Publications

Speakers Binder

Section 2
The Mandate, Mission and Priorities of the Correctional Service of Canada

PDF (58 kb)

The Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) is the federal government agency responsible for administering sentences of a term of two years or more, as imposed by the courts. CSC offers a variety of programs for offenders within the institution and those on parole in the community to assist them to successfully reintegrate into society as law-abiding citizens.

CSC does not determine the guilt or innocence of persons charged under the Criminal Code or other related statutes or set sentences for convicted offenders. When an offender is eligible for parole, CSC makes a recommendation to the National Parole Board (NPB), based on its assessment of the risk posed to society and the offender’s potential to reintegrate. CSC is also responsible for offenders on parole, statutory release and long-term supervision orders.

1. Legislation

There are several pieces of legislation that govern the functioning of CSC. The Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA) and the Corrections and Conditional Release Regulations (CCRR) are the key legislative documents. Other governing legislation includes:

Corrections and Conditional Release Act (CCRA)

The CCRA governs the federal correctional system, and sets forth the legal framework within which the CSC must operate. It defines the principles for the administration of federal sentences along with the requirements for sentence calculation, forms of conditional release, and eligibility criteria not included in the Criminal Code.

In addition to detailing the purpose of the CSC and the principles for administering federal sentences, the CCRA also mandates CSC with the following responsibilities:

  • care and custody of inmates
  • provision of programs that assist with rehabilitation and successful reintegration into the community
  • preparation of inmates for release
  • parole, statutory release supervision and long-term supervision of offenders
  • providing a program of public education about the operations of CSC
Striking a fair balance between control and assistance

The CCRA aims to strike a fair balance between two inter-related strategies:

  • exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control of offenders in correctional institutions and of offenders under supervision in the community
  • assisting and encouraging offenders to become law-abiding citizens

The principle goal is public safety. This is promoted by proper control of offenders and with programs that help individuals rehabilitate. Rehabilitation programs are important because most offenders will complete their sentence and return to the community.

During incarceration, public safety is achieved by ensuring the secure custody of offenders and maintaining a safe environment for both staff and inmates. However, this is a time-limited strategy, as inmates who serve their sentences will be released from prison's secure environment. Therefore, it is equally important to prepare inmates for a successful return to the community as law-abiding citizens. This strategy contributes to long-term public safety.

Policy

All CSC policies are consistent with the CCRA and CCRR, as well as other applicable statutes, regulations and policies of the Government of Canada. Policies incorporate the values of CSC’s Mission and support CSC’s priorities and objectives. CSC policies also reflect special needs of offenders, including those relating to gender, culture and religion.

CSC policies are mandatory rules that govern the management of the Service, including the operation of its programs and activities. Commissioner’s Directives (CDs) and Standing Operating Practices (SOPs) are considered operational policies, which are developed subject to Sections 97 and 98 of the CCRA.

As per Section 97 of the CCRA, the Commissioner may make rules:

  1. for the management of the Service;
  2. for the matters described in section 4 of the CCRA; and
  3. generally for carrying out the purposes and provisions of this Part and the regulations.

Section 98 of the CCRA further states that the Commissioner may designate as Commissioner’s Directives any or all rules made under section 97.

Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and its relationship to corrections

The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms is an integral part of the Constitution of Canada. This means that if the rights guaranteed under the Charter appear to be violated by a particular law in the Criminal Code, the Charter will prevail. However, offenders do not have all the rights of other citizens, because the Charter also states that “the restriction of certain rights and freedoms may be justified in a free and democratic society.”

CSC, under the authority of the CCRA, must justify any restrictions imposed on those in custody. For example, one justification for restricting an offender's right would be concern for public safety.

Furthermore, within strictly defined limits, the Charterguarantees offenders many rights, including:

  • freedom of conscience;
  • the right to practice their religion;
  • freedom of expression;
  • freedom of peaceful assembly and association;
  • the right to legal counsel;
  • the right to a fair hearing;
  • the presumption of innocence;
  • freedom from arbitrary detention and imprisonment;
  • the right not to be subjected to cruel and unusual treatment and punishment.

These legal limits are taken into account in all aspects of CSC policy.

