Institutional Behaviour and Post-Release Outcomes for Veteran Men Offenders

Research Highlights: Veteran offenders have more stable institutional behaviour and better post-release outcomes than non-veterans.

Publication

No R-435

A full PDF is also available for download on the Government of Canada Publications.

Institutional Behaviour and Post-Release Outcomes for Veteran Men Offenders

Research at a Glance – PDF

December 2020
ISBN: 978-0-660-36245-8
Cat. No. : PS84-155/2020E-PDF

Why we did this study

The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) and Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC) established a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) in 2012 in order to improve mental health and other health services for federal veteran offenders, to collaborate on ways to enhance staff knowledge in the area of mental health, and to share learning and strategies for building effective government and community partnerships. One objective of this partnership was to explore research projects of mutual benefit, with a focus on incarcerated veterans with mental health needs. This report adds to our knowledge about Canadian federal veteran offenders by providing a comprehensive examination of their institutional behaviour and post-release experiences.

In Canada, 2.5% to 3% of federal offenders have self-reported veteran status compared to 2% of the general population. Federal veteran offenders are more likely to be men, white, educated, and older than non-veteran offenders. They are more likely to have committed violent, especially sex-related offences, and to have identified mental health concerns. They have lower criminogenic risk and needs and a higher reintegration potential. Footnote 1

What we did

Offenders assessed by the CSC’s Computerized Mental Health Intake Screening System (CoMHISS) between August 2014 and March 2018 were included in this study. Men offenders who self-reported former service in the Canadian Forces were identified as veterans (N = 374) while all other men offenders were categorized as non-veterans (N = 14,471).Footnote 2, Footnote 3 Additional information from CSC’s Offender Management System (OMS) was extracted.

What we found

Overall, veteran offenders had more stable institutional behaviour than non-veterans as evidenced by fewer disciplinary charges (37% versus 46%), institutional incidents (46% versus 52%), and positive random urinalysis tests (9% versus 13%). Although fewer veterans than non-veterans were referred for correctional programing (61% versus 70%), the rates for program completion were comparable (58% for moderate intensity and 13% to 16% for high).

Eighty percent of veterans and 75% of non-veterans were released during the study period. Among offenders supervised on conditional release, veteran offenders had fewer suspensions of release (28% versus 35%) and returns to custody (with or without an offence; 21% versus 25%) than non-veterans. Although fewer veterans were employed than non-veterans during release (55% versus 64%), among those employed, veterans were as likely as non-veterans to have full-time employment (74% to 76%). Also, veterans were more likely to be unemployed due to having other sources of income or barriers that prevented them from working (19% versus 12%).

What it means

Veteran offenders are a small sub-group within the federal offender population with mental health concerns, although they have more stable institutional behaviour and greater post-release success than non-veteran offenders. Finally, enhancing data capacity to examine the experiences of veteran offenders would provide on-going research opportunities and ensure that these offenders receive the support necessary to address physical and mental health impacts of their service.

For more information

Farrell MacDonald, S., & Cram, S. Institutional behaviour and post-release outcomes for veteran offenders (Research Report R-435). Ottawa, Ontario: Correctional Service of Canada.

To obtain a PDF version of the full report, or for other inquiries, please e-mail the Research Branch or contact us by phone at (613) 995-3975.

You can also visit the Research Publications section for a full list of reports and one-page summaries.

Date modified:

Comportement en établissement et résultats postlibératoires des vétérans délinquants

Faits saillants de la recherche: Les vétérans délinquants ont un comportement plus stable en établissement et de meilleurs résultats postlibératoires que les délinquants civils.

Publication

No R-435

Une version PDF complète peut également être téléchargée à partir du catalogue des publications du gouvernement du Canada.

