Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Aboriginal Sex Offenders: Melding Spiritual Healing with Cognitive-Behavioural Treatment

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

II. ABORIGINAL OFFENDERS AND INCARCERATION

Overview

Aboriginal offenders are over-represented in the Canadian prison system. In 1991, aboriginals comprised 12% of federal, and 19% of provincial admissions (Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics, 1991), while only accounting for 2.5% of the Canadian population (Statistics Canada, 1991).

OVERVIEW - TOTAL OFFENDERS AND SEX OFFENDERS

As of July 1997, there were 14,961 incarcerated offenders and 8,005 supervised offenders.1

TOTAL OFFENDERS
Region Incarcerated Supervised
  # % # %
Atlantic 1428 9.5% 859 10.7%
Quebec 4031 26.9% 2386 29.8%
Ontario 3880 25.9% 1973 24.6%
Prairies 3580 23.9% 1820 22.7%
Pacific 2042 13.6% 967 12.1%
National 14961   8005  

Sex Offenders account for 19% of the incarcerated population and 12.6 % of the supervised population.2

SEX OFFENDERS
Region Incarcerated Supervised Total
  # % # %  
Atlantic 286 10.1% 142 14.1% 428
Quebec 514 18.1% 179 17.8% 693
Ontario 720 25.4% 209 20.7% 929
Prairies 913 32.1% 333 33.0% 1246
Pacific 407 14.3% 145 14.4% 552
National 2840   1008   3848

At increasing rates, aboriginal people are incarcerated federally, provincially and territorially. That tendency may be perpetuated through cultural and ethnic biases within the system, which do not take into account the customs, values and traditions of aboriginal people. Use of these strategies could alleviate the violence in aboriginal communities. In addition, there may be systemic biases in the judicial system. One aboriginal leader noted that the present criminal justice system has never integrated nor taken into consideration the pre-existing values, norms or concepts of aboriginal justice. She has found the programs for aboriginals inappropriate because they incorporate the values, ideologies, beliefs and thought processes of non-aboriginals (McIvor, 1995).

The aboriginal offender population has increased steadily from 9% in 1982-83, to 9.6% in 1987 (Task Force Report, 1988). In 1994, the Prairie Region aboriginal offender population was 38%, while it was 11% nationwide for aboriginal offenders.

aboriginal sex offenders (Inuit, North American Indian and Métis) account for about 700 out of the 3850 sex offenders identifiable through OMS, or 18%. Also, a high proportion of aboriginals are sex offenders - 26% of the 2802 aboriginal offenders. This is a disproportionately large percentage.

The Prairie Region has the largest share of both non-aboriginal and aboriginal sex offenders. The Prairie and Pacific Regions together, account for 85% of aboriginal sex offenders.

INCARCERATED SEX OFFENDERS
Region Non-aboriginal Aboriginal Total
  # % # % # %
Atlantic 261 11.3% 25 4.6%> 286 10.1%
Quebec 471 20.5% 43 8.0% 514 18.1%
Ontario 687 29.9% 33 6.1% 720 25.4%
Prairies 561 24.4% 352 65.3% 913 32.1%
Pacific 321 14% 86 16.0% 407 14.3%
National 2301   539   2840  

The following table shows the distribution of aboriginal and non-aboriginal sex offenders in the community. Again, the Prairie and Pacific Regions have the largest number of aboriginal sex offenders. There were 59 men who were under Provincial jurisdiction while Federally supervised, and of these, 14 were aboriginal.

SEX OFFENDERS COMMUNITY
Region Non-aboriginal Aboriginal Total
  # % # % # %
Atlantic 135 16.4% 7 3.8% 142 14.1%
Quebec 170 20.7% 9 4.9% 179 17.8%
Ontario 202 24.5% 7 3.8% 209 20.7%
Prairies 200 24.3% 133 71.9% 333 33.0%
Pacific 116 14.1% 29 15.7% 145 14.4%
National 823   185   1008  

By 2010, the aboriginal offender population serving sentences in federal institutions is expected to rise to 38% nationwide. A table shown in the Globe and Mail of July 20th, 1995, clearly indicates the proportion of aboriginal offenders in federal and provincial institutions compared with aboriginals in the general population by region:

