CSC and the Office of the Correctional Investigator

The Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) is the ombudsman for federally sentenced offenders. The OCI provides independent oversight of the Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) by providing accessible, impartial and timely investigation of individual and systemic concerns. The OCI also helps CSC fulfill its mandate to support offender rehabilitation and maintain public safety by identifying issues of mutual concern in the federal correctional system.

For more information about the OCI, or to view OCI reports, visit their website:

CSC's responses to reports by the Office of the Correctional Investigator

When the Office of the Correctional Investigator (OCI) releases a report, CSC studies the recommendations made. After careful review and consideration of the recommendations, CSC develops a response that details the changes and commitments we have made and are making in areas of mutual concern. CSC has already begun work in many of the areas previously identified by the OCI, and has also implemented a number of recommendations from previous OCI reports.

CSC's responses to the annual reports of the OCI

CSC's responses to other reports produced by the OCI

2019

Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Report - Aging and Dying in Prison: An Investigation into the Experiences of Older Individuals in Federal Custody

2017

Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Report - Fatal Response: An Investigation into the Preventable Death of Matthew Ryan Hines

The Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) Response to the Correctional Investigator's Report entitled Missed Opportunities: The Experience of Young Adults Incarcerated in Federal Penitentiaries

2016

Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Report In the Dark: An Investigation into Correctional Service of Canada's Information Sharing and Disclosure Practices Following a Death in Custody

Interim Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Report on Information-sharing and Disclosure Practices Following a Death in Custody

2015

Response of the Correctional Service of Canada to the Correctional Investigator's Report a Three Year Review of Federal Inmate Suicides (2011-2014)

2014

Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Response to the Correctional Investigator's Correspondence dated January 10, 2014 follow-up to the Kent Institution Investigation

Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Response to the Correctional Investigator's Final Report: An Investigation of the Correctional Service of Canada's Mortality Review Process

2013

CSC's Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Report Spirit Matters: Aboriginal People and the Corrections and Conditional Release Act

2011

The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Progress Report: Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's (OCI) Deaths in Custody Study, the Correctional Investigator's (CI) Report: A Preventable Death, and the CSC National Board of Investigation into the Death of an Offender at Grand Valley Institution for Women (archived content)

Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Deaths in Custody Study, the Correctional Investigator's Report: A Preventable Death and the CSC National Board of Investigation into the Death of an Offender at Grand Valley Institution for Women (archived content)

2010

The Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator Report entitled: "An investigation into the Dangerous Use of Firearms at Kent Institution between January 8 and January 18, 2010"

Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Deaths in Custody Study, the Correctional Investigator's Report: A Preventable Death and the Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) National Board of Investigation into the Death of an Offender at Grand Valley Institution for Women, Updated Progress Report on the August 14, 2009 (archived content)

Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Deaths in Custody Study, the Correctional Investigator's Report: A Preventable Death and the Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) National Board of Investigation into the Death of an Offender at Grand Valley Institution for Women, Updated Progress Report on March 25, 2010 (archived content)

2009

Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) Response to the Office of the Correctional Investigator's Deaths in Custody Study, the Correctional Investigator's Report: A Preventable Death and the Correctional Service of Canada's (CSC) National Board of Investigation into the Death of an Offender at Grand Valley Institution for Women, Updated Progress Report on December 18, 2009 (archived content)

Date modified:

Le SCC et le Bureau de l’enquêteur correctionnel

/Le Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel (BEC) constitue l'ombudsman pour les délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale. Le BEC assure une surveillance indépendante du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) notamment en effectuant en temps opportun un examen impartial et accessible des préoccupations individuelles et systémiques. Le BEC aide le SCC à remplir son mandat, qui consiste à favoriser la réadaptation des délinquants et à assurer la sécurité publique en déterminant les sujets de préoccupation communs au sein du système correctionnel fédéral.

