces, ouvertes et transparentes.

Lorsque les lois et les règlements pertinents sont en place et qu'on a expliqué clairement leur lien avec les obligations légales, on peut élaborer une politique qui servira à les mettre en contexte et à les adapter aux activités d'un système correctionnel donné. À cette fin, on doit respecter les normes suivantes, énoncées dans notre premier rapport, lorsqu'on formule la politique :

1. il ne faut élaborer une politique que s'il s'avère indispensable de donner une interprétation pratique de la loi ou du règlement (nécessité);

2. il faut relier explicitement la politique à la loi ou au règlement dont elle découle (autorité);

3. il faut énoncer le plus exactement possible les droits en cause (spécificité);

4. il faut que la politique prévoie des procédures uniformes et cohérentes pour toutes les situations qui peuvent se présenter dans un système (cohérence);

5. dans la mesure du possible, il ne faut pas diluer ni compliquer la politique en y intégrant des règles locales; la politique doit émaner d'une seule source (source unique);

6. il faut formuler la politique dans les termes les plus simples et les plus pratiques possibles (clarté).

À supposer que les règles de la politique elle-même soient précises, cohérentes et sans ambiguïté, il reste encore à s'assurer qu'elles sont communiquées complètement et comprises. Le modèle propose donc trois exigences à satisfaire pour faire en sorte que les règles juridiques et de politique soient communiquées efficacement à toutes les parties :

1. une formation régulière, accessible et constante pour le personnel, formation qui explique les fondements juridiques et pratiques de ces règles;

2. des manuels succincts et faciles à lire ou d'autres publications auxquelles on peut se reporter facilement;

3. des sources d'information équivalentes pour ceux qui ne lisent pas.

Enfin, l'efficacité pratique du modèle dépend de la conception et de l'utilisation de mécanismes appropriés de surveillance et d'évaluation. Ils ont deux objectifs principaux :

1. assurer des vérifications systématiques pour voir dans quelle mesure et avec quelle qualité l'organisation se conforme aux garanties en matière de droits de la personne;

2. veiller à ce que les employés, les délinquants ou les autres parties aient des recours rapides et crédibles contre les apparents manquements à leurs droits.

Pour que le modèle ici proposé reflète parfaitement les objectifs et le cadre de travail des services correctionnels communautaires, la structure générale (résumée à l'annexe C) a été modifiée de la manière suivante :

1. pour refléter le droit des délinquants, dans la collectivité, à un juste équilibre entre surveillance et assistance;

2. pour faire en sorte que les considérations pratiques de cet équilibre soient clairement énoncées dans les politiques et les procédures;

3. pour préciser que les conséquences de tout droit qui joue un rôle dans les services correctionnels communautaires soient une composante normale de la formation initiale et suivie des employés en cause;

4. pour exiger que le respect de ces mêmes droits soit contrôlé et évalué d'une manière qui tient compte du contexte correctionnel communautaire et assure des remèdes efficaces.

Le modèle met encore une fois l'accent sur la nécessité de contrôle par le public. Cela veut dire non seulement que les systèmes internes de surveillance et d'évaluation doivent répondre à des normes raisonnables d'opportunité et d'efficacité dans l'optique de ceux dont les droits sont en cause, mais aussi que tous les aspects du système correctionnel soient soumis à des formes appropriées de contrôle extérieur. Le principe de la surveillance indépendante donne aux diverses parties l'assurance que l'instance correctionnelle se conforme en tout point à la règle de droit, et un recours efficace si elles soupçonnent que ce n'est pas le cas. Cela n'est pas moins important dans les services correctionnels communautaires que dans les établissements.

Lorsqu'il s'agit de voir si les règles relatives aux droits de la personne sont respectées ou d'assurer des recours à ceux qui croient que leurs droits ont été violés, les installations et les conditions des services correctionnels communautaires supposent certaines différences d'accent ou d'approche. Ainsi, il ne semble pas certain que les violations possibles des droits dans le traitement des délinquants en milieu communautaire puissent être soit décelées, soit réglées essentiellement au moyen des mêmes mécanismes de surveillance et de règlement des griefs que pour les détenus en établissement. De plus, pour montrer publiquement qu'un système correctionnel communautaire satisfait à ses obligations en matière de droits de la personne, il doit y avoir des évaluations et des examens internes et externes qui portent clairement sur le respect de ces droits et la conformité à ceux-ci.

Peu importe comment la notion de services correctionnels communautaires se définit dans la pratique, elle fait nécessairement entrer en jeu de façon plus active les préoccupations des victimes et de l'ensemble de la collectivité relativement aux droits de la personne. Comme il est dit plus haut, il y a dans l'opinion publique des pressions de plus en plus vives pour que :

1. les droits des victimes dans le système de justice pénale soient mieux définis et protégés dans la loi;

2. leurs relations avec les droits des autres soient rendues claires et explicites;

3. la manière dont ces droits peuvent être invoqués et appliqués soit définie au plan opérationnel pour que les droits soient pleinement intelligibles et communiqués activement à tous les intéressés;

4. les mécanismes internes et externes nécessaires pour contrôler et évaluer l'exercice efficace de ces droits soient établis et appliqués.

Bien que les principes fondamentaux en cause dans la définition et l'application des droits des victimes soient essentiellement les mêmes que ceux qui guident l'ensemble du modèle, l'application aux services correctionnels communautaires est, pour assurer une plus grande clarté, rendue plus explicite par l'ajout des quatre exigences énoncées plus haut.

Le modèle élargi reconnaît également que le grand public a le droit d'être bien informé de tous les aspects du système correctionnel, notamment en milieu communautaire, et d'y participer comme il convient. Cela comporte l'avantage supplémentaire de lier le modèle des services correctionnels communautaires aux Règles de Tokyo.