Other domestic legislation

Several other laws also affect the rights of prisoners and the way in which the work of federal corrections is carried out.

The  Canadian Human Rights Act outlines a comprehensive framework for countering discrimination in federally regulated sectors. The Act applies to all government departments, agencies and federally regulated businesses.

The Privacy Act protects unauthorized access to personal information and provides some individual control over the use and collection of such information. The fundamental principle underlying this Actis that government institutions should not gather personal information unless it is justifiably relevant to a particular government activity.

The Access to Information Act provides the public with the right to access information held by federal government institutions; however, certain conditions apply.

The Official Languages Act ensures the equal status of both English and French as the country's official languages. It also guarantees that the public, including offenders, have the right to receive services in the official language of their choice when dealing with federal government institutions.

2. Mission of the Correctional Service of Canada

“The Correctional Service of Canada, as part of the criminal justice system and respecting the rule of law, contributes to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control.”

CSC’s Mission was first adopted in 1989. Its purpose is to give clear direction to all those who work within CSC in carrying out its responsibilities. The Mission offers practical guidance for today and inspiration for meeting the challenges of tomorrow.

Together with the laws that govern CSC, the Mission document is the framework within which policies and plans are developed, and decisions made.

3. 2007-08 Priorities and Beyond

In response to the challenges of managing a changing offender profile while contributing to public safely, CSC will focus on five strategic priorities:

Safe transition of offenders into the community

Effective corrections means reintegrating those offenders judged to be making satisfactory progress while also ensuring that criminals who may still pose a threat to Canadians and their communities are retained in custody. CSC is also concerned with crimes committed by offenders after the end of their sentences.

In this context, a key strategic priority for CSC is to reduce violent re-offending by offenders both while they are in communities under CSC's supervision and after the end of their sentence.

To contribute to public safety results, CSC will develop and implement integrated strategies that focus on purposeful intervention, correctional programs and effective supervision, as well as improved monitoring of the offenders' progress. A key focus will be on better assessing the potential of offenders to re-offend violently, designing tools and interventions to better identify and address those factors earlier and, where serious problems persist, providing a sounder basis for detention referrals.

Safety and security for staff and offenders in our institutions

CSC is committed to reducing institutional violence in order to create an environment that is safe for staff and inmates, and establishes the right conditions for maximizing correctional results.

In striving to reduce violence in institutions, CSC is faced with the challenge of managing a changing offender population. For the improvement of safety and security, CSC will focus on:

  • Ways to reduce assaults and injury to staff, including enhancing protective equipment for staff and providing specialized training for correctional officers and other staff who deal with violent inmates;
  • Enhancing security and self-defence awareness around inmate movement; increasing awareness of violent tendencies of specific offenders, and applying more effective communication techniques in interacting with violent offenders;
  • Developing a more comprehensive gang management strategy, more effective risk assessment tools for violent offenders; and intensive programs that target violent offenders.
  • Further reducing the entry, trafficking and demand for drugs in its institutions. CSC will also work more closely with local police forces and Crown prosecutors to develop a more proactive approach for dealing with cases where drugs are seized.
Enhanced capacities to provide effective interventions for First Nations, Métis and Inuit offenders

CSC has improved its capacity to provide Aboriginal-specific interventions. However, it has not closed the gap between results for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal offenders.

Aboriginal offenders have a higher rate of violent and non-violent re-offending while they are in communities under CSC supervision and once they have completed their sentence. The gap in the rate of re-offending by Aboriginal offenders must be narrowed, both while they are in the community and after the end of their sentence.

Given these gaps, the third strategic priority for CSC is to continue to enhance its capacities to provide effective interventions for First Nations, Métis, and Inuit offenders and strive to narrow the gap in correctional results.

In addition, CSC must work horizontally with other government departments to address the challenges that contribute to the disproportionate representation of Aboriginal peoples in the criminal justice system.

Improved capacities to address mental health needs of offenders

Over the last few years, CSC has witnessed an increase in the number of offenders diagnosed with mental health disorders at admission. As a result of these clear trends, the fourth strategic priority for CSC is to improve its capacities to address the mental health needs of offenders. This is needed to improve correctional results and will be achieved by providing a full-spectrum response to their broad and multidimensional mental health needs.