Province or region Aboriginals in general population Aboriginals in provincial jails Aboriginals in federal prisons
Atlantic 2.4% 4.5% 4.3%
Quebec 2.2% 2.0% 1.7%
Ontario 2.2% 7.0% 4.4%
Manitoba 11.5% 47.0% 40.2%
Saskatchewan 10.8% 72.0% 34.3%
Alberta 6.2% 34.0% 31.0%
British Columbia 5.0% 16.0% 13.9%
Yukon 29.1% 62.0% *
NWT 59.8% 90.0% *

* There are no federal prisons in the territories

Sources: Correctional Service of Canada, Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics, Federal Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

In 1988, 74% of aboriginal offenders were defined as Indians; 23% Metis; and 2.4% Inuit. According to Prairie Region sources, 23.4% of aboriginal offenders originated from urban centres, with over 10,000 people; 35% were from communities with populations between 100 and 10,000; 28.5% were from communities close to an urban centre; and 15.3% were from isolated and rural areas (Final Report Task Force on aboriginal Peoples in Federal Corrections [hereinafter "Task Force Report"], 1988). Most aboriginal offenders come from disadvantaged backgrounds and less than 20% had a grade ten education. Among aboriginal offenders, 76% were found to be abusing alcohol and less than 17% were employed when admitted to a federal facility. Two thirds had no previous skilled employment and only 22% had some vocational training. From these numbers, the Task Force Report concluded that, "aboriginal offenders are likely to have important needs that should be addressed by institutional programming and release planning."

Violence

A higher proportion of aboriginal offenders commit crimes of violence as opposed to their non-aboriginal counterparts. Compared to non-aboriginal offenders, the difference is 73% versus 65%. Crimes against the person involve 55% of aboriginal offenders, compared to less than 35% of non-aboriginal offenders (1988). A 1993 study found that aboriginal offenders were more likely to commit offenses against the person and were more likely to be convicted of violent sexual offenses than non-aboriginals (Hann and Harman, 1993). It also found that male aboriginal offenders were twice as likely to have their parole revoked than non-aboriginal offenders.

aboriginal offenders were also found to be at higher risk for violent recidivism and were more likely to be returned to prison than non-aboriginal offenders. A study done on the characteristics of aboriginal recidivists found that the recidivism rate was 66% and that aboriginal inmates with shorter sentences were more likely to recidivate (Bonta, Lipinski and Martin, 1992). The authors stipulate that these numbers should not be interpreted as a case for longer sentences. The lower recidivism rate for non-aboriginals with longer sentences may be confounded with other factors such as offence type and socio-personal characteristics that may be more relevant to the prediction of recidivism. They suggest that, in general, criminal history variables found to predict recidivism among non-aboriginals were also good predictors of recidivism for aboriginal inmates.

Length Of Sentence

There were 369 sex offenders serving indeterminate sentences and most of these (81%) were not on conditional release to the community. aboriginal offenders made up 143 of this group, or 39% - a disproportionate number. However, of the 369, only 58 had the pre 1977 Dangerous Sexual Offender designation, and only 2 of these were aboriginals.

Of those offenders serving determinate sentences, the non-aboriginal group had a higher average aggregate sentence: 6.1 years versus 5.1 for the aboriginal sex offenders.

In 1988 aboriginal offenders were less likely to be released on parole or mandatory supervision than other offenders (Task Force Report, 1988). This report found that 18.3% of aboriginal offenders were released on parole or mandatory supervision compared to 42.1% of offenders. The percentage of aboriginal offenders on conditional release was 32% in 1988, compared to 43.3% of other offenders. It also indicated that only 10% of aboriginal offenders were released on full parole compared to 20.4% of federal offenders.

In summary, the conviction and incarceration rates for aboriginal offenders is higher than for the rest of the population. Criminal behavior in aboriginals as in mainstream society, is closely related to socio-economic background. Solutions to the aboriginal criminal problem must take into account the socio-economic conditions of the reserves and elsewhere (Task Force Report, 1988).

