Victim Services

Did you know?

CSC does not automatically inform victims about the offender who harmed them. Information is only provided when a victim registers.

A person can register as a victim to receive information directly or can authorize someone else to act as their representative.

At CSC, we are committed to ensuring that victims of crime have an effective voice in the federal correctional and justice system.

We want to make sure that victims are treated with compassion, fairness and respect.

Our dedicated Victim Services Officers are there to:

CSC provides services to victims of federal offenders. These are offenders serving a sentence of two years or more. Our services reflect the Canadian Statement of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime. These principles guide governments as they develop legislation and policy.

Canadian Victims Bill of Rights

Passing of the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights

On April 24, 2015, the government announced that the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights, formerly known as Bill C-32, was passed in the House of Commons and received Royal Assent. There is extensive information about this legislation on the Prime Minister's website.

The Canadian Victims Bill of Rights will create the following statutory rights for victims of crime:

  • Right to information
  • Right to protection
  • Right to participation
  • Right to restitution

The majority of the provisions and amendments included in the Victims Bill of Rights Act, including the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights, and amendments to the Criminal Code, Canada Evidence Act, and Employment Insurance Act, will come into force 90 days after Royal Assent. The amendments to the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, however, will come into force on a day or days to be fixed by Order in Council. These changes will have a significant impact on the way that CSC does its business. We will inform registered victims and the general public as soon as information is available.

Along with the Canadian Victims Bill of Rights, Bill C-479 (Fairness for Victims), which received Royal Assent in April 2015 and Bill C-489 (Restrictions on Offenders) which received Royal Assent in June 2014 also impact the rights of victims of crime.

CSC Tip Line

You can provide information about an offender to CSC anonymously by calling 1-866-780-3784 any time of the day or night.

You may also be interested in:

What happens to an offender once they are in CSC custody? You can refer to:

Services aux victimes

Le saviez-vous?

Le SCC n’informe pas automatiquement les victimes sur le délinquant qui leur a causé des torts. Des renseignements sont fournis uniquement lorsque la victime s’inscrit.

Une personne peut s’inscrire comme victime afin de recevoir des renseignements directement ou peut autoriser une autre personne à  agir comme son représentant.

Au SCC, nous sommes déterminés à faire en sorte que les victimes d’actes criminels puissent s’exprimer réellement dans le système fédéral de services correctionnels et de justice pénale.

Nous souhaitons nous assurer que les victimes sont traitées avec compassion, équité et respect.

Nos agents des services aux victimes ont pour fonction :

Le SCC fournit des services aux victimes de délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Il s’agit de délinquants purgeant une peine de deux ans ou plus. Nos services tiennent compte de l’Énoncé canadien des principes fondamentaux de justice pour les victimes d’actes criminels. Ces principes orientent les gouvernements dans l'élaboration de lois et de politiques.

Charte canadienne des droits des victimes

Adoption de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes

Le 24 avril, 2015, le gouvernement a annoncé que la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes, anciennement connue sous le nom de projet de loi C-32, a été adoptée à la Chambre des communes et a reçu la sanction royale. Des renseignements détaillés au sujet de cette mesure législative figurent sur le site Web du premier ministre.

La Charte canadienne des droits des victimes donnera aux victimes d'actes criminels les droits garantis par la loi suivants :

  • Droit à l'information
  • Droit à la protection
  • Droit de participation
  • Droit au dédommagement

La plupart des dispositions et des modifications de la Loi sur la Charte des droits des victimes, y compris la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes et les modifications du Code criminel, de la Loi sur la preuve au Canada et de la Loi sur l'assurance-emploi, entreront en vigueur 90 jours après la sanction royale. Les modifications de la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition entreront cependant en vigueur à la date ou aux dates fixées par décret. Ces changements auront une grande incidence sur la façon dont le SCC mène ses activités. Nous informerons les victimes inscrites et le grand public dès que l'information sera accessible.

En plus de la Charte canadienne des droits des victimes, le projet de loi C-479 (Équité à l'égard des victimes), qui a reçu la sanction royale en avril 2015 et le projet de loi C-489 (Conditions imposées aux délinquants), qui a reçu la sanction royale en juin 2014, ont aussi des répercussions sur les droits des victimes d'actes criminels.

Ligne sans frais du SCC

Vous pouvez fournir des renseignements au sujet d’un délinquant au SCC de façon anonyme en appelant au 1-866-780-3784 à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit.

Autres liens d’intérêt

Qu’advient-il d’un délinquant lorsqu’il est sous la garde du SCC? Vous pouvez vous reporter à  ce qui suit :