Strengthening management practices

CSC will also pursue a fifth strategic priority, strengthening management practices, to improve the way it delivers on these key strategic priorities, and more generally, on all aspects of its mandate.

To do this, CSC will:

  • Respond to the Public Service Employee Survey (PSES)
  • Promote Values and Ethics
  • Improve Internal Communications
  • Strengthen Human Resources Management

4. CSC Transformation

The Government of Canada made a commitment to protect Canadian families and communities. To further this commitment, Stockwell Day, former Minister of Public Safety, announced the appointment of an independent review panel to assess the operational priorities, strategies and business plans of CSC with the ultimate goal of enhancing public safety. The panel’s report was provided on October 31, 2007.

The panel reviewed CSC’s 2007-2008 Report on Plans and Priorities and other relevant CSC documents. It visited CSC facilities and also consulted with stakeholders, justice experts, CSC staff and the general public. Based on this review, the panel provided the Minister of Public Safety with an independent assessment of CSC’s contributions to public safety, and advice on how they might be strengthened.

The independent Review Panel made 109 recommendations, concentrating on five key areas:

  1. Increasing offender accountability
  2. Eliminating drugs from prisons
  3. Developing employability/employment skills
  4. Renewing physical infrastructure
  5. Eliminating statutory release and moving to earned parole

There is much to consider in the years ahead about the Review Panel’s findings and recommendations, and what they mean for CSC, its people, and its business. Obviously, this is an important juncture for CSC, and one that presents a historical opportunity to position CSC for the future.

Publications

Guide de l'orateur

Section 2
Le mandat, la mission et les priorités du Service correctionnel du Canada

PDF (61 kb)

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) est l’organe du gouvernement fédéral responsable de l’administration des peines d’emprisonnement de deux ans ou plus imposées par les tribunaux. Le SCC offre tout un éventail de programmes aux délinquants qui sont dans ses établissements et à ceux qui sont en liberté conditionnelle dans la collectivité, pour les aider à réussir leur réinsertion dans la société en tant que citoyens respectueux des lois.

Le SCC ne détermine pas la culpabilité ou l’innocence des personnes accusées pour des infractions au Code criminel ou à d’autres lois connexes, et ne fixe pas non plus les peines des délinquants reconnus coupables. Lorsqu’un délinquant devient admissible à la libération conditionnelle, le SCC transmet à la Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles (CNLC) une recommandation fondée sur son évaluation du risque que le délinquant présente pour la société, ainsi que sur son potentiel de réinsertion. Le SCC est également responsable des délinquants bénéficiant d’une libération conditionnelle ou d’une libération d’office et des délinquants assujettis à une ordonnance de surveillance de longue durée.

1. Législation

Le fonctionnement du SCC est régi par plusieurs textes législatifs. Les principaux sont la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (LSCMLC) et le Règlement sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (RSCMLC). Les autres textes législatifs applicables sont notamment les suivants :

Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition (LSCMLC)

La LSCMLC régit le système correctionnel fédéral et définit le cadre juridique dans lequel le SCC est tenu de fonctionner. Elle énonce les principes sur lesquels doit reposer l’administration des peines de ressort fédéral, les critères à utiliser pour calculer la durée des peines, les formes que peut prendre la mise en liberté sous condition, ainsi que les critères d’admissibilité qui ne sont pas inclus dans le Code criminel.

En plus d’énoncer le mandat du SCC et les principes de l’administration des peines de ressort fédéral, la LSCMLC attribue aussi les responsabilités suivantes au SCC :

  • prise en charge et garde des détenus;
  • mise sur pied de programmes contribuant à la réadaptation des délinquants et à la réussite de leur réinsertion sociale;
  • préparation des détenus à leur libération;
  • surveillance des délinquants mis en liberté conditionnelle ou d’office et des délinquants assujettis à une ordonnance de surveillance de longue durée;
  • prestation d’un programme de sensibilisation du public aux activités du SCC.
Atteinte d’un juste équilibre entre le contrôle et l’aide

La LSCMLC vise à atteindre un juste équilibre entre deux stratégies interdépendantes :

  • exercer un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain sur les délinquants dans les établissements correctionnels et sous surveillance dans la collectivité;
  • aider et encourager les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois.

