Prescription Practices for Psychotropic Medications in the Community and in Prison Populations: Review of Current Literature

Research Highlights

Off-label use of psychoactive drugs is common in the community, comprising 30% to 50% of prescriptions for these drugs

Why we did this study

Recent questions have been raised about the perceived high rates of prescription of psychoactive drugs to federal inmates. There is a concern that there may be an increased risk for off-label abuse of psychotropic medication in prison settings to control disruptive behaviour.

What we did

A literature review of prescription practices for psychoactive drug both in the general population and in prisons was conducted focusing on the Canadian context.

What we found

In the general population, psychotropic medications are used to treat a wide range of mental disorders. An estimated 10% - 20% of the general population use prescribed psychotropic medications.

Among prison inmates, international studies report the prevalence of prescribed psychotropic medication use at 20% for males, and between 40% - 50% for females.

A recent Canadian national study of federal inmates reported that 30% of inmates had a prescription for at least one psychotropic medication (Farrell-MacDonald, Keown, Boudreau, Gobeil, & Wardrop, 2015). These results suggest that the prevalence of prescribed psychotropic medication use among inmates is nearly four times greater than in the Canadian population possibly reflecting the high rates of current mental disorder in this population.

‘Off-label’ use of medication, that is, use of a drug in a population, for an indication or at a dosage or method of administration for which it has not been approved, is common, especially in paediatrics, psychiatry, among the elderly, in transplant medicine, HIV/AIDS treatment, and in cancer treatment. International studies report that as many of 30% - 50% of prescriptions for psychotropic medications are for off-label use.

Medical practitioners argue that there are many good reasons for prescribing drugs off-label, and off-label prescribing is tacitly supported by professional associations, hospitals and even government agencies. However, off-label use of psychotropic medications is not without risk, including unknown, adverse side effects and possible legal liability. These concerns are especially germane when considering the use of psychotropic medications in prison populations in which the lack of treatment resources, the high rate of substance use disorder, and the captive nature of the population may increase the possibility that psychotropic medications could be misused.

What it means

Off-label prescription of medication, including psychotropic medications, is common medical practice. Given only the largely anecdotal evidence currently available about the use of psychotropic medications and their off-label uses among prison inmates, there is a strong need to undertake research to examine the prevalence of approved and off-label use of psychotropic medication in the prison environment, and to identify any potential concerns with their use. This study is currently being undertaken by the Correctional Service of Canada.

For more information

Brown, G. (2017). Prescription practices for psychotropic medications in the community and in prison populations: Review of current literature. (Research Report R-382). Ottawa, Ontario: Correctional Service of Canada.

To obtain a PDF version of the full report, or for other inquiries, please e-mail the Research Branch or contact us by phone at (613) 995-3975.

You can also visit the Research Publications section for a full list of reports and one-page summaries.

Pratiques de prescription des médicaments psychotropes dans la collectivité et en milieu carcéral : Examen de la littérature actuelle

Faits saillants de la recherche

L’utilisation de médicaments psychotropes à des fins non indiquées sur l’étiquette est une pratique répandue dans la collectivité. En effet, de 30 % à 50 % des médicaments psychotropes sont prescrits à de telles fins.

Pourquoi nous avons effectué cette étude?

On a récemment soulevé des questions relativement aux taux élevés perçus de prescription de médicaments psychotropes à des détenus sous responsabilité fédérale. On craint qu’il y ait un risque accru d’utilisation des médicaments psychotropes à des fins non indiquées sur l’étiquette en milieu carcéral pour contrôler les comportements perturbateurs.

Ce que nous avons fait

Nous avons mené une analyse documentaire des pratiques de prescription de médicaments psychotropes au sein de la population générale et en milieu carcéral en mettant l’accent sur le contexte canadien.

Ce que nous avons constaté

Au sein de la population générale, les médicaments psychotropes sont utilisés pour traiter un large éventail de troubles mentaux. On estime que de 10 % à 20 % des membres de la population générale prennent des médicaments psychotropes sur ordonnance.

Pour ce qui est du milieu carcéral, les études internationales indiquent un taux de prévalence de prescription de médicaments psychotropes de 20 % chez les hommes et de 40 % à 50 % chez les femmes.

Une récente étude nationale canadienne sur les détenus sous responsabilité fédérale a révélé que 30 % des détenus avaient reçu une prescription pour au moins un médicament psychotrope (Farrell MacDonald, Keown, Boudreau, Gobeil et Wardrop, 2015). Ces résultats donnent à penser que la prévalence de l’utilisation de médicaments psychotropes prescrits en milieu carcéral est près de quatre fois supérieure à celle au sein de la population canadienne, ce qui reflète peut-être les taux élevés de troubles mentaux qu’affichent actuellement les détenus.

L’utilisation « non indiquée sur l’étiquette » des médicaments, c’est-à-dire l’utilisation d’un médicament au sein d’une population à une fin ou selon une posologie ou une méthode d’administration qui n’ont pas été approuvées, est chose courante, surtout en pédiatrie, en psychiatrie, chez les aînés, en cas de transplantation et pour le traitement du VIH/sida et du cancer. Des études internationales révèlent que de 30 % à 50 % des médicaments psychotropes prescrits le sont à une fin non indiquée sur l’étiquette.

Les médecins praticiens font valoir qu’il y a de nombreuses bonnes raisons de prescrire des médicaments à des fins non indiquées sur l’étiquette et qu’une telle utilisation des médicaments est approuvée tacitement par les associations professionnelles, les hôpitaux et même les organismes gouvernementaux. Cependant, l’utilisation des médicaments psychotropes à des fins non indiquées sur l’étiquette n’est pas sans risque. Elle comporte notamment la possibilité d’effets indésirables inconnus et d’une responsabilité juridique. Ces préoccupations sont particulièrement pertinentes lorsque l’on prend en considération l’utilisation de médicaments psychotropes en milieu carcéral, où le manque de ressources de traitement, le taux élevé de toxicomanie et la captivité de la population peuvent accroître le risque de mauvaise utilisation des médicaments psychotropes.

Ce que cela signifie

La prescription de médicaments, y compris les médicaments psychotropes, à des fins non indiquées sur l’étiquette est une pratique médicale répandue. Vu le caractère essentiellement anecdotique des données probantes actuellement accessibles sur l’utilisation des médicaments psychotropes et leurs utilisations non indiquées sur l’étiquette en milieu carcéral, il serait très important de réaliser une recherche pour examiner la prévalence de l’utilisation approuvée de médicaments psychotropes à des fins non indiquées sur l’étiquette en milieu carcéral et pour cerner toutes les préoccupations éventuelles concernant cette utilisation. Une telle étude est actuellement réalisée par le Service correctionnel du Canada.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Brown, G. (2017). Pratiques de prescription des médicaments psychotropes dans la collectivité et en milieu carcéral : Examen de la littérature actuelle. (Rapport de recherche R 382). Ottawa (Ontario) : Service correctionnel du Canada.

Pour obtenir le rapport complet en version PDF, veuillez en faire la demande à la Direction de la recherche ou par téléphone au 613-995-3975.

Vous pouvez également visiter la page des Publications de recherche pour une liste complète des rapports et sommaires de recherche.