Program Room/Classroom

Incarceration alone does not produce the long-term changes that many offenders need to lead productive, law-abiding lives in the community. Correctional programs, in institutions and in the community, are essential to helping bring about positive changes in behaviour. Institutions offer program rooms like this one, where inmates can take various correctional programs and education programs depending on their needs. Those who actively take part in their programming are less likely to reoffend, and can learn a variety of skills that help them find meaningful work in the community.

Programs

Standard room for correctional and education programsCorrectional programs are offered to help inmates take responsibility for their actions. They have access to a variety of programs designed to address their risk factors. Education programs offered up to grade 12 and some post-secondary courses are available by correspondence. Unless they have already done so, inmates are required to complete their high school equivalent as part of their Correctional Plan.

Inmates are assessed for the admission criteria and are referred by their Parole Officer, Behavioural Science Technician or teacher, and the Correctional Intervention Board to determine suitability for the program.

Offender accountability is a two-way commitment. CSC provides inmates with the opportunity to learn skills needed to correct behaviour, but it’s up to each offender to use these tools and opportunities. A range of motivational strategies are used to help inmates see the value of participating in these correctional programs.

Books

Institutional library

This correctional facility’s medium-security unit is equipped with a library and has the assistance of a librarian. In some maximum-security units, the librarian offers a variety of books on a cart that are exchanged weekly. Fiction and nonfiction titles, as well as CSC’s policies and legal reference material are available to inmates. In addition to this any title or reference is available on request upon approval and if deemed appropriate by staff.

Hiring an offender

Employment in the institution is varied and includes opportunities such as kitchen worker, cleaners, or CORCAN skills development. Inmates are assigned by going through an application process, which includes an assessment phase and interview. Potential candidates are screened by CSC officials before they are placed in a position.

Inmates are expected to attend their assignments each day unless they have an authorized absence. They can lose their assignment if they are absent too often, or regularly fail to complete their assigned tasks. Skills development is essential to rehabilitation. It prepares inmates for real life situations and helps them prepare for life in the community as law-abiding citizens.

Yard

Outdoor yardInmates can spend some recreational time outdoors in a yard or in a gymnasium. The number of inmates that can be in the yard at a given time may be limited. Recreational time is only given once work and program times are finished.

Au-delà des murs : une visite virtuelle d’un pénitencier canadien - Salles de programmes et salles de classe

L'incarcération à elle seule ne produit pas les changements à long terme dont bien des délinquants ont besoin pour arriver à mener une vie productive à titre de citoyens respectueux des lois dans la collectivité. Les programmes correctionnels en établissement et dans la collectivité sont essentiels pour susciter des changements positifs dans le comportement des délinquants. Les établissements offrent des salles de programmes comme celle-ci, où les détenus peuvent suivre divers programmes correctionnels et programmes d'éducation en fonction de leurs besoins. Ceux qui prennent activement part à leurs programmes sont moins susceptibles de récidiver; de plus, ils peuvent acquérir tout un éventail de compétences qui les aident à trouver des emplois valables dans la collectivité. 

Programmes

Salle standard pour les programmes correctionnels et d’éducation

Les programmes correctionnels proposés aux détenus les aident à assumer la responsabilité de leurs actes. Ils ont accès à une variété de programmes conçus pour lutter contre les facteurs de risque.

Des programmes d'éducation additionnels sont offerts jusqu'à la douzième année et certains cours de formation postsecondaire peuvent être suivis par correspondance. Si ce n'est déjà fait, les détenus doivent obtenir l'équivalent d'un diplôme d'études secondaires dans le cadre de leur Plan correctionnel.

Les détenus sont évalués selon les critères d'admission puis dirigés vers les programmes jugés pertinents par leur agent de libération conditionnelle, leur technicien en science du comportement ou leur enseignant et le Comité d'intervention correctionnelle afin de déterminer si le programme répond aux besoins du délinquant.

Livres

Bibliothèque en établissement

L'unité à sécurité moyenne de cet établissement correctionnel dispose d'une bibliothèque et bénéficie des services d'un bibliothécaire. Des livres de fiction et/ou documentaires, les politiques du SCC et des ouvrages de référence juridiques y sont mis à la disposition des détenus. Dans certaines unités à sécurité maximale, le bibliothécaire apporte aux détenus une variété de livres, qu'ils peuvent échanger chaque semaine. De plus, si cela est jugé approprié par le personnel et après approbation, tout titre ou ouvrage de référence est disponible sur demande.

Embaucher un délinquant

Les emplois au sein de l'établissement sont variés. Les détenus peuvent entre autres travailler comme aides de cuisine ou préposés à l'entretien, ou encore participer à des programmes de perfectionnement des compétences offerts par CORCAN. Pour obtenir une affectation, les détenus doivent se soumettre au processus de demande, qui comprend une étape d'évaluation et une entrevue. Les candidats sont évalués par un représentant du SCC avant d'obtenir un poste.

Les détenus doivent se présenter à leur emploi ou programme tous les jours, à moins que leur absence soit autorisée. S'ils n'exécutent pas leurs tâches ou s'ils s'absentent trop souvent, ils peuvent perdre leur affectation.  Les programmes de perfectionnement des compétences sont essentiels à la réhabilitation, car ils préparent les détenus au monde du travail et à la vie dans la collectivité en tant que citoyens respectueux des lois.

Cour

Cour extérieureLes détenus peuvent profiter de temps libre dans une cour extérieure ou dans un gymnase. Le nombre de détenus qui se trouvent simultanément dans la cour peut être limité. La période de temps libre débute lorsque la période de travail et de programmes est terminée.