Performance Assurance

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Formative Evaluation of the National Contribution Program and the National Aboriginal Contribution Program

PDF

394-2-31

Correctional Service of Canada
November 2004

TABLE OF CONTENTS


EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

1. INTRODUCTION AND CONTEXT

2. EVALUATION DESIGN AND METHODOLOGY

3. KEY FINDINGS

4. CONCLUSIONS

5. RECOMMENDATIONS

APPENDICIES
APPENDIX A: Instruments
APPENDIX B: List of Key Informants
APPENDIX C: Files Reviewed
APPENDIX D: NCP and NACP Contributions by Year
SIGNATURES

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Transfer payment programs, including contributions, are programs used by Government of Canada departments to facilitate the implementation of their mandates and mission while providing results to Canadians. In the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC), the National Contribution Program (NCP) and the National Aboriginal Contribution Program (NACP) are used to complement the delivery of services to Canadians, particularly as it relates to inmates and parolees, community awareness and engagement, and capacity-building in Aboriginal communities.

The NCP and the NACP are intended to support the CSC mandate by providing conditional funding to eligible recipients for activities that encourage and support offenders in reintegrating into society and living as law-abiding citizens.

The activity for which the NCP provides contributions is divided into three main categories: activities intended for inmates and parolees; activities that promote community engagement and participation in CSC activities; and start-up projects for new community residential facilities that are related to corrections and aimed at inmates, parolees or agencies involved in corrections.

The NACP similarly provides funding and support for integrated community-based correctional services that are delivered by Aboriginal communities and organizations to federally sentenced Aboriginal offenders. It also supports the building of capacity in Aboriginal communities by promoting specific initiatives and programs that contribute to the successful reintegration of Aboriginal offenders.

In accordance with the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) Policy on Transfer Payments, the NCP and the NACP must renew their terms and conditions by March 31, 2005. Along with this renewal is a requirement for a formative evaluation that examines program processes and implementation. Formative evaluation compares the plan of action in a program proposal to what is actually taking place, using information collected from a variety of sources such as interviews and/or file reviews. The Department's Treasury Board submission must include results from an objective, evidence-based evaluation of the program rationale, relevance, impact and cost-effectiveness.

The evaluation assessed whether, in pursuing their objectives and expected outcomes, the NCP and the NACP efficiently address areas of control such as the activities, inputs and outputs of the programs' design, and the delivery of the programs. The team also reviewed the effectiveness of the programs by assessing their relevance, impact and cost-effectiveness, focussing on the period between 2001 and 2004.

Methodologies appropriate for conducting a formative evaluation were used. The methods consisted of document and file reviews, and a review of the literature pertaining to Government of Canada contribution agreements was conducted. Materials related to the contribution programs' objectives were also reviewed, along with data on funding applicants and recipients, and key informants (internal and external stakeholders) were interviewed. The file review primarily covered available documents that record the activities, procedures and processes of the programs. Interviewers were attentive to the subjective opinions espoused by program officials, stakeholders and representatives of the nationally funded programs.

KEY FINDINGS

Relevance/Rationale

Relevance is determined by establishing whether a program answers a verified need. The Canadian Families and Corrections Network report on the Needs of Families of Offenders demonstrated the need for services and programs that reflect the objectives of both the NCP and the NACP. The programs' objectives and goals were assessed in terms of their relevance to the Department's mission and the needs the programs intend to meet.

  • The findings in this area underscored the importance of the resources and programs such as those provided by the NCP and the NACP to offenders, their families and the community at large.
  • The file review and interviews with key informants revealed that the NCP and the NACP contribute to two of CSC's four strategic outcomes - offenders who are safely and effectively reintegrated, and corporate management support for the care, custody and reintegration of offenders.
Design, Delivery and Management

The evaluation team focused on understanding the practice of program design and delivery and their implications in terms of achieving the NCP and NACP objectives. This is a key component of the programs, because it refers to how the programs structure and administer their policies and procedures. It was determined that the programs rely on the terms and conditions of the program as a reference framework for implementation.

