Publications

Speakers Binder

Section 3
Federal Corrections and the Criminal Justice System

PDF (90 kb)

Canada’s Federal Corrections and Criminal Justice System Chart
Canada’s Federal Corrections and Criminal Justice System Chart

1. The Criminal Justice System

Canada's criminal justice system is designed to ensure public safety by protecting society from those who violate the law. It does this by stating the types of behaviours that are unacceptable and defining the nature and severity of the punishment for a given offence. Punishment may include: a fine; restitution to the victim; probation; community service; or imprisonment.

A series of safeguards ensures that those charged with a criminal offence are presumed innocent until proven guilty and that they have the right to legal representation and a fair trial. The Criminal Code of Canada, in combination with other pieces of legislation, including the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act, and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, provides the foundation upon which the criminal justice system operates. The criminal justice system provides an impartial response to crime, as opposed to people taking matters into their own hands.

These are the primary functions of the criminal justice system:

  • investigation
  • laying of charges
  • prosecution
  • determination of guilt or innocence
  • sentencing
  • administration of the sentence
How the Criminal Justice System Works

The criminal justice system consists of four interrelated parts that work together to protect society from the moment a crime is committed until the offender is reintegrated into society. They are:

  • policing
  • courts
  • corrections
  • parole

Each component is governed by legislation specific to its role in the criminal justice system, but they all have the potential to influence each other. For example, reports from police may influence judges' sentencing decisions; sentencing decisions influence the offender's prison experience; and reports and assessments of corrections staff influence parole decisions.

Policing

The federal, provincial/territorial and municipal governments are responsible for the policing portion of the system. At the federal level, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) is the law enforcement authority. At the provincial/territorial level, it may be either the RCMP, working under contract to the provinces/territories or, as in Ontario and Quebec, the provincial police. At the municipal level, the local police force provides protection.

The main role of police is to apprehend offenders and, in most provinces, to lay charges against the accused, based on the Criminal Code. Police are the front line of Canada's criminal justice system.

Courts

Once charges have been laid, the Crown attorney is responsible for deciding which charges the accused will face in court and for prosecuting those charges. If the case proceeds to trial, the judge, and in a small number of cases, the jury will decide whether the accused is guilty as charged. In cases where a jury finds the accused guilty, it is still the judge who decides the sentence that should be imposed.

In sentencing, judges are limited by the maximum and minimum penalties laid out in the Criminal Code or, if the offender is between 12 and 17 years old, by the Youth Criminal Justice Act. Sentencing decisions may also be affected by provisions in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (for example, evidence may be deemed inadmissible if it was obtained in a way that violates the Charter's provisions). If an offender is given probation, it is the judge who sets the conditions. Sentences may be appealed, in principle, all the way up to the Supreme Court of Canada.

The Criminal Code gives judges some leeway in their sentencing decisions, based on the principle that prison should be a last resort for the most serious offences, and not used if an effective alternative punishment is available. Judges may also consider the following factors: the seriousness of the crime; the age and circumstances of the offender at the time the crime was committed; the need to prevent or deter the offender or others from committing similar crimes; the public's safety; and the offender's prospects for rehabilitation.

Criminal Courts; Supreme Court of Canada; Court of Appeal; Superior Court (Provincial); Provincial Court
Chart of the Criminal Courts in Canada

Corrections

Those involved in this aspect of the criminal justice system administer the sentence handed down by the judge, whether it involves incarceration or probation. Once the accused is found guilty, depending on the nature of the offence, she/he may be sentenced to a term in the federal, provincial or territorial correctional system.

The federal corrections system deals with adult offenders (18 years of age and older) who have been sentenced to two or more years of imprisonment. These offenders fall under the responsibility of the Correctional Service of Canada which is governed by the Corrections and Conditional Release Act.

The provincial/territorial system deals with offenders serving a term of less than two years, youth offenders, and all non-custodial sentences (i.e., those involving probation and/or community service).

Parole

Offenders who have served a portion of their sentence in an institution may be released to serve the rest of their sentence under supervision and control in the community.

Parole is granted following a case review by the federal or provincial parole board (depending on whether they are in a federal or provincial institution). The terms for parole review vary from one province to another. Parole boards have the final say as to whether an offender is released from prison before serving the full sentence.

