2017 to 2018 Fees Report

2017 to 2018 Fees Report

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada,
represented by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, 2018

Catalogue No. PS81-18E-PDF

ISSN 2562-1386

This document is available on the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website at http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca

This document is available in alternative formats upon request.

The Honourable Ralph Goodale, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Minister's message

On behalf of the Correctional Service of Canada, I am pleased to present the 2017 to 2018 Fees Report.

On June 22, 2017, the Service Fees Act received royal assent, thereby repealing the User Fees Act.

The Service Fees Act introduces a modern legislative framework that enables cost-effective delivery of services and, through enhanced reporting to Parliament, improved transparency and oversight. The act provides for:

This 2017 to 2018 Fees Report is the first report to be prepared under the Service Fees Act.  The report includes new information such as a detailed listing of all fees along with future-year fee amounts. Additional fee information will be included starting next fiscal year, once the Correctional Service of Canada fully transitions to the Service Fees Act regime.

I welcome the increased transparency and oversight that the Service Fees Act's reporting regime embodies, and I am fully committed to transitioning CSC to this modern framework.

Sincerely,

 

The Honourable Ralph Goodale, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

General fees information

The tables that follow provide information on each category of fees, including:

In addition to the information presented by fee category, there is a summary of the financial information for all fees as well as a listing of fees under the department's authority. This listing includes the existing fee dollar amounts and the adjusted dollar fee amount for a future year.

General and financial information by fee category

General information
Fee category Fees for processing requests filed under the Access to Information Act
Fee-setting authority Access to Information Act
Year introduced 1983
Year last amended 2018
Service standard A response is provided within 30 days following receipt of a request; the response time may be extended under section 9 of the Access to Information Act.
Performance results In fiscal year 2017-2018, CSC received 474 formal access requests and had 327 requests outstanding from fiscal year 2016-2017 for 801 requests. CSC responded to 377 access to information requests, representing a compliance rate of 47% (of the total number of requests received and outstanding from the previous reporting period).  
Other information Effective March 31, 2015 no fees are required other than the $5.00 application fee. This is a result of direction from the Treasury Board Secretariat on transforming the Access to Information Act, which has been confirmed in the TBS Interim Directive on the Administration of the Access to Information Act.

Under the Access to Information Act, fees under $25 may be waived when deemed to be in the public interest. Fees waived during 2017–18 totalled $20.

Financial information (dollars)
2016 to 2017
Revenue
2017 to 2018
Revenue
2017 to 2018
Cost*
2017 to 2018
Remissions†
1,845 1,815 624,609 20
* The amount includes direct and indirect costs, where such costs are identifiable and material.

† A remission is a partial or full return of a fee paid. Under the Service Fees Act, departments are required to develop policies that determine when fees will be remitted to fee payers should service standards not be met. The requirement for departments to remit is anticipated to come into effect on March 31, 2020. This effective date allows departments time to develop remissions policies and adjust service standard tracking and remittance systems. During fiscal year 2017 to 2018, some departments may have issued remissions, in accordance with the authority of their enabling legislation or regulation, as opposed to the authority given by the Service Fees Act. It is remissions issued under enabling legislations or regulations that are shown above.

Fees under the department's authority

Based on an analysis of Correctional Service of Canada's activities, there are no fees under the department's authority.

Date modified:

2017 à 2018 Rapport sur les frais

2017 à 2018 Rapport sur les frais

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada,
représentée par le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, 2018

No de cat. PS81-18F-PDF

ISSN 2562-1394

Nota : Pour ne pas alourdir le texte français, le masculin est utilisé pour désigner tant les hommes que les femmes.

Ce document est accessible sur le site Web du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada à http://www.tbs sct.gc.ca.

Ce document est disponible en médias substituts sur demande.

L'honorable Ralph Goodale, C.P., député
Ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile

Message du ministre

Au nom du Service correctionnel du Canada, j'ai le plaisir de présenter le Rapport sur les frais de 2017 à 2018.