  • The terms and conditions of the program are regarded as the guidelines against which contribution applications are selected and assessed. This is a commendable practice because it ensures that program implementation is aligned with the terms and conditions of the program design.
  • Key informants expressed a high degree of satisfaction with the program design.
  • Interviews with key informants also revealed that delivery approaches needed to be strengthened to allow for a more effective and timely review.
  • The evaluation team found that, where an organization had an established relationship with CSC through contribution agreements, this generally meant that the sustainability of that relationship was ensured. The team sees this as a positive measure on which program managers are encouraged to build as an avenue of reaching out beyond the "prescribed" groups when yearly call letters are sent out.
  • Concerning the allocation of funds by CSC, a need for more accurate forecasting of contribution programs was identified with a view to reducing situations where funds from other envelopes have to be used.
Success/Impact

One of the impacts of the programs is the benefit Canadians acquire from the activities and services they provide. The successes of the NCP and the NACP were examined in strategic and cultural terms, pursuing three lines of inquiry: the extent to which the programs are achieving their expected objectives; whether there is evidence that recipients would be able to undertake the same activities and initiatives funded by the programs without such funding; and, finally, whether recipients access funding from other government programs for the same program or activity.

  • There was a strong sense among key informants that the NCP and the NACP facilitate various programs that would otherwise not have been implemented.
  • According to most respondents, the key measure of success is the fact that these programs reach both offenders and community members. Respondents were positive about their ability to secure contribution agreements and the impacts of the NCP and the NACP in their respective fields.
  • File reviews demonstrate that the NCP and the NACP are assisting CSC in building knowledge and creating awareness about CSC services, thereby systematically enhancing its ability to positively engage the community.
Cost-effectiveness

In measuring the cost-effectiveness of the contribution programs, the team took the approach of assessing the program's effectiveness for participants, sponsors and the general public. A true cost-effectiveness analysis will not be possible in this situation until the programs produce data on outcomes that can be aggregated across funded contributions. As well, the difficulty in conducting a cost-benefit analysis of a program of this nature is the challenge of assigning a monetary value to the costs and benefits of all alternatives. A systematic and rigorous analysis was not always possible because this evaluation did not include an assessment of any alternatives for accomplishing the results that the NCP and the NACP hope to achieve. Nonetheless, our evaluation found that:

  • A high number of key informants stated that the NCP and the NACP are cost-effective in achieving policy objectives and expected results.
  • Some internal key informants also stated that contribution agreements are not always an appropriate vehicle for furthering broad federal policy objectives and that CSC may want to consider delivering services nationally where services have been deemed essential to offender reintegration. Any national service will only serve to complement the services provided by the two contribution programs.
  • The NCP and the NACP provide a vehicle whereby the community can be active in supporting the successful reintegration of offenders and educate communities on the reintegration process.
  • It would be beneficial to enhance the collaboration between the Aboriginal Community Development Officer (ACDO) and recipient organizations engaged in capacity building within Aboriginal communities. ACDOs can be an invaluable bridge between CSC and these organizations.
Conclusions

This evaluation revealed that the programs are supporting a wide range of community activities and are clearly aligned with CSC's strategic objectives. The evaluation similarly discovers a range of accomplishments for the programs and identifies some implementation challenges. The main findings are as follows:

  • Community engagement is gradually being recognized as playing a critical role in creating safe communities. Sections 81 and 84 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA) epitomize the role a community could play in providing correctional services to offenders. Effective community engagement should be an essential benchmark against which the recipients of contribution agreements report their successes.
  • The programs' Results-based Management and Accountability Framework (RMAF) is a tool for defining program performance. It should be refined to precisely respond to expected outcomes and reflect the complexity of its measurement strategies, particularly in relation to measuring the cost-effectiveness of the programs. It must define long-term successes and identify how those successes could be sustained.
  • Regarding design and delivery, applicants need more guidance in terms of reporting on expected outcomes. Further, important lessons learned should continue to be integrated into the implementation of the programs and program processes, especially the application and approval process.
  • The most important challenge for the programs is to develop performance measurement practices, specifically a strategy to follow up with offenders and families so as to demonstrate the link between community support and successful reintegration.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Recommendation 1:

The Results-based Management and Accountability Framework (RMAF) needs to be refined to ensure sound planning in the design and delivery of the programs, enable strategic program management practices and ensure that it is responsive to the level of risk and complexity of the programs.

