Opioid Agonist Treatment

The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) provides opiate agonist treatment (OAT) to patients with an opioid use disorder (OUD). CSC introduced methadone over 20 years ago methadone, Suboxone (buprenorphine-naloxone), and Sublocade (injectable buprenorphine).

Since December 2016, at the outset of the opioid overdose crisis, CSC has considerably increased the number of patients on OAT.  CSC has continued to address opioid use disorder during the COVID-19 pandemic from its beginning in March 2020.

Waitlists for access to OAT in CSC institutions

CSC has been working to reduce wait times for offenders who wish to participate in OAT. The following data show a point-in-time snapshot of the number of individuals, by institution, on OAT and the number of individuals on the wait list.

Guidance for OAT

In 2019, CSC developed a guidance document for the delivery of OAT to ensure consistent, standardized and effective treatment for patients across all sites and regions within CSC. Updates to the guidance are ongoing as appropriate, in partnership with public health and addictions experts, and will continue to be available on the CSC website.

More information

Date modified:

Traitement par agonistes aux opioïdes

Le SCC a introduit le traitement à la méthadone il y a plus de 20 ans, et maintenant fournit la méthadone, la suboxone (buprénorphine-naloxone) et la sublocade (buprénorphine injectable). 

Depuis décembre 2016, soit au début de la crise de surdosage des opioïdes, le nombre de personnes auxquelles le SCC a offert le TAO a augmenté considérablement. De plus, le SCC a poursuivi ses efforts pour contrer le trouble lié à la consommation d'opioïdes durant la pandémie de COVID-19, a partir de son début en mars 2020.

Listes d'attente pour suivre le TAO dans les établissements du SCC

Le SCC s'affaire à réduire les temps d'attente pour les patients qui souhaitent suivre le TAO. Les données qui suivent démontre un portrait du nombre de personnes, par établissement, qui suivent le TAO et du nombre de personnes inscrites sur les listes d'attente.

Orientation sur le traitement par agonistes opioïdes

En 2019, le SCC a élaboré un document d'orientation sur le TAO pour veiller à ce qu'il soit dispensé de manière cohérente, normalisée et efficace aux patients dans toutes les unités opérationnelles et les régions du SCC. L'orientation est actualisée au besoin en partenariat avec des experts en santé publique et en toxicomanie, et la plus récente version continue d'être accessible sur le site Web du SCC.

Plus d'information

Date de modification :