The parole boards also set the terms and conditions offenders must meet once they are back in the community (for example, abstaining from alcohol or drugs and reporting regularly to a parole officer). Offenders who violate their parole conditions may be sent back to prison to serve out the remainder of their sentence.

Federal parole decisions are governed by the Corrections and Conditional Release Act.

The Criminal Justice Process; Community and Crime Prevention; Crime; Courts & Sentencing; Alternative to incarceration; Correctional Institution; Correctional Plan; Conditional Release / No Conditional Release; Community Reintegration
 Criminal Justice Process Chart

The Department of Public Safety Canada

Security and freedom are the cornerstones of Canada's society. To help maintain the social and economic well-being of Canadians and sustain Canada's place in the world, the Government needs to ensure secure communities, borders, and infrastructure. The department of Public Safety Canada is responsible for protecting Canadians and helping to maintain a peaceful society.

The Public Safety Portfolio

Public Safety Portfolio Chart
Public Safety Portfolio Chart

The Minister of Public Safety is supported by the department and a range of agencies that form a strategic structure to enhance public safety. The five agencies include:

Review Agencies

There are also three independent review bodies that ensure accountability and respect for the rule of law, and two statutory review bodies of Canadian Security intelligence Service.

Publications

Guide de l'orateur

Section 3
Les services correctionnels fédéraux et le système de justice pénale

PDF (119 kb)

Représentation graphique des services correctionnels fédéraux et le système justice pénale
ReprÉsentation graphique des services correctionnels fÉdÉraux et le systÈme justice pÉnale

1. Le système de justice pénale

Le but du système canadien de justice pénale est d'assurer la sécurité publique en protégeant la population contre ceux qui enfreignent la loi. À cette fin, le système établit quels types de comportement sont inacceptables et détermine la nature et la sévérité des peines à imposer pour une infraction donnée. Ces peines comprennent, entre autres, l'amende, la restitution à la victime, la probation, le travail communautaire et l'emprisonnement.

De plus, des mesures de protection garantissent que tout inculpé est présumé innocent tant qu'il n'est pas déclaré coupable et qu'il a droit à l'assistance d'un avocat et à un procès équitable. Le Code criminel du Canada, combiné à d'autres textes législatifs tels que la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents, la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition et la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, établit les principes sur lesquels repose le système de justice pénale. Celui-ci, par opposition aux gens qui se chargent de rendre eux-mêmes justice, fournit une réponse impartiale au crime.

Voici les principales fonctions du système de justice pénale :

  • l’enquête;
  • la mise en accusation;
  • la poursuite;
  • la détermination de culpabilité ou d’innocence;
  • la détermination de la peine;
  • l’administration de la peine.
Fonctionnement du système de justice pénale

Le système de justice pénale compte quatre composantes interdépendantes qui contribuent ensemble à la protection de la société dès la perpétration d’un crime jusqu’à la réinsertion sociale du délinquant. Les voici :

  • les services de police;
  • les tribunaux;
  • les services correctionnels;
  • les libérations conditionnelles.

Chacune est régie par des dispositions législatives propres à son rôle au sein du système de justice pénale, mais elles ont toutes le potentiel d’influer les unes sur les autres. Par exemple, les rapports de la police peuvent influer sur la peine qu'imposera le juge; celle-ci, à son tour, aura des répercussions sur l'incarcération du délinquant; et les rapports et évaluations du personnel correctionnel peuvent influencer la décision que prendra l'organisme de libération conditionnelle.

La police

Cette composante du système relève des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux et des municipalités. Au niveau fédéral, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) est l'organisme d'application de la loi. Au niveau provincial ou territorial, c'est la GRC qui agit dans les provinces et territoires où elle offre ses services à contrat ou encore, comme en Ontario et au Québec, c'est la police provinciale. Au niveau municipal, le service de police local est responsable de l'application de la loi.

Le mandat premier de la police est d'appréhender les délinquants et, dans la plupart des provinces, de porter des accusations contre eux en vertu du Code criminel. Les policiers sont les intervenants de première ligne du système de justice pénale du Canada.

Les tribunaux

Une fois les accusations portées, il appartient au procureur de la Couronne de décider quelles accusations pourront faire l’objet de poursuites et d’entamer des poursuites contre l’accusé. S’il y a procès, c’est le juge ou, dans un nombre limité de cas, le jury, qui décide si l’accusé est coupable des accusations portées contre lui. Quand un jury rend un verdict de culpabilité, il revient au juge de décider de la peine à imposer.