Recommendation 2:

Establish a timely and effective application review and approval process and enhance the disbursement of approved funds in a manner that supports an effective implementation of programs and services by the recipients of contribution funds.

Recommendation 3:

CSC should establish strategies to engage Aboriginal communities and agencies in the provision of services to Aboriginal offenders.

Recommendation 4:

The programs need to expand their reach to ensure equal access to funding and enhance the call letter as a vehicle for promoting CSC and engaging organizations beyond those approved for funding in previous years.

Recommendation 5:

Establish a consultation strategy that fosters regular consultation by program managers with Treasury Board in seeking guidance on reporting requirements based on the contribution's funding level.

Recommendation 6:

The NCP and NACP should consider establishing a formal strategic alliance and partnership with other federal contribution programs and exchange ideas on both the design and the delivery of the programs.

Recommendation 7:

The Department should better forecast the funding need of the contribution programs in order to allocate appropriate funding levels and reduce instances where funds from other envelopes have to be used.

Évaluation du rendement

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Évaluation formative du programme national de contributions et du programme national de contributions aux collectivités autochtones

PDF

394-2-31

Service Correctionnel du Canada
Novembre 2004

TABLE DES MATIÈRES


SOMMAIRE EXÉCUTIF

1. INTRODUCTION ET CONTEXTE

2. CONCEPTION ET MÉTHODOLOGIE D'ÉVALUATION

3. PRINCIPALES CONSTATATIONS

4. CONCLUSIONS

5. RECOMMANDATIONS

ANNEXES
ANNEXE A : Questionnaires
ANNEXE B : Liste de répondants clés
ANNEXE C : Dossiers examinés
ANNEXE D : Contributions par exercice dans le cadre du PNC et du PNCCA
SIGNATURES

SOMMAIRE EXÉCUTIF

Les programmes de paiements de transfert, y compris les contributions, sont utilisés par les ministères du gouvernement du Canada pour faciliter l'exécution de leur mandat et de leur mission, tout en accomplissant des résultats pour les Canadiens. Au sein du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC), le Programme national de contributions (PNC) et le Programme national de contributions aux collectivités autochtones (PNCCA) servent à compléter les services offerts aux Canadiens, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux détenus et aux libérés conditionnels, à la sensibilisation et à l'engagement des collectivités ainsi qu'au renforcement des capacités des collectivités autochtones.

Le PNC et le PNCCA visent à appuyer le mandat du SCC en fournissant un financement conditionnel aux bénéficiaires admissibles pour l'organisation d'activités qui offrent un soutien aux délinquants et qui les encouragent à se réintégrer dans la société et à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois.

Il y a trois principales catégories d'activités qui sont financées par le PNC : premièrement, les activités à l'intention des détenus et des libérés conditionnels; deuxièmement, les activités qui favorisent l'engagement et la participation des collectivités aux activités du SCC; troisièmement, les projets de démarrage pour de nouveaux établissements résidentiels communautaires, qui sont liés aux mesures correctionnelles et qui visent les détenus, les libérés conditionnels ou les organismes qui participent aux mesures correctionnelles.

Le PNCCA finance et soutient les services correctionnels communautaires intégrés qui sont offerts par les collectivités autochtones et les organisations qui ouvrent auprès des délinquants autochtones sous responsabilité fédérale. Il soutient également le renforcement des capacités des collectivités autochtones, dans le but de favoriser des initiatives et des programmes particuliers qui contribuent à la réinsertion sociale des délinquants autochtones.

