Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Aboriginal Sex Offenders: Melding Spiritual Healing with Cognitive-Behavioural Treatment

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

INTRODUCTION

The objective of this report is to contribute to the development of a treatment strategy for aboriginal sex offenders. The first step in developing programs is to examine current treatment strategies and determine what insights have been gained by those working in this area (Zellerer, 1994). Since the literature is limited, this report also reviews other aspects of the aboriginal situation in Canada, in order to provide a suitable context.

The last few years have witnessed a growing interest in aboriginal offenders. More specifically, aboriginal sex offenders have had increasing attention from the government and various aboriginal organizations, due to the recognition that sexual assault was as serious a problem in aboriginal communities as in mainstream society. Moreover, the incarceration and recidivism rates of aboriginal sex offenders are higher than amongst non-aboriginal sex offenders. The number of aboriginal men serving sentences for sex offences is disproportionately high, compared to non-aboriginal offenders (Speaking notes for John Edwards, 1995: 2). For this reason, private organizations and government alike, are developing programs to help aboriginal communities deal with the problem of sexual assault.

Evidently, there are no easy solutions. Sexual assault is a multi-faceted problem that cannot be solved without coordinated efforts from various organizations, communities and individuals. Government departments can and should become involved in the decision-making process at all levels of program development and implementation, and should provide resources for the health care professionals who work with aboriginals. Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) has become actively involved in aboriginal issues, via the development of the Corporate Advisor aboriginal Programs, and aboriginal Advisory Committee, supported by section 81 of the Correctional and Conditional Release Act.

Because the literature on aboriginal sex offenders is sparse, this report is written in a qualitative manner. Although it provides as much information as possible on aboriginal sex offender programs, it also tries to provide insight into more general aboriginal issues, within both community and correctional contexts.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Délinquants sexuels autochtones : Allier la guérison spirituelle au traitement cognitivo-comportemental

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

INTRODUCTION

Le présent rapport a pour but de contribuer à l'élaboration d'une stratégie de traitement des délinquants sexuels autochtones. Pour créer un programme, il faut d'abord étudier les stratégies existantes de traitement et déterminer ce que les gens travaillant dans le domaine ont appris de leur expérience (Zellerer, 1994). Puisqu'il n'existe que peu de documents sur le sujet, le rapport passe également en revue d'autres aspects de la condition des Autochtones au Canada, de façon à situer le problème dans son contexte.

Depuis quelques années, on a constaté un intérêt croissant à l'égard des délinquants autochtones. Plus particulièrement, les délinquants sexuels autochtones ont fait l'objet d'une attention accrue de la part des gouvernements et des divers organismes autochtones puisqu'on a reconnu que les agressions sexuelles constituent un problème grave dans les collectivités autochtones, tout comme dans le reste de la société. En outre, les taux d'incarcération et de récidive des délinquants sexuels sont plus élevés chez les Autochtones que chez les non-Autochtones. Comparativement aux délinquants non autochtones, il y a une forte disproportion quant au nombre des hommes autochtones qui purgent des peines d'emprisonnement relatives à des agressions sexuelles (Notes d'un discours de John Edwards, 1995:2). C'est pourquoi les organismes et les gouvernements élaborent des programmes visant à aider les collectivités autochtones à régler le problème des agressions sexuelles.

Bien sûr, il n'y a pas de remède miracle. L'agression sexuelle est un problème complexe qui ne peut être résolu sans un appui coordonné des divers organismes, des collectivités et des particuliers. Les ministères doivent participer à la prise de décision à tous les échelons de l'élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre des programmes, en plus de fournir aux professionnels de la santé qui oeuvrent auprès des Autochtones les ressources dont ils ont besoin. Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) s'intéresse activement aux questions qui touchent les Autochtones. Sous le régime de l'article 81 de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, on y a créé un poste de conseiller national des Programmes pour les Autochtones et un comité consultatif autochtone.

Puisqu'il existe peu d'ouvrages sur les délinquants sexuels autochtones, le présent rapport est écrit dans un mode qualitatif. On y donne autant de renseignements que possible sur les programmes destinés aux délinquants sexuels autochtones, en plus d'offrir une réflexion sur les problèmes des Autochtones, de façon générale, tant dans le contexte des collectivités que dans celui du système correctionnel.