Publications

Speakers Binder

Section 6
Partners in Good Corrections

PDF (59 kb)

Returning to the community is a vital and challenging time in an offender’s rehabilitation process. This transition can be made easier with community support, but community support can be a difficult thing to come by.

The role and responsibility of the community in helping to safely reintegrate offenders is one of the most significant challenges in the field of corrections. Community programming reduces the risk of recidivism and is a fundamental component of the overall correctional strategy, as specified in the Corrections and Conditional Release Act. Correctional Service of Canada (CSC) relies on service providers in the community and actively encourages and seeks innovative approaches to community corrections.

Many parole offices employ full time correctional program officers who provide programs to offenders on conditional release. In addition, since the late 1960s, CSC has contracted with non-profit, voluntary agencies such as the John Howard Society, the Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies, St. Leonard's House and the Salvation Army to provide services to released offenders. Some of these agencies also provide community supervision in remote areas or residential facilities and programming to offenders with specialized needs.

To complement its affiliations with community-based organizations, CSC also maintains a volunteer program and also works with Aboriginal and faith communities.

1. The John Howard Society

The John Howard Society is part of an international movement dedicated to understanding and responding to problems of crime and the criminal justice system.

They work with people who have come into conflict with the law and advocate for change in the criminal justice process. They are very active in educating the public on matters relating to criminal law and its application. They promote crime prevention through community and social activities.

2. The Canadian Association of Elizabeth Fry Societies

Elizabeth Fry Societies provide a variety of programs and services designed to meet the needs of women offenders. This support starts from the time a woman is arrested through to her discharge from prison and return to the community. Services include life skills; counselling (issues such as abuse, employment, and financial assistance); dispute resolution; accommodation; drop in centres; court assistance and emotional support. They also monitor impending changes in the law and in government policies that may have an effect on the status of women.

3. The Salvation Army

All members of the Salvation Army are called soldiers and must uphold the Army’s beliefs and moral standards such as abstaining from alcohol and tobacco. Most members already have a job or profession and offer their services in prison ministry or community corrections as volunteers. They have a wide range of social, medical, educational and community services such as programs that help support and rehabilitate offenders. These include support during police court cases and help on discharge, visiting offenders, providing anti-suicide, drug and alcoholism counselling, accommodation for the homeless, food for the hungry and care for the elderly.

4. The St. Leonard’s Society of Canada

St. Leonard’s is a national ecumenical, voluntary organization with the goal of preventing crime and promoting responsible community living and safer communities. They assist people who have come into conflict with the law and prevent recidivism by providing educational programs, workshops, community residential facilities and other programs.

5. L’Association des services de réhabilitation sociale du Québec

L'Association des services de réhabilitation sociale du Québec's mission is to collectively support the members and volunteers in its network and to promote the participation of citizens and community organizations in the areas of crime prevention, reintegration and rehabilitation of adult offenders, while working to improve the criminal justice system.

The Association believes that the active participation of citizens in the community in resolving the problems associated with crime contributes to the social development and well-being of our communities.

6. The Canadian Training Institute

The Canadian Training Institute (CTI) is a national voluntary organization which provides training, consulting assistance, promotes collaborative action and undertakes applied research projects in contributing to the effectiveness of services delivered by criminal justice and related human service agencies in Canada.

CTI assists in the development of knowledge, skills and services that reduce crime, promote active participation, and ultimately, contribute to healthy individuals, agencies and communities.

7. The Canadian Criminal Justice Association

The Canadian Criminal Justice Association (CCJA) is an independent national voluntary organization working for an improved criminal justice system in Canada.
Recognizing that the criminal justice system must serve the needs of all people, the CCJA is an umbrella organization representing all elements of the criminal justice system, including the public. It exists to promote rational, informed, and responsible debate in order to develop a more humane, equitable, and effective justice system.

8. The National Associations Active in Criminal Justice (NAACJ)

The National Associations Active in Criminal Justice (NAACJ) is a member organization with a mission to enhance its members’ capacity to contribute to a just, fair, equitable and effective justice system.

NAACJ members:

9. Volunteers

CSC's volunteer program is one way of ensuring citizens' involvement in corrections. Volunteers provide a link between a correctional facility and the local community in which it operates, thus helping CSC to maintain a positive presence.

Over 9,000 citizens across Canada participate in programs and activities for offenders - ranging from one-time activities to regular involvement. Volunteers come from all walks of life and include military personnel, students, homemakers, trades people, teachers, accountants, nurses and retirees.
For more information, please visit the Volunteers section of the CSC website.