Comportement en établissement et résultats postlibératoires des vétérans délinquants

Recherche en un coup d’oeil – PDF

Décembre 2020
ISBN : 978-0-660-36246-5
No de Cat.: PS84-155/2020F-PDF

Pourquoi nous avons effectué cette étude

En 2012, le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) et Anciens Combattants Canada (ACC) ont établi un protocole d’entente en vue d’améliorer les services de santé mentale et d’autres services de santé destinés aux vétérans délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale, de collaborer à des façons d’accroître les connaissances du personnel dans le domaine de la santé mentale et d’échanger des connaissances et des stratégies visant à établir des partenariats efficaces entre le gouvernement et la collectivité. L’un des objectifs de ce partenariat était d’examiner des projets de recherche présentant un intérêt pour les deux organisations et de porter une attention particulière aux vétérans incarcérés ayant des besoins en santé mentale. Ce rapport vient enrichir nos connaissances sur les vétérans délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale en offrant un examen complet de leur comportement en établissement et de leurs expériences postlibératoires.

Au Canada, de 2,5 à 3 % des délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale ont dit être des vétérans, comparativement à 2 % de la population générale. Les vétérans délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale sont plus susceptibles d’être des hommes blancs, instruits et plus âgés que les délinquants civils. Ils sont plus susceptibles d’avoir commis des crimes violents, surtout à caractère sexuel, et d’avoir des problèmes de santé mentale. Ils présentent des risques et des besoins criminogènes plus faibles et un potentiel de réinsertion sociale plus élevéNote de bas de page 1.

Ce que nous avons fait

Les délinquants évalués au moyen du Système informatisé de dépistage des troubles mentaux à l'évaluation initiale (SIDTMEI) du SCC entre août 2014 et mars 2018 ont été inclus dans cette étude. Les délinquants qui ont déclaré avoir servi dans les Forces canadiennes ont été désignés comme étant des vétérans (N = 374), tandis que tous les autres délinquants ont été classés comme étant des civils (N = 14 471) Note de bas de page 2, Note de bas de page 3. Des renseignements additionnels ont été extraits du Système de gestion des délinquant(e)s du SCC.

Ce que nous avons constaté

Dans l’ensemble, les vétérans délinquants avaient un comportement en établissement plus stable que les délinquants civils, comme en témoigne le moins grand nombre d’accusations d’infraction disciplinaire (37 % par rapport à 46 %), d’incidents en établissement (46 % par rapport à 52 %) et de résultats positifs aux analyses d’urine aléatoires (9 % par rapport à 13 %). Bien que moins de vétérans aient été aiguillés vers des programmes correctionnels (61 % comparativement à 70 %), les taux d’achèvement d’un programme étaient comparables (58 % pour les programmes d’intensité modérée et 13 à 16 % pour ceux d’intensité d’élevée).

Dans l’ensemble, 80 % des vétérans et 75 % des civils ont été libérés au cours de la période visée par l’étude. Parmi les délinquants sous surveillance en liberté sous condition, les vétérans délinquants avaient fait l’objet d’un nombre moindre de suspensions de la mise en liberté (28 % comparativement à 35 %) et de réincarcérations (avec ou sans infraction; 21 % par rapport à 25 %) que les civils. Bien que moins de vétérans que de civils aient occupé un emploi pendant leur mise en liberté (55 % comparativement à 64 %), parmi ceux qui travaillaient, les vétérans étaient aussi susceptibles que les civils d’occuper un emploi à temps plein (74 à 76 %). En outre, les vétérans étaient plus susceptibles d’être sans emploi en raison d’autres sources de revenu ou d’obstacles qui les empêchaient de travailler (19 % par rapport à 12 %).

Ce que cela signifie

Les vétérans délinquants constituent un petit sous-groupe de la population sous responsabilité fédérale présentant des problèmes de santé mentale, bien qu’ils aient un comportement en établissement plus stable et de meilleurs résultats postlibératoires que les délinquants civils. Enfin, l’amélioration de la capacité de données visant à examiner les expériences des vétérans délinquants permettrait de poursuivre les recherches et de s’assurer que ces derniers reçoivent le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour faire face aux répercussions de leur service sur leur santé physique et mentale.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Farrell MacDonald, S., et S. Cram. Comportement en établissement et résultats postlibératoires des vétérans délinquants (Rapport de recherche R-435). Ottawa (Ontario) : Service correctionnel du Canada.

Pour obtenir le rapport complet en version PDF, veuillez en faire la demande à la Direction de la recherche ou par téléphone au 613-995-3975.

Vous pouvez également visiter la page des Publications de recherche pour obtenir une liste complète des rapports et des sommaires de recherche.

Date de modification :