L’objectif principal est la sécurité publique, assurée par le contrôle approprié des délinquants et par les programmes qui aident les délinquants dans le processus de réadaptation. Ces programmes sont importants car la plupart des délinquants finiront de purger leur peine et retourneront dans la collectivité.

Pendant la durée de l’incarcération, la sécurité publique est maintenue en veillant à la garde sécuritaire des délinquants et au maintien d’un milieu sûr pour le personnel et les détenus. Cependant, il s’agit d’une stratégie de durée limitée puisque les délinquants ayant purgé leur peine seront libérés du milieu sûr qu’est le pénitencier. Il est donc tout aussi important de préparer les détenus à retourner dans la collectivité en toute sécurité en tant que citoyens respectueux des lois. Cette stratégie contribue à la sécurité publique à long terme.

Politiques

Toutes les politiques du SCC sont conformes à la LSCMLC, au RSCMLC et à toute autre loi, règlement ou politique applicable du gouvernement du Canada. Elles tiennent compte des valeurs établies dans le document portant sur la Mission et viennent appuyer les priorités et les objectifs du Service. Elles prennent également en compte les besoins spéciaux des délinquants, y compris ceux concernant le sexe, la culture et la religion.

Les politiques du SCC sont des règlements obligatoires qui régissent la gestion du Service, y compris la réalisation des programmes et des activités. Les directives du commissaire (DC) et les instructions permanentes (IP), élaborées en vertu des art. 97 et 98 de la LSCMLC, constituent des politiques opérationnelles.

En vertu de l’article 97 de la LSCMLC, le commissaire peut établir des règles concernant :

  1. la gestion du service;
  2. les questions énumérées à l’article 4;
  3. toute autre mesure d’application de cette partie et des règlements.

L’article 98 de la LSCMLC, quant à lui, mentionne que le commissaire peut désigner toute règle établie en application de l’article 97 comme faisant l’objet de directives du commissaire.

La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et son rapport avec le système correctionnel

La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés fait partie intégrante de la Constitution du Canada. Autrement dit, si certaines dispositions du Code criminel semblent violer les droits garantis par la Charte, c’est cette dernière qui l’emporte. Toutefois, les délinquants ne jouissent pas des mêmes droits que tous les autres citoyens, car la Charte dit également que certains droits et libertés « peuvent être restreints [...] dans des limites qui soient raisonnables et dont la justification puisse se démontrer dans le cadre d’une société libre et démocratique ».

Conformément à la LSCMLC, le SCC doit justifier toute restriction imposée aux détenus. Par exemple, on pourrait restreindre les droits d’un délinquant parce qu’on se préoccupe de la sécurité du public.

De plus, dans des limites strictement définies, la Charte garantit nombre de droits aux délinquants, dont :

  • la liberté de conscience;
  • le droit de pratiquer sa religion;
  • la liberté d’expression;
  • la liberté de réunion pacifique et d’association;
  • le droit à l’assistance d’un avocat;
  • le droit à un procès équitable;
  • la présomption d’innocence;
  • le droit à la protection contre la détention et l’emprisonnement arbitraires;
  • le droit à la protection contre tous traitements ou peines cruels ou inusités.

Ces limites juridiques sont prises en compte dans tous les aspects de la politique du SCC.

Autres lois nationales

Plusieurs autres lois importantes ont des répercussions sur les droits des détenus et sur le fonctionnement du système correctionnel fédéral.

La Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne fournit un cadre global de lutte contre la discrimination dans les organismes sous réglementation fédérale. Elle s'applique à tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux ainsi qu'aux entreprises sous réglementation fédérale.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels assure la protection contre un accès non autorisé aux renseignements personnels et fournit à l'individu la possibilité d'exercer un contrôle sur l'utilisation et la collecte de tels renseignements. La Loi repose sur le principe selon lequel les seuls renseignements personnels que peut recueillir une institution fédérale sont ceux qui ont un lien direct avec une activité particulière du gouvernement.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information garantit au grand public le droit d'accès à l'information relevant de l'administration fédérale, tout en précisant les exceptions à ce droit.