10. Citizen Advisory Committees

CSC recognizes that a supportive community makes it easier for offenders to become responsible citizens. Citizen Advisory Committees (CAC) provide an important link between CSC, offenders, and communities as they help to inform communities about the correctional process and contribute to the overall development of correctional facilities and programs.

CAC members are local citizens who volunteer their time. They are appointed for a two year period and CSC is responsible for their training. Members are independent from the management of CSC and are not paid for their services.

Members represent various social, cultural, and demographic backgrounds and occupations, and usually reside in proximity to the operational unit which the committee serves.

As independent, impartial observers, CAC members monitor and evaluate the day-to-day operations of CSC, including the provision of adequate care, supervision and programs for offenders. CACs also liaise between CSC and the public to build understanding and support for the correctional process.

Ultimately, local CACs should reflect the needs and characteristics (e.g., social, cultural and ethnic composition) of the community. There are over 500 citizens involved in 97 CACs across Canada.

11. Aboriginal Communities

Many offender reintegration initiatives involve members of Canada's Aboriginal communities. They teach Aboriginal culture, traditions and spirituality, as well as provide advice to offenders, CSC staff and members of the National Parole Board.

Aboriginal community members are also involved in visiting programs, social and recreational activities and many other programs and services offered to offenders.

12. Faith-based Communities

Prison ministry programs enlist the resources of a broad range of faith communities in partnership with CSC to promote spiritual healing and ensure the safe reintegration of offenders. The clientele includes both offenders in custody and on release, offenders' partners, families, the community, and victims of crime.

Community chaplains work with institutional chaplains to build relationships with offenders prior to their release, and with the local parole office to participate in the supervision strategy. In addition to meeting to the spiritual needs of the offender, community chaplains are engaged in community development work and public education, and in helping offenders link with local resources.

Circles of Support and Accountability(COSA)

Through the community chaplaincy, approximately 75 Circles of Support and Accountability are in place for high-profile sexual offenders throughout Canada. These circles, organized primarily by faith groups, form a "covenant" with a released sexual offender to accept the circle's help and advice, to stick to their treatment plan, and to act responsibly in the community.

In the absence of these circles, there would be very limited support for released sexual offenders who have served their full sentence, thus leaving them at risk of re-offending. For its part, the circle helps released sexual offenders by advocating on their behalf, holding discussions with them about their attitudes and behaviours, mediating community concerns and developing meaningful relationships.

13. National Ethnocultural Advisory Committee (NEAC)

CSC acknowledges the importance of the contribution of external community resources in the application of programs for offenders from diverse ethnic groups. The involvement of fellow ethnic group offenders in the application of programs enables a better response to the specific needs of these inmate clienteles.

CSC thus regularly consults with Ethnocultural community leaders and organizations with knowledge of Ethnocultural matters in order to gain advice on the provision of correctional services and programs to Ethnocultural offenders. This is done through the National Ethnocultural Advisory Committee (NEAC) and the Regional Ethnocultural Advisory Committees (REAC) who help CSC establish links with our community partner organizations that will assist members of various ethno-cultural backgrounds to be better equipped for the release of an ex-offender.

The NEAC and REAC are composed of professionals from ethnocultural and ethno-racial communities. They also inform the ethnocultural community groups about CSC’s Mission and Ethnocultural issues related to CSC. These Committees, in co-operation with ethnocultural communities and organizations, endorses race relations and cross-cultural awareness training for staff and offenders of CSC.

Consequently, seminars, conferences and cultural festivals are organized; the International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination is celebrated; multicultural groups and diversity committees have been created; there are visits to ethnic communities. Inmates also have their associations, like the Black Inmates and Friends Association, as well as Italian, Chinese, Greek or Jewish groups contributing to affirm and strengthen their cultural identity. Such inmates may be Canadian citizens, but they can also happen to be foreign nationals incarcerated in federal institutions. These offenders have the same rights and privileges as the other inmates.

14. Restorative Justice

Restorative justice provides opportunities that are not otherwise available in the criminal justice system. The philosophy is a holistic approach to promote accountability, understanding, reparation and healing for those affected by crime. This approach strengthens the capacity of local communities to resolve conflict and build local solutions to local challenges. It is a way to encourage greater involvement of citizens by breaking the cycles of violence and victimization among all people. CSC works with experts from across the country to provide high quality victim offender mediation services to help respond to serious crime. CSC has also been applying these principles to help deal with conflict inside institutions. A strong network of volunteers working with CSC supports much of this work.

