Maximum-Security Cell

Maximum-security institutions aim to prepare inmates for a medium-security environment. Although inmate movement throughout the institution is tightly controlled, inmates are encouraged to be actively engaged in their correctional plan. This can include correctional programs, employment activities, and education programs. In this institution, cells are equipped with a bed and desk fastened to the wall and floor. There is a personal sink and toilet in each cell.

Food Services

Meals for cart serviceFood services differ depending on the institution and security level. At many maximum-security institutions, inmates typically receive their meals through cart service. This means that all meals are brought to the range and passed along to inmates who eat in their individual cells. Other times, as in most medium-security institutions, inmates eat in a cafeteria. CSC also provides custom meals to inmates with specific dietary needs. This may include specific religious, or medical needs, as well as needs based on strongly held moral beliefs. Tailoring food services to each institution’s needs and population is one way to provide a safe and secure environment for both staff and inmates. Meals comply with Canada's Food Guide to Healthy Eating and the Dietary Reference Intakes for Canadians.

Institutional Routine

Institutions follow a daily routine. Here is an example of what a typical weekday schedule might look like:

  • 06:45 – Inmate count
  • 07:00 – Breakfast
  • 08:00 – Go to program, work or return to cell
  • 11:45 – Return to cell or range for inmate count and lunch
  • 13:00 – Go to program, work or return to cell
  • 15:15 – Return to cell or range for inmate count and dinner
  • 16:00 – Inmate Count
  • 16:30 – Dinner
  • 18:00 – Go to recreation, cultural events, self-help groups, etc.
  • 22:30 – Inmate count
  • 23:00 – Lock-up and lights out

Inmate counts and security patrols take place several times a day, without interrupting the schedule. During the night, Correctional Officers complete regular patrols to ensure inmates are safe and in their cells.

Au-delà des murs : une visite virtuelle d’un pénitencier canadien - Cellules des unités à sécurité maximale

Les établissements à sécurité maximale visent à préparer les détenus à progresser vers un environnement à sécurité moyenne. Bien que les déplacements des détenus dans l'établissement soient étroitement surveillés, on encourage les détenus à participer activement à leur Plan correctionnel, ce qui comprend des programmes correctionnels, des activités professionnelles et des programmes d'éducation. Dans cet établissement, les cellules sont équipées d'un lit et d'un bureau attachés au mur et au plancher. Chacune des cellules dispose également d'un lavabo et d'une toilette.

Services d'alimentation

Repas devant être transportés au moyen d’un chariot de serviceLes services d'alimentation diffèrent selon l'établissement et le niveau de sécurité. Dans beaucoup d'établissements à sécurité maximale, on utilise généralement un chariot de service pour transporter les repas jusqu'à la rangée, où ils sont distribués aux détenus, qui mangent dans leur cellule. Dans d'autres cas, comme dans la plupart des établissements à sécurité moyenne, les détenus mangent à une cafétéria. Le SCC fournit des repas adaptés aux détenus qui ont des besoins alimentaires particuliers, notamment pour des raisons religieuses particulières, des besoins médicaux ou en raison de solides croyances morales. Adapter les services d'alimentation aux besoins et à la population de chaque établissement est l'un des moyens utilisés par le SCC pour fournir un milieu sûr et sécuritaire tant au personnel qu'aux détenus. Dans tous les cas, les repas servis sont conformes aux normes du Guide alimentaire canadien et aux apports nutritionnels de référence du Canada.

 Horaire régulier de l'établissement

Les établissements suivent un horaire quotidien fixe. Voici un exemple de l'horaire normal d'un jour de semaine :

  • 6 h 45 – Dénombrement des détenus
  • 7 h 00 – Déjeuner
  • 8 h 00 – Participation à un programme, travail ou retour à la cellule
  • 11 h 00 – Retour à la cellule ou à la rangée pour le dénombrement des détenus et le dîner
  • 13 h 00 – Participation à un programme, travail ou retour à la cellule
  • 15 h 15 – Retour à la cellule ou à la rangée pour le dénombrement des détenus et le souper
  • 16 h 00 – Dénombrement des détenus
  • 16 h 30 – Souper
  • 18 h 00 – Activités de loisirs ou culturelles, groupes d'entraide, etc.
  • 22 h 30 – Dénombrement des détenus
  • 23 h 00 – Retour en cellule, verrouillage des portes et extinction des lumières

On procède à des patrouilles de sécurité et à des dénombrements des détenus plusieurs fois par jour, sans interrompre l'horaire. Pendant la nuit, les agents correctionnels font régulièrement des rondes pour s'assurer que les détenus sont en sécurité et qu'ils se trouvent bien dans leur cellule.