CORCAN Advisory Board

We know that our country is stronger and our government more effective when decision makers reflect Canada's diversity. Moving forward, the Government of Canada will use an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, strives for gender parity, and ensures that Indigenous Canadians and minority groups are properly represented in positions of leadership. We will continue to search for Canadians who reflect the values that we all embrace: inclusion, honesty, fiscal prudence, and generosity of spirit. Together, we will build a government as diverse as Canada.

Correctional Service Canada (CSC) is the federal government agency responsible for administering sentences of a term of two years or more, as imposed by the courts. CSC is responsible for managing institutions of various security levels and supervising offenders under conditional release in the community. As part of the criminal justice system and respecting the rule of law, CSC contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control.

CSC's corporate priorities stem from its mission, legislative framework and risk profile. They provide specific focus for the organization's direction, programs and initiatives. CSC has six priorities, which are all equally important.

  • Safe management of eligible offenders during their transition from the institution to the community, and while on supervision.
  • Safety and security of the public, victims, staff and offenders in institutions and in the community.
  • Effective, culturally appropriate interventions and reintegration support for First Nations, Métis and Inuit offenders.
  • Effective and timely interventions in addressing mental health needs of offenders.
  • Efficient and effective management practices that reflect values-based leadership in a changing environment.
  • Productive relationships with diverse partners, stakeholders, victims' groups, and others involved in support of public safety.

CORCAN is a special operating agency within CSC and is responsible for the employment and employability of federal offenders. CORCAN provides on-the-job training, apprenticeship hours, vocational certifications and soft skills training to CSC offenders during their incarceration and while under community supervision. CORCAN supports offenders on conditional release through employment support services, ongoing employment skills training and transitional employment opportunities.

In addition to program and support services, CORCAN has five business lines:

  • manufacturing
  • textiles
  • construction
  • services (i.e. vehicle refurbishment, printing and laundry)
  • agriculture

The CORCAN Advisory Board was established pursuant to the creation of CORCAN as a Special Operating Agency in 1992. CORCAN's Advisory Board is appointed by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness as legislated through Section 108 of the Corrections and Conditional Release Regulations (CCRR). The Advisory Board provides advice to the CORCAN Executive Management Committee on a broad range of issues including offender vocational training, employment opportunities, business activities, and partnerships with private sector and non-governmental orgranizations. The Advisory Board also supports CORCAN by advising senior management on the best way to position CORCAN given the current economic climate while also promoting the value of CORCAN to Canadian citizens.

The Advisory Board is comprised of prominent citizens from a variety of sectors that can represent a diverse range of expertise and knowledge to positively support the Correctional Service of Canada's Employment and Employability Program. This could include representatives from all levels of government, employment programs, business, labour, acedemia, and non-profit organizations. Board members are appointed in an advisory capacity only and are not expected to have any active part in the decision making process involving CORCAN operations.

The CORCAN Advisory Board is a necessary and important part of CSC's mandate to meet the needs of our diverse offender population and contribute to public safety results.

The Advisory Board will focus on discussing a variety of topics related to CORCAN, including:

  • Offender employment and employability program
  • CORCAN business line strategy to build relevant technical and transferable offender employment skills
  • Partnership and communications
  • Sales and marketing
  • Human resources recruitment and retention
  • Procurement and contracting

The board will be composed of not more than 12 members, including ex officio members that collectively represent a broad base of experience and knowledge related to supporting employment programming and business models.

As previous board members' terms have expired, CORCAN is seeking new applications for the role of Advisory Board member to support us in fulfilling our mandate and provide non-binding recommendations and advice to CORCAN.

Advisory Board members selected will be appointed to a three-year term. We look forward to announcing our new Advisory Board members in the near future.

Contact information

Inquiries can be made:

By email: kelly.hartle@csc-scc.gc.ca

By mail:
Kelly Hartle, CEO, CORCAN
340 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0P9

Date modified:

Comité consultatif de CORCAN

Nous savons que notre pays est plus fort et notre gouvernement plus efficace lorsque les décideurs reflètent la diversité du Canada. À l'avenir, le gouvernement du Canada suivra un processus de nomination transparent et fondé sur le mérite qui s'inscrit dans l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la parité entre les sexes et une représentation adéquate des Canadiens autochtones et des groupes minoritaires dans les postes de direction. Nous continuerons de rechercher des Canadiens qui incarnent les valeurs qui nous sont chères: l'inclusion, l'honnêteté, la prudence financière et la générosité d'esprit. Ensemble, nous créerons un gouvernement aussi diversifié que le Canada.

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) est l'organisme du gouvernement fédéral responsable de l'administration des peines de deux ans ou plus qui ont été imposées par les tribunaux. Le SCC gère des établissements de divers niveaux de sécurité et surveille les délinquants en liberté sous condition dans la collectivité. En tant que composante du système de justice pénale et dans la reconnaissance de la primauté du droit, le SCC a pour mission de contribuer à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain.