Conformément à la politique sur les paiements de transfert du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), les modalités du PNC et du PNCCA doivent être renouvelées d'ici le 31 mars 2005. Une évaluation formative est également exigée en vertu de cette politique, afin d'examiner les processus et la méthode de mise en ouvre des programmes. L'évaluation formative vise à comparer le plan d'action contenu dans une proposition de programme à ce qui se passe réellement en utilisant les informations recueillies à l'aide de divers moyens, dont des entrevues et l'examen de dossiers. Le rapport présenté par le SCC au Conseil du Trésor doit comprendre les résultats d'une évaluation objective, fondés sur des preuves, de la raison d'être, de la pertinence, des répercussions et de la rentabilité des programmes.

En procédant à l'évaluation, nous avons déterminé si l'exécution du PNC et du PNCCA, en vue de l'atteinte des objectifs et des résultats visés, était efficace en ce qui a trait aux activités, aux intrants et aux extrants de la conception des programmes, ainsi qu'au mode de prestation. Nous avons également examiné l'efficacité des programmes en évaluant leur pertinence, leurs répercussions et leur rentabilité. Notre évaluation portait sur la période entre 2001 et 2004.

Pour effectuer cette évaluation, nous avons souscrit aux méthodologies qui s'appliquent à une évaluation formative. Nous avons examiné des documents et des dossiers, ainsi que de la documentation portant sur les accords de contributions au sein des ministères du gouvernement du Canada et des documents traitant des objectifs des programmes de contributions. Nous avons aussi examiné les données se rapportant aux organismes qui ont fait une demande de financement et aux bénéficiaires, et nous avons interrogé des répondants clés (intervenants de l'intérieur et de l'extérieur). Notre examen des dossiers reposait principalement sur les documents accessibles dans lesquels sont consignés les activités, les procédures et les processus liés aux programmes. Pendant nos entrevues, nous avons porté une attention particulière aux opinions exprimées par les responsables de programmes, les intervenants et les représentants des programmes financés à l'échelle nationale.

PRINCIPALES CONSTATATIONS

Pertinence/raison d'être

La pertinence est déterminée en établissant si les programmes répondent à un besoin réel. Le rapport du Regroupement canadien d'aide aux familles des détenu(e)s (RCAFD), portant sur les besoins des familles des délinquants, met en évidence la nécessité d'offrir des services et des programmes, ce qui correspond aux objectifs fondamentaux du PNC et du PNCCA. Nous avons évalué les objectifs et les buts des programmes en fonction de leur lien avec la mission de l'organisation et des besoins auxquels ils visent à répondre.

  • Nos constatations à ce chapitre soulignent l'importance des ressources des programmes, comme le PNC et le PNCCA, pour les délinquants, leurs familles et l'ensemble des collectivités.
  • Notre examen des dossiers et les entrevues que nous avons réalisées avec les répondants clés révèlent que le PNC et le PNCCA contribuent à l'atteinte de deux des quatre résultats stratégiques du SCC, soit la réinsertion sociale des délinquants en toute sécurité et de manière judicieuse, et le soutien offert par la direction de l'organisation à l'égard de la prise en charge, de la garde et de la réinsertion sociale des délinquants, ainsi que des partenaires du SCC.
Conception, prestation et gestion

Nous nous sommes penchés plus particulièrement sur la compréhension des pratiques liées à la conception et à la prestation des programmes, ainsi que sur leurs incidences en ce qui a trait à l'atteinte des objectifs du PNC et du PNCCA. Il s'agit de composantes clés des programmes parce qu'elles se rapportent à la façon dont ceux ci structurent et administrent les politiques et les procédures. À cet égard, nous avons constaté que les programmes reposent sur des modalités qui constituent un cadre de référence pour la mise en ouvre.