Substance Abuse

Substance abuse is often encountered in aboriginal communities. A 1994 study on substance abuse programs for aboriginals, found that drug and alcohol abuse amongst aboriginals were serious criminogenic factors (Weeks & Millson, 1994). The exercise of emotional restraint, as described by Dr. Brant, creates a phenomenon where repressed hostility is released under the influence of alcohol. The shyness inherent to aboriginals increases the risk of substance abuse. In the experience of Dr. Brant, the incidence of sexual abuse of children and the incidence of sexual assault in the aboriginal population is strongly connected to the abuse of alcohol (Brant, 1993).

A study of the relationship between substance abuse and crime among aboriginal American Inmates by the Nebraska Department of Corrections, found that regardless of the type of crime, the majority of crime by Indians is alcohol-related (Grobsmith, 1989). Despite the fact that Nebraska's population is only 1% Indian, 7% of all serious criminal arrests and 25% of all public drunkenness arrests were aboriginal Americans (French and Hornbuckle, 1982).

Grobsmith's study suggests that alcohol is the single most serious health problem among American Indian people. Alcohol abuse and alcoholism rates are several times higher for Indians than for the general population. Alcoholism, accidents, cirrhosis, suicide, and homicide together account for 35% of all Indian deaths (French and Hornbuckle, 1982). Since the highest alcohol consumption occurs in males between 25 and 44, the vulnerability and susceptibility of this group to criminal activity is exceptionally high (Grobsmith, 1989). Grobsmith concludes that explanations for alcoholism and drug abuse in Indians abound, but no single explanation is adequate.

Whatever the causes of substance abuse, it is certainly a contributing factor to the disarray within Indian communities: the Nebraska courts are seeing fifth generation addiction to alcohol. A serious growing problem related to generational addictions is the experimentation by young Indians with inhalants such as gasoline, spray paint fumes, correction fluid, and lysol spray. Children who use inhalants generally come from families where there is parental alcoholism and where children have suffered abuse or neglect by their parents (Carroll, 1977).

Grobsmith's study suggests that revitalization of, and identification with, aboriginal American religious ideology plays a strongly supportive role in affecting aboriginal American sobriety and rehabilitation. In the Nebraska prison system, the revitalization of aboriginal beliefs is cited as the primary factor in inmate sobriety. Cultural norms make the admission of personal weakness, public confessions, and drawing attention to oneself, inhibit the aboriginal American from being willing to single himself out in standard treatment programs - a process often required in non-aboriginal treatment protocols. The lack of negative sanctions and the difficulty in admitting personal weakness reduce the likelihood of AA's success with aboriginal American drinkers. Since alcoholism is closely related to offense commission, it would be reasonable to treat alcoholism using more culturally appropriate approaches.

Treatment Of aboriginal Offenders

Treatment of aboriginal offenders is not an easy task for non-aboriginal practitioners. According to Dr. Brant, mental health professionals and paraprofessionals who assess aboriginal offenders, prison inmates and accused, find them passive, difficult to assess and reserved. Dr. Brant suggests that this behaviour is related to the principle of non-interference and emotional restraint, and affects the individual aboriginal's performance in an assessment situation. The health care practitioners' failure to recognize the influence of the individual's cultural heritage on their behavior in clinical situations, may result in errors in diagnosis, formulation, and treatment (Brant, 1993). As a result, the encounter between the patient and the professional, may vary from unproductive to traumatic.

The 1988 Task Force Report concluded that because of the link that unites the aboriginal people and their culture, treatment services must consider both culture and beliefs. The Report also indicates that aboriginal offenders see Elders in a positive manner. In some facilities, aboriginal Elders are engaged on a full-time basis, especially in the Pacific and Prairie Regions. In a Globe and Mail article on aboriginal inmates, Peter Moon found a change in Corrections Services' approach to understanding of aboriginal spirituality (Globe and Mail, July 20th, 1995). According to Mr. Moon, Warden Art Majkut, endorsed the aboriginal healing process in prison. He suggested that the lack of documentation and studies on the healing process makes senior bureaucrats of Correctional Service Canada reluctant to fund Medicine Men to work in prisons. Mr. Majkut stresses that Elders and Medicine Men can provide a more accurate assessment of an aboriginal inmate's capacity to successfully complete parole. He felt that they also opened up the spiritual horizons of aboriginal offenders, which results in reduced recidivism. The Warden's comments reinforce the Task Force's conclusions, although rigorous studies will need to provide empirical support for these beliefs.