Le 22 juin 2017, la Loi sur les frais de service recevait la sanction royale, abrogeant ainsi la Loi sur les frais d'utilisation.

La Loi sur les frais de service introduit un cadre législatif moderne qui permet une prestation rentable des services et, grâce à une présentation de rapports améliorés au Parlement, une transparence et une surveillance accrues. La loi prévoit :

Le présent Rapport sur les frais de 2017 à 2018 est le premier rapport à être préparé en vertu de la Loi sur les frais de service. Il comprend de nouveaux renseignements, comme une liste détaillée de tous les frais ainsi que les montants des frais de l'année à venir. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur les frais seront inclus à compter du prochain exercice, une fois que Service correctionnel Canada aura effectué la transition complète au régime de la Loi sur les frais de service.

J'invite la transparence et la surveillance accrues que renferme le régime de reddition de comptes de la Loi sur les frais de service, et je suis pleinement déterminé à faire passer le SCC à ce cadre moderne.

Cordialement,



L'honorable Ralph Goodale, C.P., député
Ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile

Renseignements généraux sur les frais

Les tableaux qui suivent fournissent des renseignements sur chaque catégorie de frais, notamment :

En plus des renseignements présentés par catégorie de frais, un résumé des renseignements financiers pour tous les frais ainsi qu'une liste des frais en vertu du pouvoir du ministère sont inclus. Cette liste comprend les montants en dollars des frais existants et le montant en dollars rajusté des frais pour une année subséquente.

Renseignements généraux et financiers par catégorie de frais

Renseignements généraux
Catégorie de frais Frais pour le traitement des demandes déposées en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information
Pouvoir d'établissement des frais Loi sur l'accès à l'information
Année de mise en œuvre 1983
Dernière année de modification 2018
Norme de service Une réponse est fournie dans les 30 jours suivant la réception d'une demande. Le délai de réponse peut être prolongé en vertu de l'article 9 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.
Résultats de rendement Au cours de l'exercice 2017-2018, le SCC a reçu 474 demandes d'accès formelles et 327 demandes en suspens depuis l'exercice 2016-2017 pour 801 demandes. Le SCC a répondu à 377 demandes d'accès à l'information, ce qui représente un taux de conformité de 47% (sur le nombre total de demandes reçues et en attente depuis la période de référence précédente).
Autres renseignements À compter du 31 mars 2015, aucun frais n'est requis, à l'exception des frais de demande de 5,00 $. Cela découle des directives du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor concernant la transformation de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, confirmées dans la Directive provisoire du SCT sur l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, les frais de moins de 25 $ peuvent être annulés s'ils sont réputés être dans l'intérêt public. Les frais annulés en 2017-2018 ont totalisé 20 $.

Renseignements financiers (en dollars)
Revenus
2016 à 2017
Revenus
2017 à 2018
Coût*
2017 à 2018
Remises†
2017 à 2018
1 845 1 815 624 609 20
* Le montant comprend les coûts directs et indirects, lorsque ces coûts peuvent être déterminés et qu'ils sont importants.

† Une remise est un remboursement partiel ou total de frais payés. En vertu de la Loi sur les frais de service, les ministères sont tenus d'élaborer des politiques qui déterminent quand les frais seront remis aux utilisateurs si les normes de service ne sont pas respectées. L'obligation pour les ministères de remettre les frais devrait entrer en vigueur le 31 mars 2020. Cette date d'entrée en vigueur donne aux ministères le temps d'élaborer des politiques en matière de remises et d'adapter les systèmes de suivi des normes de service et de remise des frais. Au cours de l'exercice 2017 à 2018, certains ministères peuvent avoir émis des remises, conformément à l'autorité de leurs lois habilitantes ou de leurs règlements, par opposition à l'autorité accordée par la Loi sur les frais de service. Les remises présentées ci-dessus sont celles émises en vertu de lois ou de règlements habilitants.

Frais en vertu du pouvoir du Ministère

Selon une analyse des activités du Service correctionnel du Canada, il n'y a aucuns frais sous la responsabilité du ministère.

Date de modification :