  • Les modalités des programmes sont considérées comme étant des lignes directrices relatives à la sélection et à l'évaluation des demandes de contributions. Il s'agit d'une pratique efficace parce qu'elle permet d'harmoniser la méthode de mise en ouvre des programmes avec les modalités liées à la conception des programmes.
  • Les répondants clés ont exprimé un degré élevé de satisfaction à l'égard de la conception des programmes, car elle favorise l'atteinte des résultats visés.
  • Les entrevues réalisées avec les répondants clés ont également révélé que les méthodes de prestation devaient être renforcées pour permettre un examen plus efficace et rapide.
  • Nous avons constaté que les organisations qui ont établi une relation avec le SCC sur le plan des accords de contributions ont généralement fait en sorte que cette relation soit durable. Nous estimons qu'il s'agit d'un indicateur d'une relation positive, et nous encourageons les gestionnaires des programmes à mettre à profit cette stratégie comme moyen de rejoindre d'autres organisations que les groupes " prescrits " lorsque les lettres d'appel sont envoyées annuellement.
  • En ce qui concerne l'affectation des fonds par le SCC, nous avons constaté que l'organisation devrait mieux prévoir les demandes aux programmes de contributions afin de réduire les situations où des fonds provenant d'autres enveloppes doivent être utilisés.
Succès/répercussions

Les répercussions des programmes comprennent entre autres les bienfaits que procurent les activités et les services découlant de la prestation des programmes aux Canadiens. Le succès du PNC et du PNCCA a été mesuré des points de vue stratégique et culturel. Nous avons procédé à cet examen en se basant sur trois critères : premièrement, la mesure dans laquelle les programmes atteignent les objectifs attendus; deuxièmement, en l'absence de fonds, la possibilité pour les bénéficiaires d'entreprendre les mêmes activités et initiatives qui sont financées par les programmes; troisièmement, le financement obtenu par les bénéficiaires dans le cadre d'autres programmes du gouvernement, le cas échéant.

  • Nous avons constaté que les répondants clés sont d'avis que le PNC et le PNCCA facilitent la prestation de divers programmes qui n'auraient pas été mis en ouvre autrement.
  • Selon la plupart des répondants, l'indicateur de succès est la portée des programmes qui se traduit par un soutien aux délinquants et aux membres de la collectivité. Les répondants voient d'un oil positif leur capacité de conclure des accords de contributions dans leur domaine respectif et d'obtenir les retombées du PNC et du PNCCA.
  • L'examen des dossiers a révélé que le PNC et le PNCCA aident le SCC à faire connaître les services qu'il offre, ce qui améliore systématiquement sa capacité de faire participer positivement la collectivité.
Rentabilité

Pour mesurer la rentabilité des programmes de contributions, nous avons procédé à l'évaluation de l'efficacité des programmes aux yeux des participants, des commanditaires et du public, que le SCC représente. La situation ne permettra pas la réalisation d'une véritable analyse coût efficacité, car les programmes n'ont pas encore produit de données sur leurs résultats qui peuvent être regroupés en fonction des contributions versées. De plus, lorsqu'on procède à une analyse coût efficacité portant sur un programme de cette nature, il est difficile d'attribuer une valeur monétaire relativement à tous les coûts et avantages de toutes les solutions de rechange. Cela n'aurait pas été possible de manière systématique et rigoureuse étant donné que cette évaluation ne portait pas sur une solution de rechange permettant d'atteindre les résultats escomptés par le PNC et le PNCCA. Quoi qu'il en soit, nous avons constaté dans le cadre de notre évaluation :

  • qu'un nombre élevé de répondants clés affirme que le PNC et le PNCCA sont rentables en fonction de l'atteinte des objectifs en matière de politiques et des résultats attendus;
  • que certains répondants clés de l'intérieur affirment également que la conclusion d'accords de contributions n'est pas toujours l'approche adéquate pour favoriser l'atteinte des vastes objectifs fédéraux en matière de politiques et que le SCC pourrait envisager d'offrir à l'échelle nationale les services qui sont jugés essentiels à la réinsertion sociale des délinquants. Tout service national servirait à compléter les services offerts dans le cadre des deux programmes de contributions;
  • que le PNC et le PNCCA permettent aux collectivités de contribuer activement à la réinsertion sociale des délinquants et familiarisent les collectivités avec les processus de réinsertion sociale;
  • qu'il serait bénéfique d'améliorer la collaboration entre les ADACA et les organisations bénéficiaires dont le travail vise à renforcer les capacités des collectivités autochtones. Les ADACA peuvent jouer un rôle inestimable en agissant comme intermédiaire entre le SCC et ces organisations.
Conclusions