A problem related to traditional aboriginal practices in prisons is the fact that there are few reserves that have developed a full array of spiritual programs. Campbell Papequash, a Salteaux Elder and Healer, suspects that most of the inmates benefiting from spiritual programs, in prisons such as Stony Mountain, abandon the practices when they are released... (Globe and Mail, July 20th, 1995). If there is more spiritual guidance available behind bars than in the community, aboriginal offenders may find themselves unable to connect with traditional support upon release. In addition to the need for aboriginal programs within prisons, traditional resources in the community are recognized as equal in importance.

It has been suggested that community-based correctional facilities under the control of aboriginal communities should take responsibility for maintaining the healing practices initiated during incarceration. This implies that offenders must not be removed from the care and custody of the aboriginal community. Such an approach would require not only healing the offender, but also his or her family. This process could benefit both the offenders and the victims.

It is clear that aboriginal people have specific needs in prisons, but the cultural and spiritual aspects of their "price to pay for the crime they committed" must be taken into consideration, if we want to reduce the disproportionate rate at which they are incarcerated.


1 This total includes parole plus temporary detentions and federally supervised provincial offenders, less those offenders who were deported.

2 There has been some discussion that these numbers of sex offenders understate the "true" number by about 17% due to the formative stage of this aspect of OMS development. The base numbers, however, will be used through this report. Sex Offenders are defined as having a sexually-related offence on any sentence.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Délinquants sexuels autochtones : Allier la guérison spirituelle au traitement cognitivo-comportemental

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

II. LES DÉLINQUANTS AUTOCHTONES ET L'INCARCÉRATION

Vue d'ensemble

Par rapport aux non-Autochtones, les Autochtones sont sur-représentés dans le système carcéral canadien. En 1991, ils représentaient 12 % des détenus admis dans les établissements fédéraux et 19 % des détenus admis dans les établissements provinciaux (Centre canadien de la statistique juridique, 1991), et ce, même s'ils ne constituaient que 2,5 % de l'ensemble de la population (Statistique Canada, 1991).

VUE D'ENSEMBLE - NOMBRE TOTAL DE DÉLINQUANTS ET DE DÉLINQUANTS SEXUELS

En juillet 1997, il y avait 14 961 délinquants incarcérés et 8 055 sous surveillance.1

NOMBRE TOTAL DE DÉLINQUANTS
Région Incarcérés Sous surveillance
  # % # %
Atlantique 1428 9.5% 859 10.7%
Québec 4031 26.9% 2386 29.8%
Ontario 3880 25.9% 1973 24.6%
Prairies 3580 23.9% 1820 22.7%
Pacifique 2042 13.6% 967 12.1%
Total national 14961   8005  

Les délinquants sexuels représentent 19% des détenus incarcérés et 12.6 % des délinquants sous surveillance.2

DÉLINQUANTS SEXUELS
Région Incarcérés Sous surveillance Total
  # % # %  
Atlantique 286 10.1% 142 14.1% 428
Québec 514 18.1% 179 17.8% 693
Ontario 720 25.4% 209 20.7% 929
Prairies 913 32.1% 333 33.0% 1246
Pacifique 407 14.3% 145 14.4% 552
Total national 2840   1008   3848

Le nombre des Autochtones incarcérés dans les établissements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux va toujours croissant. Cette tendance se perpétue peut-être en raison de biais culturels et ethniques du système à cause desquels on ne tient pas compte des coutumes, des valeurs et des traditions autochtones. L'application de telles stratégies pourrait réduire la violence dans les collectivités autochtones.  En outre, il existe peut-être des biais systémiques dans le système judiciaire. L'un des leaders autochtones a fait remarquer que le régime de droit pénal actuel n'a jamais assimilé ni même tenu compte des valeurs, des normes et des concepts de la justice autochtone, qui existaient pourtant avant ce régime. Elle a estimé que les programmes destinés aux Autochtones étaient inadéquats parce qu'ils ne se fondaient que sur les valeurs, les idéologies, les croyances et les processus intellectuels des non-Autochtones (McIvor, 1995).

