Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Aboriginal Sex Offenders: Melding Spiritual Healing with Cognitive-Behavioural Treatment

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

I. ABORIGINAL CULTURE, ETHICS AND RULES OF BEHAVIOUR

Dr. Clare Brant's views about aboriginal attitudes and ways of living (1990, 1993) provide a context for the rest of this paper. Dr. Brant has had experience dealing with aboriginal offenders, as both a psychiatrist and as a Mohawk. His knowledge of aboriginal culture is widely recognized by health care professionals in Canada.

Canadian aboriginals are one of the largest single ethnic groups in Canada. Their culture remains, although it has been strongly influenced by colonization. Professor Larocque at the Department of aboriginal Studies, University of Manitoba, refers to colonization as the process of encroachment and subsequent subjugation of aboriginal peoples since the arrival of Europeans. "From the aboriginal perspective, it refers to loss of lands, resources, and self-direction and to the severe disturbance of cultural ways and values" (Larocque, 1994). Prior to colonization, aboriginals lived by their own rules of behavior. They abided by these rules for the sake of survival. Both individual and group survival required harmonious interpersonal relationships and cooperation in the aboriginal woodlands and plains societies (Brant, 1993). Harmonious relationships were established and maintained by conflict suppression, and as a result, aboriginal people have a tendency to reduce conflict by not dealing with it directly.

Clare Brant identifies eight principles which promote harmony within the community. Conflict suppression is achieved in an extended family, clan, band or tribe largely through the practice of non-interference, non-competitiveness, emotional restraint (including the suppression of anger), sharing, the aboriginal concept of time, attitude towards gratitude and approval, aboriginal protocol and the principle of teaching (shaping vs modeling) (Brant, 1990). The first four principles are the most important factors promoting harmony, while the latter four are less influential. Over time, they became embedded in aboriginal culture as societal norms, and continue to influence aboriginal life today (Brant, 1990).

The ethic of non-interference is a behavioural norm of North American tribes, which promotes positive interpersonal relations by discouraging coercion of any kind, be it physical, verbal, or psychological. Respect for every human being's independence, leads the aboriginals to view instructing, coercing or attempting to persuade another person as undesirable behaviour. Non-interference is one of the most widely accepted principles of behaviour among aboriginal people. This extends to adult relationships with children and may be misinterpreted by mainstream society as permissiveness (Brant, 1990).

The practice of non-competitiveness suppresses conflict by averting intragroup rivalry, and preventing the embarrassment that a less able member of the group might feel in an interpersonal situation. This non-competitiveness extends into working life despite the fact that it may be seen by non-aboriginal employers as a lack of initiative and ambition (Brant, 1990).

The exercise of emotional restraint is a combination of non-interference and non-competitiveness. On one hand, it promotes self-control by discouraging the expression

of strong and violent feelings. On the other hand, emotions such as joyfulness and enthusiasm are suppressed along with both anger and destructive impulses.

The principle of sharing, stems from the basic need to survive in the wilderness. When this principle originated among aboriginal peoples, group survival was more important than individual prosperity; consequently, individuals were expected to take no more from nature than they needed and to share it freely with others (Brant, 1990). This principle helped to ensure group survival by avoiding starvation, and it also served as a form of conflict suppression, reducing the expression of greed, envy, arrogance and pride within the tribe. This may also suppress individual ambition, since one is not supposed to individually benefit from one's work. The ethic of sharing has its corollaries in equality and democracy. Economic and social homogeneity is promoted by the ethic and practice of sharing, and every member of the society is considered as valuable as any other (Brant, 1990). This principle is at odds with mainstream society's drive towards individual success, power and wealth. Consequently, there is pressure on aboriginal society to adopt the "white man's" outlook and to relinquish the ethic of sharing for the sake of individual prosperity and success. Dr. Brant states that aboriginal society has not been willing to do so.