Publications

Guide de l'orateur

Section 6
Partenaires des services correctionnels de qualité

PDF (63 kb)

La réinsertion sociale est une étape essentielle et difficile du processus de réadaptation d’un délinquant. Le soutien communautaire peut faciliter cette transition mais il n’est pas toujours facile à obtenir.

L’un des principaux défis du secteur correctionnel consiste à cerner le rôle et la responsabilité de la collectivité dans la réinsertion sociale de délinquants. Les programmes communautaires réduisent le risque de récidive et forment l'une des composantes fondamentales de la stratégie correctionnelle globale établie par la Loi sur le système correctionnel et la mise en liberté sous condition. Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) compte sur les fournisseurs de services dans la collectivité. Il recherche et encourage activement les approches novatrices dans les services correctionnels communautaires.

De nombreux bureaux de libération conditionnelle emploient des agents de programmes correctionnels à temps plein chargés de la prestation de programmes aux libérés conditionnels. De plus, depuis la fin des années 1960, le SCC a conclu des ententes avec des organismes bénévoles sans but lucratif comme la Société John Howard, l'Association canadienne des sociétés Elizabeth Fry, la Maison Saint-Léonard et l'Armée du Salut, afin qu’ils fournissent des services aux délinquants libérés. Quelques-uns de ces organismes assurent une surveillance dans les collectivités des régions éloignées ou ils offrent des installations résidentielles et des programmes aux délinquants ayant des besoins spécifiques.

En complément de sa collaboration avec des organismes communautaires, le SCC gère également un programme de bénévolat et travaille avec des collectivités autochtones et des groupes confessionnels.

1. La Société John Howard

La Société John Howard du Canada fait partie d'un mouvement international voué à la compréhension et à la résolution des problèmes touchant la criminalité et le système de justice pénale.

La société travaille avec des personnes qui ont eu des démêlés avec la justice et préconise la réforme du processus de justice pénale. Elle participe activement à la sensibilisation du public aux questions liées à la législation pénale et à sa mise en œuvre. Elle encourage la prévention du crime à l’aide d’activités sociales et communautaires.

2. L’Association canadienne des sociétés Elizabeth Fry

Les sociétés Elizabeth Fry offrent une gamme de programmes et services conçus pour répondre aux besoins des femmes délinquantes, depuis l’arrestation jusqu’au retour dans la collectivité. Les services offerts sont, entre autres, l’apprentissage de connaissances générales; le counseling (sur des sujets tels que l’abus, la violence, l’emploi et l’aide financière); le règlement de différends; l’hébergement; les centres d’accueil; l’aide à la cour et le soutien émotionnel. De surcroît, les sociétés Elizabeth Fry sont à l’affût des modifications législatives et des politiques du gouvernement qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur le statut des femmes.

3. L’Armée du Salut

Tous les membres de l’Armée du Salut sont appelés des officiers et ils doivent respecter l’éthique et les croyances de l’Armée dont, par exemple, s’abstenir de fumer et de consommer de l’alcool. La plupart des membres de l’Armée du Salut ont un emploi ou une profession et offrent leurs services, bénévolement, dans le contexte de la pastorale en milieu correctionnel ou des services correctionnels communautaires. L’Armée du Salut offre tout un éventail de services sociaux, médicaux, éducatifs et communautaires tels que des programmes de soutien et de réadaptation des délinquants. Les actions couvertes par ces programmes comprennent : soutien des délinquants lors de leur comparution devant un juge de paix ou au moment de leur libération, visites à ceux qui sont incarcérés, counseling pour prévenir le suicide et lutter contre la toxicomanie et l’alcoolisme, logement des sans-abri, aide alimentaire aux plus démunis et soins aux personnes âgées.

4. La Société Saint-Léonard du Canada

La Société Saint-Léonard est une organisation nationale œcuménique à but non lucratif dont l’objectif est de prévenir le crime et de promouvoir un comportement social responsable et des collectivités plus sûres. Cet organisme aide les gens qui ont eu des démêlés avec la justice et lutte contre la récidive en proposant des programmes éducatifs, des ateliers, des centres d’hébergement communautaires et d’autres programmes.

5. L’Association des services de réhabilitation sociale du Québec

L'Association des services de réhabilitation sociale du Québec a pour mission de soutenir les membres et les bénévoles de son réseau et de promouvoir la participation des citoyens et organismes communautaires à la prévention de la criminalité et à la réinsertion / réhabilitation sociale des délinquants adultes, tout en contribuant à l'amélioration du système de justice pénale.

