Correctional Service Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Aboriginal Sex Offenders: Melding Spiritual Healing with Cognitive-Behavioural Treatment

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

CONCLUSIONS

This report has provided a review of the sparse literature on aboriginal sex offenders. As there are few studies, it is obviously an area in the earliest phase of development. Although there are few programs currently available, increasing awareness of the need for programming is inspiring (Zellerer, 1994). As already mentioned, initiatives have begun which can offer insight for future programs.

Some recurring themes emerged from this review. The aboriginal people believe in a holistic approach based upon healing. aboriginal programs must be holistic in the sense that it must reach all the aspects of the human being: mentally, spiritually, physically and emotionally. Treatment programs are also holistic because they are not centered around the male perpetrator, but encompass women and children, the extended family and even in certain cases the whole community.

For service providers, it is of paramount importance that they understand and respect the aboriginal culture and values of the community with which they are working. On the whole, the training and resources required to work with aboriginal sex offenders should eventually, when feasible, be transferred to aboriginal caregivers or Service Providers.

The approach which has most consistently been endorsed, combines mainstream or contemporary methods with traditional aboriginal approaches. Non-aboriginal treatment protocols and insights can be utilized in the context of programs which are culturally-specific and which incorporate spiritual teachings and ceremonies. However, it is recognized that aboriginal sex offenders differ in their interest in traditional healing and should be given the choice to participate in healing rituals.

Some argue that until an aboriginal justice system is created, the current system will have to be used, particularly as a "back-up" (Zellerer, 1994), but overall, there is a resounding call for alternatives to current judicial practice, specifically for community-based programs.

The aboriginal people must participate in the decision-making process at all levels of development and program implementation. Attaining that goal will require respect, understanding and patience between aboriginals and non-aboriginals. Ultimately, both groups have a strong vested interest in providing the most effective means of healing both perpetrators and victims, thereby reducing further victimization.

Service correctionnel du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Délinquants sexuels autochtones : Allier la guérison spirituelle au traitement cognitivo-comportemental

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

CONCLUSION

Le présent rapport a donné un aperçu des quelques ouvrages qui existent sur les délinquants sexuels autochtones. Si les études sur ce sujet sont si peu nombreuses, c'est qu'il s'agit d'un domaine de recherche qui n'en est qu'à ses premiers balbutiements. Même s'il y actuellement quelques programmes disponibles, on serait bien inspiré de faire connaître le besoin d'en créer d'autres (Zellerer, 1994). Comme on l'a déjà mentionné, de nouvelles initiatives ont été lancées, qui pourraient servir à l'élaboration de programmes futurs.

Certains thèmes récurrents ressortent de cet examen. Les Autochtones croient en une démarche holistique fondée sur la guérison. Les programmes destinés aux Autochtones doivent donc être de nature holistique, c'est-à-dire qu'ils doivent aborder tous les aspects de l'être : mental, spirituel, physique et émotif. Les programmes de traitement sont également de nature holistiques puisqu'ils ne se concentrent pas seulement sur l'agresseur; ils s'adressent aussi aux femmes et aux enfants, à la famille étendue et, dans certains cas, à toute la collectivité.

Il est essentiel que les personnes chargées de dispenser les services comprennent et respectent la culture et les valeurs de la collectivité. dans laquelle ils oeuvrent. D'une façon générale, la formation et les ressources requises pour traiter les délinquants sexuels autochtones devraient, dans toute la mesure du possible, être confiées à des thérapeutes ou du personnel soignant autochtones.

Cette approche, à laquelle on a toujours fait bon accueil, marie les méthodes contemporaines de la société non autochtone aux méthodes traditionnelles des Autochtones. Les protocoles et les connaissances des traitements non autochtones peuvent être intégrés à des programmes adaptés à la culture de leur clientèle qui comprennent des enseignements et des cérémonies spirituels. On reconnaît toutefois que les délinquants sexuels autochtones ne manifestent pas tous le même intérêt aux rites de guérison traditionnels et il conviendrait donc de leur laisser le choix d'y participer ou non.

Certains affirment que tant qu'on n'aura pas créé un système de justice autochtone, il faudra continuer d'appliquer le système actuel, surtout à titre de `'soutien'' (Zellerer, 1994). Mais nombreuses sont les voix qui réclament d'autres méthodes judiciaires, surtout en ce qui a trait aux programmes communautaires.

Les Autochtones doivent participer au processus de décision, et ce, à tous les échelons de l'élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre des programmes. Pour atteindre ce but, il faudra qu'Autochtones et non-Autochtones fassent mutuellement preuve de respect, de compréhension et de patience. En fin de compte, les deux groupes ont autant intérêt l'un que l'autre à traiter le plus efficacement possible les agresseurs et les victimes afin d'éviter que s'accroisse le nombre de ces dernières.