The preceding four principles of conflict repression constitute the basis for demystifying and understanding aboriginal behaviour. To carry the process further, Clare Brant describes four more traditional influences on behaviour. These have been observed during his clinical practice. These are: the aboriginal concept of time; the aboriginal attitude toward gratitude and approval; aboriginal protocol; and the practice of teaching by modelling.

aboriginals have an intuitive, personal and flexible concept of time. Brant speculates that this may have originated in an age when the activities of aboriginal people were regulated by the seasons - by the sun, migratory patterns of birds and animals, and a changing food supply. aboriginal people are less preoccupied about schedules. They are less disposed to express any feelings of inconvenience if social functions and meetings start hours after the scheduled time. They developed the concept of "doing things when the time is right" - that is, when the whole array of environmental factors converge to ensure success (Brant, 1990).

aboriginal people rarely show or verbalize praise, rewards or verbal reinforcement. One is expected to accomplish whatever he or she undertakes and therefore one does not expect praise or gratitude for something that should be done properly. To non-aboriginals working amongst aboriginal people, this attitude toward expressions of gratitude or approval can be disconcerting (Brant, 1990). Also, as aboriginals expect competence to the point of excellence all the time, this may make them reluctant to try something new.

aboriginal protocol includes manners, ceremony and "savoir faire". For non-aboriginals, it may seem that aboriginal society is rather loose and unstructured and that there are few rules of social behaviour or etiquette. On the contrary, aboriginal society has highly structured and demanding rules of social behaviour (Brant, 1990). Some of the many rules are specific to villages, clans, tribes, and bands. In keeping with the ethic of non-interference, it is not possible to instruct a stranger regarding local practices or protocols. Rules can never be explicitly stated, for to do so would interfere with the individual's right to behave as he or she sees fit (Brant, 1990).

This line of thought promotes the aboriginal practice of teaching through modeling. The methods of teaching used by non-aboriginal people, come predominately from "shaping" theories or approaches. "Shaping", rewards learners for successive approximations to the behaviour that they have been instructed to carry out. aboriginals have another perspective on teaching and almost exclusively use modeling. Somebody can be "shown how" rather than "told how". This may be seen as another form of conflict repression, in that the teacher does not purport to know more than the students, though the teacher's own actions conveys useful and practical information which the student then has a choice of adopting or rejecting (Brant, 1990). The principle of modeling seems to increase attachment to the older members of the group, improving group cohesiveness and continuity.

In earlier times, reinforcing and promoting conflict repression meant developing a number of superego constructs that would prevent deviations from these principles, without causing intense anxiety. Brant categorizes these devices of social control as "bogeymen" admonitions or teasing, shaming and ridicule. These were used as ways of perpetuating control over people who did not adhere well to the principles of conflict suppression. Teasing, shaming and ridiculing are ways of maintaining harmonious interpersonal relationships. They involve placing the responsibility for the discrepancy between true self and ego ideal upon the child. However, shaming and teasing, as well as parental anger, can also serve to erode self-esteem and give rise to an overwhelming sense of humiliation when encountered later in life. This tends to promote blame-avoidance, which shows up as further non-interference, hesitancy to try anything new or unwillingness to apologize or otherwise admit error or defeat (Brant, 1990).

Anger suppression is taught to young aboriginal children using aboriginal spirituality as its vehicle. There were purportedly shamans and witches who could be dangerous to an individual or the family (Brant, 1990). It was said that they could cast spells and curses upon the perpetrators of insult and injury. Since anger could provoke them, children were taught from a very early age, not to engage in angry behaviour. Angry behaviour was considered not only unworthy and unwise, but harmful.

This method of suppressing intragroup hostility maintains harmonious interpersonal relationships, by projecting responsibility for the child's frustration onto an unknown and invisible external force. By the same token, the parents were not seen as the source of frustration and deprivation, so good behaviour could be maintained without direct confrontation with parents or elders. As a result, in current times, responsibility for frustration is easily projected onto teachers, Children's Aid Society workers, police, family court judges and others who impose restrictions and demands from without (Brant, 1990).