L’association croit que la participation active des citoyens de la communauté dans la résolution des problèmes liés au crime contribue au développement social et, par conséquent, au mieux-être de nos collectivités.

6. L’Institut canadien de formation

L’Institut canadien de formation (ICF) est un organisme national à but non lucratif qui offre des séances de formation et de consultation, encourage la collaboration et mène des projets de recherche appliquée afin de contribuer à l’efficacité des services offerts par les organismes du système de justice pénale et de services sociaux au Canada.

L'ICF participe au développement des connaissances, des compétences et des services qui réduisent la criminalité, encouragent la participation active et, ultimement, aident à créer des personnes, des organisations et des collectivités saines.

7. L’Association canadienne de justice pénale

L’Association canadienne de justice pénale (ACJP) est un organisme de bénévolat national indépendant qui cherche à améliorer le système de justice pénale au Canada.

Reconnaissant que le système de justice pénale doit répondre aux besoins de toutes les personnes, l'ACJP est une organisation-cadre qui représente tous les éléments du système de justice pénale, y compris le public. Son rôle consiste à favoriser un débat rationnel, informé et responsable dans le but de créer un système de justice plus humain, plus équitable et plus efficace.

8. Les Associations nationales intéressées à la justice criminelle (ANIJC)

La mission des Associations nationales intéressées à la justice criminelle (ANIJC) est d’accroître la capacité qu’ont ses membres de contribuer à un système de justice pénale juste, équitable et efficace.

Les membres de l’ANIJC sont les suivants :

9. Les bénévoles

Le programme de bénévolat du SCC est une façon d'encourager la participation des citoyens au processus correctionnel. Les bénévoles créent un lien entre les établissements correctionnels et les collectivités où ils se trouvent et aident ainsi le SCC à y maintenir une présence positive.

Plus de 9 000 citoyens canadiens participent aux programmes et aux activités pour délinquants, qu’il s’agisse d’une participation unique ou régulière. Les volontaires appartiennent à toutes les catégories d'âge et de profession : militaires, étudiants, femmes au foyer, commerçants, enseignants, comptables, infirmières et retraités.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la page du site Web du SCC consacrée aux bénévoles.

10. Les Comités consultatifs de citoyens

Le SCC reconnaît que l’appui de la collectivité aide les délinquants à devenir des citoyens responsables. Les Comités consultatifs de citoyens (CCC) constituent un lien important entre le SCC, les délinquants et les collectivités en aidant à faire connaître le processus correctionnel aux collectivités et en contribuant à faire progresser les établissements et les programmes correctionnels.

Les CCC sont composés de citoyens locaux bénévoles. Ceux-ci sont nommés pour une période minimale de deux ans et le SCC est chargé de leur fournir une formation. Les membres sont indépendants de la direction du SCC et ils ne sont pas payés pour les services qu'ils rendent.

Ces membres sont de diverses origines sociales et culturelles et de tous âges et milieux sociaux et professionnels; ils demeurent généralement à proximité de l’unité opérationnelle à laquelle le comité est associé.

En tant qu’observateurs indépendants et impartiaux, les membres des CCC surveillent et évaluent les opérations quotidiennes du SCC, dont la prestation de soins, de surveillance et de programmes qui sont adéquats pour les délinquants. Les CCC assurent également la liaison entre le SCC et les citoyens afin que ceux-ci comprennent et appuient le processus correctionnel.

Les CCC locaux devraient refléter les caractéristiques et les besoins de la collectivité qu’ils représentent (p. ex. sa composition sociale, culturelle et ethnique). Plus de 500 citoyens composent actuellement 97 comités dans l’ensemble du Canada.

11. Les collectivités autochtones

De nombreuses initiatives de réinsertion sociale à l’intention des délinquants font appel à des membres des collectivités autochtones du Canada. Ces bénévoles enseignent, par exemple, la culture, les traditions et la spiritualité autochtones et ils conseillent également les délinquants, le personnel du SCC et les membres de la Commission nationale des libérations conditionnelles.

Des membres des collectivités autochtones participent également à des programmes de visites, à des activités sociales et récréatives et à de nombreux autres programmes et services offerts aux délinquants.

12. Les groupes confessionnels

Les programmes d'aumôniers font appel à divers groupes confessionnels qui, en partenariat avec le SCC, favorisent la guérison spirituelle et assurent la réinsertion des détenus en toute sécurité. Leur action est dirigée vers les délinquants, en établissement et dans la collectivité, leurs conjoints, leurs familles, leurs victimes et la collectivité dans son ensemble.