L'évaluation révèle que les programmes soutiennent une vaste gamme d'activités communautaires et qu'ils s'harmonisent clairement avec les objectifs stratégiques du SCC. Dans le cadre de cette évaluation, un large éventail de réalisations et certaines difficultés quant à la mise en ouvre des programmes ont été mises en évidence. Les principales conclusions sont les suivantes :

  • on reconnaît progressivement que l'engagement communautaire joue un rôle crucial en ce qui a trait à la sécurité des collectivités. Le rôle des collectivités dans la prestation des services correctionnels aux délinquants est prévu aux alinéas 81 et 84 de la LSMLC. Les bénéficiaires de contributions en vertu d'accords devraient présenter leurs réussites en fonction de ce point de référence, soit l'efficacité de l'engagement communautaire;
  • le Cadre de gestion et de responsabilisation axé sur les résultats (CGRR) est un outil permettant de déterminer le rendement des programmes. Il devrait être amélioré afin de favoriser l'atteinte des résultats précis attendus dans le cadre des programmes et de refléter la complexité de ses stratégies de mesure, particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la rentabilité des programmes. Cet outil doit définir les réussites à long terme et la façon dont celles ci peuvent se concrétiser;
  • en ce qui concerne la conception et la prestation, les demandeurs ont besoin de consignes supplémentaires concernant les rapports sur les résultats attendus. De plus, les importantes leçons apprises devraient continuer à être intégrées dans le but d'améliorer la mise en ouvre des programmes et les processus liés aux programmes, particulièrement le processus de présentation et d'approbation des demandes;
  • le plus important défi relativement aux programmes est l'élaboration de méthodes de mesure du rendement, plus particulièrement l'établissement d'une stratégie de suivi auprès des délinquants et de leurs familles, afin de faire ressortir le lien entre le soutien communautaire et la réinsertion sociale.

RECOMMANDATIONS

Recommandation 1

Le CGRR doit être amélioré pour assurer une planification rigoureuse en ce qui a trait à la conception et à la prestation des programmes, permettre l'utilisation de pratiques stratégiques en matière de gestion des programmes et faire en sorte qu'il soit adapté au niveau de risque et de complexité des programmes.

Recommandation 2

Établir un processus d'examen et d'approbation des demandes caractérisé par la rapidité et l'efficacité, et améliorer le versement des fonds approuvés de manière à appuyer une mise en ouvre efficace des programmes et des services par les bénéficiaires des contributions.

Recommandation 3

Le SCC devrait établir des stratégies pour engager les communautés et les agences autochtones dans la prestation de services aux délinquants autochtones.

Recommandation 4

La portée des programmes doit être élargie pour assurer un accès égal au financement et améliorer la lettre d'appel comme moyen de promouvoir le SCC et de faire participer d'autres organisations que celles qui ont obtenu un financement les années précédentes.

Recommandation 5

Établir une stratégie de consultation qui ferait en sorte que les gestionnaires des programmes consultent régulièrement le Conseil du Trésor pour obtenir des précisions quant aux exigences en matière de production de rapports basés sur le montant des contributions.

Recommandation 6

On devrait envisager de former une alliance et un partenariat stratégiques officiels entre le PNC et le PNCCA et d'autres programmes fédéraux de contributions, et d'échanger des idées sur la conception et la prestation des programmes.

Recommandation 7

Le SCC devrait mieux prévoir les besoins en matière de financement à combler à l'aide des programmes de contributions, afin d'allouer les montants adéquats et de réduire les cas où des fonds provenant d'autres enveloppes doivent être utilisés.