Underlying these principles are three environmental factors:

  1. Poverty aboriginals live well below the poverty line. This results in restricted choice of movement, vocation, creativity and self-realization.
  2. Powerlessness. aboriginals comprise only five percent of the voting population and have been unable to impact on choice of government direction and policy. They have only recently learned the alternative political manoeuvers of lobbying and peaceful protest.
  3. Anomie. Loss of traditional ceremonies to promote cohesiveness, mental health, a clear sense of identity, purpose, direction, and belonging, were lost mainly due to restrictive legislation. One example of this is the "Pot latch Law" which forbade aboriginal ceremonies in Canada for over seventy years, ending only in 1957.

Carter and Parker (1991) hypothesize that "victimization" ideology pervades Indian cultures.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Délinquants sexuels autochtones : Allier la guérison spirituelle au traitement cognitivo-comportemental

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

I. CULTURE, DéONTOLOGIE ET RÈGLES DE COMPORTEMENT DES AUTOCHTONES

Le présent document se fonde sur les théories du Dr Clare Brant quant aux comportements et au mode de vie des Autochtones (1990, 1993). Psychiatre et Mohawk, le Dr Brant a traité des délinquants autochtones. Au Canada, sa connaissance de la culture autochtone est largement reconnue des professionnels de la santé.

Les Autochtones sont l'un des groupes ethniques les plus importants du Canada. Leur culture survit encore, malgré l'influence profonde exercée par la colonisation. Le professeur Larocque, de la faculté des études autochtones de l'université du Manitoba, définit la colonisation comme l'usurpation du territoire des Autochtones et la subjugation de leurs peuples depuis l'arrivée des Européens. ''(Traduction) Pour les Autochtones, la colonisation a provoqué une perte de leurs terres, de leurs ressources et de leur autonomie, ainsi qu'un bouleversement profond de leurs coutumes et de leurs valeurs''. Auparavant, les Autochtones vivaient selon leurs propres règles de comportement. Ils respectaient ces règles afin de pouvoir survivre. La survie des groupes et des particuliers dépendait de l'harmonie des relations entre les gens et de la collaboration des sociétés autochtones des forêts et des plaines (Brant, 1993). Dans les relations interpersonnelles, l'harmonie était atteinte et conservée grâce à la suppression des conflits. C'est pourquoi les Autochtones tendent à diminuer les conflits en ne les affrontant pas directement.

Clare Brant a défini huit principes qui favorisent l'harmonie dans la collectivité. Les conflits sont supprimés dans une famille étendue, un clan, une bande ou une tribu grâce à l'application de la non-ingérence et de la non-compétitivité, à la répression des émotions (y compris de la colère), au partage, à la conception du temps, à l'attitude à l'égard de la gratitude et de l'approbation, au protocole autochtone et au principe de l'enseignement par l'exemple (Brant, 1990). Les quatre premiers principes sont les plus favorables à l'harmonie et les quatre autres ont une influence moins grande. Avec le temps, ces principes ont été enchâssés dans la culture autochtone. Ils sont devenus des normes sociales qui continuent d'influer encore de nos jours sur la vie des Autochtones (Brant, 1990).

Le principe de la non-ingérence est une norme de comportement des tribus amérindiennes. Il favorise les relations interpersonnelles positives en décourageant toute contrainte tant physique que psychologique ou verbale. Par respect pour l'autonomie de chacun, les Autochtones jugent indésirable toute contrainte ou toute tentative de persuasion. La non-ingérence est le principe de comportement le plus largement accepté chez les peuples autochtones. Il s'applique également aux relations entre les adultes et les enfants et peut être mépris pour du laxisme par le reste de la société (Brant, 1990).

La non-compétitivité élimine les conflits en prévenant la rivalité entre les groupes et en évitant qu'un membre moins compétent du groupe ne soit mis dans l'embarras dans des situations interpersonnelles. Ce principe s'applique également à la vie professionnelle. Les employeurs non autochtones confondent souvent cette non-compétitivité avec un manque d'initiative et d'ambition (Brant, 1990).

La répression des émotions résulte de l'application conjointe des principes de non-ingérence et de non-compétitivité. Elle favorise la maîtrise de soi en décourageant l'expression d'émotions fortes et violentes. Par contre, les émotions comme la joie et l'enthousiasme se trouvent refoulées de la même façon que la colère ou les impulsions de destruction.

