Raison d’être, mandate and role

Raison d’être, mandate and role: who we are and what we do

Raison d’être

The purpose of the federal correctional system, as defined in law, is to contribute to the maintenance of a just, peaceful and safe society by carrying out sentences imposed by courts through the safe and humane custody and supervision of offenders; and by assisting the rehabilitation of offenders and their reintegration into the community as law-abiding citizens through the provision of programs in penitentiaries and in the community (Corrections and Conditional Release Act, Section 3).

Mandate and role

CSC's mandate is to contribute to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure, and humane control.

Mission

The Correctional Service of Canada, as part of the criminal justice system and respecting the rule of law, contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control.

For more general information about the department, see the "Supplementary information" section of this report. For more information on the department's organizational mandate letter commitments, see the Minister's mandate letter on the Prime Minister of Canada's website.

Date modified:

Raison d’être, mandat et rôle

Raison d’être, mandat et rôle : composition et responsabilités

Raison d’être

Le but du système correctionnel fédéral, comme le définit la loi, est de contribuer au maintien d'une société juste, vivant en paix et en sécurité, d'une part, en assurant l'exécution des peines par des mesures de garde et de surveillance sécuritaires et humaines, et d'autre part, en aidant au moyen de programmes appropriés dans les pénitenciers ou dans la collectivité, à la réadaptation des délinquants et à leur réinsertion sociale à titre de citoyens respectueux des lois (Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition, article 3).

Mandat et rôle

Conformément à sa mission, le SCC contribue à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain.

Mission

Le Service correctionnel du Canada, en tant que composante du système de justice pénale et dans la reconnaissance de la primauté du droit, contribue à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain.

Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux sur le Ministère, veuillez consulter la section Renseignements supplémentaires du présent rapport. Pour en savoir davantage sur les engagements organisationnels du Ministère, consultez la lettre de mandat du ministre sur le site Web du premier ministre du Canada.

Date de modification :