La Loi sur les langues officielles veille à ce que le français et l'anglais aient un statut égal en tant que langues officielles du pays. Elle garantit le droit du public (et donc des délinquants) à l'emploi de l'une ou l'autre de ces langues pour communiquer avec les institutions du gouvernement du Canada ou pour en recevoir les services.

2. Mission du Service correctionnel du Canada

Le Service correctionnel du Canada, en tant que composante du système de justice pénale et dans la reconnaissance de la primauté du droit, contribue à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain.

Adoptée en 1989, la mission du SCC est destinée à fournir à tous ceux et celles qui travaillent au sein du SCC une ligne de conduite précise à suivre dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions. Tout en nous guidant dans nos activités aujourd’hui, elle est une source d’inspiration pour nous aider à faire face aux défis de demain.

Conjugué aux lois qui régissent le SCC, le document sur la Mission précise le cadre à l’intérieur duquel les politiques et les plans sont élaborés et les décisions sont prises.

3. Priorités pour 2007-2008 et les années suivantes

Afin d’être en mesure de relever les défis liés à la gestion d’une population carcérale changeante tout en contribuant à la sécurité publique, le SCC se concentrera sur cinq priorités stratégiques :

La transition en toute sécurité des délinquants dans la collectivité

Une approche correctionnelle judicieuse consiste à favoriser la réinsertion sociale des délinquants chez qui on constate des progrès satisfaisants, mais aussi à garder incarcérés les criminels qui continuent de présenter un risque pour les Canadiens et leurs collectivités. Le SCC se préoccupe aussi des crimes que commettent les délinquants après la fin de leur peine.

Dans ce contexte, une des priorités stratégiques du SCC est de réduire le nombre de crimes avec violence que commettent les délinquants pendant qu'ils sont dans la collectivité sous la surveillance du SCC et après la fin de leur peine.

Pour contribuer à l'obtention de résultats en matière de sécurité publique, le SCC élaborera et mettra en œuvre des stratégies axées sur des interventions ciblées, des programmes correctionnels, des mesures de surveillance efficaces ainsi que sur des mécanismes améliorés de surveillance des progrès des délinquants. Il s'efforcera plus particulièrement de mieux évaluer le potentiel de récidive avec violence des délinquants.  Il mettra au point des outils et des interventions permettant de repérer et de traiter plus rapidement les facteurs associés au risque de récidive et, dans les cas où de graves problèmes persistent, de fournir des données solides pour un renvoi du cas en vue d'un examen de maintien en incarcération.

La sécurité accrue du personnel et des délinquants dans nos établissements

Le SCC est déterminé à réduire la violence dans ses établissements afin que l'environnement carcéral soit sûr autant pour le personnel que pour les détenus et pour mettre en place les conditions permettant d'optimiser les résultats correctionnels.

Dans le cadre des efforts qu'il déploie à cette fin, le SCC est aux prises avec la gestion d'une population changeante de délinquants. Afin d’accroître la sécurité, le SCC s’intéressera particulièrement :

  • aux moyens de réduire les voies de faits visant les membres du personnel ainsi que les blessures que ceux-ci subissent, y compris l’amélioration de l’équipement de protection du personnel et la prestation d’une formation spécialisée destinée aux agents de correction et aux autres employés qui ont affaire à des détenus violents;
  • à la sensibilisation accrue à l’égard de la sécurité et de l'autodéfense lors des déplacements des détenus, à la sensibilisation accrue à la propension à la violence de certains délinquants et à la mise en pratique de techniques de communication plus efficaces dans le cadre des interactions avec des délinquants violents;
  • à l’élaboration d’une stratégie de gestion des gangs plus exhaustive, à l’utilisation d’instruments d’évaluation du risque plus perfectionnés pour les délinquants violents et à la prestation de programmes intensifs à l’intention de ces derniers;
  • à des efforts accrus de réduction de l’introduction, du trafic et de la demande de drogues dans ses établissements. Le SCC collaborera aussi plus étroitement avec les services de police locaux et les procureurs de la Couronne dans le but de mettre en place une approche plus proactive s’appliquant aux cas où des drogues sont saisies.
La capacité accrue d’intervenir efficacement auprès des délinquants issus des Premières nations et des délinquants métis et inuits

Le SCC a accru sa capacité d'offrir des interventions adaptées aux besoins des délinquants autochtones. Il n'a toutefois pas réussi à combler l'écart entre les résultats des délinquants autochtones et ceux des délinquants non autochtones.