Les priorités organisationnelles du SCC s'appuient sur sa mission, son cadre législatif et son profil de risque. Ces priorités guident l'orientation, les programmes et les initiatives du Service. Le SCC a six priorités, toutes aussi importantes les unes que les autres.

  • La gestion en toute sécurité des délinquants admissibles durant leur transition de l'établissement à la collectivité et pendant qu'ils sont sous surveillance.
  • La sécurité des membres du public, y compris des victimes, du personnel et des délinquants dans nos établissements et dans la collectivité.
  • La prestation d'interventions efficaces et adaptées à la culture des délinquants issus des Premières Nations et des délinquants métis et Inuits.
  • La prestation d'interventions efficaces et adaptées à la culture des délinquants issus des Premières Nations et des délinquants métis et Inuits.
  • Des pratiques de gestion efficaces et efficientes qui reflètent un leadership axé sur les valeurs dans un environnement en évolution.
  • Des relations productives avec une diversité de partenaires, d'intervenants et de groupes de victimes et d'autres parties intéressées contribuant à la sécurité publique.

CORCAN est un organisme de service spécial du SCC qui est responsable de l’emploi et de l’employabilité des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. CORCAN offre de la formation en cours d’emploi, des heures d’apprentissage, des certifications professionnelles et de la formation en compétences générales aux délinquants du SCC durant leur incarcération et pendant qu’ils sont sous surveillance dans la collectivité. CORCAN appuie les délinquants en liberté sous condition en leur offrant des services de soutien à l’emploi, une formation continue portant sur les compétences relatives à l’employabilité et des possibilités d’emploi de transition.

En plus des programmes et des services de soutien, CORCAN compte cinq secteurs d’activité :

  • la fabrication
  • les textiles
  • la construction
  • les services (c.-à-d. la remise à neuf des véhicules, l'impression et la blanchisserie)
  • agriculture

Le Conseil consultatif de CORCAN a été établi après la création de CORCAN à titre d’organisme de service spécial en 1992. Le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile constitue le Conseil consultatif de CORCAN, comme le précise l'article 108 du Règlement sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (RSCMLC). Le Conseil consultatif conseille le Comité de la haute direction de CORCAN sur un large éventail de questions, notamment la formation professionnelle des délinquants, les possibilités d'emploi, les activités commerciales et les partenariats avec le secteur privé et avec des organismes non gouvernementaux. Le Conseil consultatif appuie également CORCAN en fournissant des conseils à la haute direction sur la meilleure façon de positionner CORCAN compte tenu de la situation économique actuelle et en mettant en valeur l'utilité de CORCAN auprès des citoyens canadiens.

Le Conseil consultatif est composé de citoyens éminents provenant de divers secteurs qui peuvent représenter un large éventail d'expertise et de connaissances pour appuyer positivement le Programme d'emploi et d'employabilité du Service correctionnel du Canada. Il pourrait s'agir de représentants de tous les ordres de gouvernement, des programmes d'emploi, des entreprises, des syndicats, des universités et des organismes sans but lucratif. Les membres du Conseil sont nommés à titre consultatif seulement et on ne s'attend pas à ce qu'ils jouent un rôle actif dans le processus décisionnel concernant les activités de CORCAN.

Le Conseil consultatif de CORCAN est un élément nécessaire et important du mandat du SCC pour répondre aux besoins de notre population diversifiée de délinquants et contribuer à la sécurité publique.

Le Conseil consultatif se concentrera sur divers sujets liés à CORCAN, notamment :

  • le Programme d'emploi et d'employabilité des délinquants;
  • la stratégie des secteurs d'activité de CORCAN pour acquérir des compétences techniques et transférables pertinentes en matière d'emploi pour les délinquants
  • les partenariats et les communications;
  • les ventes et le marketing;
  • les ressources humaines (recrutement et maintien en poste);
  • l'approvisionnement et la passation de contrats.

Le Conseil sera composé d'au plus 12 membres, y compris des membres d'office qui, collectivement, représentent une vaste base d'expérience et de connaissances liées au soutien des programmes d'emploi et des modèles opérationnels.

Étant donné que le mandat des anciens membres du Conseil s'est terminé, CORCAN cherche des nouveaux candidats pour devenir membres du Conseil consultatif afin de nous aider à remplir notre mandat et de fournir des recommandations et des conseils non contraignants à CORCAN.

Les membres du Conseil consultatif sélectionnés seront nommés pour un mandat de trois (3) ans. Nous sommes excités de faire l’annonce de nos nouveaux membres du Conseil dans un avenir proche.

Coordonnées

Vous pouvez aussi envoyer vos demandes de renseignements :

Par courriel : kelly.hartle@csc-scc.gc.ca

Par la poste :
Kelly Hartle, PDG, CORCAN
340, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0P9

Date de modification :