Validating the Computerized Mental Health Intake Screening System

Key Words

Mental Health Screening, Offenders, Sensitivity, Specificity

Why we’re doing this study

A standardized system for screening federal offenders for psychological problems is required as part of a comprehensive strategy to provide mental health services for federally sentenced offenders. The Computerized Mental Health Intake Screening System (CoMHISS) is a set of self-report measures designed to identify offenders at intake who need such services. This research was undertaken to determine if CoMHISS is a valid system for identifying these offenders.

What we’re doing

CoMHISS is comprised of the Brief Symptom Inventory (BSI), Depression Hopelessness and Suicide Scale (DHS) and Paulhus Deception Scale (PDS). These measures, along with the Jail Screening Assessment Tool, Cognistat, Adult ADHD Self-Report Scale, and Brief Jail Mental Health Screen, were administered to 500 male offenders at the Regional Reception Assessment Centre (RRAC) in Pacific region between October 2006 and September 2007. This sample represents 96% of incoming offenders at RRAC over a 12 month period. Case reports based on clinical interviews were coded to determine if recommendations for further mental health services were made. Results of CoMHISS were compared to the recommendations for further services from the files.

CoMHISS identified a case for mental health service when results produced a T-score of 65 or greater on the Global Symptom Inventory (GSI) or two or more of the nine symptom specific subscales of the BSI, DHS Depression or Hopelessness scores at or above the recommended cut-off scores, or endorsement of a current suicide ideation item on the DHS.

What we’ve found so far

The 2 by 2 table below presents the proportion of the 500 offenders who were screened in by CoMHISS and were determined by mental health professionals to require follow up. The sensitivity of CoMHISS (correct identification by CoMHISS of cases requiring service) was 76% (139/182), and specificity (correct identification of cases not requiring service) was 65% (208/318). CoMHISS has a 53% Relative Improvement Over Chance (RIOC), performing 53% better than randomly screening in offenders.

Table 1
The 2 by 2 table below presents the proportion of the 500 offenders who were screened in by CoMHISS and were determined by mental health professionals to require follow up. The sensitivity of CoMHISS (correct identification by CoMHISS of cases requiring service) was 76% (139/182), and specificity (correct identification of cases not requiring service) was 65% (208/318). CoMHISS has a 53% Relative Improvement Over Chance (RIOC), performing 53% better than randomly screening in offenders.
Requires Services Screened In by CoMHISS Total
Yes No
Yes 28% 9% 36%
No 22% 42% 64%
Total 50% 50% 100%

The 9% of cases that required service, but were missed by CoMHISS (false negatives) are of particular concern. Examination determined that 35% of these cases had been assessed as having cognitive deficits.

What it means

The results presented above support the use of the CoMHISS to inform decisions on the early identification of offenders with psychological problems. The research has also identified potential areas for improvement to the process by including a measure of cognitive functioning.

Prepared by: Geoff Wilton

Contact

Research Branch

(613) 996-3287

Validation du Système informatisé de dépistage des troubles mentaux à l'évaluation initiale

Mots clés

Dépistage des troubles mentaux, délinquants, sensibilité, spécificité

Ce que nous avons fait

Le SIDTMEI comprend le Bref inventaire des symptômes (BSI), l'Échelle de la dépression, du désespoir et du suicide (DHS) et l'Échelle d'illusion sur soi-même de Paulhus (PDS). Ces mesures ainsi que l'Outil d'évaluation et de dépistage en prison, Cognistat, l'Échelle d'autoévaluation du THADA et l'outil rapide de dépistage de problèmes de santé mentale en prison (Brief Jail Mental Health Screen) ont été utilisés auprès de 500 délinquants de sexe masculin au Centre régional de réception et d'évaluation (CRRE) dans la région du Pacifique, entre octobre 2006 et septembre 2007. Cet échantillon représente 96 % des délinquants admis au CRRE sur une période de 12 mois. Nous avons codé les rapports de cas basés sur des entrevues cliniques pour déterminer si des recommandations en vue de l'obtention d'autres services de santé mentale ont été faites. Les résultats du SIDTMEI ont été comparés à ces recommandations basées sur les dossiers.

Le SIDTMEI repère un cas devant recevoir des services de santé mentale lorsque les résultats correspondent à un score T de 65 ou plus à l'Inventaire global des symptômes (GSI) ou à deux ou plus des neuf sous­échelles de symptômes spécifiques du BSI, des scores égaux ou supérieurs aux scores seuils recommandés à l'Échelle de la dépression ou du désespoir (DHS) ou confirmation d'une idée suicidaire actuelle en réponse à une question du DHS.

Ce que nous avons constaté

Table 1
Le tableau à double entrée ci-dessous illustre la proportion des 500 délinquants qui ont subi un dépistage par le SIDTMEI et qui, selon des professionnels en santé mentale, devaient faire l'objet d'un suivi. La sensibilité du SIDTMEI (l'identification correcte par le SIDTMEI des cas ayant besoin de services) était de 76 % (139/182) et la spécificité (l'identification correcte des cas n'ayant pas besoin de services) était de 65 % (208/318). Selon la technique de l'amélioration relative par rapport au hasard (ARRH), le SIDTMEI présente une probabilité de 53 % d'avoir un rendement supérieur à un dépistage aléatoire chez les délinquants.
Ont besoin de services Dépistage par le SIDTMEI Total
Oui Non
Oui 28% 9% 36%
Non 22% 42% 64%
Total 50% 50% 100%

Le 9 % des cas qui ont besoin de services, mais qui n'ont pas été repérés par le SIDTMEI (faux négatifs) est particulièrement inquiétant. Un examen de contrôle a révélé que 35 % de ces cas ont été considérés comme ayant des déficits cognitifs.

Ce que cela signifie

Les résultats présentés ci-dessus confirment l'utilité d'avoir recours au SIDTMEI pour étayer les décisions en matière d'identification précoce des délinquants ayant des troubles psychologiques. L'étude a également fait ressortir la possibilité d'améliorer le processus en incluant une mesure du fonctionnement cognitif.

Rédigé par : Geoff Wilton

Pour nous joindre

Direction de la recherche

(613) 996-3287