Les délinquants autochtones ont un taux plus élevé de récidive, avec violence et sans violence, pendant qu’ils sont dans la collectivité sous la surveillance du SCC et après avoir purgé leur peine. Il est nécessaire de diminuer l’écart dans le taux de récidive des délinquants autochtones, à la fois pendant qu’ils sont sous surveillance dans la collectivité et après la fin de leur peine.

Étant donné ces écarts, la troisième priorité stratégique du SCC est de continuer à accroître sa capacité d'offrir des interventions efficaces aux délinquants issus des Premières nations ainsi qu’aux délinquants métis et inuits et de s'efforcer de diminuer l'écart dans les résultats correctionnels.

De plus, le SCC doit travailler en collaboration avec les autres ministères fédéraux pour régler les problèmes qui contribuent à la surreprésentation des Autochtones dans le système de justice pénale.

La capacité accrue de répondre aux besoins des délinquants en matière de santé mentale

Au cours des dernières années, le SCC a enregistré une augmentation du nombre de délinquants présentant des troubles mentaux diagnostiqués à l'admission. En raison de ces tendances évidentes, la quatrième priorité stratégique du SCC est d'accroître sa capacité de répondre aux besoins des délinquants en matière de santé mentale. Le SCC doit le faire s'il veut améliorer les résultats correctionnels et il le fera en offrant à ces délinquants des interventions permettant de combler leurs nombreux besoins diversifiés.

Le renforcement des pratiques de gestion

Le SCC s'est fixé une cinquième priorité stratégique, le renforcement de ses pratiques de gestion, afin d'améliorer ses résultats par rapport à ses priorités stratégiques et, de façon plus générale, à tous les aspects de son mandat.

Pour ce faire, le SCC devra :

  • mettre en œuvre les recommandations découlant des résultats du Sondage auprès des fonctionnaires fédéraux (SAFF);
  • faire la promotion des valeurs et de l’éthique;
  • améliorer les communications internes;
  • renforcer la gestion des ressources humaines.

4. Transformation du SCC

Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à protéger les familles et les collectivités canadiennes. En vue de respecter cet engagement, Stockwell Day, ancien ministre de la Sécurité publique, a annoncé la création d’un comité d’examen indépendant pour évaluer les priorités opérationnelles, les stratégies et les plans d’activités du SCC, avec l’objectif ultime d’accroître la sécurité publique. Le rapport de ce comité a été déposé le 31 octobre 2007.

Les membres du comité ont révisé le Rapport sur les plans et priorités du SCC de 2007-2008 et d’autres documents pertinents du SCC. Ils se sont rendus dans des installations du SCC et ont également consulté des intervenants, des experts du domaine juridique, le personnel du SCC et la population en général. Suivant ce tour d’horizon, ils ont offert au ministre de la Sécurité publique une évaluation indépendante des contributions du SCC en matière de sécurité publique et ont proposé des moyens d’augmenter ces contributions et de les rendre plus efficaces.

La Comité d’examen indépendant a formulé 109 recommandations réparties en cinq grands thèmes :

  1. Accroître la responsabilisation des délinquants
  2. Éliminer les drogues illicites dans les pénitenciers
  3. Favoriser l’employabilité des délinquants et l’acquisition des compétences relatives à l’emploi
  4. Renouveler l’infrastructure physique
  5. Abolir la libération d’office pour passer à un régime de libération conditionnelle méritée

Il y a encore bien des éléments à analyser dans les années à venir par rapport aux commentaires et recommandations du Comité d’examen et à ce qu’ils signifient pour le SCC, ses employés et ses activités. De toute évidence, il s’agit d’un point tournant majeur pour l

e SCC, une occasion historique de bien positionner le Service correctionnel du Canada pour l’avenir.