Le nombre des délinquants autochtones a connu une croissance régulière, passant de 9 % du nombre total des délinquants en 1982-1983 à 9,6 % en 1987 (Rapport final du groupe d'étude sur les Autochtones au sein du régime correctionnel fédéral [ci-après nommé "rapport du groupe d'étude"], 1988). En 1994, ce pourcentage, dans la région des Prairies, s'élevait à 38 %, comparativement à 11  % pour l'ensemble du pays.

Parmi les 3 850 délinquants sexuels identifiés au SGD, 700, soit 18 %, sont autochtones (Inuit, Amérindiens et Métis). En outre, 26 % des 2 802 délinquants autochtones sont des délinquants sexuels, ce qui est hors de proportion.

C'est dans la région des Prairies qu'on trouve le nombre le plus élevé de délinquants sexuels, tant autochtones que non autochtones. Les régions des Prairies et du Pacifique comptent à elles seules 85 % de tous les délinquants sexuels autochtones au Canada.

DÉLINQUANTS SEXUELS INCARCÉRÉS
Région NON-AUTOCHTONES AUTOCHTONES Total
  # % # % # %
Atlantique 261 11.3% 25 4.6%> 286 10.1%
Québec 471 20.5% 43 8.0% 514 18.1%
Ontario 687 29.9% 33 6.1% 720 25.4%
Prairies 561 24.4% 352 65.3% 913 32.1%
Pacifique 321 14% 86 16.0% 407 14.3%
Total national 2301   539   2840  

Le tableau suivant illustre la distribution des délinquants sexuels autochtones et non autochtones au pays. C'est encore dans les régions des Prairies et du Pacifique qu'on trouve le plus grand nombre de délinquants sexuels autochtones. Des 59 délinquants provinciaux sous surveillance fédérale, 14 étaient autochtones.

DÉLINQUANTS SEXUELS
Région NON-AUTOCHTONES AUTOCHTONES Total
  # % # % # %
Atlantique 135 16.4% 7 3.8% 142 14.1%
Québec 170 20.7% 9 4.9% 179 17.8%
Ontario 202 24.5% 7 3.8% 209 20.7%
Prairies 200 24.3% 133 71.9% 333 33.0%
Pacifique 116 14.1% 29 15.7% 145 14.4%
Total national 823   185   1008  

On s'attend à ce que d'ici 2010, le pourcentage des Autochtones détenus dans les établissements fédéraux atteigne les 38 %, à l'échelle du pays. Un tableau publié dans le Globe and Mail le 20 juillet 1995 fournit une comparaison claire du pourcentage des détenus autochtones des établissements provinciaux et fédéraux par rapport au pourcentage des Autochtones dans la population, dans chaque province et territoire:

Province ou région Autochtones dans la population Autochtones dans les établissements provinciaux Autochtones dans les établissements fédéraux
Atlantique 2.4% 4.5% 4.3%
Québec 2.2% 2.0% 1.7%
Ontario 2.2% 7.0% 4.4%
Manitoba 11.5% 47.0% 40.2%
Saskatchewan 10.8% 72.0% 34.3%
Alberta 6.2% 34.0% 31.0%
Colombie-Britannique 5.0% 16.0% 13.9%
Yukon 29.1% 62.0% *
T.N.-O. 59.8% 90.0% *

* Il n'y a pas d'établissements fédéraux dans les territoires.

Sources: Service correctionnel Canada, Centre canadien de la statistique juridique, ministère fédéral des Affaires indiennes et du Nord.

En 1988, les délinquants autochtones étaient répartis comme suit: 74 % d'Indiens, 23 % de Métis et 2,4 % d'Inuit. D'après certaines sources de la région des Prairies, 23,4 % des délinquants autochtones venaient de centres urbains de plus de 10 000 habitants, 35 % de localités comptant de 100 à 10 000 habitants, 28,5 % de localités situées près d'un centre urbain et 15,3 % de régions rurales isolées (Rapport du groupe d'étude, 1988). Ils sont pour la plupart issus de milieux défavorisés et moins de 20 % d'entre eux possèdent dix années de scolarité. Parmi les délinquants autochtones, 76 % ont des problèmes d'alcoolisme et moins de 17 % avaient un emploi lorsqu'ils ont été incarcérés dans un établissement fédéral. Les deux tiers n'avaient jamais occupé un emploi spécialisé et 22 % seulement avaient reçu une formation professionnelle quelconque. À partir de ces données, le groupe d'étude a conclu "que les détenus autochtones ont probablement des besoins importants auxquels il convient de répondre par des programmes au sein de l'établissement et l'élaboration de plans de libération conditionnelle."