Visitez le site Web du BEC pour obtenir plus de renseignements à son sujet ou pour consulter ses rapports :

Réponses du SCC aux rapports du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel

Le SCC examine les recommandations formulées dans les rapports du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel. Après avoir examiné attentivement les recommandations, le SCC prépare une réponse qui explique, en détail, les changements qu'il a apportés et qu'il apporte ainsi que les engagements qu'il a pris dans les domaines suscitant des préoccupations communes. Le SCC a déjà commencé à travailler dans nombre des domaines relevés par le BEC, et il a aussi mis en œuvre plusieurs recommandations tirées de rapports antérieurs du BEC.

Réponses du SCC aux rapports annuels du BEC

Réponses du SCC aux autres rapports préparés par le BEC

2019

Réponse au rapport du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel : Vieillir et mourir en prison : Enquête sur les expériences vécues par les personnes âgées sous garde fédérale, Février 2019

2017

Réponse au rapport du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel Issue fatale : Enquête sur le décés évitable de Matthew Ryan Hines, Mai 2017

Réponse du SCC au rapport du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel intitulé Occasions manquées : L'expérience des jeunes adultes incarcérés dans les pénitenciers fédéraux

2016

Réponse au rapport du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel Laissés dans le noir : Enquête sur les pratiques relatives à l'échange et à la divulgation d'information sur les décès en établissement dans le système correctionnel fédéral

Réponse provisoire au rapport du bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel sur les pratiques relatives à l'échange et à la divulgation d'information après un décès en établissement

2015

Réponse du Service Correctionnel du Canada au rapport de l'enquêteur correctionnel examen triennal des suicides de détenus sous responsabilité fédérale (2011-2014) 

2014

Réponse du Service Correctionnel du Canada à l'enquêteur correctionnel suite à sa correspondance du 10 janvier 2014 mise à jour de l'enquête à l'établissement Kent

Réponse du Service correctionnel du Canada au Rapport final de l'Enquêteur correctionnel intitulé Enquête sur le processus d'examen des cas de décès du Service correctionnel du Canada

2013

Réponse du SCC au rapport du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel intitulé « Une question de spiritualité : Les Autochtones et la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (22 octobre 2012) »

2011

Rapport d'étape du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) Réponse à l'Étude sur les décès en établissement du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, au rapport Une mort évitable du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel et au rapport du Comité d'enquête nationale du SCC sur le décès d'une délinquante à l'Établissement pour femmes Grand Valley(contenu archivé)

Réponse du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) l'étude sur les décès en établissement du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, au rapport Une mort  évitable du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel et au rapport du Comité  d'enquête nationale du SCC sur le décès d'une délinquante à l'établissement pour femmes Grand Valley (contenu archivé)

2010

Réponse du SCC au rapport du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel intitulé « Enquête sur l'utilisation dangereuse d'armes à feu à l'Établissement de Kent durant la période du 8 janvier au 18 janvier 2010 »

Mise à jour au rapport d'étape sur la réponse du 14 août 2009 du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) à l'Étude sur les décès en établissement du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, au rapport Une mort évitable du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel et au rapport du Comité d'enquête nationale du SCC sur le décès d'une délinquante à l'Établissement pour femmes Grand Valley (contenu archivé)

Mise à jour au rapport d'étape sur la réponse du 14 août 2009 du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) à l'Étude sur les décès en établissement du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, au rapport Une mort évitable du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel et au rapport du Comité d'enquête nationale du SCC sur le décès d'une délinquante à l'Établissement pour femmes Grand Valley, 25 mars 2010 (contenu archivé)

2009

Rapport d'étape sur la réponse du 14 août 2009 du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) à l'étude sur les décès en établissement du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel, au rapport Une mort évitable du Bureau de l'enquêteur correctionnel et au rapport du Comité  d'enquête nationale du SCC sur le décès une délinquante à l'établissement pour femmes Grand Valley, 18 décembre 2009 (contenu archivé)

Date de modification :