Pour déterminer la peine, le juge doit tenir compte des peines maximales et minimales établies par le Code criminel ou, si le délinquant est âgé de 12 à 17 ans, des dispositions de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents. La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés peut également avoir des répercussions sur la décision du juge (par exemple, une preuve peut être déclarée inadmissible si des éléments de cette preuve ont été obtenus dans des conditions qui portent atteinte aux droits et libertés garantis par la Charte). Si le délinquant fait l'objet d'une ordonnance de probation, le juge en précisera les conditions. En principe, on peut en appeler d'une peine imposée et cela jusqu'à la Cour suprême du Canada.

Le Code criminel laisse aux juges une certaine latitude dans les peines à imposer. L'emprisonnement est considéré comme un dernier recours à utiliser pour les infractions les plus graves et est à éviter s'il existe une solution de rechange qui serait aussi efficace. Les juges peuvent également prendre en considération les éléments suivants : la gravité du crime, l'âge et la situation du délinquant au moment où il a commis le crime, la nécessité d'empêcher ou de dissuader le délinquant ou d'autres personnes de commettre des crimes semblables, la sécurité publique ainsi que les perspectives de réadaptation du délinquant.

Représentation graphique des tribunaux criminels
ReprÉsentation graphique des tribunaux criminels

Les services correctionnels

L'administration de la peine imposée par le juge, que ce soit une peine d’emprisonnement ou une ordonnance de probation, relève des services correctionnels. Après avoir été déclaré coupable, le délinquant peut être condamné, selon la nature de l'infraction, à une peine d'emprisonnement dans un établissement fédéral, provincial ou territorial.

Le système correctionnel fédéral prend en charge les délinquants adultes (âgés de 18 ans et plus) condamnés à une peine d’emprisonnement de deux ans et plus. Ceux-ci sont sous la responsabilité du Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC), régi par la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

Le système provincial et territorial s’occupe des délinquants purgeant une peine de moins de deux ans, des jeunes délinquants et de toutes les peines non privatives de liberté (c.-à.-d. probation ou service communautaire).

Les libérations conditionnelles

Les délinquants qui ont purgé une partie de leur peine dans un établissement peuvent bénéficier de la libération conditionnelle qui leur permet de purger le reste de leur peine sous surveillance dans la collectivité.

Une telle décision est prise après l'examen du cas par la commission des libérations conditionnelles fédérale ou provinciale (selon que le délinquant se trouve dans un établissement fédéral ou provincial). Les modalités de l'examen du cas peuvent varier d'une province à l'autre. Ce sont ces commissions qui décident si un détenu sera mis en liberté avant d'avoir purgé toute sa peine.

Elles imposent également les conditions que le délinquant doit respecter une fois dans la collectivité (par exemple, ne pas consommer d'alcool ou de drogue et se présenter régulièrement à un agent de libération conditionnelle). Les délinquants qui enfreignent les conditions de leur mise en liberté peuvent être renvoyés en prison pour y purger le reste de leur peine.

Au niveau fédéral, les décisions concernant les libérations conditionnelles sont régies par la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition.

Représentation graphique du déroulement de l’administration de la justice pénale
ReprÉsentation graphique du dÉroulement de l’administration de la justice pÉnale

Le ministère de la sécurité publique Canada

La sécurité et la liberté sont les pierres angulaires de la société canadienne. Afin de favoriser le bien-être socioéconomique des Canadiens et d’assurer la place du Canada dans le monde, le gouvernement doit veiller à la sécurité des collectivités, des frontières et des infrastructures. Le ministère de la Sécurité publique Canada (SP) est responsable de la protection des Canadiens et participe au maintien de la paix dans la société.

Le portefeuille de la sécurité publique

Représentation graphique du portefeuille de la sécurité publique
ReprÉsentation graphique du portefeuille de la sÉcuritÉ publique

Le ministre de la Sécurité publique reçoit l’appui du ministère et de divers organismes qui ont été réunis pour constituer une structure stratégique en vue d’améliorer la sécurité publique. Les cinq organismes sont les suivants :

Organismes d’examen :

Le Portefeuille compte aussi trois organes indépendants de surveillance qui veillent à la reddition de comptes et au respect intégral de la primauté du droit, et deux organes d’examen du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité.