Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Human Rights In Community Corrections

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

ANNEX A: TERMS OF REFERENCE

Background

Community corrections are a critical component in the process of safely returning offenders to mainstream society. From a human rights perspective, supervising offenders in the community rather than in highly structured institutional settings is intrinsically appealing. Offenders have access to treatment programs, support and services in the community which are either restricted, unavailable or less effective in the custodial situation. Maintaining non-violent, low risk offenders in the community is also one of the most cost-effective ways of alleviating prison population pressures and reducing Canada's comparatively high rate of incarceration. There is, moreover, considerable public support for the principle of conditional release in Canada -- provided that offender reintegration does not increase the risk to public safety. Thus, continued support for reintegration of offenders depends upon the correctional authority's ability to provide credible, safe and effective non-custodial alternatives to incarceration.

Although the social and economic benefits of community corrections are well documented, and while the number of offenders safely reintegrated into the community is a significant indicator of how well the Correctional Service of Canada is achieving its mission, the main focus of federal corrections remains the task of maintaining custodial control. As the Task Force on Reintegration (1997) observed, the work of community corrections is not well understood or defined within CSC's organizational structure. While the Task Force on Reintegration could be seen as a call for CSC to take community corrections more seriously, the failure to adopt a system-wide approach to the correctional process is not unique to the Service. Independent reports commissioned by CSC frequently fail to consider the complexities of keeping offenders in the community. Even comparatively thorough studies such as the recent report of the Working Group on Human Rights (Human Rights and Corrections: A Strategic Model) have, because of the nature of its mandate, scarcely examined the human rights dimensions of community corrections.

The fact that community corrections have not been as carefully assessed as the institutional element of corrections is not to suggest that there are no systemic problems or human rights concerns in the federal community corrections system. Members of the Working Group on Human Rights heard, from both staff and inmates, testimony that would belie any belief that human rights are universally respected outside the prison gate. The Group heard several accounts of parole allegedly being suspended for what appeared to be technical - as opposed to substantive - breaches of conditions. Inmates further alleged that excessively stringent parole conditions reflected the subjective moral standards of CSC staff.

There are other critical areas where CSC's decision-making processes and operational practices, including the entire ambit of supervision, assessment, validation and prevention procedures, have a fundamental impact on offenders' rights during their passage through the community correctional regime. The determination of "special" parole conditions and written instructions, limitations on contacts, electronic surveillance technologies, residency requirements, "surprise" visits, programming needs, as well as release and risk assessments, all have important rights-related dimensions affecting not just offenders' rights, but also the dignity and privacy concerns of "collateral" contacts (e.g. friends, family, victims and staff). Maintaining offenders in the community as law-abiding citizens is clearly a complex endeavor. It involves striking a precarious balance between "least restrictive" principles and public safety concerns. It is equally clear, however, that if the Service is to achieve its goal of safely reintegrating more offenders into the community, then a more concentrated examination of the human rights dimensions of community corrections at all levels of CSC's operations will be required.

Mandate

The Working Group will:

· develop a strategic model to enhance the ability of CSC and other correctional systems to assess the degree to which they meet their human rights obligations in the community corrections context

· review existing decision-making processes, operational practices and monitoring procedures which affect the human rights of offenders while under community supervision

· assess the extent to which community correctional interventions (e.g. home visits, "surprise visits," voice tracking, electronic monitoring, etc.) adequately respect offenders' rights

· conduct a review of the "best practices" in community corrections by comparing the Canadian conditional release system to its counterparts in the US, Europe and Australia/New Zealand

· provide guidance on how to enhance the rights and dignity of individuals (offenders, friends, victims, family, staff) in the community correctional environment

· make recommendations for ensuring a community correctional workplace free of practices which undermine employees' sense of dignity

· make recommendations with respect to enhancing CSC's ability to communicate the social rationale behind community corrections more effectively.

Approach

In carrying out its mandate, the Working Group will:

· develop a strategic model for respecting human rights in community corrections

· examine the conditions of residency and the treatment of offenders in community-based correctional facilities

· review the nature and scope of CSC/community involvement in monitoring, assessing, supervising and sharing information about human rights concerns in the community correctional context

· review the internal and external human rights oversight mechanisms by which standard and special release conditions imposed by the releasing authority are monitored in the community

· review from a human rights perspective the criteria and processes by which parole can be suspended by CSC

· develop recommendations for improving CSC's definition, management and evaluation of the human rights dimension in community corrections, as well as the public communication of that task.

Working Group Members

The Working Group members will include:

Maxwell Yalden, Chair

Stuart Beaty

Janice Russell, Reintegration, CSC

Ivan Zinger and David Hooey, Human Rights Division, CSC

Additional law students may be hired on a casual basis to provide research support to the Working Group.

Consultation

The Working Group will consult with CSC's staff and managers, as well as community partners and organizations that are stakeholders in the community correctional system.

Deadline

The final report will be issued by June 30, 1999.

Projected Costs

The report, including all contract fees and travel, will not exceed $100,000.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Les droits de la personne dans le milieu correctionnel communautaire

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

ANNEXE A : MANDAT DU GROUPE DE TRAVAIL

Contexte

Les services correctionnels communautaires constituent un élément essentiel du processus de réinsertion sociale des délinquants, dans des conditions sûres. Du point de vue des droits de la personne, l'idée de placer les délinquants sous surveillance dans la collectivité est beaucoup plus souhaitable que celle de les garder dans un milieu carcéral rigide. Dans la collectivité, les délinquants peuvent avoir accès à des programmes de traitement, à des réseaux de soutien et à des services qui, en milieu carcéral, sont limités, inexistants ou moins efficaces. Le maintien de délinquants non violents à risque faible dans la collectivité est aussi l'une des façons les plus efficientes de réduire la population carcérale et de diminuer le taux d'incarcération au Canada qui, comparativement à d'autres pays, est relativement élevé. Qui plus est, l'appui de la population à l'égard du principe de la mise en liberté sous condition est considérable au Canada - à condition que la réinsertion sociale des délinquants n'augmente pas le risque pour la sécurité du public. Par conséquent, pour que la population continue d'appuyer le principe de la réintégration des délinquants dans la société, les autorités correctionnelles doivent trouver des solutions de rechange à l'incarcération qui sont à la fois crédibles, sûres et efficaces.

Bien que les avantages socio-économiques des services correctionnels communautaires ne fassent pas de doute et que le nombre de délinquants qui réintègrent la collectivité dans des conditions sûres révèle à quel point le Service correctionnel du Canada s'acquitte bien de sa mission, l'objectif premier des services correctionnels fédéraux continue d'être la garde des délinquants. Comme l'a fait remarquer le Groupe de travail sur la réinsertion sociale (1997), le travail des services correctionnels communautaires n'est pas bien compris ni défini au sein de la structure organisationnelle du SCC. On pourrait conclure que le rapport du Groupe de travail sur la réinsertion sociale invite le SCC à prendre plus au sérieux les services correctionnels communautaires; toutefois, l'inexistence d'une approche correctionnelle à la grandeur du système n'est pas unique au Service. Des rapports indépendants commandés par le SCC omettent souvent d'examiner les difficultés inhérentes au maintien des délinquants dans la collectivité. Même des études particulièrement détaillées, comme le rapport récent du Groupe de travail sur les droits de la personne (Les droits de la personne dans le milieu correctionnel : Un modèle stratégique), ont, à cause de leur mandat, très peu examiné les aspects des services correctionnels communautaires qui touchent les droits de la personne.

Il est faux de croire que, parce qu'ils n'ont pas été aussi soigneusement examinés que les éléments carcéraux du système, les services correctionnels communautaires fédéraux ne présentent pas de problèmes systémiques et ne soulèvent pas de préoccupations particulières en matière de droits de la personne. Les membres du Groupe de travail ont entendu des témoignages de la part de membres du personnel et de détenus laissant croire que les droits de la personne ne sont pas entièrement respectés à l'extérieur des établissements carcéraux. À plusieurs reprises, on leur a fait le récit de libérations conditionnelles apparemment suspendues à cause de manquements mineurs aux conditions. Des détenus ont ajouté que les conditions de libération conditionnelle excessivement sévères qui leur avaient été imposées traduisaient l'attitude subjective de membres du personnel du SCC.