Le partage dérive des besoins fondamentaux de la survie dans la nature. Lorsque ce principe est né chez les Autochtones, la survie du groupe était plus importante que la prospérité individuelle. Par conséquent, chacun ne devait récolter de la nature que ce dont il avait besoin et il fallait le partager librement avec tous (Brant, 1990). Ce principe favorisait la survie du groupe en évitant la famine et servait également à éliminer les conflits en diminuant l'expression de l'avidité, de l'envie, de l'arrogance et de l'orgueil dans la tribu. Il supprime peut-être aussi l'ambition personnelle puisque le travail ne saurait profiter à celui qui le fait. Le principe du partage a pour corollaire l'égalité et la démocratie. Le partage, en théorie et en pratique, favorise l'homogénéité économique et sociale, en plus de conférer une valeur égale à tous les membres du groupe (Brant, 1990). Ce principe va à l'encontre de l'accent que met le reste de la société sur la réussite, la puissance et la richesse personnelles. Par conséquent, la société autochtone fait l'objet de pressions afin qu'elle adopte l'optique des ''Blancs'' et abandonne ce principe du partage au profit de la prospérité et de la réussite individuelles. Le Dr Brant affirme que la société autochtone a refusé de se soumettre à ces pressions.

Pour démystifier et comprendre le comportement des Autochtones, il faut se fonder sur les quatre principes de répression des conflits qui viennent d'être énoncés. Pour raffiner encore cette compréhension, Clare Brant décrit quatre autres éléments traditionnels qui conditionnent le comportement. Il a observé ces éléments dans le cadre de son travail clinique. Il s'agit de la conception du temps, de l'attitude par rapport à la gratitude et à l'approbation, du protocole autochtone et de l'enseignement par l'exemple.

Les Autochtones ont une conception intuitive, personnelle et flexible du temps. Brant suppose que cette conception est peut-être née à une époque où les activités des Autochtones étaient régies par les saisons, c'est-à-dire par le soleil, les migrations des oiseaux et des animaux et la nourriture disponible aux différents moments de l'année. Les Autochtones sont moins préoccupés par les horaires. Ils sont moins enclins à se dire incommodés si une manifestation sociale ou une réunion commencent des heures après l'heure prévue. Ils ont développé le principe du ''moment opportun'', qui arrive lorsque tous les facteurs du milieu convergent vers la réussite de l'entreprise (Brant, 1990).

Les Autochtones manifestent rarement leur approbation au moyen de compliments ou de récompenses. Comme il est entendu que chacun doit s'acquitter de ses tâches, on ne s'attend pas à être félicité ou remercié d'un travail bien fait. Les non-Autochtones qui travaillent parmi les Autochtones sont parfois déconcertés par cette attitude à l'égard de la gratitude ou de l'approbation (Brant, 1990). En outre, les Autochtones visent toujours une compétence allant jusqu'à l'excellence, et c'est pourquoi ils hésitent parfois à aborder quelque chose de nouveau.

Le protocole autochtone porte sur la bienséance, le cérémonial et le ''savoir faire''. Aux non-Autochtones, la société autochtone peut sembler assez relâchée, sans structure et relativement dénuée de règles de comportement social ou d'étiquette. La société autochtone est au contraire rigoureusement structurée et ses règles de comportement social sont nombreuses et exigeantes (Brant, 1990). Certaines sont particulières à des villages, des clans, des tribus ou des bandes. En raison du principe de non-ingérence, il est impossible d'enseigner à un étranger les règles et les protocoles locaux. Les règles ne sauraient être énoncées de façon explicite, car cela irait à l'encontre du droit de chacun d'agir comme bon lui semble (Brant, 1990).

C'est pour cette raison que les Autochtones pratiquent l'enseignement par l'exemple. Les principes didactiques des non-Autochtones se fondent surtout sur des théories et des méthodes visant à « modeler ». Dans le « modelage », l'élève est récompensé lorsqu'il arrive à reproduire de façon relativement convenable le comportement qu'on lui a enseigné. Les Autochtones conçoivent l'enseignement tout autrement et n'utilisent à peu près comme méthode que l'exemple. Ils montrent comment faire, ils ne le disent pas. Cela peut être considéré comme une forme de répression des conflits, puisque l'enseignant ne prétend pas en savoir davantage que l'élève; c'est en donnant l'exemple que l'enseignant transmet des renseignements utiles et pratiques, libre à l'élève d'en faire ce qu'il veut (Brant, 1990). Ce type d'enseignement accroît, semble-t-il, l'attachement aux membres les plus âgés du groupe, ainsi que la cohésion et la continuité au sein de celui-ci.

Mais pour favoriser et renforcer la répression des conflits, il a d'abord fallu qu'évoluent un certain nombre de mécanismes du superego pour éviter les dérogations à ce principe sans toutefois provoquer d'angoisse intense. Brant a classé ces mécanismes de contrôle social en catégories: les menaces de croque-mitaine ou les taquineries, l'humiliation et le ridicule. Ces mécanismes servaient à contrôler les gens qui ne respectaient pas suffisamment les principes de la répression des conflits. Les taquineries, l'humiliation et le ridicule sont des moyens de conserver leur harmonie aux relations interpersonnelles. Ils permettent de faire assumer à l'enfant la responsabilité de l'écart entre le moi réel et le moi idéal. Toutefois, l'humiliation et les taquineries peuvent, tout comme la colère des parents, éroder l'estime personnelle de l'enfant et susciter chez lui un énorme sentiment d'humiliation lorsqu'il en fait l'expérience plus tard dans la vie. Il sera enclin à éviter le blâme, ce qui constitue une forme plus poussée de non-ingérence, à se montrer réticent aux nouvelles expériences et à refuser de présenter des excuses ou d'admettre de toute autre façon l'erreur ou la défaite (Brant, 1990).

On apprend aux jeunes Autochtones à refouler leur colère au moyen de la spiritualité autochtone. La famille ou la personne pouvait être menacée par de prétendus chamans ou sorciers. On disait qu'ils pouvaient jeter des sorts aux personnes qui insultaient ou blessaient leurs semblables. Puisque la colère les provoquait, on enseignait aux enfants, dès leur plus jeune âge, à ne pas agir avec colère. La colère, estimait-on, traduisait non seulement un manque de valeur et de sagesse, elle pouvait aussi être dangereuse.

Cette façon de refouler l'hostilité au sein du groupe favorise l'harmonie des relations interpersonnelles en projetant vers une force extérieure invisible et inconnue la frustration de l'enfant. Du même coup, les parents ne sont plus perçus comme la source de la frustration ou de la privation, ce qui permet de cultiver un bon comportement sans qu'il y ait de confrontation directe avec les parents ou les Aînés. Le résultat, de nos jours, est que la frustration est facilement projetée sur les enseignants, les employés des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance, les policiers, les juges des tribunaux de la famille et toute autre personne de l'extérieur qui impose des restrictions ou des exigences (Brant, 1990).

Trois facteurs du milieu sous-tendent ces principes:

  • la pauvreté: Les Autochtones vivent bien au-dessous du seuil de pauvreté. Cela a pour effet de limiter leurs possibilités de déplacement, leurs choix de carrière, leur créativité et leur accomplissement personnel.
  • l'impuissance: Les Autochtones représentent cinq pour-cent de l'électorat. Ils n'ont pas réussi à influencer les orientations et les politiques des gouvernements. Ce n'est que récemment qu'ils ont fait l'apprentissage d'autres moyens politiques comme le lobbying et la protestation pacifique.
  • l'anomie: Des lois restrictives sont principalement responsables de la perte des cérémonies qui favorisaient la cohésion des Autochtones, de leur santé mentale, d'une identité claire, de leur but, de leur orientation et de leur sentiment d'appartenance. Par exemple, la ''loi anti-potlatch'' a empêché les Autochtones de tenir des cérémonies au Canada pendant plus de soixante-dix ans. Elle n'a été abrogée qu'en 1957.

Carter et Parker (1991) ont élaboré une hypothèse selon laquelle, partout dans leur culture, les Autochtones se sentent victimes.