Violence

Par rapport aux non autochtones, une proportion plus élevée de délinquants autochtones commet des crimes violents. La proportion pour les non-Autochtones et pour les Autochtones est de 65 % et de 73 % respectivement. Les crimes contre la personne représentent 55 % des actes criminels commis par les délinquants autochtones, alors que ce pourcentage est inférieur à 35 % chez les non autochtones (1988). D'après une étude réalisée en 1993, les délinquants autochtones étaient plus susceptibles que les non autochtones de commettre des crimes contre la personne ou d'être condamnés relativement à des crimes violents (Hann et Harman, 1993). L'étude a en outre révélé que, comparativement aux délinquants non autochtones, les délinquants autochtones avaient deux fois plus de chances de voir leur libération conditionnelle révoquée.

On a aussi constaté que les délinquants autochtones présentaient des risques plus élevés de récidive avec violence et étaient plus susceptibles que les délinquants non autochtones d'être incarcérés de nouveau. Une étude sur les caractéristiques des récidivistes autochtones a révélé que le taux de récidive s'élève à 66 % et que les détenus purgeant des peines plus brèves sont les plus susceptibles de récidiver (Bonta, Lipinski et Martin, 1992).Les auteurs expliquent toutefois que ces chiffres ne devraient pas servir de prétexte à l'imposition de peines plus lourdes. Le taux plus faible de récidive des non-Autochtones qui purgent des peines de longue durée peut être dû à d'autres facteurs, comme le type d'acte criminel commis et le profil socio-personnel, qui sont plus pertinents pour prédire le risque de récidive. Ils laissent plutôt entendre que, d'une façon générale, les variables des antécédents criminels dont on se sert pour prédire la récidive chez les non-Autochtones sont également de bons indices des risques de récidive chez les détenus autochtones.

Durée des peines

Trois cent soixante-neuf délinquants sexuels purgeaient des peines d'une durée illimitée. De ce nombre, 81 % n'avaient pas été libérés sous condition. Les délinquants sexuels autochtones, au nombre de 143, constituaient 39 % du groupe, ce qui est nettement disproportionné. Cependant, des 369, seuls 58 avaient été désignés délinquants sexuels dangereux avant 1977, dont deux Autochtones seulement.

Parmi les délinquants sexuels qui purgeaient des peines d'une durée déterminée, c'est le groupe des non-Autochtones qui comptaient les peines totales moyennes les plus élevées, soit 6,1 années, comparativement à 5,1 pour les Autochtones.

En 1988, les délinquants autochtones étaient moins susceptibles que les autres de se voir octroyer une libération sous condition ou sous surveillance obligatoire (Rapport du groupe d'étude, 1988). Le groupe d'étude avait constaté que 18,3 % des délinquants autochtones faisaient l'objet de telles libérations, comparativement à 42,1 % chez les autres délinquants. Le pourcentage des délinquants autochtones libérés sous condition s'élevait à 32 %, en 1988, alors qu'il était de 43,3 % chez les non-Autochtones. On indiquait également dans le rapport qu'on n'accordait de libération conditionnelle totale qu'à 10 % des délinquants autochtones, alors que ce pourcentage atteignait 20,4 % chez les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale.

En résumé, les taux de condamnation et d'incarcération sont plus élevés chez les délinquants autochtones que chez les non autochtones. Chez les Autochtones comme dans le reste de la société, la criminalité est étroitement liée au contexte socio-économique. Pour résoudre le problème de la criminalité chez les Autochtones, il faut tenir compte des conditions socio-économiques qui règnent dans les réserves et ailleurs (Rapport du groupe d'étude, 1988).