D'autres secteurs essentiels des processus décisionnels et des méthodes opérationnelles du SCC, y compris la gamme complète des procédures de surveillance, d'évaluation, de validation et de prévention, ont une incidence fondamentale sur les droits des délinquants lorsqu'ils relèvent du régime correctionnel communautaire. Les conditions et les instructions « spéciales », les restrictions quant aux personnes avec lesquelles le délinquant est autorisé à communiquer, les techniques de surveillance électronique, les assignations à résidence, les visites-surprises, les besoins en matière de programmes ainsi que les évaluations du risque et celles menées en vue de la mise en liberté ont des répercussions importantes non seulement sur les droits des délinquants, mais aussi sur la dignité et la protection de la vie privée des tiers (p. ex. les amis, les membres de la famille, les victimes et les membres du personnel). De toute évidence, le maintien des délinquants dans la collectivité en tant que citoyens respectueux des lois est une tâche complexe. Il suppose un équilibre précaire entre les mesures « les moins restrictives possibles » et les préoccupations concernant la sécurité publique. Toutefois, il est tout aussi évident que, pour atteindre son objectif de réintégrer un plus grand nombre de délinquants dans la collectivité, dans des conditions sûres, le SCC devra examiner plus soigneusement les droits de la personne en milieu carcéral communautaire, à tous les niveaux du SCC.

Mandat

Le Groupe de travail devra :

· élaborer un modèle stratégique qui aidera le SCC et d'autres systèmes correctionnels à mieux évaluer dans quelle mesure ils respectent leurs obligations dans le domaine des droits de la personne, dans le contexte des services correctionnels communautaires;

· revoir les processus décisionnels, les méthodes opérationnelles et les procédures de surveillance existantes qui ont une incidence sur les droits fondamentaux des délinquants placés sous surveillance dans la collectivité;

· évaluer dans quelle mesure les interventions correctionnelles communautaires (p. ex., les visites à domicile, les visites-surprises, le repérage de la voix, la surveillance électronique, etc.) respectent adéquatement les droits des délinquants;

· faire un examen des « pratiques exemplaires » des services correctionnels communautaires à l'étranger en comparant le système canadien de mise en liberté sous condition à ceux des états-Unis, de pays européens et de l'Australie/Nouvelle-Zélande;

· donner des conseils sur les moyens de renforcer les droits et la dignité des personnes (délinquants, amis, victimes, membres de la famille, employés) en milieu correctionnel communautaire;

· formuler des recommandations pour veiller à ce que le milieu correctionnel communautaire soit exempt de pratiques qui portent atteinte à la dignité des employés;

· formuler des recommandations qui aideront le SCC à mieux faire connaître les motifs de nature sociale qui justifient les services correctionnels communautaires.

Méthode de travail

Pour s'acquitter de son mandat, le Groupe de travail devra :

· élaborer un modèle stratégique favorisant le respect des droits de la personne en milieu correctionnel communautaire;

· examiner les conditions d'hébergement et le traitement des délinquants dans les établissements correctionnels communautaires;

· examiner la nature et la portée de la participation du SCC et de la collectivité au contrôle, à l'évaluation et à la surveillance des droits de la personne en milieu correctionnel communautaire, ainsi qu'à la communication de renseignements à ce sujet;

· examiner les mécanismes de surveillance internes et externes des droits de la personne au moyen desquels les conditions courantes et spéciales de mise en liberté sous condition imposées par les autorités sont contrôlées dans la collectivité;

· examiner, dans le contexte des droits de la personne, les critères et les processus en vertu desquels la libération conditionnelle peut être suspendue par le SCC;

· formuler des recommandations pour aider le SCC à mieux définir, gérer et évaluer les questions liées aux droits de la personne en milieu correctionnel communautaire et pour l'aider à mieux communiquer au public ses responsabilités en la matière.

Membres du Groupe de travail

Les membres du Groupe de travail seront :

Maxwell Yalden, président

Stuart Beaty

Janice Russell, Réinsertion sociale, SCC

Ivan Zinger et David Hooey, Division des droits de la personne, SCC

Des étudiants en droit pourront être engagés à titre occasionnel pour assister les membres du Groupe de travail dans leurs recherches.

Consultation

Les membres du Groupe de travail consulteront des membres du personnel et des gestionnaires du SCC, ainsi que des partenaires et des organismes communautaires qui ont un rôle à jouer dans le système correctionnel communautaire.

échéancier

Le rapport final sera déposé au plus tard le 30 juin 1999.

Coûts prévus

Les coûts du rapport, y compris toutes les dépenses pour les contrats et les déplacements, ne dépasseront pas 100 000 $.