Les aumôniers communautaires travaillent avec les aumôniers en établissement afin de tisser des liens avec les détenus avant leur mise en liberté et ils travaillent également avec les agents de libération conditionnelle afin de participer à la stratégie de surveillance. En plus de répondre aux besoins spirituels des délinquants, les aumôniers communautaires prennent activement part au développement communautaire, à la sensibilisation du public et à l'orientation des délinquants vers les ressources locales.

Cercles de soutien et de responsabilité(CSR)

Par l’intermédiaire de l’aumônerie communautaire, environ 75 cercles de soutien et de responsabilité sont actifs au Canada auprès des délinquants sexuels. Les cercles, organisés principalement par des groupes confessionnels, concluent un « engagement » avec le délinquant sexuel en liberté, qui doit accepter l'aide et les conseils du cercle, continuer à suivre son plan de traitement et agir de façon responsable dans la collectivité.

Sans ces cercles, les délinquants sexuels qui ont fini de purger leur peine ne disposeraient que de très peu de soutien, ce qui augmenterait leur risque de récidive. Pour sa part, le cercle aide ces délinquants sexuels en liberté en défendant leurs intérêts, en discutant avec eux de leurs attitudes et de leur comportement, en apaisant les préoccupations de la collectivité et en établissant des relations enrichissantes.

13. Le Comité consultatif national sur les minorités ethnoculturelles (CCNME)

Le SCC reconnaît l’importance de la contribution des ressources communautaires externes à l’application des programmes destinés aux délinquants qui sont issus de différents groupes ethniques. L’implication des congénères dans l’application des programmes permet de mieux répondre aux besoins particuliers de ces clientèles carcérales.

Par conséquent, le SCC consulte régulièrement des dirigeants de communautés ethnoculturelles et des organisations qui possèdent une connaissance des questions ethnoculturelles pour obtenir des conseils au sujet de la prestation de services et de programmes correctionnels aux délinquants appartenant à des minorités ethnoculturelles. Cela se fait par l’intermédiaire du Comité consultatif national sur les minorités ethnoculturelles (CCNME) et des comités consultatifs régionaux sur les minorités ethnoculturelles (CCRME), qui aident le SCC à établir des liens avec ses organismes partenaires dans la collectivité. Ces derniers aident les membres de diverses origines ethnoculturelles à bien se préparer pour la mise en liberté d’un délinquant.

Le CCNME et les CCRME sont composés de professionnels appartenant à des communautés ethnoculturelles et ethnoraciales. Ils transmettent également aux groupes communautaires ethnoculturels des renseignements au sujet de la mission du SCC et des questions ethnoculturelles auxquelles il doit faire face. En collaboration avec les communautés et les organisations ethnoculturelles, ces comités encouragent les employés du SCC et les délinquants à participer aux séances de formation sur les relations interraciales et de sensibilisation aux diverses cultures.

Par conséquent, on organise des séminaires, des conférences, des festivals culturels; on célèbre la Journée internationale pour l’élimination de la discrimination raciale; on a créé des groupes multiculturels et des comités sur la diversité et on organise des visites dans les communautés ethniques. Les détenus ont aussi leurs associations, comme l’Association des détenus de race noire, des groupes italiens, chinois, grecs, juifs qui contribuent à affirmer et à renforcer leur identité culturelle. Ces détenus peuvent avoir la citoyenneté canadienne, mais il peut s’agir aussi de ressortissants étrangers incarcérés dans des établissements fédéraux. Ceux-ci bénéficient des mêmes droits et privilèges que les autres délinquants.

14. Justice réparatrice

La justice réparatrice offre des solutions qu’il n’est pas possible d’envisager dans le cadre du système de justice pénale. Le principe à la base de la justice réparatrice est une approche holistique, qui a pour but de favoriser la responsabilisation, la compréhension, la réparation des préjudices causés et la guérison des personnes affectées par un acte criminel. Cette approche renforce la capacité des collectivités locales à régler les différends et à trouver des solutions locales à des problèmes locaux. C’est une façon d’encourager une participation plus active des citoyens en cherchant à briser le cycle de la violence et de la victimisation dans toute la collectivité. Le SCC collabore avec des spécialistes du pays tout entier pour offrir des services de médiation entre les délinquants et leurs victimes, et tenter ainsi de réagir le mieux possible aux problèmes qui découlent de la perpétration d’actes criminels graves. Le SCC a également appliqué ces principes dans les établissements pour y régler les différends. Un solide réseau de bénévoles, qui collaborent avec le SCC, assume une bonne partie des responsabilités découlant de cette initiative.