Toxicomanie

Les abus d'intoxicants sont fréquents dans les collectivités autochtones. Une étude réalisée en 1994 sur les programmes de lutte contre l'alcoolisme et la toxicomanie destinés aux Autochtones a révélé que la consommation d'alcool et de drogue sont des facteurs criminogènes importants chez les Autochtones (Weeks et Millson, 1994). La répression des émotions, telle qu'elle a été décrite par le Dr Brant, amène l'hostilité refoulée à se libérer sous l'influence de l'alcool. Timides de nature, les Autochtones sont plus susceptibles d'abuser des intoxicants. D'après l'expérience du Dr Brant, il existe une corrélation certaine entre les agressions sexuelles, y compris celles commises contre des enfants, et la consommation d'alcool (Brant, 1993).

Dans une étude réalisée par le Nebraska Department of Corrections sur la relation entre l'abus d'intoxicants et la criminalité chez les détenus autochtones américains, on a constaté que chez les Indiens, dans une majorité des cas, il y a un lien entre la consommation d'alcool et la perpétration d'actes criminels, de quelque type qu'ils soient (Grobsmith, 1989). Même si les Indiens ne constituent que 1 % de la population du Nebraska, 7 % de toutes les personnes arrêtées pour des délits graves et 25 % de celles arrêtées pour ivresse publique étaient des Autochtones (French et Hornbuckle, 1982).

L'étude de Grobsmith indique que l'alcoolisme est le problème de santé le plus grave chez les Amérindiens. La prévalence de l'abus d'alcool et de l'alcoolisme est de beaucoup plus élevée chez les Indiens que dans l'ensemble de la population. L'alcoolisme, les accidents, la cirrhose, le suicide et l'homicide constituent 35 % de toutes les causes de décès chez les Indiens (French et Hornbuckle, 1982). Puisque ce sont les hommes âgés de 25 à 44 ans qui consomment le plus d'alcool, ce groupe est également le plus vulnérable et le plus susceptible de commettre des actes criminels (Grobsmith, 1989). Grobsmith conclut en disant que malgré l'abondance des facteurs qui expliquent l'alcoolisme et la toxicomanie chez les Indiens, aucun ne pourrait à lui seul en être considéré la cause.

Quels qu'en soient les motifs, l'abus d'intoxicants contribue largement au chaos qui règne dans les collectivités amérindiennes. En effet, les tribunaux du Nebraska voient parfois des alcooliques de cinquième génération. On constate en outre qu'un autre problème grave, lié à l'alcoolisme et à la toxicomanie transgénérationnels, prend de l'ampleur : l'inhalation, par de jeunes Indiens, de vapeurs intoxicantes, qu'il s'agisse d'essence, de peinture ou de lysol en aérosol, ou encore de liquide correcteur. Généralement, les jeunes qui s'adonnent à de telles pratiques sont issus de familles dont les parents sont alcooliques et où les enfants sont négligés ou maltraités (Carroll, 1977).

L'étude de Grobsmith indique que le rétablissement de l'idéologie religieuse amérindienne et l'identification à celle-ci sont des facteurs très favorables à la désintoxication et à la réadaptation des Autochtones américains. Dans le système carcéral du Nebraska, on explique que le rétablissement des croyances autochtones est le principal motif de sobriété chez les détenus. Les normes culturelles qui rendent difficile aux Autochtones d'avouer leurs faiblesses, de confesser publiquement leurs erreurs ou d'attirer l'attention sur eux - procédé souvent nécessaire dans les protocoles de traitement non autochtones - empêchent également ceux-ci de se singulariser dans les programmes de traitement réguliers. Cette difficulté à admettre une faiblesse personnelle, jointe à l'absence de sanctions, réduit les chances de réussite du programme des Alcooliques Anonymes auprès des alcooliques amérindiens. Puisque l'alcoolisme est lié de près à la perpétration d'actes criminels, il conviendrait de le traiter au moyen de méthodes mieux adaptées du point de vue culturel.

Traitement des délinquants autochtones

Les professionnels de la santé non autochtones ont de la difficulté à traiter les délinquants autochtones. Selon le Dr Brant, les thérapeutes de la santé mentale et les parathérapeutes qui évaluent les délinquants, les détenus et les prévenus autochtones trouvent ceux-ci passifs, difficiles à évaluer et réservés. Le Dr Brant indique que ce comportement, qui influe sur l'évaluation des Autochtones, découle des principes de non-ingérence et de répression des émotions. Faute d'avoir reconnu l'influence du patrimoine culturel du patient autochtone sur son comportement en contexte clinique, le thérapeute peut commettre des erreurs dans le diagnostic, la formulation des médicaments ou le traitement (Brant, 1993). Dans un tel cas, la rencontre du patient et du médecin est au mieux improductive, au pire traumatisante.

Dans son rapport de 1988, le groupe d'étude conclut qu'en raison des liens qui unissent les Autochtones à leur culture, les services de traitement doivent tenir compte à la fois de celle-ci et des croyances. Le rapport indique en outre que les délinquants autochtones réagissent positivement aux Aînés. Dans certains établissements, surtout dans les régions des Prairies et du Pacifique, des Aînés autochtones sont employés à temps plein. Dans un article sur les détenus autochtones qu'il a publié dans le Globe and Mail, Peter Moon a constaté que les services correctionnels avaient changé leur façon de comprendre la spiritualité autochtone (Globe and Mail, 20 juillet 1995). Selon lui, le directeur Art Majkut avait adopté dans son établissement la méthode de guérison autochtone. M. Majkut expliquait qu'en raison d'un manque de documents et d'études sur cette méthode, les cadres supérieurs du Service correctionnel du Canada hésitent à payer des guérisseurs pour travailler dans les pénitenciers. Il insistait sur le fait que les Aînés et les guérisseurs sont en mesure d'évaluer de façon plus exacte si un détenu autochtone sera en mesure de respecter les conditions de sa libération. Il estimait aussi qu'ils ouvraient les horizons spirituels des délinquants autochtones, diminuant ainsi leur taux de récidive. Les observations du directeur d'établissement viennent corroborer les conclusions du groupe d'étude. Il faudra malgré cela faire des recherches rigoureuses pour donner une assise empirique à ces principes.

Il y a un autre problème lié aux pratiques traditionnelles autochtones dans les pénitenciers, et c'est le fait que très peu de réserves se sont dotées d'une gamme complète de programmes spirituels. Campbell Papequash, Aîné et guérisseur saulteux, soupçonne que la plupart des détenus qui participent aux programmes spirituels dans des établissements comme celui de Stony Mountain cessent leur pratique une fois libérés... (Globe and Mail, 20 juillet 1995). S'ils reçoivent davantage d'aide spirituelle derrière les barreaux que dans la collectivité, les délinquants autochtones se trouvent dans l'incapacité de trouver un appui traditionnel après leur libération. Les programmes autochtones sont nécessaires dans les pénitenciers, mais les sources d'aide traditionnelle dans la collectivité sont tout aussi importantes.

On a laissé entendre que les établissements correctionnels situés dans les collectivités devraient prendre en main la poursuite des exercices de guérison entrepris pendant l'incarcération des délinquants. Il en découle que les délinquants doivent demeurer aux soins et sous la garde de la collectivité autochtone. Cela signifie qu'il faudrait soigner non seulement le délinquant, mais aussi sa famille. Cette méthode profiterait tant aux victimes qu'aux délinquants.

Il est évident que les Autochtones ont des besoins spéciaux dans les établissements carcéraux, mais il faut aussi tenir compte des aspects culturels et spirituels de la `'rémission de leur crime'' si on veut réduire leur taux disproportionné d'incarcération.


1 Ce total comprend les détenus en liberté conditionnelle, ceux en détention temporaire et les délinquants des systèmes provinciaux sous surveillance fédérale, moins les délinquants qui ont été expulsés.

2 Certains affirment que le nombre réel des délinquants sexuels est en fait plus élevé de 17 % par rapport aux chiffres fournis dans le présent rapport. Cela est dû au fait que le SGD en est encore à ses premiers balbutiements dans ce domaine. On utilisera néanmoins les chiffres de base dans tout le rapport. On définit les délinquants sexuels comme ceux dont toutes les peines sont relatives à des délits d'ordre sexuel.